[AMA] Living with an EV for a month

knwong
post Jun 19 2023, 08:54 AM

3,560 posts

Your tire is meant for EV?

I know you haven't change it but how much is the retail price?
andrekua2
post Jun 19 2023, 08:58 AM

13,476 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jun 19 2023, 08:30 AM)
Yes, not the motor/engine but the brake, a/c, wiper, etc...more like inspection
Brake need servicing? Come on... If change battery coolant, still can understand but brakes? Even with regenerative braking, I dont think there is much to check anyway.
pysh
post Jun 19 2023, 08:58 AM

382 posts

have you ever bump into a situation you couldnt find a charger?
knwong
post Jun 19 2023, 09:02 AM

3,560 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jun 19 2023, 08:58 AM)
Brake need servicing? Come on... If change battery coolant, still can understand but brakes? Even with regenerative braking, I dont think there is much to check anyway.
Inspection. You may not change it everytime during service interval...you still need to pay labour for that...

This post has been edited by knwong: Jun 19 2023, 09:02 AM
Gadget_Freak
post Jun 19 2023, 09:17 AM

414 posts

Do you feel the interior is ugly? the dashboard looks like titans muscle in attack on titan?

The exterior is quite nice though
mezanny
post Jun 19 2023, 09:19 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jun 19 2023, 03:54 AM)
Hai guys, lama tak buka tered pasal kereta. As some u know, I sold my old Suprima earlier. And had it replaced with an EV.

Why EV/BYD Atto 3?

- Want something with similar characteristic as Suprima, big boot space, huge rear legroom, must have many features such as pano roof, AEB, lane keep, adaptive cruise etc etc

- Need to be powerful (over 160hp) yet with minimal maintenance

- I dont have any kampung to balik to, so no range anxiety, even if need to go for that maybe twice a year out of KL trips, can take other car

- To carry stuffs when needed, other cars at home boot too small to fit large item

- Looked at competitors:

Honda HRV : 140k car with Honda City Interior, seats too firm, boot too small and CVT puik. Honda CRV: Too old

Mazda CX-30 : Cramped interior, Boot too small

Peugeot 3008/VW Tiguan : Not much features to play with, no adaptive cruise control, AEB etc etc

Ora Good Cat: Boot too small, slow charging.

CHARGING, How much does it cost?

- Over a month, I only driven 1535km

And here is my home energy usage

Roughly RM 120++ for 1500km distance, this I set my wallbox charging app to count using TNB highest block electricity tariff. I also charge outside when I go mall to makan, charging outside is free, only pay for parking.

My fav is Sunway Velocity and Wangsa Walk

Sounds cheap right? Actually is not, because to upgrade my house electricity (RCB/MCCB from 40amps to 63amps) since my house was from the 80's cost RM3.5k, the wallbox itself is free from BYD, but installation cost is Rm1.2k.

Where is the furthest you've ever driven it?

- Not far, furthest is from home to KLIA then straight to Seremban. then pusing2 seremban town. around  140-150km.. Battery left 70%

- Stayed at Royale Chulan Seremban, they allow 3 pin charging there. So plug in at night, next day checkout battery already fully charged, again... Free of Charge

user posted image.
So yeah, this is my experience with EV now. Feel free to ask anything in regards to EV or even the car itself. Ill answer it truthfully, unbiased based on my personal POV.
when you bought your EV, does it come along with a free charger package?

if not how much is a charger ?

JoeK
post Jun 19 2023, 09:27 AM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jun 19 2023, 07:58 AM)
nice read. thanks for sharing  . I have a couple of questions TS

1. when left charging, is it possible for theft ? how is the security of the car

2. you will consider using this car until when?

3. how is the service centre/ maintenance experience?
Abang meganon want buy EV? gooding drool.gif drool.gif
sihamsedap
post Jun 19 2023, 09:29 AM

94 posts

welcome to EV
been driving more than a year already

ur byd can go outstation easily, u need to try it to overcome any range anxiety u have.. many byd members travel to thai, really envy them bachelors lol..

going down south is a lot easier, almost every 50-100km got dcfc, no worries

eastcoast is doable too if u know where to charge/plan etc.
MegaCanonF
post Jun 19 2023, 09:34 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Jun 19 2023, 09:27 AM)
Abang meganon want buy EV? gooding  drool.gif  drool.gif
poket nipis bro..

also thanks to TS i just know need to upgrade my house electric thing coz my house oso same like TS (80's), that one oso very costing hnggh
Randomization
post Jun 19 2023, 09:34 AM

460 posts

My only question is why choose that color.
yhtan
post Jun 19 2023, 09:38 AM

8,652 posts

u buy normal or extended range?
williamtan2020
post Jun 19 2023, 09:39 AM

24 posts

How often you engage stop n go? At the traffic light, does it smoothly accelerate or sluggish, frustrating the cars behind?
blmse92
post Jun 19 2023, 09:43 AM

603 posts

Got waiting period?
Lancer07
post Jun 19 2023, 09:44 AM

599 posts

Parking, may consider EV car in future.
conan1
post Jun 19 2023, 09:45 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(Randomization @ Jun 19 2023, 09:34 AM)
My only question is why choose that color.
i kinda like that color. haha
conan1
post Jun 19 2023, 09:45 AM

224 posts

charging at royal chulan there need asking permission? they allow it?
ozak
post Jun 19 2023, 09:46 AM

17,019 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jun 19 2023, 08:58 AM)
All car co; will comeout a lot of bullshit service item to get money. After service is good profit generates. Car selling profit is very less and some sell for loss.
SUSWahlberg
post Jun 19 2023, 09:49 AM

144 posts

Boy96

this ev , hows the resale value?
future predicament
gtfan
post Jun 19 2023, 09:52 AM

932 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Jun 19 2023, 08:54 AM)

the reverse charging/power is byd patent and most china cars bought the pattern but not tesla. therefore tesla cannot reverse charging/power.

You mean V2L? V2L already in kia ev6 and ioniq 5.
max_cavalera
post Jun 19 2023, 09:56 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(sihamsedap @ Jun 19 2023, 10:29 AM)
welcome to EV
been driving more than a year already

ur byd can go outstation easily, u need to try it to overcome any range anxiety u have.. many byd members travel to thai, really envy them bachelors lol..

going down south is a lot easier, almost every 50-100km got dcfc, no worries

eastcoast is doable too if u know where to charge/plan etc.

20 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0147sec    1.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:34 AM