Health screen revealed I got heart issue

guysmiley
post Aug 9 2023, 10:35 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 9 2023, 10:13 AM)
Bypass or angioplasty? Surely you are a bit young for a bypass!?
weird bcoz doctor said better bypass as it can last longer than angioplatsy.
hksgmy
post Aug 9 2023, 10:48 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(guysmiley @ Aug 9 2023, 10:35 AM)
weird bcoz doctor said better bypass as it can last longer than angioplatsy.
I'll definitely defer to the doctor's opinion. Your case could be different as you had already suffered an AMI previously. Good luck and all the very best bro!
TShoonanoo
post Aug 9 2023, 11:22 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 9 2023, 10:07 AM)
Depends on how severe the blockage. As a minimum, you’ll likely be put on statins and a blood thinner. Your BP will also be aggressively monitored and medication be initiated at the earliest signs of a rising BP, and you’d be asked to stop smoking and reduce your weight.

Disclaimer - I’m not a cardiologist, but these are basic medical facts that all doctors learn during their undergraduate days.
I don't have high blood pressure.

I still have to take blood thinners?

TShoonanoo
post Aug 9 2023, 11:24 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(guysmiley @ Aug 9 2023, 10:10 AM)
u wont die from checkup. but u can die from now knowing about it.

if u know about health condition, and taking care of it. i dont think its any issue.

myself going for bypass soon. im 49. had an attack 3 years ago. my oldest kid 6yrs old now. all i think are them.
All the best, I hope all are well for you.

I also have a young family. I also concern for my kids.

But I would like to know, are you overweight ? do you have high blood pressure issues?

you had heart attack 3 years ago, why now only you take the risk for surgery?

This post has been edited by hoonanoo: Aug 9 2023, 11:24 AM
TShoonanoo
post Aug 9 2023, 11:25 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Aug 9 2023, 10:09 AM)
nowadays, entrance through groin is secondary option and nurse need to shave your pubic area first.
The first option should be through your right hand.

You can feel the catherer crawl through your arm artery though  sweat.gif
U had angioplasty before?

ooh damn gross, remind me of that Mummy movie, the scarob went into the dude's hands

This post has been edited by hoonanoo: Aug 9 2023, 11:26 AM
guysmiley
post Aug 9 2023, 11:28 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 9 2023, 11:24 AM)
All the best, I hope all are well for you.

I also have a young family. I also concern for my kids.

But I would like to know, are you overweight ? do you have high blood pressure issues?

you had heart attack 3 years ago, why now only you take the risk for surgery?
nope. i got good looking body. slight high blood due to work. high cholesterol. so im betting on the food lah. hgahaha

was not bad before. only now the symptoms starting to be annoying. cant pu ton a backpack anymore.
hksgmy
post Aug 9 2023, 11:43 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 9 2023, 11:22 AM)
I don't have high blood pressure.

I still have to take blood thinners?
Yes. Blood thinners and blood pressure medications are different
TShoonanoo
post Aug 9 2023, 11:49 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 9 2023, 11:43 AM)
Yes. Blood thinners and blood pressure medications are different
blood thinners never address the problem.

TShoonanoo
post Aug 9 2023, 11:49 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(guysmiley @ Aug 9 2023, 11:28 AM)
nope. i got good looking body. slight high blood due to work. high cholesterol. so im betting on the food lah. hgahaha

was not bad before. only now the symptoms starting to be annoying. cant pu ton a backpack anymore.
u exercise often?

when u over exert got heart pain?

what's your BMI ?

you have had high blood pressure for a long time?
Ramjade
post Aug 9 2023, 11:52 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 9 2023, 11:49 AM)
blood thinners never address the problem.
True. Like I told you I the other thread. Exercise, right diet, right supplement. That's why I started my mother on those things. You can add on niacin. A good niacin will give you flush (apparently that's the type that works) but my refuse to take niacin so I give her what she want.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC9441630/

Like I said go for angiogram, start blood thinner, exercise and see if you want to start those thing I mentioned. No more nasi lemak, curry. Go full Mediterranean diet.

Blood thinner is to prevent getting heart attack.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 9 2023, 11:57 AM
Dothan
post Aug 9 2023, 01:16 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 9 2023, 11:25 AM)
U had angioplasty before?

ooh damn gross, remind me of that Mummy movie, the scarob went into the dude's hands
I did angiogram before since cardiologist suspect blockage. Fortunately, my vessels are clear, not blocking.
I still remember the feeling of crawling catherer through my arm. brows.gif
robhinhood
post Aug 9 2023, 01:26 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Aug 1 2023, 07:10 PM)
Go see a specialist, TS.

When I was a little bit younger, I craved adventure and got it into my head to try to join the french foreign legion. I was healthy and supremely fit, but before I left for france, I got myself checked out at a heart specialist in KL. Got an ultrasound of my heart and the doc said it was bigger than normal size. I got alarmed and asked him why so? Was it a disease or abnormality? He smiled and said I had the heart of an athlete and it was functioning fine. Phew! He then turned the monitor to me and i saw my own heart beating on the screen...no blockages, valves working as they should, all ok. It was hella cool to see that. biggrin.gif

I believe the test is called an echocardiogram.
sorry tumpang.

did you manage to join french foreign legionnaires?
where are you posted now?

andyng38
post Aug 9 2023, 02:03 PM

2,398 posts

QUOTE(robhinhood @ Aug 9 2023, 01:26 PM)
sorry tumpang.

did you manage to join french foreign legionnaires?
where are you posted now?
Went to Marseille, applied, was rejected due to eyesight.
TShoonanoo
post Aug 9 2023, 05:27 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Aug 9 2023, 01:16 PM)
I did angiogram before since cardiologist suspect blockage. Fortunately, my vessels are clear, not blocking.
I still remember the feeling of crawling catherer through my arm.  brows.gif
Err I don't get it.

why is doctor entering a catheter into your arm when you don't have any blockages?
Dothan
post Aug 9 2023, 07:21 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 9 2023, 05:27 PM)
Err I don't get it.

why is doctor entering a catheter into your arm when you don't have any blockages?
You have to know the difference between Angiogram and Angioplasty.

Angiogram - Doctor inserts a long catheter into your heart via your right hand. Then pump in the radio fluorescent material to light up your heart vessels, so that he can see on display in real time. He may detect blockage on your heart vessels by seeing on display.

Angioplasty -After knowing which vessel is blocked (or hit certain % of blockage), the doctor will insert another catheter with stent and deliver the stent to the blockage part, enlarge the vessel and leave the stent at the blocked part.

MRI does not have the enough resolution to pinpoint which part of your vessels blocked due to your heart is constantly beating.

Ramjade
post Aug 9 2023, 07:38 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Aug 9 2023, 07:21 PM)

Angiogram - Doctor inserts a long catheter into your heart via your right hand. Then pump in the radio fluorescent material to light up your heart vessels, so that he can see on display in real time. He may detect blockage on your heart vessels by seeing on display.

Angioplasty -After knowing which vessel is blocked (or hit certain % of blockage), the doctor will insert another catheter with stent and deliver the stent to the blockage part, enlarge the vessel and leave the stent at the blocked part.

MRI does not have the enough resolution to pinpoint which part of your vessels blocked due to your heart is constantly beating.
Yeah. Only 70% above they will put stent. Like my mother only 20% block, no stent go on lifelong blood thinner.

hoonanoo
But lifelong blood thinner don't dissolved the plaque. It's just prevention. It take years for plaque to build up. So of course it takes time to dissolve the plaque. To dissolve the plaque, you need to learn how it's form. To date, only stuff I known to dissolve the plaque is nattokinase, vitamin K2, high dose statins or you can sub with niacin, good diet and regular exercise. Then you want to keep the blood vessel healthy. How? Don't smoke, Mediterranean diet, exercise and pycogenol, low omega 6 diet (all your goreng food avoid). That's why I started my mother on those things as the doctors cannot do anything.
Are those things known by the cardiologist? Actually nope. I have asked private and IJN cardiologist about nattokinase, they ask me what's that? They know niacin but said very uncomfortable as you will be feeling warm and you will have red face the whole day. That's why it is not used today. You already got evidence. People already do study. That's good enough for me.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 9 2023, 07:47 PM
TShoonanoo
post Aug 10 2023, 12:01 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Aug 9 2023, 07:21 PM)

damn scary

is there any other non evasive method ?

You straight went for Angiogram? maybe you didn't pass other test that you required this?
TShoonanoo
post Aug 10 2023, 12:05 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 9 2023, 07:38 PM)
Yeah. Only 70% above they will put stent. Like my mother only 20% block, no stent go on lifelong blood thinner.

hoonanoo
But lifelong blood thinner don't dissolved the plaque. It's just prevention. It take years for plaque to build up. So of course it takes time to dissolve the plaque. To dissolve the plaque, you need to learn how it's form. To date, only stuff I known to dissolve the plaque is nattokinase, vitamin K2, high dose statins or you can sub with niacin, good diet and regular exercise. Then you want to keep the blood vessel healthy. How? Don't smoke, Mediterranean diet, exercise and pycogenol, low omega 6 diet (all your goreng food avoid). That's why I started my mother on those things as the doctors cannot do anything.
Are those things known by the cardiologist? Actually nope. I have asked private and IJN cardiologist about nattokinase, they ask me what's that? They know niacin but said very uncomfortable as you will be feeling warm and you will have red face the whole day. That's why it is not used today. You already got evidence. People already do study. That's good enough for me.
why blood thinner? what does it do ?

Ramjade
post Aug 10 2023, 12:33 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 10 2023, 12:05 PM)
why blood thinner? what does it do ?
Prevent blood from clotting hence reduce chance of heart attack. Not prevent it. Still can kena.
HappyA_Q
post Aug 10 2023, 01:32 PM

869 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 1 2023, 05:25 PM)
went for stress test on treadmill.

Was shocked when nurse told me I got ST depression on my chart.

I walked up the treadmill didn't feel much except my leg feel burn, not much strain. No heart pain.

Doctor just said shortly I may have heart blockage then referred me to heart specialist for consultation.

I guess it must be all those nasi lemak, kuih, unhealthy food my staff belanja me.

Here's the issue:

1) Many of my friends advised me to go get checked. Think about my young children, get this issue solved

2) I know I will do it, but there is an issue, I really want to leave my current employer. If I find new job, what am I going to say in my application form declaration, that I am in good health?

If I said I have heart condition, nobody wants to hire me.

I am thinking how to counter this.

3) I am anxious about surgery. I asked my friends around, one who had stents told me because i didn't have heart attack, doctor probably recommend, cholesterol drugs or drug thinners.

Drug thinners got side effect?

4) I am still in state of shock because I am not exactly that fit, but I can run at least 5km. Ok not that great la but people with heart blockage can do this?

5) My bmi is exceed, a bit. I am 75kg.

6) insurance. What shall I do? Would it affect my claim next time? I have 3 insurance policies, most recent one I bought was 5 years ago.

7) My friends n family gave me a plethora list of specialist to go to. I am now dilemma which one?

So my biggest worry is no.2
This is my last chance to reach peak in my career.
I think at my current co, I can no longer develop any further or there are any opportunities.
I have chest pain occasionally and went to do blood test and found out my cholesterol on high side. Doctor said potential blood artillery too much fat (sorry dont know the exact medical terms, but hope you got it). I did my stress test on treadmill last year and was fine, haven't done it this year.

My doctor advised me to control my diet for next 6 months, and will do blood test again. If cholesterol is high, then will need to take pills.
Family has heart attack history so the chest pain is worrying to me.

About myself: early 40s, 75kg, bmi is good.
Non alcoholic nor smoker
Exercise: 3-4 times badminton a week (each time 2-3 hours, with about 20-30 mins break in between)

Sharing my diet plan here if it helps!

Breakfast: Metamucil (this helps with cholesterol, not meal replacement), milo with oat and raisin
Lunch: Simple toast, fruits, avocado, etc.
Dinner: White meat (chicken, seafood), no red meat (pork, beef, lamb)

Avoid dairy products, milk, cheese, condensed milk, ice cream. Occassionally is fine.

Admit the fact we are no longer in our 20s! biggrin.gif

10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:49 AM