Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon, for download

sweemeng
post Oct 16 2007, 09:42 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

nope
2.6.22. so either wait for 8.04

or even better. compile your own kernel.
sweemeng
post Oct 18 2007, 04:03 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Oct 18 2007, 03:12 PM)
Where to download ubuntu v7.1?
i was waiting for the announcement from ubuntu website
sweemeng
post Oct 18 2007, 10:41 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

QUOTE(radiounit @ Oct 18 2007, 09:58 PM)
im not sure what kernel it is... but ubuntu can run mostly on all p4 comps, and im sure of that  biggrin.gif . what's ur comp spec? if it's too low, u can try out xubuntu, which minus the fancy effects but still retain the usability of ubuntu.

anyways, to all who freshly install ubuntu 7.10 from iso cds dun forget to "sudo aptitude install compizconfig-settings-manager"  rclxms.gif
2.6.22, not the latest. not that big really, unless, you waiting for cfs, then compile your own kernel. or more hardware get supported
sweemeng
post Oct 19 2007, 06:39 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

QUOTE(ldaves @ Oct 19 2007, 05:27 PM)
er... where to find the configuration?
please specify what configuration?
if you refer to the kernel version is type uname -a in terminal

Added on October 19, 2007, 6:41 pm
QUOTE(lexasp @ Oct 19 2007, 05:37 PM)
what does compizconfig-settings-manager does?

I am new to unbuntu, been using CentOS, so is "sudo aptitude install" the unbuntu version of "yum install"?
Sorry for the noobie question  icon_question.gif
yum and aptitude is the equivalent, but both is a different program. so the behavior is somewhat different

compizconfig-settings-manager, is to manage your desktop effect

This post has been edited by sweemeng: Oct 19 2007, 06:43 PM
sweemeng
post Oct 21 2007, 01:06 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

QUOTE(lexasp @ Oct 21 2007, 12:59 PM)
Thanks for the reply notworthy.gif

but I still don't understand this sudo thing, I never use anything such as sudo in CentOS.
The only su I use in CentOS is su root, but sudo -s can do the same thing in ubuntu.

so is sudo -s the same as su root? because I cant su root in ubuntu, it keeps telling me, my authentication fails.
that is what i call a sudo abuse. or maybe there is a better name.

sudo is used to give certain user, a superuser access to certain command. or program(it is really the same thing)
of course you can use it to replace su.

here is an example
http://www.gratisoft.us/sudo/sample.sudoers

you don't use root in ubuntu, because it is locked.
you can enable it by called sudo passwd, which since passwd didn't receive a parameter, root have no password yet, will create a password for root.

read more here
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RootSudo

This post has been edited by sweemeng: Oct 21 2007, 01:11 PM
sweemeng
post Oct 23 2007, 09:04 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 23 2007, 08:18 PM)
The integrated display on my laptop is Intel 855GM. If compiz config can work on that 855GM chipset laptop, there is another reason for me to try 7.10. tongue.gif
you know my old laptop is a 855gm chipset, run beryl(which is a fork of compiz) on it, runs quite well actually, i uninstall it because it is rather distracting.

anyway it is not beautiful, but it is not ugly either.

intel release opensource driver, so it should work. quite well.
sweemeng
post Oct 26 2007, 12:16 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

QUOTE(Oracles @ Oct 26 2007, 11:07 AM)
may i know what's ubuntu??is it a bt downloading machine??
i think it is possible to strip every thing, just leave the network and bittorrent deamon running. along with the essential stuff.
sweemeng
post Nov 24 2007, 12:15 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

if you used to photoshop, then you probably find gimp, a bit clunky, but it get the job done.

video, should work, not sure about connecting your video camera to the computer, but it should work.

you need to install video editing software on your own, it is not installed by default, but it is in the repository, just use synaptic
sweemeng
post Nov 30 2007, 01:20 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

you need to worry about, you ati. check whether it is supported.
sweemeng
post Dec 6 2007, 12:23 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

question 1:
basically if you are ubuntu, just type this in terminal
sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup

actually, it really doesn't matter for you to ends you backup file to .backup, it can be anything, it just to make sure that it got a different name,

which actually answer question 2:
in ubuntu, when need root access, start your command with sudo.
in other, type su <enter>
then type your root password.
then you will see a root shell. which is indicated with #, then just type your command.

as for your wireless, need to which what brand you use, erm fat chance it is not supported, so you probably need ndiswrapper, which might or might not work.

This post has been edited by sweemeng: Dec 6 2007, 12:25 PM
sweemeng
post Dec 6 2007, 05:48 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

QUOTE(xtreme_paranoid @ Dec 6 2007, 05:23 PM)
i already downloaded it..
now what i need to do?
new ubuntu user here..  sweat.gif
you still need to tell me what model is your card. which i don't know.

the big idea here, is to use your windows driver, to use on ubuntu.

sweemeng
post Dec 6 2007, 06:20 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

which is why, i ask for a model, first, because, i do not guarantee that it works.
looks like it may not be supported, on linux.

need to take time, to check out how to install using ndiswrapper. which might not work at all.

the idea is to use, ndiswrapper, to run the windows driver, go check how to do that, with google.

http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/joomla/...d,installation/

but i do not guarantee that it will work

This post has been edited by sweemeng: Dec 6 2007, 06:32 PM

0.0248sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:22 AM