78 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer

lowkelvin
post Jan 3 2023, 03:08 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(HalseyFrangipane @ Jan 2 2023, 01:59 PM)
If there are no visible damage or cracks on your tyres' sidewall, then there is no need for you to change your tyres since you're on a budget anyway. They can last another 5 years.
Thank you HalseyFrangipane

QUOTE(epjx31 @ Jan 2 2023, 09:19 PM)
Hi there, thanks for writing such a detailed post.

First question is what is your tread depth of your tires. 4 year old tire should not be the reason to change tires.

Always replace new tires at the rear.
My front tyre is about 3mm:

and rear tyre is above 4mm:

Here is rear tyre measure with coins:

I guess the main problem is about the front tyre which cracked like this:

lowkelvin
post Jan 3 2023, 03:11 PM

669 posts

epjx31,

My questions are:
1. Can I keep using my rear tyre until tread depth become lower?
2. Is my front tyre should be replace asap?
3. If I should replace my front tyre, should I put my existing rear tyre as front tyre, and new tyre as rear? or directly replace front tyre?

Thank you very much
zstan
post Jan 3 2023, 03:16 PM

15,856 posts

My car shaking whenever i drive over 110km/h. checked with t ire people they say no balancing and alignment issue.

previously no such issue when using Toyo tires. now using Weslake tires. so not sure if cheaper tires is the cause?

havent checked suspension yet.
TSepjx31
post Jan 3 2023, 03:43 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(lowkelvin @ Jan 3 2023, 03:11 PM)
epjx31,

My questions are:
1. Can I keep using my rear tyre until tread depth become lower?
2. Is my front tyre should be replace asap?
3. If I should replace my front tyre, should I put my existing rear tyre as front tyre, and new tyre as rear? or directly replace front tyre?

Thank you very much
1. The rear with 4mm looks fine.
2. The front tires with a straight rib crack looks awful bad. I am worried that this affects your stiffness --> wear + noise.

My professional recommendation. Change your front tires. Place the new set of tires at the rear & your old rear tires is place in the front now.

Rotate every 10,000 km to smoothen out your wear. Maybe after 2 cycles you should be aligned smile.gif
lee82gx
post Jan 4 2023, 12:55 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(epjx31 @ Dec 31 2022, 11:28 AM)
No reason to change your XM2 If you have still a lot of tread.

I would say wet braking about 5% while having a slightly better mileage. How much tread depth is left on your MC5?
I just checked...
I have 2 front XM2 from 3715 which I think I bought in 2016, so counting back 6 full years I'd have gotten 60,000 km +/-10,000km from them. This 2 maybe have about another 3mm of tread, 1mm above the wear indicator. I suppose at most I will only use this for another year or so. And then I will put my rears (see below) to the front, and get a new set to be placed at the back.
At the rear I have another 2 XM2 from 4518, which is likely bought in 2019 so maybe ran total 10,000km (remember MCO no running much). This has plenty of tread.

To me, the MC5 is like new, perhaps 5mm of tread.
mick87
post Jan 6 2023, 03:58 PM

24 posts

Ran over a rock on highway, got cut on the sidewall, been driving around for about 1k km, no leak or whatever. Should i continue to use it?
PS: This is RFT, made in 2019.

TSepjx31
post Jan 6 2023, 04:07 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(mick87 @ Jan 6 2023, 03:58 PM)
Ran over a rock on highway, got cut on the sidewall, been driving around for about 1k km, no leak or whatever. Should i continue to use it?
You should change this immediately. This is safety issue.
mick87
post Jan 6 2023, 04:18 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(epjx31 @ Jan 6 2023, 04:07 PM)
You should change this immediately. This is safety issue.
i thought this is RFT, harder sidewall should be ok to use and sustain though.
mdziaf
post Jan 6 2023, 04:35 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(mick87 @ Jan 6 2023, 04:18 PM)
Yes it has a harder sidewall but that white bit is already the carcass of the tire. There is a real risk of total tire burst if anything cuts the carcass.
HalseyFrangipane
post Jan 6 2023, 08:53 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(mick87 @ Jan 6 2023, 04:18 PM)
Tyres flex hard all the time while being driven. It will eventually be a problem

This post has been edited by HalseyFrangipane: Jan 6 2023, 08:53 PM
TSepjx31
post Jan 7 2023, 07:44 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(HalseyFrangipane @ Jan 6 2023, 08:53 PM)
Tyres flex hard all the time while being driven. It will eventually be a problem
Exactly
andrekua2
post Jan 9 2023, 10:52 AM

13,465 posts

QUOTE(mick87 @ Jan 6 2023, 03:58 PM)
Personally I dont see a problem. You might as well go and got it patched (more like touch up). I also had a similar cut and I continue to drove like 3K. However mine was leaking all the time and I got fed up having to pump every week.

For me, tyre construction is more about the steel mesh and less about the rubber. Even when leaking, it does so really slowly instead of being punctured and losing all air in an instant. As long as the sidewall steel mesh is not compromised or deformed, I wouldnt worry too much.
TSepjx31
post Jan 9 2023, 11:34 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jan 9 2023, 10:52 AM)
Personally I dont see a problem. You might as well go and got it patched (more like touch up). I also had a similar cut and I continue to drove like 3K. However mine was leaking all the time and I got fed up having to pump every week.

For me, tyre construction is more about the steel mesh and less about the rubber. Even when leaking, it does so really slowly instead of being punctured and losing all air in an instant. As long as the sidewall steel mesh is not compromised or deformed, I wouldnt worry too much.
From a tire engineer stand point I tend to disagree.

The main load carrying component is the air which is stored inside the tire. When you have insufficient forces withholding your vehicle load, you create stresses at the sidewall's flexing area. When you go though small bumps, or pot holes this would exponentially magnified.

If the worse possible outcome is an accident, is it worth your $ ?
showcase
post Jan 9 2023, 01:09 PM

325 posts

Need some expert advise. Current tyre size is 205/60/R16. wanted to change 2 tyres but the model that I wanted don't have the same size (Conti MC6 has 205/45/R16, UC7 has 205/50/R16 or 205/65/R16). couldn't afford to change all 4 due to budget constraints (CNY is js around the corner).

Questions:
1) Will there be any problem if the tyres have different aspect ratio (eg. the 2 front tyres are MC6 205/45/R16 while the rear tyres remain the current size 205/60/R16)?

many thanks in advance
Iceman74
post Jan 9 2023, 02:34 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(showcase @ Jan 9 2023, 01:09 PM)
Need some expert advise. Current tyre size is 205/60/R16. wanted to change 2 tyres but the model that I wanted don't have the same size (Conti MC6 has 205/45/R16, UC7 has 205/50/R16 or 205/65/R16). couldn't afford to change all 4 due to budget constraints (CNY is js around the corner).

Questions:
1) Will there be any problem if the tyres have different aspect ratio (eg. the 2 front tyres are MC6 205/45/R16 while the rear tyres remain the current size 205/60/R16)?

many thanks in advance
why no go for UC6? they got 205/60/16
or go for 215/55/16 if your rims can support it
TSepjx31
post Jan 9 2023, 03:34 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(showcase @ Jan 9 2023, 01:09 PM)

Questions:

many thanks in advance
Based on my price table

Name Tire Size Price(RM)
Toyo Nano Energy NE03 205/60R16 302
Continental UC6 205/60R16 (UC6) 407
Michelin Energy XM2+ 205/60R16 420
Michelin Primacy 4st 205/60R16 435

There is 4 options with your size. UC6 or XM2+ looks good smile.gif

I would not recommend to have different sizes due to varying outer diameter complications.
showcase
post Jan 9 2023, 03:55 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Jan 9 2023, 02:34 PM)
why no go for UC6? they got 205/60/16
or go for 215/55/16 if your rims can support it
thanks for your reply. i don't mind going for different width/aspect ratio (as long as mechanic confirms that the rim can support). the concern is whether there will be any major issue/consideration if the 2 new tyres have different width/aspect ratio smile.gif
showcase
post Jan 9 2023, 03:57 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(epjx31 @ Jan 9 2023, 03:34 PM)
Based on my price table

Name Tire Size Price(RM)
Toyo Nano Energy NE03 205/60R16 302
Continental UC6 205/60R16 (UC6) 407
Michelin Energy XM2+ 205/60R16 420
Michelin Primacy 4st 205/60R16 435

There is 4 options with your size. UC6 or XM2+ looks good smile.gif

I would not recommend to have different sizes due to varying outer diameter complications.
thank you for the answer. it seems I hv to work harder to get all 4 tyres changed together to the same size to avoid any complications. thank you.
Iceman74
post Jan 9 2023, 04:13 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(showcase @ Jan 9 2023, 03:55 PM)
thanks for your reply. i don't mind going for different width/aspect ratio (as long as mechanic confirms that the rim can support). the concern is whether there will be any major issue/consideration if the 2 new tyres have different width/aspect ratio  smile.gif
the size different a lot that you suggested compare with your standard size.
MC6 205/45/16 too low profile and different too much
UC7 205/50/16 might lower your car height clearance

UC7 205/65/16 might not fit into your car.

you can use this as reference what it will do to your car overall
https://tiresize.com/tyre-size-calculator/

If the different are minimum, i dun see any problem with it.
Example using 205/55/16 at front and 205/60/16 at back.
We are not fast racing manic, the effect would be minimum.

anyway, can check which can CC and apply install 0% instalment or buy from shopee/lazada to do instalment and get it all 4 tyres.

or you can wait until UC7 come out with the tyre size u using.

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Jan 9 2023, 04:17 PM
matkewl
post Jan 9 2023, 04:18 PM

124 posts

hi , is rovelo 225/55/18 is a good buy? its made in china. Montare HT RV

78 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:36 PM