87 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Maxis The Official Maxis Wireless Broadband Thread, OMG PORT FORWARDING KRACKED !

asiatrader98
post Oct 16 2007, 11:07 AM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 15 2007, 08:33 PM)
Nope it does not work. Tor must be on. Like I said change the modem to WCDMA only. It works that way. Dont put WCDMA preferred.
only select the WCDMA only when ur network type is HSDPA hmm.gif

Lord_Destructo
post Oct 16 2007, 12:18 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Oct 16 2007, 04:17 AM)
pretty wierd.since they can offer such excellent service for their wired broadband, why can't they do the same for wireless?

double standard?

i've heard the word "upgrade" many times already on wireless, but none when using maxis wired.
As I said, Maxis made some major screw ups when setting up their network.
This caused some major bottlenecks in our connections.
And their hardware also cannot meet the demand of customers.

Furthermore, Maxis is the first ISP in the world to use HSDPA technology.
So of course, they are the pioneers and have to bear through all the problems firsthand without any experience or help.

So it's not like they just gonna leave us to rot like TMnut's screamyx.
I believe they will find a solution to fix the problem.

My only concern is: Why they take such a long time to realise such a serious error?
llhm87
post Oct 16 2007, 01:49 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Destructo @ Oct 16 2007, 12:18 PM)
As I said, Maxis made some major screw ups when setting up their network.
This caused some major bottlenecks in our connections.
And their hardware also cannot meet the demand of customers.

Furthermore, Maxis is the first ISP in the world to use HSDPA technology.
So of course, they are the pioneers and have to bear through all the problems firsthand without any experience or help.

So it's not like they just gonna leave us to rot like TMnut's screamyx.
I believe they will find a solution to fix the problem.

My only concern is: Why they take such a long time to realise such a serious error?
Are you sure that Maxis is the 1st ISP providing HSDPA technology in the world. As I know, there are many other ISP providing HSDPA technology. I agree with what you say that why they take such a long time to realise a serious error. My personal opinion is that they realise it but no one bother to take any action on it. I really hope they can fixed the error/problem as fast as possible.
TSprasys
post Oct 16 2007, 03:04 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(Wikipedia)
EMOBILE Launched HSDPA service on April 28, 2007.

QUOTE(Wikipedia)
Both MTN and Vodacom, two of South Africa's leading GSM operators have already announced their deployment of the fast HSDPA service delivering theoretical downlink speeds of 1.8 Mbit/s after introducing UMTS 3G services more than 14 months ago. MTN launched their HSDPA service on the 22 March 2006, hot on the heels of Vodacom's announcement that their service would go live on 2 April 2006. The move is disputed however, as MTN had no data cards available even after Vodacom's launch who had data cards available on the day of their launch. Technically MTN was first to launch the service commercially, but without the means for users to connect to it. You could however use it if you could get your hands on a compatible data card, brought one as a foreigner, or ironically, bought one from its competitor Vodacom. Regardless of this and how it is considered MTN won the race on a technical level and so became the 14th network world-wide to deploy HSDPA, possibly also becoming one of the instigators for some users no longer regarding Vodacom's widely known slogan "South Africa's leading cellular network" to be valid.

QUOTE(Wikipedia)
Maxis Communications (Maxis Broadband) announced in April 2006 that it has fully integrated HSDPA into its 3G network and anticipates HSDPA services by September 2006. Maxis officially launches its HSDPA services on 26 September 2006, delivering broadband Internet access to residential customers in Kuala Lumpur. The service is delivered through a specially designed low-cost HSDPA modem, a world's first.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Deployed_HSDPA_networks

They said they will fully integrate . It was only ready in September 2006. So they were not the first. I am not sure facts from wikipedia are correct or not. Unless you have the exact date when they did launch the HSDPA service , do let me know
llhm87
post Oct 16 2007, 03:25 PM

346 posts

This is my speedtest for today at 3.22pm.
Weather = Thunderstorm

Speedtest @ Singapore

Speedtest @ Cyberjaya

Speedtest @ Penang

I will update more speedtest result later on. =)

This post has been edited by llhm87: Oct 16 2007, 03:26 PM
Lord_Destructo
post Oct 16 2007, 03:25 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 16 2007, 03:04 PM)
QUOTE(Wikipedia)
Maxis Communications (Maxis Broadband) announced in April 2006 that it has fully integrated HSDPA into its 3G network and anticipates HSDPA services by September 2006. Maxis officially launches its HSDPA services on 26 September 2006, delivering broadband Internet access to residential customers in Kuala Lumpur. The service is delivered through a specially designed low-cost HSDPA modem, a world's first.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Deployed_HSDPA_networks
They said they will fully integrate . It was only ready in September 2006. So they were not the first. I am not sure facts from wikipedia are correct or not. Unless you have the exact date when they did launch the HSDPA service , do let me know
Ok, it's like this.
I think other companies long time ago already implement HSDPA in their networks, but Maxis is the first to sell HSDPA as an alternative to home broadband.
This is totally different from catering to just laptop users only.
They have to set up the networks differently.
Actually it's quite stupid to try and replace home broadband with HSDPA, considering that the theoretical speeds for HSDPA is already so limited.
I don't think HSDPA was ever meant to replace home broadband, it's just for laptops on the go only.

This post has been edited by Lord_Destructo: Oct 16 2007, 03:31 PM
cloudstrife07
post Oct 16 2007, 03:36 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(sweetcat @ Oct 16 2007, 10:16 AM)
i m going to stay in kota damansara soon, been amuse by the maxis BB package the one can go up to 3.6mps...

but still worried that it is worst than streamyx....

there is a few reason i option for maxis,

1.i dun need a fix line phone (apply for streamyx need to apply for a land line)

2.streamyx is full for the ports or something in that area....

3. wish  to try something different
any1 from that area?
if theres maxis wired broadband, do go for it. u can do everything with it.

for other ISP like jaring, i dun have any experience with them.

and the 3.6mbps speed is ALMOST impossible to get as of now.maxis screwed up,been slow for these couple of weeks.

but well, atleast maxis hears our complains, unlike stimix which just dun bother doh.gif

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Oct 16 2007, 03:37 PM
zexynova
post Oct 16 2007, 03:38 PM

292 posts

i just hope maxis can get msn working and increase our surf speed.
TSprasys
post Oct 16 2007, 05:05 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Lord_Destructo , I agree with you. HSDPA is meant for professionals and not meant for Home Broadband. Its meant for those busy businessman who travel up and down the North-South Expressway or who jump one place to another and needs on the go internet connection. For them , they prefer a reliable and somewhat fast Internet Connection. They could not be bothered if the latency is high or low (although some of them do as there are many demanding application which needs low-latency). But then I think HSUPA + HSDPA (I am not sure what its called , HS something something) might replace Home Broadband. For now we are getting there

Maxis is just excited to roll the new technology without researching thoroughly. They might have done their homework but then as you all know our Malaysian Mentality ™..When its stated 3.6Mbps. All of us do expect to get 3.6Mbps

Oh , I can't wait for the 7.2Mbps/14.4Mbps rollout. I know its not possible to achieve that high speed but then who knows...

I think TM Streamyx customer care is much more better then Maxis. At least they listen to you. Maxis loves to do assumptions such as your PC is hit by spyware and I've advised to them to open up certain ports , msn needs a direct connection. Oh well....
Lord_Destructo
post Oct 16 2007, 05:53 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 16 2007, 05:05 PM)
Lord_Destructo , I agree with you. HSDPA is meant for professionals and not meant for Home Broadband. Its meant for those busy businessman who travel up and down the North-South Expressway or who jump one place to another and needs on the go internet connection. For them , they prefer a reliable and somewhat fast Internet Connection. They could not be bothered if the latency is high or low (although some of them do as there are many demanding application which needs low-latency). But then I think HSUPA + HSDPA (I am not sure what its called , HS something something) might replace Home Broadband. For now we are getting there

Maxis is just excited to roll the new technology without researching thoroughly. They might have done their homework but then as you all know our Malaysian Mentality ™..When its stated 3.6Mbps. All of us do expect to get 3.6Mbps

Oh , I can't wait for the 7.2Mbps/14.4Mbps rollout. I know its not possible to achieve that high speed but then who knows...
I think TM Streamyx customer care is much more better then Maxis. At least they listen to you. Maxis loves to do assumptions such as your PC is hit by spyware and I've advised to them to open up certain ports , msn needs a direct connection. Oh well....
They really gonna have 7.4 or 14.4 Mbps connection?
If got, I super happy leh.......

And you say the Streamyx customer care better ?
So far the Maxis service has been very good to me.
They never question my own computer most of the time.

This post has been edited by Lord_Destructo: Oct 16 2007, 07:09 PM
-YS-
post Oct 16 2007, 06:12 PM

519 posts

Anyone know about maxis " fair usage policy" , did they really implemented it?

And is the Hua Wei modem provided by maxis is locked for maxis sim card only?
Lord_Destructo
post Oct 16 2007, 07:11 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(-YS- @ Oct 16 2007, 06:12 PM)
Anyone know about maxis " fair usage policy" , did they really implemented it?

And is the Hua Wei modem provided by maxis is locked for maxis sim card only?
They say got this "fair usage policy", but so far it has never affected me, even if my downloads exceeded 3GB, i never noticed any differences.

And I think the modem IS locked for Maxis only
-YS-
post Oct 16 2007, 07:19 PM

519 posts

I see. Thks for the info

cscheat
post Oct 16 2007, 07:31 PM

V.V.I.P member
1,262 posts

hello !!

mind to post the pics of 5m USB extention with booster ???
im an E220 dude
BBXiong
post Oct 16 2007, 07:48 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

the 3GB thing has been removed, it is posted on one of these LYN thread, i forgot which one though...
even before they removed it, all my fren that have exceeded 3GB did not be banned by Maxis, and btw, they say that the 3GB is only for p2p connection...
for now, maxis got damn lot of problems...
my case reaches 7 working days today, but it seems that my problem is still unfix
sometimes it really makes me no mood when i think of paying RM98 for something like this....
Lord_Destructo
post Oct 16 2007, 08:20 PM

60 posts

Yay! Maxis fix the MSN problem already!

See, you can trust Maxis to fix things!

llhm87
post Oct 16 2007, 09:37 PM

346 posts

Actually I'm not so sure is it MSN problem fixed or not coz I can connect to MSN without using TOR. Anybody else having the same situation as me. I hope is not area dependent.
kevin613
post Oct 16 2007, 10:38 PM

2,236 posts

me too.. i dun need TOR to connect to MSN.. have been working well all the while.. i'm only having problem connecting to certain sites, as well as loading pages with photos..
llhm87
post Oct 16 2007, 10:41 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Oct 16 2007, 10:38 PM)
me too.. i dun need TOR to connect to MSN.. have been working well all the while.. i'm only having problem connecting to certain sites, as well as loading pages with photos..
What sites you can't load? Can't load or slow? Mind to list down the site.
TSprasys
post Oct 16 2007, 10:42 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Mine does not work still

Keep in mind , not using Official Client and never will. I'll try later on Winblows..Maybe Maxis loves Winblows to see if it connects or not

87 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:39 PM