Health screen revealed I got heart issue

Iceman74
post Aug 2 2023, 11:40 AM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 1 2023, 05:25 PM)
went for stress test on treadmill.

Was shocked when nurse told me I got ST depression on my chart.

I walked up the treadmill didn't feel much except my leg feel burn, not much strain. No heart pain.

Doctor just said shortly I may have heart blockage then referred me to heart specialist for consultation.

I guess it must be all those nasi lemak, kuih, unhealthy food my staff belanja me.

Here's the issue:

1) Many of my friends advised me to go get checked. Think about my young children, get this issue solved

2) I know I will do it, but there is an issue, I really want to leave my current employer. If I find new job, what am I going to say in my application form declaration, that I am in good health?

If I said I have heart condition, nobody wants to hire me.

I am thinking how to counter this.

3) I am anxious about surgery. I asked my friends around, one who had stents told me because i didn't have heart attack, doctor probably recommend, cholesterol drugs or drug thinners.

Drug thinners got side effect?

4) I am still in state of shock because I am not exactly that fit, but I can run at least 5km. Ok not that great la but people with heart blockage can do this?

5) My bmi is exceed, a bit. I am 75kg.

6) insurance. What shall I do? Would it affect my claim next time? I have 3 insurance policies, most recent one I bought was 5 years ago.

7) My friends n family gave me a plethora list of specialist to go to. I am now dilemma which one?

So my biggest worry is no.2
This is my last chance to reach peak in my career.
I think at my current co, I can no longer develop any further or there are any opportunities.
Just see a specialist and see what his recommendations are
Since you got insurance, ask your insurance agent which doctors good

I had my stress test in 2022, failed that
get a specialist and get Coronary angioplasty done for 1 main arteries and 2 sub arteries
Was awake during operation when the doctor told me need to do 1 more sub arteries (was diagnosed 2 blockage beforehand)
Managed claim insurance or major part of it.

Affecting my lifestyle? No
Work performance? No(of cos don't push hard just after operation lar.. give rest 1 or 2 days and pick up the pace after that.. if u afraid lar)

Coming sept will do another stress test after 1 year operation.
btw me failed the test when i was 48 years (damn those chinese prediction come true... doh.gif )

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Aug 2 2023, 11:44 AM
Iceman74
post Aug 2 2023, 12:31 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 2 2023, 12:01 PM)
can do operation for stent while awake? how long did it take?

no pain meh?
mine start from my wrist, less geli
if cannot find the vein, need to start from groin
little bit only.. the pain start when the doctor inflated the balloon for short period.. doctor said this is how the feeling of heart attack

wow.

but medicine cannot relieve the blockage?
Mine already above 70% blockage on both main arteries

I want to leave my co, but next time when I put in application, I have to declare. Nobody want to hire me because HR think i am a fai cai.
Go ask for advice from specialist lar, maybe not very serious. It your life ler.
It better know now about your health than later when it happened.
Normally won't affect your working performance if everything jaga.
If heart attack and died from it, it short pain.
If not died and got long term complication lagi jialat nobody want to employed you since you cannot work anymore.

Iceman74
post Aug 2 2023, 03:00 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 2 2023, 12:39 PM)
oh boy when he lifted the baloon, was it very painful?
yes but just for awhile

did he do it on the groin? damn, I have goosebumps.
from wrist
what to afraid lar sweat.gif

me got cancer stage 3c during much younger, also need to live a life
get it done with, operation, chemo and radiotherapy

If got chances to continue for 2nd life, take it.
Whatever will be, will be in future

Iceman74
post Aug 2 2023, 03:37 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(insan_kamil @ Aug 2 2023, 03:25 PM)
You can run 5 kilo and you have supposed heart issue. I can run max 250m and i run out of breath. I have to stop and take a breather.

The human body functions differently. Thats why i never get thorough check ups
stress test have nothing to do with running further better

my wife can only goes to level 3
me can go up to level 5

my wife no problem at all
me doh.gif
Iceman74
post Aug 2 2023, 10:14 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Aug 2 2023, 08:05 PM)
What made you do the stress test?
It part of major health screening me and wife want to go thru, maybe once every few years or not yet do beside yearly normal blood test, X-ray and ultrasound scan

Did you do EGC before that?
Nope

Anything detected in your ECG?

Got do echocardiogram?
nope
after stress test result test failed, the report taken to my cardiothoracic surgeon to reconfirm the results
Done another cardiac CT scan to reconfirm the location and severity of the blockage before coronary angioplasty surgery
Iceman74
post Aug 3 2023, 06:23 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 3 2023, 12:42 PM)
sorry I can't recall if I have missed out in ur earlier replies

But did you had a heart attack prior to the failed stress test?
no

QUOTE(leftycall9 @ Aug 3 2023, 06:14 PM)
Supplements really works for prevention of heart issue like TS have?
supplements are just supplements, they won't help do or reverse whatever already there especially with continuity years of unhealthy lifestyles.
never trust any supplements sales talks unless there are proven scientific research and know how effective they are in real world usage.
Iceman74
post Aug 4 2023, 02:47 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 4 2023, 09:02 AM)
wow, you never had a heart attack

u r as fit as a horse

yet u can have blocked arteries?

I not sure if it is due to diet and heredity.

I also heard of a similar person like u. He likes sports, never had heart attacks, just went for a health check, then doctor said his artery blocked need to do stents.
no fit lar.. more like overweight cos lazy to excise due to working.
so for no heredity on my side.
I think mostly due to my unhealthy diet previously.

Like I said, healthy now doesn't means anything as all this happened due to accumulating bad habits and of cos heredity play a parts.

major health screen is a must if there is no major heredity problems after 35 years old
If there is family history, better educated and start earlier to monitor any abnormal growth and compared with history.
Iceman74
post Aug 7 2023, 01:25 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 7 2023, 09:10 AM)
I want to ask you, are you a businessman or employee ?
self employed

Does having heart surgery jeopardize your future employment chances ?
I believe won't affect the chances unless the company itself kiasi and without workers group insurance or Socso
If your target is big company and local, It should be no concern. Maybe those work in HR can answer you better on this 

Because I am seeking new employment elsewhere, and I notice the forms need us to declare we are in good health.

Does it affect your chances in any way? if you are an employee.
Short term, maybe yes cos new employers doesn't want once employed you, you go take a long medical leave.
It like already got employee but no difference without it.
If you really afraid, then change your job first before do the proper checkup or do it first and leave the job after a longer duration.
But you are gambling your life with ticking time bomb if you really got serius blockage.
Anyway, some companies need to do medical test before they offer you job offer letter

For me its 50/50, I've seen people getting back to BAU after their heart surgery, play badminton, work like normal, in fact even better than b4.

but there r some because of their lifestyle, never learn, i know one colleague, after his heart stint, he continued to be overweight, eat unhealthy food, hardly exercise and prefer to go for unorthodoxed treatments like dialysis cleaning blood center that recently kena ban by health ministry.

end of the story.. if you doesn't want to change to healthier lifestyle, you bear it yourself
Iceman74
post Aug 10 2023, 04:32 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(momento2 @ Aug 10 2023, 02:24 PM)
i was told by my doctor the opposite...i had my 1st angiogram/angioplasty at age 40...5 stents. 2nd Angioplasty at age 52..1 stent. Bypass at age 54..only after no stenting options. So roughly i had a 14 years time gap before having to do the Bypass.
Dont worry about Angioplasty...nowadays its done to so many...its almost like a small procedure but the end result is almost a miracle..you will feel much energetic and younger...believe me....3 days after surgery you will be back home...a week after that..you will be brist walking in the garden..everything will come back normal...including all those evil-vice habits that got you there at the first place... whistling.gif  icon_idea.gif

Stay away from everything sugary...that will kill you more then nicotine. No worries...dont listen to quarks..do your own research..learning more about your conditions will bring you more understanding ..acceptance and peace...take care!
I was nervous first before the surgery after knowing what the surgery like. Check in early 1st day before surgery as doctor want to monitor and shave the groin area as precaution. 2nd day for early morning surgery, 3rd day before noon check out. Gone 1 Axia sweat.gif

QUOTE(momento2 @ Aug 10 2023, 03:23 PM)
Blood Thinners will save your life....it works like the "Fully-Synthetic" engine oil for your "piston" to move or pump with lesser obstruction....more or less make the heart..blood...arteries..works smoother. Side effects might be a more "watery" blood..meaning minor injury like small cuts will bleeding out more easily but no worry...it will stop..eventually. i am on blood thinners for 20 years+...no worries...viagra will help you return to your old glory... whistling.gif
no wonder me underperform in that hmm.gif
celaka.. doctor no explain on this laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Aug 10 2023, 04:45 PM
Iceman74
post Oct 30 2025, 12:18 AM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Oct 29 2025, 11:37 PM)
actually what does it mean by failing the stress test?

as i know there are total of 5 stages - you were not able to finish them all without giving up?
It not about complete the whole 5 stage
The doctor are checking and identify yr heart beat irregularities under stress.
If possible, max out yr heartbeat you can sustain.

Me manage speed until stage 4 and out of breath and strength.
Wife only can do until stage 3 but give all clear by doctor.

0.0237sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:12 AM