20 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

[AMA] Living with an EV for a month

TSBoy96
post Aug 1 2023, 09:08 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Aug 1 2023, 08:55 AM)
I am a battery distributor and part of my responsibilities towards my clients are checking that their lead-acid batteries are in good condition.

I dont know about EV at all but was wondering are there regular checks to ensure that the EV batteries are stabil and safe to be use ?
The BMS handles everything and everytime u send it to service they will plug in diagnostic for health check

QUOTE(xtreme~~ @ Aug 1 2023, 09:01 AM)
is the official range achievable? 480 km NEDC/ 420 km WLTP
WLTP yes, but only if u drive 10-20km/h below the speed limit and have a very light foot
Roman Catholic
post Aug 1 2023, 09:13 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 1 2023, 09:08 AM)
The BMS handles everything and everytime u send it to service they will plug in diagnostic for health check
WLTP yes, but only if u drive 10-20km/h below the speed limit and have a very light foot
If it isn't too much of a trouble, could you please share the battery diagnostic report ?

Thank you very much, I would really appreciate it.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Aug 1 2023, 09:14 AM
DupeIkan
post Aug 1 2023, 09:58 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(xtreme~~ @ Aug 1 2023, 09:01 AM)
is the official range achievable? 480 km NEDC/ 420 km WLTP
only for city,
Highway GG
submergedx
post Aug 1 2023, 12:09 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Jul 31 2023, 11:32 PM)
If all adopt EV, wats going to happen to companies like Shell?
they put charger sell you electric?
TSBoy96
post Aug 15 2023, 09:50 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Free charging while watching movie

Went to a mall with free EV charger, luckily got 1 slot empty so plug in to charge

Battery was at 67% upon plugin..

Watch mission impossible..

When movie habis back to car, almost full.. 95% battery

Parking was only rm3..
vapanel
post Aug 15 2023, 09:57 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 15 2023, 09:50 PM)
Free charging while watching movie

Went to a mall with free EV charger, luckily got 1 slot empty so plug in to charge

Battery was at 67% upon plugin..

Watch mission impossible..

When movie habis back to car, almost full.. 95% battery
Parking was only rm3..
Enjoy while you can lol
TSBoy96
post Aug 15 2023, 09:59 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Aug 15 2023, 09:57 PM)
Enjoy while you can lol
Ya today i go sunway velocity both lots already got people charging.. always have enough charge at home before going out .
kembayang
post Aug 15 2023, 10:06 PM

1,441 posts

Hlw to determine free charger?
Plugshare doesn't help it seems
TSBoy96
post Aug 15 2023, 10:09 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ Aug 15 2023, 10:06 PM)
Hlw to determine free charger?
Plugshare doesn't help it seems
Got.. plugshare will say which charging network they are on.. need to read description..

But in KL not many malls offer free charging.. less than 5 malls that i know..

Aeon alpha angle
Wangsa walk mall
Aurora place bukit jalil
Sunway velocity / klcc (have to park at premium parking)

This post has been edited by Boy96: Aug 15 2023, 10:10 PM
christ14
post Aug 16 2023, 11:09 AM

1,567 posts

can i just say this is the most intriguing and knowledgable /k post i ever read with little to no form of trolling or kecam

well done TS

blek
post Aug 16 2023, 07:46 PM

720 posts

Do you still hangout with your tow truck friend?
TSBoy96
post Aug 16 2023, 08:23 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(blek @ Aug 16 2023, 07:46 PM)
Do you still hangout with your tow truck friend?
Long time no start the other petrol cars at home

Once started to warmup they greeted me with this

DupeIkan
post Aug 17 2023, 08:15 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 16 2023, 08:23 PM)
Long time no start the other petrol cars at home

Once started to warmup they greeted me with this

KEK CEL
robotking123
post Aug 17 2023, 08:19 AM

Got test when battery below 50% the mileage suddenly big drop?
donald88
post Aug 17 2023, 08:29 AM

366 posts

do you worry that your charger may get stolen when you charge with 3 pin at hotel?

This post has been edited by donald88: Aug 17 2023, 08:30 AM
ozak
post Aug 17 2023, 10:52 AM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(donald88 @ Aug 17 2023, 08:29 AM)
do you worry that your charger may get stolen when you charge with 3 pin at hotel?
It will happen when ev getting normal here.

The thief know the value 1 day.
TSBoy96
post Aug 17 2023, 11:02 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(robotking123 @ Aug 17 2023, 08:19 AM)
Got test when battery below 50% the mileage suddenly big drop?
Rarely go below 50% so no feel yet

QUOTE(donald88 @ Aug 17 2023, 08:29 AM)
The cable is locked to the car
Eterman
post Aug 21 2023, 12:56 AM

490 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jun 19 2023, 12:00 PM)

Yup, no issues at all. However the car is using heat pump as the aircon system, it take around 2-3 minutes before it starts pumping cold air, so I usually remote start the car using the phone app before entering the car

nice info, can explain further about the heat pump air cond? notworthy.gif
TSBoy96
post Aug 21 2023, 01:02 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(Eterman @ Aug 21 2023, 12:56 AM)
nice info, can explain further about the heat pump air cond?  notworthy.gif
This one i also dunno how to explain further. Maybe search on youtube on how heatpump in an EV works. What i know is it is more beneficial in colder climate countries where EV's without heatpump system loses almost half the range compared to one with heatpump

For me janji aircond sejuk ok already
kkk8787
post Aug 21 2023, 07:03 AM

Julyd8th
2,529 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jun 19 2023, 03:54 AM)
Hai guys, lama tak buka tered pasal kereta. As some u know, I sold my old Suprima earlier. And had it replaced with an EV.

Why EV/BYD Atto 3?

- Want something with similar characteristic as Suprima, big boot space, huge rear legroom, must have many features such as pano roof, AEB, lane keep, adaptive cruise etc etc

- Need to be powerful (over 160hp) yet with minimal maintenance

- I dont have any kampung to balik to, so no range anxiety, even if need to go for that maybe twice a year out of KL trips, can take other car

- To carry stuffs when needed, other cars at home boot too small to fit large item

- Looked at competitors:

Honda HRV : 140k car with Honda City Interior, seats too firm, boot too small and CVT puik. Honda CRV: Too old

Mazda CX-30 : Cramped interior, Boot too small

Peugeot 3008/VW Tiguan : Not much features to play with, no adaptive cruise control, AEB etc etc

Ora Good Cat: Boot too small, slow charging.

CHARGING, How much does it cost?

- Over a month, I only driven 1535km

And here is my home energy usage

Roughly RM 120++ for 1500km distance, this I set my wallbox charging app to count using TNB highest block electricity tariff. I also charge outside when I go mall to makan, charging outside is free, only pay for parking.

My fav is Sunway Velocity and Wangsa Walk

Sounds cheap right? Actually is not, because to upgrade my house electricity (RCB/MCCB from 40amps to 63amps) since my house was from the 80's cost RM3.5k, the wallbox itself is free from BYD, but installation cost is Rm1.2k.

Where is the furthest you've ever driven it?

- Not far, furthest is from home to KLIA then straight to Seremban. then pusing2 seremban town. around  140-150km.. Battery left 70%

- Stayed at Royale Chulan Seremban, they allow 3 pin charging there. So plug in at night, next day checkout battery already fully charged, again... Free of Charge

user posted image.
So yeah, this is my experience with EV now. Feel free to ask anything in regards to EV or even the car itself. Ill answer it truthfully, unbiased based on my personal POV.
You replaced suprima with EV? What about your G20? That was family car ?

20 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:55 PM