11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon, for download

isaacctk
post Nov 6 2007, 09:35 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(lucas_podolski @ Nov 6 2007, 03:41 PM)
wanna ask.. i did enable my gc in restricted drivers manager and installed xserver-xgl and also compiz in the Synaptic manager,  but when i try to open the desktop effect it says that the composite extension is not available.. and i tried also to enable GL desktop and it also not work.. can someone tell me wat to do?? i'm a newbie of ubuntu sad.gif
see this one:
http://wiki.compiz-fusion.org/Hardware

if u need to modify some system file which restricted to admin (root) u need to restart ur com and select second option from boot screen, (debug mode or something) then oni u can login using root account (set a password first)
yjwong
post Nov 7 2007, 01:51 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(isaacctk @ Nov 6 2007, 09:35 PM)
if u need to modify some system file which restricted to admin (root) u need to restart ur com and select second option from boot screen, (debug mode or something) then oni u can login using root account (set a password first)
The Ubuntu Documentation says you are strongly not encouraged to set a password for the root account. Please see this document for more details on why you should not set a password for the root account. Use the sudo, gksu (GNOME) or kdesu (KDE) commands to perform administrative tasks instead. To use a root shell, do a sudo su.

Oh, and by the way, if you don't want the Xgl with ATI cards, you need to whitelist fglrx from the Compiz wrapper (/usr/bin/compiz), and install the latest 8.42.3 driver (available from ATI's website). Read the last post from this thread.

This post has been edited by yjwong: Nov 7 2007, 01:53 PM
isaacctk
post Nov 9 2007, 08:06 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(yjwong @ Nov 7 2007, 01:51 PM)
The Ubuntu Documentation says you are strongly not encouraged to set a password for the root account. Please see this document for more details on why you should not set a password for the root account. Use the sudo, gksu (GNOME) or kdesu (KDE) commands to perform administrative tasks instead. To use a root shell, do a sudo su.

Oh, and by the way, if you don't want the Xgl with ATI cards, you need to whitelist fglrx from the Compiz wrapper (/usr/bin/compiz), and install the latest 8.42.3 driver (available from ATI's website). Read the last post from this thread.
thanks for ur info... i should try that sudo root command.

btw, i install same 7.10 on my pc at home, no hang prob at all. not sure wats d prob causing d other (better) com hang biggrin.gif
vexus
post Nov 11 2007, 08:43 AM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

how to get my creative audigy 2 running well on ubuntu.

i download the latest version of alsa driver. How do i install the tar.gz2 file ?

This post has been edited by vexus: Nov 11 2007, 09:44 AM
DiCalto
post Nov 19 2007, 02:22 AM

Extraordinary
817 posts

hey all...im totally noob in ubuntu...now just downloading it...just hope you guys can help out some question... hehe
can my comp support it...with
centrino core duo 2ghz
1gb ram
intel pro wireless 2945abg
and intel 945gm graphic i think...lol

and do i hav to install all the driver in xp?

sorry for all noob question...lol

paiseh paiseh

Zero-Enna
post Nov 19 2007, 06:25 AM

76 posts

your com specs are way higher than minimum requirement, and with the hardware listed above, its guarantee to work without need to install extra driver

This post has been edited by Zero-Enna: Nov 19 2007, 02:20 PM
wak
post Nov 19 2007, 10:41 AM

37 posts

dicalto,
your spec is more then enough...
arafat
post Nov 19 2007, 05:43 PM

ROCK ON!
1,747 posts

i want to try to install this ubuntu..first timer
but i couldnt find drivers for audigy 2 & nforce 4 ultra.
so can anyone help me. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by arafat: Nov 19 2007, 06:18 PM
UbuntuClient
post Nov 19 2007, 07:00 PM

1,417 posts

What improvement in Gutsy Gibbon?
aikanazirf
post Nov 20 2007, 01:56 AM

27 posts

hello...i managed to installed gutsy gibbon on my comp after failing with feisty and dapper. i really like it and i think the time for me to say goodbye to windows is almost near. this is my comp specs..
amd athlon xp 2500 barton running stock 1.8GHz
1 GB DDR ram (512 x 2) kingston
ati radeon 9800 Pro
i always wanted to try other OS than windows and already eyeing myself for Macs..but after i installed gutsy on my pc and explored it for almost 2 days...i think i found the OS that i need, and its free...and i managed to make it look exactly like the latest Mac OS Leopard rclxms.gif the compiz fusion 3d thingy..is freaking awesome! thumbup.gif i dont think my computer can handle that kind of 3d with xp..
the only thing i miss with windows will be MS Office...and i cant seem to get my all in one canon MP160 to work in gutsy sad.gif ..other than these, everything are just awesome..
Hungry_Wolf
post Nov 20 2007, 02:03 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(arafat @ Nov 19 2007, 05:43 PM)
i want to try to install this ubuntu..first timer
but i couldnt find drivers for audigy 2 & nforce 4 ultra.
so can anyone help me.  rclxms.gif
if not mistaken the mobo driver is included but ur audigy 2 will be using ALSA driver...
onimusha_m16
post Nov 20 2007, 03:39 AM

Mr Bean
1,239 posts

I recommend http://linuxmint.com/ .
DiCalto
post Nov 20 2007, 05:34 PM

Extraordinary
817 posts

hey guys... what if i install ubuntu already and i wan use edubuntu as well? izzit a seperate os or can combine?
Onlygary
post Nov 24 2007, 12:00 PM

1,165 posts

I'm intended to install Ubuntu and use it as my primary OS. Is there any issue with Ubuntu as I wanted to use it for photography and video editing as compared to Windows?
sweemeng
post Nov 24 2007, 12:15 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

if you used to photoshop, then you probably find gimp, a bit clunky, but it get the job done.

video, should work, not sure about connecting your video camera to the computer, but it should work.

you need to install video editing software on your own, it is not installed by default, but it is in the repository, just use synaptic
vexus
post Nov 25 2007, 08:50 AM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ Nov 20 2007, 03:39 AM)
I recommend http://linuxmint.com/ .
why linuxmint?
UbuntuClient
post Nov 25 2007, 10:24 AM

1,417 posts

My opinion, use ubuntu because it has long time support. So you dont have to worry if got problem. smile.gif

This post has been edited by UbuntuClient: Nov 25 2007, 10:24 AM
DeviousEgg
post Nov 26 2007, 09:14 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Virion @ Oct 16 2007, 12:38 AM)
i usually delete the old one and install new.
I agree... best method... Avoid trouble...

Added on November 26, 2007, 9:16 pm
QUOTE(DiCalto @ Nov 20 2007, 05:34 PM)
hey guys... what if i install ubuntu already and i wan use edubuntu as well? izzit a seperate os or can combine?
Here's the thing... Edubuntu is Ubuntu... Just with a few educational softwares pre-installed... So If you really want edubuntu, then install edu only... because ubuntu is the base of edubuntu and you can tweak it back to just ubuntu if you dont like the extra software... I would rather recommend you to install ubuntu, find out what extra software from edubuntu you like and want, and install those...

Added on November 26, 2007, 9:17 pm
QUOTE(Virion @ Oct 16 2007, 08:36 PM)
that gonna take few months to reach your house.
Got it in 2 weeks... and i ordered them before it was released...

This post has been edited by DeviousEgg: Nov 26 2007, 09:17 PM
sidewinderz
post Nov 28 2007, 05:47 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

i wanna ask u guys, any idea why whenever i run deluge...everything runs fine...just tat afterr i leave it idle for a few hours (untouched)...and when i return to see the status of my torrent, the entire deluge froze...and i gotta do a force quit and restart it again

btw, i store all my torrents to my windows ntfs partition....can tat be the problem?

thx

UbuntuClient
post Nov 28 2007, 07:44 PM

1,417 posts

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ Nov 28 2007, 05:47 PM)
btw, i store all my torrents to my windows ntfs partition....can tat be the problem?
Not be a problem at all. I use same thing that u do.

This post has been edited by UbuntuClient: Nov 28 2007, 07:46 PM

11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0241sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:35 PM