is investment linked medical insurance a scam?

Natsukashii
post Oct 13 2023, 02:38 PM

^^
1,084 posts

QUOTE(Davez89 @ Sep 12 2022, 09:09 PM)
All insurance is scam

But I've been paying my investment-link for 10 years already
Yea.. same with me, 6 years already

I was clueless that time, all I wanted was insurance coverage

Now regret I included investment-link. Was told no price increase.

1 years ago, got letter premium must increase, or will reduce coverage span

Want to meet agent also difficult, after meet, macam macam explanation.. MYR down lah, medical cost increase lah, too many claims lah

I never claimed for that 6 years. Even if medical cost increase, it's not like my coverage will increase, it's still the same.

Then I thought maybe just pay for medical coverage only, remove that investment thing.. but cannot lor. But if want to add rider, can lor.

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 12 2022, 09:18 PM)
Depends how the agent package it

If he told u to pay this and u get insured of medical card with xxxxx limit and tell u it is not investment.. is purely for medical.. then u wont feel bad

It is because they package it as investment and you have a feel that i buy the medical card and in the case that you did not use it.. u still get back some profit from the investment.. that will get your nerve on fire.. especially when the so called investment is not performing, hence the fund value drop and you somemore need to pay extra to topup fund value inside your policy to maintain the card..
6 years ago, I was not literate about investments, funds..

They give projection, I thought that's 100% certain.

Later I see it's doing horrible.. I applied to change to different fund.

Walaweh.. so much questionnaire. Submitted, but got rejected, need to do further questionnaire.

So now I'm just stuck with the fund I was automatically assigned.

At the time I sign up, I don't know about the funds.. why couldn't the agent explained to me the different funds available, which one I would want.

Natsukashii
post Oct 13 2023, 03:02 PM

^^
1,084 posts

QUOTE(smallgiant @ Oct 13 2023, 02:49 PM)
Better cancel and claim whatever remaining before they screw you and leave you with nothing.
During covid, I had about 4k balance.. the agent said must maintain min rm1k (or 2k I don't remember)

So I applied for rm1k withdrawal

Rejected confused.gif
Natsukashii
post Oct 13 2023, 03:09 PM

^^
1,084 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 13 2023, 03:04 PM)
You can switch fund if you are not satisfied with it. If you don't like the insurance consider surrendering it. But keep in mind, no coverage and if apply for new insurance there is new waiting period if 2y for medical insurance.
Yes.. already paid for 6y with current insurance

Then surrender, take new insurance

Masa itulah benda nak terjadi

My cousin who's an agent of different insurance, said "yes, that's why once you get new insurance, you continue pay your previous insurance also." ohmy.gif

Of course I didn't go for it.. I'm B40.

This post has been edited by Natsukashii: Oct 13 2023, 03:10 PM

0.3966sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:32 AM