14 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Notice many msian parent send kids to, international school: good kah ?

max_cavalera
post Mar 9 2023, 09:19 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(MishimaZ @ Mar 9 2023, 09:35 AM)
Since private/ international schools ever gives better education, kek.

From all my experience with friends, colleagues and other networks, all their kids end up being braindead lazy ass - the irony from what others was ingrained with.

Its simple, as these schools are just for the kids to lay back and do what they like without the suffering and oppression that is needed for anyone to develop into strong minded people.
Yup

Notice this too

Kids from national school is way more competitive and adaptable to challenging environment

Whereas kids from private&international school seem more lazy, entitled and expect employers/landlord to cater to them
cubiclecarbonate
post Mar 9 2023, 09:24 AM

558 posts

Those private institutions are meant for the kids portfolio in future only

Pandai or bodoh that's the next outcome the parents need to bear

Inb4 kid's fees > parents income
Namelessone1973
post Mar 9 2023, 09:43 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(mezanny @ May 17 2022, 02:23 PM)
a lot of my kolik now send their kids to international school, 7yo already started.

dunno why not even want to send to SRJK.

some even use a lot of their salary to pay for their kids school fees.

why they do this ? to prepare them to migrate ?

but international education help in their application for PR ?
If let say fail to get PR, then stuck here, BM not so good, mandarin also dunno, become banana. Spend so much but ROI so low because RM low.
so they have to target places like australia, uk, usa, canada.
Spore also can, but i notice many people migrate to Spore not want to get married and even not want to have kids.

do you do the same ? send ur kids to international school ?
It’s not about migration. It’s about the best choice of education today.

There is a difference between private or international schools. International schools tends to be more expensive if they are the reputable ones. Private schools are more cheaper but some are just operating from shop lots. However, the syllabus are usually the same as IGCSE seems to be the most popular one unless they follow US system which some international school does but I believe most private or international schools follow IGCSE.

Why go to such schools and not SRJKC or SRK? SRK problem, I think no need to write here everyone already know. The problem extends to most SK today except for some sekolah cemerlang. The old reputable SK like VI, St. John, etc. are no longer the best anymore as they are now not much different from any SK.

As for reasons why parents are opting out from SRJKC, the main reason is overcrowding. Today most classes have 40 to more than 50 kids. The problem of SRJKC since the beginning is either you swim or sink. If your child are not those who can follow their style of teaching, they will be left behind and today it is worse as the classes are too big for the teachers to teach and ensure every kid understand. A lot of parents are also beginning to understand that having tons of homework might not be suitable for their kids as it makes them hate learning and they are not really learning anything real.

It is the same with Chinese secondary independent schools. Most parents know their kids won’t do well in such schools by standards 6 if they barely survive SRJKC. There’s no point sending them to such schools knowing they will only sink further. So the other choice is SK which have tons of problems today.

So, parents are beginning to send their kids to private or international school today as they are providing the ONLY best choice available especially in Klang Valley. Some are even sending their children to primary international or private schools because they want them to get themselves familiar with a system only
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 9 2023, 09:48 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Mar 8 2023, 11:43 PM)
U know what CCA we got in SMK ? Is called ponteng sekolah, venue for the activities is at CC / mamak / kopitiam / someone's house
hahahaha.... those were the days

during my time during ponteng we go roaming around the town, bring extra shirt just for that

JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 9 2023, 09:50 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Mar 9 2023, 09:43 AM)
It’s not about migration. It’s about the best choice of education today.

There is a difference between private or international schools. International schools tends to be more expensive if they are the reputable ones. Private schools are more cheaper but some are just operating from shop lots. However, the syllabus are usually the same as IGCSE seems to be the most popular one unless they follow US system which some international school does but I believe most private or international schools follow IGCSE.

Why go to such schools and not SRJKC or SRK? SRK problem, I think no need to write here everyone already know. The problem extends to most SK today except for some sekolah cemerlang. The old reputable SK like VI, St. John, etc. are no longer the best anymore as they are now not much different from any SK.

As for reasons why parents are opting out from SRJKC, the main reason is overcrowding. Today most classes have 40 to more than 50 kids. The problem of SRJKC since the beginning is either you swim or sink. If your child are not those who can follow their style of teaching, they will be left behind and today it is worse as the classes are too big for the teachers to teach and ensure every kid understand. A lot of parents are also beginning to understand that having tons of homework might not be suitable for their kids as it makes them hate learning and they are not really learning anything real.

It is the same with Chinese secondary independent schools. Most parents know their kids won’t do well in such schools by standards 6 if they barely survive SRJKC. There’s no point sending them to such schools knowing they will only sink further. So the other choice is SK which have tons of problems today.

So, parents are beginning to send their kids to private or international school today as they are providing the ONLY best choice available especially in Klang Valley. Some are even sending their children to primary international or private schools because they want them to get themselves familiar with a system only
I am one of the parent who did that.

two years in srk, thought wanna give them a chance, but nope, nope, seeing how the whole system works, since I got a better choice, why not?

Rudd
post Mar 9 2023, 09:51 AM

4,043 posts

QUOTE(doppatroll @ May 17 2022, 02:36 PM)
Singapore is slowly moving toward japan trend just minus the JAV portion only..... soon life will even become more stressful  laugh.gif
who know got SAV soon lol
Namelessone1973
post Mar 9 2023, 09:56 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Mar 9 2023, 09:50 AM)
I am one of the parent who did that.

two years in srk, thought wanna give them a chance, but nope, nope, seeing how the whole system works, since I got a better choice, why not?
So you send to private or international?
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 9 2023, 09:59 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Mar 9 2023, 09:56 AM)
So you send to private or international?
Private.

taking igcse btw. kids behave a bit better, class consist of 15 kids or less. no extra co curiculum after class.

no tution throughout the school years

still ok till now.

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Mar 9 2023, 10:02 AM
Namelessone1973
post Mar 9 2023, 10:10 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Mar 9 2023, 09:59 AM)
Private.

taking igcse btw. kids behave a bit better, class consist of 15 kids or less. no extra co curiculum after class.

no tution throughout the school years

still ok till now.
That is what I was told. IGCSE is more suitable for kids than our national syllabus

JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 9 2023, 10:16 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Mar 9 2023, 10:10 AM)
That is what I was told. IGCSE is more suitable for kids than our national syllabus
TBH, IGCSE is simpler than the current SPM syllibus

and the school didnt force the students to take the subjects, like our time at sekolah menengah, if you in Sci class you need to take the whole package, if you have interest in Economics or Art class there is no way you can take the classes.
Namelessone1973
post Mar 9 2023, 10:25 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Mar 9 2023, 10:16 AM)

and the school didnt force the students to take the subjects, like our time at sekolah menengah,  if you in Sci class you need to take the whole package, if you have interest in Economics or Art class there is no way you can take the classes.
I think that’s why kids love the syllabus more as it give them more flexibility
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 9 2023, 10:28 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Mar 9 2023, 10:25 AM)
I think that’s why kids love the syllabus more as it give them more flexibility
love, maybe not at all, but much more enjoyable learning process, which in return shaped their mind and perspective in different way, positively I hope.

some parents asked me last time how come dont send to tution, I said what for, they already got adequate lesson at school, why must force them additional class ? u think ur kid is a robot or what? studying from morning till night. no life is it?
MiniCooperS1275
post Mar 9 2023, 10:44 AM

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Mar 9 2023, 10:16 AM)
This point interests me, because I keep hearing comments about how "Malaysia's secondary school syllabus has been watered down", and I am actually wondering how true that statement really is.

I have been exposed to both the SPM and Cambridge GCE syllabuses before, having done my secondary school both in Malaysia and Singapore in the early-1990's:
1. I took Malaysia's Matematik Tambahan and Singapore's Additional Mathematics textbooks and past year papers (i.e. SPM vs. GCE 'O' Levels), and laid them side-by-side. The syllabus was almost exactly the same.
2. SPM Biology required students to study most of the bones in the human body. Singapore's G.C.E 'O' Level Biology covered only four (4) bones on the arm.
(I am aware that G.C.E. and IGCSE are not the same thing, but I am guessing that they should be at least comparable in standard.)

Does anyone have any concrete data and information to support or debunk the claim that Malaysia's secondary school syllabus has really been watered down, at least for Mathematics and Sciences? Note that I am referring to the syllabus content and level of difficulty, not the marking scheme (which is another big topic for debate) or the quality of teaching (which is highly-dependent on individual schools and teachers).

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 8 2023, 11:09 PM)
The best combo is sjkc and SMK©. Good balance of bahasa, english and chinese till SPM. And most students will speak in English and Mandarin in school too. Having good SPM BM will also increase the chance of entering matriculasi and stpm which will enable one to enter critical courses such as medicine and dentistry in Public unis, saving even more money.

Comparing to Chinese independent schools, students usually will be good in Mandarin, but weak in English and BM. Even with SPM BM, entering public uni will be very difficult.
I agree with the first part about the optimum combination being SJK©+SMJK©. When I was doing my senior high school in Singapore, one of my schoolmates was ex-Catholic High School PJ. He was winning Chinese essay awards, trouncing his Singaporean classmates, and his English was strong enough to keep up with the Singapore standards.

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Mar 9 2023, 09:43 AM)
As for reasons why parents are opting out from SRJKC, the main reason is overcrowding. Today most classes have 40 to more than 50 kids.
On that basis, I personally believe that more SMJK©'s are required to meet the high demand (I saw two newspaper articles about Catholic High School appealing for a branch school to be established, as it is the only SMJK© in the whole of Petaling Jaya, and has to turn away a large number of applicants).

Per my above point, if it can be established that the national secondary school syllabus - again, purely in terms of content and level of difficulty - is not inferior to IGCSE and its equivalents - then to me, we can and should start by leveraging from the standard of teaching and execution by the good SMJK©'s. Taking a leaf from my senior high school experience in Singapore in the 1990's: Regardless of school, the syllabus is the same, and not so different from Malaysia (like I said, the same Additional Mathematics syllabus was taught on both sides of the Causeway). The reason why the standards in Singapore were much more consistent nationally, and generally higher than that of Malaysia, lay in the quality of execution. The teachers were dedicated and focussed. They spurred and inspired the students to try harder.

Outside of classes, extra-curricular activities were better-emphasised and executed. Let me put it this way: It's not as if the ECAs that I experienced in Singapore were far different from Malaysia. They have Scouts and Cadets in Singapore, but hey, so do we in Malaysia! But in Singapore, they really make uniformed groups a part of student lifestyle and pride.

This post has been edited by MiniCooperS1275: Mar 9 2023, 11:14 AM
TSmezanny
post Mar 9 2023, 10:49 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Mar 9 2023, 08:58 AM)
You do know that our primary schools including SRJKC are going towards no homework too. There are already some SRJKC that is doing it today. Exams already abolished for standard 1 to 3 and UPSR is no more too.
How to learn mandarin without homework?

Mandarin is a memorizing language and need a lot of practicing.

My friend migrated to Oz, hantar his daughter to take additional mandarin subject in secondary school in Oz, the mandarin so half past six
mrg220t
post Mar 9 2023, 10:55 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Mar 9 2023, 09:19 AM)
Yup

Notice this too

Kids from national school is way more competitive and adaptable to challenging environment

Whereas kids from private&international school seem more lazy, entitled and expect employers/landlord to cater to them
Lmao sohai look at the rare successful national school kids and compare with unsuccessful international/private school kids.

Those matgian/rempits/ahbengs from national school is more competitive meh? Those top A Levels and internationally recognized kids from international schools more lazy meh?

That's why our national school syllabus is dumb because the results is people like you lol.
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 9 2023, 10:58 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(MiniCooperS1275 @ Mar 9 2023, 10:44 AM)
This point interests me, because I keep hearing comments about how "Malaysia's secondary school syllabus has been watered down", and I am actually wondering how true that statement really is.

I have been exposed to both the SPM and Cambridge GCE syllabuses before, having done my secondary school both in Malaysia and Singapore in the early-1990's:
1. I took Malaysia's Matematik Tambahan and Singapore's Additional Mathematics textbooks and past year papers (i.e. SPM vs. GCE 'O' Levels), and laid them side-by-side. The syllabus was almost exactly the same.
2. SPM Biology required students to study most of the bones in the human body. Singapore's G.C.E 'O' Level Biology covered only four (4) bones on the arm.
(I am aware that G.C.E. and IGCSE are not the same thing, but I am guessing that they should be at least comparable in standard.)

Does anyone have any concrete data and information to support or debunk the claim that Malaysia's secondary school syllabus has really been watered down, at least for Mathematics and Sciences? Note that I am referring to the syllabus content and level of difficulty, not the marking scheme (which is another big topic for debate) or the quality of teaching (which is highly-dependent on individual schools and teachers).
I agree with the first part about the optimum combination being SJK©+SKJK©. When I was doing my senior high school in Singapore, one of my schoolmates was ex-Catholic High School PJ. He was winning Chinese essay awards, trouncing his Singaporean classmates, and his English was strong enough to keep up with the Singapore standards.
I am not sure about the Add Maths , let me check back for you

right now I have with me the pdf file of Cambridge Complete Physics for Cambridge Secondary 1

JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 9 2023, 11:01 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Mar 9 2023, 09:19 AM)
Yup

Notice this too

QUOTE(mrg220t @ Mar 9 2023, 10:55 AM)
Lmao sohai look at the rare successful national school kids and compare with unsuccessful international/private school kids.

Those matgian/rempits/ahbengs from national school is more competitive meh? Those top A Levels and internationally recognized kids from international schools more lazy meh?

That's why our national school syllabus is dumb because the results is people like you lol.
WHOA! Where you get your stat from bro max_cavalera ?
max_cavalera
post Mar 9 2023, 11:03 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Mar 9 2023, 12:01 PM)
WHOA! Where you get your stat from bro max_cavalera ?
Encountered some when interviewing them looking for employment.

Some looking for house/room rentals.

lawliet88
post Mar 9 2023, 11:05 AM

995 posts

QUOTE(mezanny @ Mar 9 2023, 10:49 AM)
How to learn mandarin without homework?

Mandarin is a memorizing language and need a lot of practicing.

My friend migrated to Oz, hantar his daughter to take additional mandarin subject in secondary school in Oz, the mandarin so half past six
Talk btw family, read chinese paper, chinese manga(doraemon/journet to west for kids), watch ccp propaganda/chinese show.

I srjk c and always dont do homework one , fk writing, google pinyin ftw
ju146
post Mar 9 2023, 11:06 AM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(MiniCooperS1275 @ Mar 9 2023, 10:44 AM)

I agree with the first part about the optimum combination being SJK©+SMJK©. When I was doing my senior high school in Singapore, one of my schoolmates was ex-Catholic High School PJ. He was winning Chinese essay awards, trouncing his Singaporean classmates, and his English was strong enough to keep up with the Singapore standards.

On that basis, I personally believe that more SMJK©'s are required to meet the high demand (I saw two newspaper articles about Catholic High School appealing for a branch school to be established, as it is the only SMJK© in the whole of Petaling Jaya, and has to turn away a large number of applicants).
Informal data told to me

My friend a PhD holder work as private tutor for secondary school physics. He said spm syllabus is tougher than International school (he did not quote which international syallbus, but surely not UEC). however, he said international student tends to be more creative when they are approaching the question, vs SPM holder are straight to the answer with no bullshit.

14 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.1707sec    1.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:12 PM