wait k/ share ayam standalone insurance plan then ayam update post here
This post has been edited by theberry: Oct 24 2022, 11:52 AM
is investment linked medical insurance a scam?
Sep 12 2022, 09:07 PM, updated 3y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
3,514 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
every year buta buta charge management fee. wait k/ share ayam standalone insurance plan then ayam update post here This post has been edited by theberry: Oct 24 2022, 11:52 AM bigduck, otaida00taj, and 3 others liked this post
Sep 12 2022, 09:09 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,275 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
All insurance is scam
But I've been paying my investment-link for 10 years already |
Sep 12 2022, 09:16 PM
2,940 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
Medical insurance isn't scam.
But investment linked medical insurance isn't really benefitting you, it is benefitting the agents who get higher commisions so recommend it by default. |
Sep 12 2022, 09:18 PM
997 posts Joined: Mar 2019 |
Depends how the agent package it
If he told u to pay this and u get insured of medical card with xxxxx limit and tell u it is not investment.. is purely for medical.. then u wont feel bad It is because they package it as investment and you have a feel that i buy the medical card and in the case that you did not use it.. u still get back some profit from the investment.. that will get your nerve on fire.. especially when the so called investment is not performing, hence the fund value drop and you somemore need to pay extra to topup fund value inside your policy to maintain the card.. This post has been edited by Boomwick: Sep 12 2022, 09:19 PM |
Sep 12 2022, 09:19 PM
758 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Angel Heaven X |
Investment part will use as to cover increment charge in the future as the medical cost increase anytime ......... bigduck, kelvinfixx, and 3 others liked this post
Sep 12 2022, 09:21 PM
91 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(statikinetic @ Sep 12 2022, 09:16 PM) Medical insurance isn't scam. Scam.But investment linked medical insurance isn't really benefitting you, it is benefitting the agents who get higher commisions so recommend it by default. When want claim they tell you to use your own money to pay first and claim later. Now, under emergency how people can suddenly get a few hundred thousand for surgery? Later claim also not guarantee they will approve the full amount. |
Sep 12 2022, 09:21 PM
151 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(wangpr @ Sep 12 2022, 09:19 PM) Investment part will use as to cover increment charge in the future as the medical cost increase anytime ......... GE premium increased TWICE since I bought. mgis liked this post
Sep 12 2022, 09:23 PM
758 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Angel Heaven X |
Sep 12 2022, 09:26 PM
Sep 12 2022, 09:28 PM
2,980 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Mount Chiliad |
QUOTE(wangpr @ Sep 12 2022, 09:23 PM) True.... same as me, but i didnt opt in the increase... so it will use the investment part to cover..... ini benda orang tak pahamPokai if always increase .......... stupid i must say. only know to komplen instead of finding out. the product not scam, but some agent didnt do proper explanation. if scam, BNM already at fire since all products are approved by them. mushigen, tungfunglaw, and 1 other liked this post
Sep 12 2022, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(Angelic Layer @ Sep 12 2022, 09:21 PM) Scam. U got use before medical card? Got claim before ?When want claim they tell you to use your own money to pay first and claim later. Now, under emergency how people can suddenly get a few hundred thousand for surgery? Later claim also not guarantee they will approve the full amount. Emergency case.. ofcuz is normal procedure pay deposit rm1k or 2k.. because that time no GL ma.. If u do consultation, then doctor take GL first then mah no need lo.. On cannot claim full amount, this is because of test unrelated or out of scope from the illness cover in GL.. Example.. u go admission is stomach pain.. suddenly u ask doctor do a CT scan on chest... or check your leg or hand.. then of course no cover lo.. AbbyCom liked this post
Sep 12 2022, 09:31 PM
535 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: 4:44 am |
QUOTE(Angelic Layer @ Sep 12 2022, 09:21 PM) Scam. Don't spread false information.When want claim they tell you to use your own money to pay first and claim later. Now, under emergency how people can suddenly get a few hundred thousand for surgery? Later claim also not guarantee they will approve the full amount. There are deductible options and if you buy 5k deductible you need to fork up 5k before the insurance pay the rest of the claims. |
Sep 12 2022, 09:32 PM
500 posts Joined: Dec 2019 |
The way I see it. Insurance is somebody else's money, and they will decide if they want to payout or not. Or if they even want to insure you. If possible, start saving money and reduce your insurance premiums gradually. Try to get control of your own life. gobiomani liked this post
Sep 12 2022, 09:32 PM
2,932 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Insurance that need agents to sell is a scam.
Sep 12 2022, 09:33 PM
3,969 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Sep 12 2022, 09:35 PM
3,834 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
QUOTE(wangpr @ Sep 12 2022, 09:19 PM) Investment part will use as to cover increment charge in the future as the medical cost increase anytime ......... Lol bullish*t. Even with investment they will still ask you to increase the premium else it will become unsustainable. |
Sep 12 2022, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(loserguy @ Sep 12 2022, 09:32 PM) The way I see it. Insurance is somebody else's money, and they will decide if they want to payout or not. Or if they even want to insure you. Dun simply lampaji la..If possible, start saving money and reduce your insurance premiums gradually. Try to get control of your own life. I am not insurance agent.. but i claim kao my inso a few times ad.. When u get GL ad.. is confirm covered.. They dun insured u is because 1. Buy medical kad and within 2 years want to do big claim like cancer or some big underlying issue 2. Never disclose properly on underlying health issue. So they will run a thorough check on ur case.. However, if it is found to be original no tipu case, it will be allowed |
Sep 12 2022, 09:38 PM
282 posts Joined: Dec 2021 |
Who ever said it isn't, is insurance seller.
And if they said they aren't, they lied This post has been edited by B0ss_ku: Sep 12 2022, 09:39 PM |
Sep 12 2022, 09:39 PM
91 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(xCM @ Sep 12 2022, 09:31 PM) Don't spread false information. https://ringgitplus.com/en/health-insurance...dical-Card.htmlThere are deductible options and if you buy 5k deductible you need to fork up 5k before the insurance pay the rest of the claims. Deductable 100,000 |
Sep 12 2022, 09:42 PM
456 posts Joined: Mar 2020 |
QUOTE(Angelic Layer @ Sep 12 2022, 09:39 PM) Up to RM100k, this is for those who have bought earlier medical cards with lower coverage or those having/using company medical coverage. |
Sep 12 2022, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 12 2022, 09:30 PM) U got use before medical card? Got claim before ? My sister's family, whole family claim (I dunno why, their diet or what, everybody sickly and they are a young family, eldest kid 11yrs old only), can pay for premiums for next 20 yrs d . I dunno consider lucky or not lucky.Emergency case.. ofcuz is normal procedure pay deposit rm1k or 2k.. because that time no GL ma.. If u do consultation, then doctor take GL first then mah no need lo.. On cannot claim full amount, this is because of test unrelated or out of scope from the illness cover in GL.. Example.. u go admission is stomach pain.. suddenly u ask doctor do a CT scan on chest... or check your leg or hand.. then of course no cover lo.. |
2,506 posts Joined: Apr 2020 |
QUOTE(hafiez @ Sep 12 2022, 09:28 PM) ini benda orang tak paham Worst than scam , go look at those saving product plan many of them only give out 1-2% each year worst then FD.stupid i must say. only know to komplen instead of finding out. the product not scam, but some agent didnt do proper explanation. if scam, BNM already at fire since all products are approved by them. |
14,242 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: JAVABUS |
whatever shit you touch with them. do not touch investment link. iandope liked this post
Sep 12 2022, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 12 2022, 09:35 PM) Dun simply lampaji la.. Well, the final say is from the insurance companies. If you are willing to, slowly increase your savings and reduce your premiums. At a certain point, you may have enough to forgo insurance completely.I am not insurance agent.. but i claim kao my inso a few times ad.. When u get GL ad.. is confirm covered.. They dun insured u is because 1. Buy medical kad and within 2 years want to do big claim like cancer or some big underlying issue 2. Never disclose properly on underlying health issue. So they will run a thorough check on ur case.. However, if it is found to be original no tipu case, it will be allowed Is it possible to "tipu" yourself when paying for any medical expenses from out of your own pocket? |
Sep 12 2022, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Sep 12 2022, 09:45 PM) My sister's family, whole family claim (I dunno why, their diet or what, everybody sickly and they are a young family, eldest kid 11yrs old only), can pay for premiums for next 20 yrs d . I dunno consider lucky or not lucky. That does not happen on average or all insurance companies will go bankrupt.Don't approach insurance with a gambler's mindset. Don't hope to claim or turn a profit. You are betting against your own health and wellbeing. It is not worth it. |
Sep 12 2022, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(statikinetic @ Sep 12 2022, 09:16 PM) Medical insurance isn't scam. Either agent didn't explain to you properly & you didn't see the quotation documents - for GE the standalone plan's commission is HIGHER than the investment-linked policy AND standalone plan's (only the medical card portion) premiums are higher - that was 5 yrs ago when I studied the brochures. Now I dunno d.But investment linked medical insurance isn't really benefitting you, it is benefitting the agents who get higher commisions so recommend it by default. |
Sep 12 2022, 09:50 PM
118 posts Joined: Dec 2021 |
QUOTE(statikinetic @ Sep 12 2022, 09:16 PM) Medical insurance isn't scam. Fk... Got one insurance amoi keep suggesting to me high net worth individual plan. At the end of duno how many years can take duno how much....But investment linked medical insurance isn't really benefitting you, it is benefitting the agents who get higher commisions so recommend it by default. I read macam doesn't make sense....how come pay 4-5k a month only cover 1 million upon death? I read many of my friends sell those hibah Islamic card , only few hundred a month then upon death can get around 500k like that.... Seems like 4-5k pay 10 times more but a lot of the money going somewhere else. This post has been edited by Knnbuccb: Sep 12 2022, 09:52 PM |
Sep 12 2022, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(loserguy @ Sep 12 2022, 09:48 PM) That does not happen on average or all insurance companies will go bankrupt. Not betting, this is how you call it, risk planning. You kena 4D for health issues then susah lo. I force kaw them to buy it, if not, I might be the one to help foot their bills.Don't approach insurance with a gambler's mindset. Don't hope to claim or turn a profit. You are betting against your own health and wellbeing. It is not worth it. |
Sep 12 2022, 09:53 PM
535 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: 4:44 am |
QUOTE(Angelic Layer @ Sep 12 2022, 09:39 PM) Ever bothered to ask how much premium for 100k deductible? Chances are you won't even consider the 100k deductible. Don't be ignorant and give wrong facts to people. |
Sep 12 2022, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Sep 12 2022, 09:49 PM) Either agent didn't explain to you properly & you didn't see the quotation documents - for GE the standalone plan's commission is HIGHER than the investment-linked policy AND standalone plan's (only the medical card portion) premiums are higher - that was 5 yrs ago when I studied the brochures. Now I dunno d. If tandlone plan higher commission why would the agents actively push ILP instead of standalone plan. Standalone plan cheaper , should be able to sell more.... Unless you're telling me agents are so kindhearted they would forego higher commission to sell u things.. |
Sep 12 2022, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Sep 12 2022, 09:49 PM) Either agent didn't explain to you properly & you didn't see the quotation documents - for GE the standalone plan's commission is HIGHER than the investment-linked policy AND standalone plan's (only the medical card portion) premiums are higher - that was 5 yrs ago when I studied the brochures. Now I dunno d. QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Sep 12 2022, 09:50 PM) Fk... Got one insurance amoi keep suggesting to me high net worth individual plan. At the end of duno how many years can take duno how much.... I don't depend on agent. I read every page of the agreement. Not the brochure, but the 100 page agreement.I read macam doesn't make sense....how come pay 4-5k a month only cover 1 million upon death? I read many of my friends sell those hibah Islamic card , only few hundred a month then upon death can get around 500k like that.... Seems like 4-5k pay 10 times more but a lot of the money going somewhere else. My two sen advice generally to people. Insurance is for insurance. Investment is for investment. You mix the two, your agent driving Merc/BMW. |
Sep 12 2022, 09:58 PM
112 posts Joined: Jun 2019 |
Sep 12 2022, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(statikinetic @ Sep 12 2022, 09:56 PM) I don't depend on agent. I read every page of the agreement. Not the brochure, but the 100 page agreement. Omg u couldn't be more right....She was driving BMW. At young age. We met up at cafe, I drove my mom potong saga ( just sold off my second hand jepunis old car ) . I curi curi go spy what car she drove and she caught me looking at her ... In my mom saga ... Malu sial.i faster drove away , hitting 180km/h on the straight My two sen advice generally to people. Insurance is for insurance. Investment is for investment. You mix the two, your agent driving Merc/BMW. And yet she keeps asking me to buy high net worth plan. I should be the one asking her to buy.. based on the car she drives and what I drive, she's the higher net worth person . Every few months sure call me ask when free to meet.... I guess that's why agents need to be decent looking and put on a sweet voice .... Else people just won't meet them .. imagine if some landwhale ask to meet u also got no mood Oh btw , u know what's funny. I bought plan from her when she was with *lb . Then now she change to other company I ask her eh then last time u sold me that ILP alrdy, why still need to buy this? She said ohhh this one much better than that one, the previous one so little benefit. In my heart I was like knnbuccb now u say so lousy then that time u sold to me say till so nice? This post has been edited by Knnbuccb: Sep 12 2022, 10:10 PM blue litmus liked this post
Sep 12 2022, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(xCM @ Sep 12 2022, 09:53 PM) Ever bothered to ask how much premium for 100k deductible? Chances are you won't even consider the 100k deductible. Coinsurance and deductibles are good ways of slowly reducing your premiums and coverage. It is a good idea if you are slowly building up your savings or if you already have workplace insurance.Don't be ignorant and give wrong facts to people. CoolStoryWriter and xCM liked this post
Sep 12 2022, 10:31 PM
316 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Sep 12 2022, 09:58 PM) Omg u couldn't be more right....She was driving BMW. At young age. We met up at cafe, I drove my mom potong saga ( just sold off my second hand jepunis old car ) . I curi curi go spy what car she drove and she caught me looking at her ... In my mom saga ... Malu sial.i faster drove away , hitting 180km/h on the straight this agent doesnt care about youAnd yet she keeps asking me to buy high net worth plan. I should be the one asking her to buy.. based on the car she drives and what I drive, she's the higher net worth person . Every few months sure call me ask when free to meet.... I guess that's why agents need to be decent looking and put on a sweet voice .... Else people just won't meet them .. imagine if some landwhale ask to meet u also got no mood Oh btw , u know what's funny. I bought plan from her when she was with *lb . Then now she change to other company I ask her eh then last time u sold me that ILP alrdy, why still need to buy this? She said ohhh this one much better than that one, the previous one so little benefit. In my heart I was like knnbuccb now u say so lousy then that time u sold to me say till so nice? only care commission and upgrade new car from bmw |
Sep 12 2022, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Sep 12 2022, 09:55 PM) If tandlone plan higher commission why would the agents actively push ILP instead of standalone plan. Standalone plan cheaper , should be able to sell more.... Unless you're telling me agents are so kindhearted they would forego higher commission to sell u things.. Because it's really good for the customer, perhaps? It's a win-win. If everyone is a scammer then the profession would have been banned lo, you have to give it to some (not all) who really worked hard to earn their BMWs and bungalows helping their customers plan. |
Sep 12 2022, 11:02 PM
7,617 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
only medical card doesn't come with investment, the rest critical illness, death, etc all comes with investment link
Sep 12 2022, 11:02 PM
1,406 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Living Hell |
QUOTE(Angelic Layer @ Sep 12 2022, 09:21 PM) Scam. If the agent never told you there is deductible / coinsurance and caught you off guard when claiming, nothing to say although you really should have read and raised any questions during free look period.When want claim they tell you to use your own money to pay first and claim later. Now, under emergency how people can suddenly get a few hundred thousand for surgery? Later claim also not guarantee they will approve the full amount. If you were told and still caught off guard like that then that's all your own negligence |
Sep 12 2022, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Sep 12 2022, 10:44 PM) Because it's really good for the customer, perhaps? It's a win-win. If everyone is a scammer then the profession would have been banned lo, you have to give it to some (not all) who really worked hard to earn their BMWs and bungalows helping their customers plan. Show us the proof that standalone get more commission. |
Sep 12 2022, 11:16 PM
241 posts Joined: Oct 2021 |
Is not scam...shit really happens sometimes...i got my ILP, pay 200 a month for peace of mind...
Sep 12 2022, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Sep 12 2022, 09:45 PM) My sister's family, whole family claim (I dunno why, their diet or what, everybody sickly and they are a young family, eldest kid 11yrs old only), can pay for premiums for next 20 yrs d . I dunno consider lucky or not lucky. Well if in that case.. U see nobody want to get sick.. if given a chance.. all want to be healthy.. But if one is sick and without any hedging tools for the lose of monetary value to cure the sickness.. that is very bad.. So your sister family is consider as unlucky punya lucky.. Unlucky because sick But lucky because got inso cover.. Just imagine thosr unlucky sick.. and no inso need to pay cash or wait 3 4 5 6 mths at government hospital |
Sep 12 2022, 11:41 PM
253 posts Joined: Jul 2021 |
QUOTE(Angelic Layer @ Sep 12 2022, 09:39 PM) this already proved that you don't have one or you are not claiming. diuniasing |
Sep 12 2022, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(loserguy @ Sep 12 2022, 09:46 PM) Well, the final say is from the insurance companies. If you are willing to, slowly increase your savings and reduce your premiums. At a certain point, you may have enough to forgo insurance completely. Very hard to say one la..Is it possible to "tipu" yourself when paying for any medical expenses from out of your own pocket? Of course if small little issue, then you are right in the sense of save up and can pay when needed.. But if u kena jackpot sickness.. then how ? The big C... can grow anywhere from head to toe.. Then heart problem.. artery clog Or kidney failure.. If you are referring to those common ones like flu.. cold.. of course normal saving is better because a cold or flu usually does not need admission into hospital unless it is mutated into pnemonia stage 3 with breathing difficulty. Your body, your bet.. if no kena. Of course is the best.. If you are scaredy cat.. kok ji gia.. then better get one |
Sep 12 2022, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 12 2022, 11:44 PM) Very hard to say one la.. Well, you should at least know how much your insurance is going to payout. There are "unlimited" plans nowadays, but realistically how much can you claim? Can try working towards that number if you want.Of course if small little issue, then you are right in the sense of save up and can pay when needed.. But if u kena jackpot sickness.. then how ? The big C... can grow anywhere from head to toe.. Then heart problem.. artery clog Or kidney failure.. If you are referring to those common ones like flu.. cold.. of course normal saving is better because a cold or flu usually does not need admission into hospital unless it is mutated into pnemonia stage 3 with breathing difficulty. Your body, your bet.. if no kena. Of course is the best.. If you are scaredy cat.. kok ji gia.. then better get one |
Sep 12 2022, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(loserguy @ Sep 12 2022, 11:50 PM) Well, you should at least know how much your insurance is going to payout. There are "unlimited" plans nowadays, but realistically how much can you claim? Can try working towards that number if you want. Depends on what you buy one la..I dunno about latest.. But i think now plan are usually yearly capping 100k Lifetime no limit How much can u claim depends on what you do one ma.. If u complain say u stomach ache, stomach problem intestine issue.. Then a gastro specialist will do a scope from mouth and anus lo .. If day care then will be below rm10k.. usually is 7 8k ( pantai hospital ) If found out got issue, bacteria /fungus infection, then ask u ward for 5 days.. then mah 20k lo.. (pantai hospital) If your body got lesion..(small bump head) and you want to operate it.. 1 lesion is rm400 / 500.. then got other charges add up around 2 3k lo.. you can opt for day care admission to claim inso.. Sometimes u play sport injured kaki.. knee cap damage.. also can do scanning MRI.. then they will maybe do some minor invasive surgery to remove fluid and pump some gel inside knee cap.. that one will be around 20 to 30k ( include 3 mth follow up cost) Dengue also can claim.. around 6 to 10k depends how long u stay So u think not fast use? This post has been edited by Boomwick: Sep 12 2022, 11:58 PM |
Sep 13 2022, 12:21 AM
Sep 13 2022, 01:33 AM
QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Sep 13 2022, 12:21 AM) Aiya, kena dig it up la, will try, but no promises... If can't find maybe I ask my agent friend to send product write-up (the documents that agents refer to) Hope I don't get LOD....The Smart series are Investment linked (160% comm max over 6 yrs). The Great series are Standalone (171% comm). This post has been edited by AbbyCom: Sep 13 2022, 01:34 AM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Sep 13 2022, 02:10 AM
Sep 13 2022, 07:54 AM
Sep 13 2022, 07:57 AM
22 posts Joined: Aug 2022 |
I bought investment and medical separately for all.my family members ... Investment as gift when they marry Medical as protection ... |
Sep 13 2022, 09:00 AM
Sep 13 2022, 09:20 AM
Sep 13 2022, 09:23 AM
1,590 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Depend, when you need it, it is not scam, if you are healthy you will say its scam.
Sep 13 2022, 09:39 AM
4,954 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Scam or not, medical insurance offers a peace of mind.
As #53 says, when you need it, it's not a scam but a lifesaver. If you don't have medical insurance and you think you cannot afford medical treatment, you will delay seeing a doctor or camp at gomen hospital if something happens. |
Sep 13 2022, 10:09 AM
962 posts Joined: May 2008 |
I bought GE investment link + medical card for 12 years already, when I bought that time I was a fresh grad, paying RM150/m.
Now i'm 30+ y.o. paying RM170/m. Increase RM20 only. Ok la not scam I think. |
Sep 13 2022, 10:12 AM
2,096 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(la bella @ Sep 13 2022, 10:09 AM) I bought GE investment link + medical card for 12 years already, when I bought that time I was a fresh grad, paying RM150/m. I believe your old plan coverage very little...not enough to cover medical bills nowadays.Now i'm 30+ y.o. paying RM170/m. Increase RM20 only. Ok la not scam I think. Just like mine... bought 16 yrs ago...coverage only 60k. Bough new plan last year.... coverage 500k. |
Sep 13 2022, 10:19 AM
259 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(MrBaba @ Sep 13 2022, 02:10 AM) Topkek investment link one price way higher then standalone end up investment link one still make more. already proved that you're wrong then u move the goalpost AbbyCom liked this post
Sep 13 2022, 10:21 AM
962 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(cmk96 @ Sep 13 2022, 10:12 AM) I believe your old plan coverage very little...not enough to cover medical bills nowadays. my agent told me my current RM170/m IL+medical cover Just like mine... bought 16 yrs ago...coverage only 60k. Bough new plan last year.... coverage 500k. medical -daily room and board RM200 -Annual limit 120k -lifetime 1.2million death 30k permanent disablement 30k I think it is reasonable for RM170/m AbbyCom liked this post
Sep 13 2022, 10:27 AM
324 posts Joined: Apr 2020 |
Sep 13 2022, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(la bella @ Sep 13 2022, 10:21 AM) my agent told me my current RM170/m IL+medical cover unless u wanna share room with others lahmedical -daily room and board RM200 -Annual limit 120k -lifetime 1.2million death 30k permanent disablement 30k I think it is reasonable for RM170/m lately single room oredi >rm300++ and did he tell u if u use >20% of your limit, u need to borne some charges after that? This post has been edited by theberry: Sep 13 2022, 10:28 AM |
Sep 13 2022, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(la bella @ Sep 13 2022, 10:21 AM) my agent told me my current RM170/m IL+medical cover I had a similar plan like yours previously. There's a coinsurance where you need to pay certain percentage of the bill. medical -daily room and board RM200 -Annual limit 120k -lifetime 1.2million death 30k permanent disablement 30k I think it is reasonable for RM170/m Also I think there should be a revision to increase your premium but you didn't opt in/give consent. |
Sep 13 2022, 10:29 AM
1,613 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Sg Long/Serdang |
QUOTE(la bella @ Sep 13 2022, 10:21 AM) my agent told me my current RM170/m IL+medical cover if affordablemedical -daily room and board RM200 -Annual limit 120k -lifetime 1.2million death 30k permanent disablement 30k I think it is reasonable for RM170/m u should find something had higher death and permanent cover 30k a bit too low for auch case |
Sep 13 2022, 10:29 AM
Sep 13 2022, 10:30 AM
10,162 posts Joined: Nov 2014 |
Hari hari open insurance thread
Sep 13 2022, 10:32 AM
395 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
buy medical card without any rider attached. simple
Sep 13 2022, 10:35 AM
76 posts Joined: Jun 2019 |
based on my actuarial science degree from google.com, best package is no investment thingy attached. otaida00taj and silkysilk liked this post
Sep 13 2022, 10:37 AM
74 posts Joined: Jul 2022 |
Just get term insurance. For RM200 monthly you can get 1M or more coverage which actually makes a difference if you get to claim but then you try to bundle investment link then ended up RM200 can't even get RM200k
This post has been edited by sinkiebaharu: Sep 13 2022, 10:37 AM |
Sep 13 2022, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Sep 13 2022, 09:00 AM) My relative is a GE agent. When I asked him any medical plan without IL, he said nowadays all medical plans are ILP. Msig got stand alone one , cheaper by 2-3 time if compare to investment link one. Kek. QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Sep 13 2022, 10:19 AM) I give no flying fuck how u want spend yr money |
Sep 13 2022, 02:08 PM
656 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
you need insurance if you dont have savings.
even with savings, insurance can be a better bet. finding a good insurance is the issue |
Sep 13 2022, 06:24 PM
259 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Sep 13 2022, 07:45 PM
454 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: kuala lumpur |
Understand what is insurance vs assurance
Also ask the agent to send u the whole disclosure sheet, I know for sure some agents will snap parts of here and there to hide the part of commission payout. We knew its a commissioned sales, just don't understand why they so sked and stupid From there you can see the breakdown of charges. And why investment link? I rather pay the fixed amount from month 1 till month xx when I die or policy mature rather than the term or standalone traditional type where it increases every year. That is where the investment part covers and hedge the premium. Just go read the quotation and disclosure sheet |
Oct 24 2022, 09:24 AM
up
Oct 24 2022, 09:26 AM
424 posts Joined: Aug 2021 |
Insurance is obviously a scam .. Been paying mine since 2017 and never once i use itbur the insurer write to me that there will be a hike in premium payments because others are using it casing the pool to shrink ..
What mather faaker reason! This post has been edited by LuckyBai: Oct 24 2022, 09:27 AM |
Oct 24 2022, 09:27 AM
1,450 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
Oct 24 2022, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(ati radeon @ Sep 13 2022, 07:45 PM) Understand what is insurance vs assurance Don't expect the agent know everything and every clauses or every situation Also ask the agent to send u the whole disclosure sheet, I know for sure some agents will snap parts of here and there to hide the part of commission payout. We knew its a commissioned sales, just don't understand why they so sked and stupid From there you can see the breakdown of charges. And why investment link? I rather pay the fixed amount from month 1 till month xx when I die or policy mature rather than the term or standalone traditional type where it increases every year. That is where the investment part covers and hedge the premium. Just go read the quotation and disclosure sheet What is in their mind was just money and commission by convincing you to sign the policy with them |
Oct 24 2022, 09:38 AM
933 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
The only thing you need most is your medical card... and insured against the standard critical illness.
Don't every mix investment with health insurance... coZ by experience you will get the worst deals of both sides from smealyz investment gains and poor payout and coverage from insurance upon any confirmed illness... Used to believe in insurance.. but to me it's just a load of scams... cashing out also it's soo hard for them to give you a payout... and they make it really hard for you to get that pot of money. Insurance company will ASK up till 4 previous employments on your health and mc records which you gottan obtain. If they find a single spec or issue with your health that they can use as a loop hole as to not payout... they will definitely do that and go down that path as to not pay you. Unless you are super clean and dont drink and dont smoke and eat healthy or organic..and in a health industry by profession.. which gives them no excuse not to payout then you should be in a good position. This is also if payout is a 7 figure sum... all depends also on how good is your Insurance AGENT... to present the case in the directors meeting as they need to evaluate your case for payout. If your AGENT is pandan and soi boy and dunno how to defend your case properly and is dumfuk... directors would not be convinced to release the money and end of the day you are also farked... So choose your agents properly and dun simply sign up with any tom dic and harry agents just becoz of friends or they want to earn your commission. Thats my 200cents of advice and all above is my opinion solely based on what i've experienced or someone close to me went throguh... |
Oct 24 2022, 09:58 AM
Oct 24 2022, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(hafiez @ Sep 12 2022, 09:28 PM) ini benda orang tak paham Haha ... BNM already "fired" the insurers and forced them to set out more realistic numbers for ILPs due to outright misleading information provided by the company to the agent !stupid i must say. only know to komplen instead of finding out. the product not scam, but some agent [u mean most insurance company] didnt do proper explanation. if scam, BNM already at fire since all products are approved by them. Just goggle for the BNM directive ... jangan malas |
Oct 24 2022, 10:50 AM
226 posts Joined: Nov 2021 |
Yes it is a scam
An example is HSBC Universal Treasure Plus The bank agent will earn high commission selling you the product In return you will lose a huge amount of money |
Oct 24 2022, 11:13 AM
763 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(LuckyBai @ Oct 24 2022, 09:26 AM) Insurance is obviously a scam .. Been paying mine since 2017 and never once i use itbur the insurer write to me that there will be a hike in premium payments because others are using it casing the pool to shrink .. Why not cancel it straight jer? What mather faaker reason! Many of my friends and relatives cancelled their policy straight after COVID. |
Oct 24 2022, 11:14 AM
90 posts Joined: Jun 2022 |
Conclusion:
ILP need to pay yearly fund management fee 1-2%. Return is so so at 3-4% .. Ignorance people get mislead into buying ILP thinking the Investment can help to offset premium later. They pay a higher monthly fee to cover insurance and investment. Agent also get a higher commission. The truth is, you can actually buy a standalone and invest the extra money your own way. You can offset the premium in the future using your own investment . Pay zero fee for investment and potentially higher return if you know how. ILP is just a way for them to make more money. The fund manager charge u 1-2% every year and agent drive bmw. |
Oct 24 2022, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(bogletails @ Oct 24 2022, 11:14 AM) Conclusion: not sure how your 1-2% extra maybe rm3-4 extra can make an agent drive BMW lol...ILP need to pay yearly fund management fee 1-2%. Return is so so at 3-4% .. Ignorance people get mislead into buying ILP thinking the Investment can help to offset premium later. They pay a higher monthly fee to cover insurance and investment. Agent also get a higher commission. The truth is, you can actually buy a standalone and invest the extra money your own way. You can offset the premium in the future using your own investment . Pay zero fee for investment and potentially higher return if you know how. ILP is just a way for them to make more money. The fund manager charge u 1-2% every year and agent drive bmw. |
Oct 24 2022, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(bogletails @ Oct 24 2022, 11:14 AM) Conclusion: But some one pointed out above GE scenario the standalone policy commission is higher than ILP how leh ?ILP need to pay yearly fund management fee 1-2%. Return is so so at 3-4% .. Ignorance people get mislead into buying ILP thinking the Investment can help to offset premium later. They pay a higher monthly fee to cover insurance and investment. Agent also get a higher commission. The truth is, you can actually buy a standalone and invest the extra money your own way. You can offset the premium in the future using your own investment . Pay zero fee for investment and potentially higher return if you know how. ILP is just a way for them to make more money. The fund manager charge u 1-2% every year and agent drive bmw. |
Oct 24 2022, 11:21 AM
Oct 24 2022, 11:22 AM
395 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Only stupid people buy ILP medical card.
208 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
7,617 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Oct 24 2022, 11:25 AM
Oct 24 2022, 11:27 AM
107 posts Joined: Jun 2013 From: kl.klang. |
Yes is a scam
20 pay, 1 claim on average U only pay agent's recond car |
Oct 24 2022, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(Angry Clerk @ Oct 24 2022, 11:17 AM) The management fee don't go to agent. It's for fund manager that manage your investment fund. If you think 1% is low, times with the size of their fund then you know. Remember fund manager usually manage ten to hundreds of millions. |
Oct 24 2022, 11:37 AM
4,954 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(bogletails @ Oct 24 2022, 11:14 AM) Conclusion: If.... ILP need to pay yearly fund management fee 1-2%. Return is so so at 3-4% .. Ignorance people get mislead into buying ILP thinking the Investment can help to offset premium later. They pay a higher monthly fee to cover insurance and investment. Agent also get a higher commission. The truth is, you can actually buy a standalone and invest the extra money your own way. You can offset the premium in the future using your own investment . Pay zero fee for investment and potentially higher return if you know how. ILP is just a way for them to make more money. The fund manager charge u 1-2% every year and agent drive bmw. Might as well say don't buy any insurance if one is rich enough to cover potential medical fee. |
Oct 24 2022, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(cms @ Oct 24 2022, 11:19 AM) But some one pointed out above GE scenario the standalone policy commission is higher than ILP how leh ? That one I have no idea. But think about this. ILP usually pay 3-4 times more per month. The fee is in percentage. So who pay more at the end? 100 x 10% = 10 300 x 8% = 24 |
Oct 24 2022, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(bogletails @ Oct 24 2022, 11:38 AM) That one I have no idea. But think about this. ILP usually pay 3-4 times more per month. It's better to rely on the payment schedule of the insurance plan to see how it scales as one ages. The fee is in percentage. So who pay more at the end? 100 x 10% = 10 300 x 8% = 24 Some non ILP plans like standalone medical card or term plan pricing towards older age scales up very high. But as 4D is not compulsory to buy, i think insurance is also in that sense not compulsory. It's like how we see people queue up buy 4D hoping to kena and this is other way round. Hope don't kena then Win. |
Oct 24 2022, 11:49 AM
Oct 24 2022, 11:51 AM
Oct 24 2022, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(Ray2021 @ Oct 24 2022, 10:02 AM) Haha ... BNM already "fired" the insurers and forced them to set out more realistic numbers for ILPs due to outright misleading information provided by the company to the agent ! LELS.Just goggle for the BNM directive ... jangan malas fired and revoked license are two different things. misleading rarely because of the products itself. is how the agency want to tackle the product to the masses. the guideline of the product is prepared and agreed by both parties, providers and BNM. how to sell it, is up to the agency forces. this is where the mislead came. although BNM already came out sales guidelines or code and ethics in dealing to the masses, well, still up to the agent how to win sales. im already out from the agency line because of this loophole. more to license financial advisers now. direct license with BNM. much better ethics in doing sales. |
Oct 24 2022, 01:40 PM
555 posts Joined: Aug 2013 From: Bolehland |
you get back your ROI on the insurance products you bought if you get sick and hospitalized
so pray you get severely sick so you can get more than your money's worth lulz |
Oct 24 2022, 01:48 PM
352 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
ILP benefits agent more yes, it's quite obvious, IIRC agent take like almost 30-40% of the premium as bonus first year then reduce 10% every year
that's why agent always ask you to renew insurance (top up/etc) so they can continue get bonus from your plan but I don't mind paying my agent la cause she is really helpful already help my family many times, handle 0-100 for us even come to us to collect receipt for claim, and we already claimed like 5-6 times (clinic, hospital also got) |
Oct 24 2022, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(theberry @ Oct 24 2022, 11:49 AM) I also hope BNM ban licensed insurer hiring agents to sell insurance.. They basically don't know anything and sometime misleading too!! What these agents want are just the commsThis post has been edited by LuckyBai: Oct 24 2022, 01:52 PM |
Oct 24 2022, 07:46 PM
QUOTE(hafiez @ Oct 24 2022, 01:27 PM) LELS. Yes insurance is not a scam. fired and revoked license are two different things. misleading rarely because of the products itself. is how the agency want to tackle the product to the masses. the guideline of the product is prepared and agreed by both parties, providers and BNM. how to sell it, is up to the agency forces. this is where the mislead came. although BNM already came out sales guidelines or code and ethics in dealing to the masses, well, still up to the agent how to win sales. im already out from the agency line because of this loophole. more to license financial advisers now. direct license with BNM. much better ethics in doing sales. However based on your explanation, are you implying that insurance agents are "scammers" when misleading the insured on investment linked policies especially with unrealistic returns to gain more commission. In short, ILP has a bad reputation due to scam or misleading tactics of agents? |
Oct 24 2022, 07:47 PM
7 posts Joined: Aug 2021 From: i love youuu |
rm250 for 3mil coverage is good?
Oct 24 2022, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(Ray2021 @ Oct 24 2022, 07:46 PM) Yes insurance is not a scam. I would say unethical. If this reported by the customer to BNM, the agent will get severe punishment.However based on your explanation, are you implying that insurance agents are "scammers" when misleading the insured on investment linked policies especially with unrealistic returns to gain more commission. In short, ILP has a bad reputation due to scam or misleading tactics of agents? The ILP has various products. Some products only use instrument vehicle to manage the policy sustainability. Customer received benefit from this ILP by not worrying about the cash value that only be saved to support the policy. Some portion of the monthly contribution will be channeled into funds. Be it equity, balanced or fixed. So, the value inside can helps the client in the event of contribution holiday kicks in. Not to find profit. This cash value or fund is useless as emergency funds or investment. However, there are some products that have benefits in terms of profits. This is the kind of product being famous in midleading. Personally i dont market this products, i only market the product i stated previously. Insurance / takaful only use as protection. |
Oct 25 2022, 03:48 AM
See below the misleading part in [brackets].
Fact is ILP is more expensive because higher commission to agents AND takes higher risks which have generated very low returns compared to traditional insurance. AGents conveniently gloss over or omit to mention that traditional insurance (participating) has a value component that have outperformed majority of ILPs simply because lower commission, risk and management fees. Bukan benda orang tak faham tapi banyak agen tipu Dan scam kerana nak komisen banyak. not stupid but insurance company intentionally misled with unrealistic high returns that BNM in the end had to “fire” a directive that fixed the projections to be much lower after banyak komplen. BNM approve product but not the misleading projected returns by the insurers and scammer agents (many even bs that non ILP is no longer available. QUOTE(hafiez @ Sep 12 2022, 09:28 PM) ini benda orang tak paham. stupid i must say. only know to komplen instead of finding out. the product not scam, but some [most] agent [and insurers] didnt do proper explanation [resulting in BNM intervention]. if scam, BNM already at fire since all products are approved by them. QUOTE(hafiez @ Oct 24 2022, 10:20 PM) I would say unethical. If this reported by the customer to BNM, the agent will get severe punishment. The ILP has various products. Some products only use instrument vehicle to manage the policy sustainability. Customer received benefit from this ILP by not worrying about the cash value that only be saved to support the policy. Some portion of the monthly contribution will be channeled into funds. Be it equity, balanced or fixed. So, the value inside [losses] can helps [further damage] the client in the event of contribution holiday kicks in. Not to find profit. This cash value or fund is useless as emergency funds or investment. However, there are some products that have benefits in terms of profits. This is the kind of product being famous in midleading. Personally i dont market this products, i only market the product i stated previously. Insurance / takaful only use as protection. |
Oct 25 2022, 08:12 AM
13,477 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Sep 12 2022, 09:45 PM) My sister's family, whole family claim (I dunno why, their diet or what, everybody sickly and they are a young family, eldest kid 11yrs old only), can pay for premiums for next 20 yrs d . I dunno consider lucky or not lucky. Mindset problem. Some people think buy liao must use. Example if sometimes you went for small operation. Then doctor see you got insurance, give suggestions like since already cutting here, why not do this as well, like killing 2 or 3 birds with one stone. |
Oct 25 2022, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(Ray2021 @ Oct 25 2022, 03:48 AM) See below the misleading part in [brackets]. cerita dia senang ja; agent punya hal.Fact is ILP is more expensive because higher commission to agents AND takes higher risks which have generated very low returns compared to traditional insurance. AGents conveniently gloss over or omit to mention that traditional insurance (participating) has a value component that have outperformed majority of ILPs simply because lower commission, risk and management fees. Bukan benda orang tak faham tapi banyak agen tipu Dan scam kerana nak komisen banyak. not stupid but insurance company intentionally misled with unrealistic high returns that BNM in the end had to “fire” a directive that fixed the projections to be much lower after banyak komplen. BNM approve product but not the misleading projected returns by the insurers and scammer agents (many even bs that non ILP is no longer available. |
Oct 25 2022, 12:28 PM
454 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: kuala lumpur |
QUOTE(LuckyBai @ Oct 24 2022, 09:28 AM) Don't expect the agent know everything and every clauses or every situation Sbb tu ask for whole disclosure and quotation sheet sendiri baca.What is in their mind was just money and commission by convincing you to sign the policy with them Don't rely on the mouth and info from agent only. |
Oct 25 2022, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Oct 25 2022, 08:12 AM) Mindset problem. Some people think buy liao must use. Example if sometimes you went for small operation. Then doctor see you got insurance, give suggestions like since already cutting here, why not do this as well, like killing 2 or 3 birds with one stone. I look at it as part doctor slaughter them when see they have insurance coverage, part is behaviour/environment/genetics. |
Oct 25 2022, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(la bella @ Sep 13 2022, 10:21 AM) my agent told me my current RM170/m IL+medical cover Yea, this is reasonable for the premium. If you go for those unlimited lifetime limit, and annual limit of RM1m and above, more like above RM300/monthly.medical -daily room and board RM200 -Annual limit 120k -lifetime 1.2million death 30k permanent disablement 30k I think it is reasonable for RM170/m For me, coverage increased 10x (RM120k yearly to RM1.2m) but premium doubled because currently the claims unlikely to use up the RM1.2m but we lock in the annual limit for the future - really depends on people's reasoning, to each his/her own. |
Oct 13 2023, 12:40 PM
49 posts Joined: Feb 2015 |
Sorry for resurrecting old thread. My mom had to to be warded, called the insurance agent to see if it would be covered, agent told her, policy no longer active due to lapse of payment. Called the bank, mcis apparently stopped the payment, I called mcis they said it was because the premium could not cover the insurance charge.
Looking @ the policy, the insurance charge will apparently be higher after 57, my mom signed up @ 53, she prob wouldn't have signed up if she knew she'd have to pay significantly more after just 4 years. The agent prob didn't tell her everything. Anything I can do here? Can complain with bnm? This is utter bull, 20k+ in premium and nada, still has to queu up at govt hospital, while scammers gets 20%. |
Oct 13 2023, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(smallgiant @ Oct 13 2023, 12:40 PM) Sorry for resurrecting old thread. My mom had to to be warded, called the insurance agent to see if it would be covered, agent told her, policy no longer active due to lapse of payment. Called the bank, mcis apparently stopped the payment, I called mcis they said it was because the premium could not cover the insurance charge. your mom should receive a sms noticing her cash value from insurance are not able to cover before insurance kaputLooking @ the policy, the insurance charge will apparently be higher after 57, my mom signed up @ 53, she prob wouldn't have signed up if she knew she'd have to pay significantly more after just 4 years. The agent prob didn't tell her everything. Anything I can do here? Can complain with bnm? This is utter bull, 20k+ in premium and nada, still has to queu up at govt hospital, while scammers gets 20%. This post has been edited by theberry: Oct 13 2023, 12:56 PM |
Oct 13 2023, 12:57 PM
282 posts Joined: Dec 2021 |
QUOTE(smallgiant @ Oct 13 2023, 12:40 PM) Sorry for resurrecting old thread. My mom had to to be warded, called the insurance agent to see if it would be covered, agent told her, policy no longer active due to lapse of payment. Called the bank, mcis apparently stopped the payment, I called mcis they said it was because the premium could not cover the insurance charge. Told you soLooking @ the policy, the insurance charge will apparently be higher after 57, my mom signed up @ 53, she prob wouldn't have signed up if she knew she'd have to pay significantly more after just 4 years. The agent prob didn't tell her everything. Anything I can do here? Can complain with bnm? This is utter bull, 20k+ in premium and nada, still has to queu up at govt hospital, while scammers gets 20%. Remember guys, insurance is legal scam |
Oct 13 2023, 01:18 PM
Oct 13 2023, 01:23 PM
223 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Oct 13 2023, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(AnythingK @ Oct 13 2023, 01:23 PM) Regular insrance is fine, this investment link crap, prob bullshit. And yes, the agent is probably grade a cunt, my mom bought 5 or 6 policies, lol, looks like all are worth shit now. |
Oct 13 2023, 01:35 PM
223 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(smallgiant @ Oct 13 2023, 01:28 PM) Regular insrance is fine, this investment link crap, prob bullshit. And yes, the agent is probably grade a cunt, my mom bought 5 or 6 policies, lol, looks like all are worth shit now. No its not if you understand how it works. JIUHWEI liked this post
Oct 13 2023, 02:11 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,385 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(smallgiant @ Oct 13 2023, 12:40 PM) Sorry for resurrecting old thread. My mom had to to be warded, called the insurance agent to see if it would be covered, agent told her, policy no longer active due to lapse of payment. Called the bank, mcis apparently stopped the payment, I called mcis they said it was because the premium could not cover the insurance charge. You need to understand that 4 hingsLooking @ the policy, the insurance charge will apparently be higher after 57, my mom signed up @ 53, she prob wouldn't have signed up if she knew she'd have to pay significantly more after just 4 years. The agent prob didn't tell her everything. Anything I can do here? Can complain with bnm? This is utter bull, 20k+ in premium and nada, still has to queu up at govt hospital, while scammers gets 20%. 1. All ILP will not have enough cash balance to cover your policy after xyz years that is why you need to manually perform a large chunk topup to keep it sustainable. Cause majority of ILP cannot beat EPF return. 2. All ILP cash balance will be negative at end of insurance life. 3. All medical insurance premium will increase regardless if it is ILP or standalone. ILP will just minus out the investment portion toale up for it until it reaches zero then lapse. All medical insurance premoum increases with age. Cannot run away fo it. Embrace it. 4. For medical insurance, agent continue to receive premium for at lesat 6 years. First 2 years 40% will be as commission goes to insurance company and agent. The rest goes into your investment fund and your premium. You can complain of OFS and see can get any settlement. Likely not. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 13 2023, 02:14 PM |
Oct 13 2023, 02:16 PM
Oct 13 2023, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 13 2023, 02:11 PM) You need to understand that 4 hings So like some people say here it's a total scam. Im waiting for full account statement from them, see how it goes.1. All ILP will not have enough cash balance to cover your policy after xyz years that is why you need to manually perform a large chunk topup to keep it sustainable. Cause majority of ILP cannot beat EPF return. 2. All ILP cash balance will be negative at end of insurance life. 3. All medical insurance premium will increase regardless if it is ILP or standalone. ILP will just minus out the investment portion toale up for it until it reaches zero then lapse. All medical insurance premoum increases with age. Cannot run away fo it. Embrace it. 4. For medical insurance, agent continue to receive premium for at lesat 6 years. First 2 years 40% will be as commission goes to insurance company and agent. The rest goes into your investment fund and your premium. You can complain of OFS and see can get any settlement. Likely not. So, 14 years is over xyz? JIUHWEI liked this post
Oct 13 2023, 02:38 PM
1,084 posts Joined: Jul 2022 |
QUOTE(Davez89 @ Sep 12 2022, 09:09 PM) Yea.. same with me, 6 years alreadyI was clueless that time, all I wanted was insurance coverage Now regret I included investment-link. Was told no price increase. 1 years ago, got letter premium must increase, or will reduce coverage span Want to meet agent also difficult, after meet, macam macam explanation.. MYR down lah, medical cost increase lah, too many claims lah I never claimed for that 6 years. Even if medical cost increase, it's not like my coverage will increase, it's still the same. Then I thought maybe just pay for medical coverage only, remove that investment thing.. but cannot lor. But if want to add rider, can lor. QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 12 2022, 09:18 PM) Depends how the agent package it 6 years ago, I was not literate about investments, funds.. If he told u to pay this and u get insured of medical card with xxxxx limit and tell u it is not investment.. is purely for medical.. then u wont feel bad It is because they package it as investment and you have a feel that i buy the medical card and in the case that you did not use it.. u still get back some profit from the investment.. that will get your nerve on fire.. especially when the so called investment is not performing, hence the fund value drop and you somemore need to pay extra to topup fund value inside your policy to maintain the card.. They give projection, I thought that's 100% certain. Later I see it's doing horrible.. I applied to change to different fund. Walaweh.. so much questionnaire. Submitted, but got rejected, need to do further questionnaire. So now I'm just stuck with the fund I was automatically assigned. At the time I sign up, I don't know about the funds.. why couldn't the agent explained to me the different funds available, which one I would want. |
Oct 13 2023, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Oct 13 2023, 02:38 PM) So now I'm just stuck with the fund I was automatically assigned. At the time I sign up, I don't know about the funds.. why couldn't the agent explained to me the different funds available, which one I would want. |
Oct 13 2023, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(smallgiant @ Oct 13 2023, 02:22 PM) So like some people say here it's a total scam. Im waiting for full account statement from them, see how it goes. Is not a scam. It's just maybe agent never tell you the full story. So, 14 years is over xyz? 1. Did the agent tell you don't expect any money left from the ILP? 2. Did the agent tell you that need to topup eventually cause premium > ILP returns/cash value? 3. Did your agent tell you that majority of ILP cannot beat EPF? 1 & 2 all good and honest agent will tell you. Mine did. No 3 no one will tell you. I went with standalone over ILP cause i am not overpaying for stuff that I don't need and not helpful. Actually mcis should send you a SMS/email/letter telling you to topup if ILP not enough money to sustain the insurance. Failing to topup = insurance lapse. Not sure if your mother received those notification. What is done is done. |
Oct 13 2023, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 13 2023, 02:52 PM) Is not a scam. It's just maybe agent never tell you the full story. The agent might have promised her the moon and the stars and all the tea in China, she did buy like 5 or 6 policies after all, for me my bros, my sis.1. Did the agent tell you don't expect any money left from the ILP? 2. Did the agent tell you that need to topup eventually cause premium > ILP returns/cash value? 3. Did your agent tell you that majority of ILP cannot beat EPF? 1 & 2 all good and honest agent will tell you. Mine did. No 3 no one will tell you. I went with standalone over ILP cause i am not overpaying for stuff that I don't need and not helpful. Actually mcis should send you a SMS/email/letter telling you to topup if ILP not enough money to sustain the insurance. Failing to topup = insurance lapse. Not sure if your mother received those notification. What is done is done. |
Oct 13 2023, 02:59 PM
559 posts Joined: May 2006 From: 1,234 |
is a scam to you because your agent is not well in explaining to you.
suggest you chg the fella. |
Oct 13 2023, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(smallgiant @ Oct 13 2023, 02:55 PM) The agent might have promised her the moon and the stars and all the tea in China, she did buy like 5 or 6 policies after all, for me my bros, my sis. Then it's time for you to do homework and see if it is still active. If it's active, see if you want it. Is the protection enough? If no, surrender the insurance and get a new one. You should always review your insurance at least once every 5-6 years. Also if you are getting new insurance, think, do you want to pay for ILP or standalone? Standalone is pure insurance only. Nothing else. All agent will push for ILP cause it's more pricey so they get more commission. Never stick to one company. Shop around for best value for money. |
Oct 13 2023, 03:03 PM
1,782 posts Joined: Jul 2022 |
QUOTE(Angelic Layer @ Sep 12 2022, 09:21 PM) Scam. last time my father had surgeryWhen want claim they tell you to use your own money to pay first and claim later. Now, under emergency how people can suddenly get a few hundred thousand for surgery? Later claim also not guarantee they will approve the full amount. me and siblings have to cough out first the money due to emergency. fortunately, later we were reimbursed by his insurance. but yeah insurance is so inefficient, where are they when we need the money now |
Oct 13 2023, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Oct 13 2023, 02:38 PM) Yea.. same with me, 6 years already You can switch fund if you are not satisfied with it. If you don't like the insurance consider surrendering it. But keep in mind, no coverage and if apply for new insurance there is new waiting period of 2y for medical insurance.I was clueless that time, all I wanted was insurance coverage Now regret I included investment-link. Was told no price increase. 1 years ago, got letter premium must increase, or will reduce coverage span Want to meet agent also difficult, after meet, macam macam explanation.. MYR down lah, medical cost increase lah, too many claims lah I never claimed for that 6 years. Even if medical cost increase, it's not like my coverage will increase, it's still the same. Then I thought maybe just pay for medical coverage only, remove that investment thing.. but cannot lor. But if want to add rider, can lor. 6 years ago, I was not literate about investments, funds.. They give projection, I thought that's 100% certain. Later I see it's doing horrible.. I applied to change to different fund. Walaweh.. so much questionnaire. Submitted, but got rejected, need to do further questionnaire. So now I'm just stuck with the fund I was automatically assigned. At the time I sign up, I don't know about the funds.. why couldn't the agent explained to me the different funds available, which one I would want. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 13 2023, 03:32 PM |
Oct 13 2023, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 13 2023, 03:02 PM) Then it's time for you to do homework and see if it is still active. If it's active, see if you want it. Is the protection enough? If no, surrender the insurance and get a new one. how to shop around for new insurance?You should always review your insurance at least once every 5-6 years. Also if you are getting new insurance, think, do you want to pay for ILP or standalone? Standalone is pure insurance only. Nothing else. All agent will push for ILP cause it's more pricey so they get more commission. Never stick to one company. Shop around for best value for money. I already in 40s. premium will go sky high, right? I can't change from my existing one |
Oct 13 2023, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 13 2023, 03:02 PM) Then it's time for you to do homework and see if it is still active. If it's active, see if you want it. Is the protection enough? If no, surrender the insurance and get a new one. Mine and my sister's lapse already, we're not old, so insurance charge should not have gone up. The other two, my younger brothers' still active, though the older one is just 2 years younger than me. So I have no idea wtf is going on.You should always review your insurance at least once every 5-6 years. Also if you are getting new insurance, think, do you want to pay for ILP or standalone? Standalone is pure insurance only. Nothing else. All agent will push for ILP cause it's more pricey so they get more commission. Never stick to one company. Shop around for best value for money. |
Oct 13 2023, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 13 2023, 03:04 PM) You can switch fund if you are not satisfied with it. If you don't like the insurance consider surrendering it. But keep in mind, no coverage and if apply for new insurance there is new waiting period if 2y for medical insurance. Yes.. already paid for 6y with current insuranceThen surrender, take new insurance Masa itulah benda nak terjadi My cousin who's an agent of different insurance, said "yes, that's why once you get new insurance, you continue pay your previous insurance also." Of course I didn't go for it.. I'm B40. This post has been edited by Natsukashii: Oct 13 2023, 03:10 PM |
Oct 13 2023, 03:12 PM
559 posts Joined: May 2006 From: 1,234 |
QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Oct 13 2023, 03:03 PM) last time my father had surgery why is this the case?me and siblings have to cough out first the money due to emergency. fortunately, later we were reimbursed by his insurance. but yeah insurance is so inefficient, where are they when we need the money now your father did not admit to panel hospoital which can accept GL from your insurance provider? |
Oct 13 2023, 03:13 PM
Oct 13 2023, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(Angelic Layer @ Sep 12 2022, 09:21 PM) Scam. When want claim they tell you to use your own money to pay first and claim later. Now, under emergency how people can suddenly get a few hundred thousand for surgery? Later claim also not guarantee they will approve the full amount. QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Oct 13 2023, 03:03 PM) last time my father had surgery Depends on plan. Some require to pay and claim first. Some require you to pay like RM500-1000 first before insurance foot the bill..me and siblings have to cough out first the money due to emergency. fortunately, later we were reimbursed by his insurance. but yeah insurance is so inefficient, where are they when we need the money now QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Oct 13 2023, 03:04 PM) how to shop around for new insurance? All premium will increase with age. Cannot run away. Let say in your 30, premium is RM1k+ for 30. Now maybe premium is RM2k.I already in 40s. premium will go sky high, right? I can't change from my existing one Whether you buy at 30 or buy at 40 now, if you buy at 30, you pay for 30-40 premium. If you buy at 40 only, you pay premium of 2k. 40 premium still ok. 50-60 premium sky high. How to shop around 1. Determine you want how much coverage. The lesser the coverage the lesser the premium and vice versa. The higher coverage of RM1m+/year coverage is obviously going to cost more than a RM150k/year coverage. 2. Determine if you want standalone or ILP. For those RM100+k coverage is usually standalone. Those RM1m+ are usually ILP. But there are standalone that have RM1m+ coverage. Here are standalone with RM1m+ coverage AIA Mediflex with rider(yes must take up rider to increase coverage to RM1m+) GE Great medic shield 2 + rider Fi life (by Generali previously AXA) Medisaversvip prime Gathercare The cheapest of them all would be gathercare aroind RM400+/year and not increasing. The second cheapest if your take until 80 years is medisavers. The insurance part is under lonpac. You sign up via medisavers but all claims and contract is with you can lonpac 3. Download the brochure, read though them. Determine if you are ok paying that premium at say 70 years old. Cause insurance is long term contract. For me, I advocate the RM1m+ coverage because if you wannt to use when you are old, it make sense to get RM1m+ coverage. Give you one eg. Dialysis at private is around RM400-500/session. 3x/week. So you count yourself RM400/500 x 3 X 52w = RM62400/78k year which will increase with time. So you count yourself see if it is enough. 4. Opt for deductible that you can afford to lower your premium. Know your budget. 5. Last step, look for contact me button/connect me with life planner on the website (except for fi life where it is completely DIY) and arrange time and place for agent to contact you. Just listen and ask any question you want. It is ok to not buy anything from them. I talked to I think 5-6 agents without buying anything from them. Some will try to push you, just ignore. If the agent is spammy, not honest, pushy, just press contact me button/contact me with life planner again and get new agent. 6. Keep in mind new waiting period of 2y and any exisirnnillness won't be cover by the new insurance. How to know if agent honest? Ask them about the ILP and they should tell you what I told you. Good luck. QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Oct 13 2023, 03:13 PM) Life insurance is different from medical insurance. Life insurance is cover you, if you die, your family get some money.This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 13 2023, 03:34 PM blue litmus liked this post
Oct 13 2023, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Oct 13 2023, 02:38 PM) Yea.. same with me, 6 years already All insurance investment fund.. is all eating trash one la.. I was clueless that time, all I wanted was insurance coverage Now regret I included investment-link. Was told no price increase. 1 years ago, got letter premium must increase, or will reduce coverage span Want to meet agent also difficult, after meet, macam macam explanation.. MYR down lah, medical cost increase lah, too many claims lah I never claimed for that 6 years. Even if medical cost increase, it's not like my coverage will increase, it's still the same. Then I thought maybe just pay for medical coverage only, remove that investment thing.. but cannot lor. But if want to add rider, can lor. 6 years ago, I was not literate about investments, funds.. They give projection, I thought that's 100% certain. Later I see it's doing horrible.. I applied to change to different fund. Walaweh.. so much questionnaire. Submitted, but got rejected, need to do further questionnaire. So now I'm just stuck with the fund I was automatically assigned. At the time I sign up, I don't know about the funds.. why couldn't the agent explained to me the different funds available, which one I would want. All the share price goreng until sky, then sell to unit trust .. then insurance buy the unit trust fund.. but biggies shareholder all cash out already.. I am not saying there are no good one.. but most of them ad makan at high price.. very hard to go up somemore.. If u dun want investment link, then go traditional one.. maybe that will be better for u Natsukashii liked this post
Oct 13 2023, 08:49 PM
2,429 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Nov 15 2023, 03:01 PM
410 posts Joined: Apr 2017 |
so the standalone medical card guarantee increase premium every year.... while ILP medical plan on average increase premium like every 5 year?
and standalone medical card didn't have death/TPD benefit? |
Nov 15 2023, 03:16 PM
4,482 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(Boomwick @ Oct 13 2023, 05:21 PM) All insurance investment fund.. is all eating trash one la.. for those who doesn't know how to manage their finances.. then yes ILP make sense. My wife who has past cyst operation, it's hard for her to obtain the off the shelf insurance like i do, hence her only option will be ILP with loading charges.All the share price goreng until sky, then sell to unit trust .. then insurance buy the unit trust fund.. but biggies shareholder all cash out already.. I am not saying there are no good one.. but most of them ad makan at high price.. very hard to go up somemore.. If u dun want investment link, then go traditional one.. maybe that will be better for u QUOTE(devilmaycry9 @ Nov 15 2023, 03:01 PM) so the standalone medical card guarantee increase premium every year.... while ILP medical plan on average increase premium like every 5 year? nop i did compare them before with allianz, prudential and also fi.life their yearly premium turns out to be about the same.and standalone medical card didn't have death/TPD benefit? What's important which you need to know is how much you are paying monthly for the premium.. Mind you for ILP the agent fee could go up to 40% for the first few years and if you keep renewing your insurance every 5 years you literally paying the agent more than investing into anything. since insurance company had been offering off the shelve plans i have been purchasing them. you can find them in: https://fi.life/ https://www.etiqa.com.my/v2/health-insurance-takaful https://www.generali.com.my/medical-health/...re-optimum-plus |
Nov 15 2023, 03:32 PM
1,229 posts Joined: Nov 2017 |
my agent approach me for GE SmartProtect Wealth Max, very scared to meet coz will sell sell sell.
any idea how much this cost for 50+ person? dont understand the brochure quoting Insurance Premium Allocation Rate (%)... this is based on what premium payment? |
Nov 21 2023, 08:48 PM
160 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
HSBC Universal treasure plus is a scam
Nov 21 2023, 08:50 PM
336 posts Joined: Mar 2017 |
Go claim it.
As long u can claim more than u paid considered not scam This post has been edited by Ayambetul: Nov 21 2023, 08:51 PM |
Feb 27 2024, 03:22 PM
298 posts Joined: May 2020 |
Hi, is the distribution / dividend declared by Malaysia insurance investment-linked funds is subject to income tax in the hand of unit holders?
Can't find any info on this |
| Change to: | 0.1284sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:24 PM |