14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Notice many msian parent send kids to, international school: good kah ?

TheEvilMan
post Mar 9 2023, 12:11 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

Bwfore ts question so much, r u still single and have no kid?
Knnbuccb
post Mar 9 2023, 12:13 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(trojandude @ Mar 8 2023, 11:59 PM)
I'll be very frank - expensive schools often have bad ROI. In all honesty, if you're going to judge a school based on ROI value, you'll never ever be satisfied. It's something like splurging on a LV or Rolex. High-quality, but in the end they provide the same function.

The cost to study in US these days, especially a private university say UPenn would be +- RM1m. The cost of study international school would be what? RM50-100k a year depending on which school you go.

The truth is, it's a diminishing return. You pay a lot, but you gain only very little. It's what you can make of it in the end.

You gain exposure to different cultures and people/connections that is simply not quantifiable.

So stop looking at things from ROI perspective, and go only 1) if you can afford to "lose" that sum of money 2) expose your kids to a unique environment

Many folks can afford to send their kids to private schools / study overseas, but not all of them can accept their kids potentially getting nothing or barely anything out of it. What separates these two kind of folks is simply whether you're actually rich, or you're just enough rich.

TLDR - Private/International school is a luxury
Yeah but imagine go back kampung flaunting kid going to international school end up in some arts course hippie ....neighbour kid study stpm end up becoming brain surgeon

Luxury yes.. but know when and who to flaunt to... Don't flaunt then malu sendiri.
BL98
post Mar 9 2023, 01:05 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Mar 9 2023, 12:13 AM)
Yeah but imagine go back kampung flaunting kid going to international school end up in some arts course hippie ....neighbour kid study stpm end up becoming brain surgeon

Luxury yes.. but know when and who to flaunt to... Don't flaunt then malu sendiri.
Other than those "old school" private school such as Cempaka or SriKL subang, many new international schools are actually not up to par, and mostly just business oriented. Meaning, they treat students like clients, then actually treating them like students. Some international schools even operated in shoplots...

So unless can enter proper international schools, better to just go to a real school, sk, srjk, smk, smjkc and independent school.
Blofeld
post Mar 9 2023, 01:59 AM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(trojandude @ Mar 8 2023, 11:59 PM)
I'll be very frank - expensive schools often have bad ROI. In all honesty, if you're going to judge a school based on ROI value, you'll never ever be satisfied. It's something like splurging on a LV or Rolex. High-quality, but in the end they provide the same function.

The cost to study in US these days, especially a private university say UPenn would be +- RM1m. The cost of study international school would be what? RM50-100k a year depending on which school you go.

The truth is, it's a diminishing return. You pay a lot, but you gain only very little. It's what you can make of it in the end.

You gain exposure to different cultures and people/connections that is simply not quantifiable.

So stop looking at things from ROI perspective, and go only 1) if you can afford to "lose" that sum of money 2) expose your kids to a unique environment

Many folks can afford to send their kids to private schools / study overseas, but not all of them can accept their kids potentially getting nothing or barely anything out of it. What separates these two kind of folks is simply whether you're actually rich, or you're just enough rich.

TLDR - Private/International school is a luxury
Basically this ^

Having a few friends as teachers in international schools, they have nothing good to say.

International school is like a placebo effect to some who believe that international school is the best place to be.

Probably the only good thing a student will gain is the connection with other wealthy kids and basically that's it.

The rest is up to parents upbringing and whether they spend time with their children. If a child is lazy, an international school will not transform that student into some superstar A student.

Examples of some real issues below:

There are also some 'ahbengs' in international school who stubbornly speak Mandarin everyday among their own cliques despite the 'English only' policy in school.

Another case was one particular student who complained to the HOD about having to write essays as homework. To please the student, the teacher was then called in the HOD room and the HOD instructed the teacher to stop giving essay as homework to the entire class.

Several students continuously coming late to school (guess who fetch them late? Their own parents and they don't even bother). The school called the parents to remind them not to fetch their kids late to school and yet they don't bother.

zetshield21
post Mar 9 2023, 05:01 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(mezanny @ May 17 2022, 02:23 PM)
a lot of my kolik now send their kids to international school, 7yo already started.

dunno why not even want to send to SRJK.

some even use a lot of their salary to pay for their kids school fees.

why they do this ? to prepare them to migrate ?

but international education help in their application for PR ?
If let say fail to get PR, then stuck here, BM not so good, mandarin also dunno, become banana. Spend so much but ROI so low because RM low.
so they have to target places like australia, uk, usa, canada.
Spore also can, but i notice many people migrate to Spore not want to get married and even not want to have kids.

do you do the same ? send ur kids to international school ?
Future singkie workforce
achong09
post Mar 9 2023, 05:45 AM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(mezanny @ May 17 2022, 02:23 PM)
a lot of my kolik now send their kids to international school, 7yo already started.

dunno why not even want to send to SRJK.

some even use a lot of their salary to pay for their kids school fees.

why they do this ? to prepare them to migrate ?

but international education help in their application for PR ?
If let say fail to get PR, then stuck here, BM not so good, mandarin also dunno, become banana. Spend so much but ROI so low because RM low.
so they have to target places like australia, uk, usa, canada.
Spore also can, but i notice many people migrate to Spore not want to get married and even not want to have kids.

do you do the same ? send ur kids to international school ?
Aiyoh our time we also finish our school from smk wat.. now also grow up and earn a living wat.. what the diff? I feel sent to intl school waste of money better keep the money for better uni in future.. in the end cari kerja go interview as for degree not which secondary school you come from mah...😢😢
LumbaKuda
post Mar 9 2023, 05:50 AM

68 posts

Nowadays grab driver also sent their kids to international school. He so proud to tell me. I didn't ask how he afford it. I think it's more expensive than private school.
AgogoLatoto
post Mar 9 2023, 07:15 AM

A lot of private/int school kids are dumb spoiled strawberries one. Not made of tougher stuffs like ppl in the old days. Tokok alot, lazy and immature. Very rare to find humble clever ones in the workforce.
kraziekd
post Mar 9 2023, 07:27 AM

117 posts

education overrated nowadays

just teach ur kid esport from young then become esport player / streamer / youtuber
ze2
post Mar 9 2023, 07:30 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Mar 9 2023, 01:59 AM)
Basically this ^

Having a few friends as teachers in international schools, they have nothing good to say.

International school is like a placebo effect to some who believe that international school is the best place to be.

Probably the only good thing a student will gain is the connection with other wealthy kids and basically that's it.

The rest is up to parents upbringing and whether they spend time with their children. If a child is lazy, an international school will not transform that student into some superstar A student.

Examples of some real issues below:

There are also some 'ahbengs' in international school who stubbornly speak Mandarin everyday among their own cliques despite the 'English only' policy in school.

Another case was one particular student who complained to the HOD about having to write essays as homework. To please the student, the teacher was then called in the HOD room and the HOD instructed the teacher to stop giving essay as homework to the entire class.

Several students continuously coming late to school (guess who fetch them late? Their own parents and they don't even bother). The school called the parents to remind them not to fetch their kids late to school and yet they don't bother.
Which Intl school ?
ruffy_z
post Mar 9 2023, 08:10 AM

17 posts

I wish the Missionary Schools were retained with English as their medium of instruction and other English medium schools as well. Why did those old farts had to mess up the excellent education system we had back in the days
bonkers28
post Mar 9 2023, 08:11 AM

354 posts

No need to say now la.. for me, from even 15 years ago, I was determined that if I ever had children, they all will go to International school
abelyap
post Mar 9 2023, 08:25 AM

235 posts

Syllabus made all the different. Take a look at IGCSE history textbook, then u would understand why international school is preferred.

Besides, IS allow students to speak up. Government school still having mindset of listen x7. Well, student to teacher ratio might indirectly caused this.

If can affordable, SJKC + IS is the way forward.
MishimaZ
post Mar 9 2023, 08:35 AM

269 posts

Since private/ international schools ever gives better education, kek.

From all my experience with friends, colleagues and other networks, all their kids end up being braindead lazy ass - the irony from what others was ingrained with.

Its simple, as these schools are just for the kids to lay back and do what they like without the suffering and oppression that is needed for anyone to develop into strong minded people.
TSmezanny
post Mar 9 2023, 08:38 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 8 2023, 11:03 PM)
Private or international school bad ROI

Best combo is srjkc and smk(chinese), or

srjkc then famous english school (eg St joseph, St xavier)

For pre-U, go for STPM or Matriculasi.

Invest those money in good divident stocks for university
private school is good ROI, if children go to singapore or overseas to work.
TSmezanny
post Mar 9 2023, 08:40 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(MishimaZ @ Mar 9 2023, 08:35 AM)
Since private/ international schools ever gives better education, kek.

From all my experience with friends, colleagues and other networks, all their kids end up being braindead lazy ass - the irony from what others was ingrained with.

Its simple, as these schools are just for the kids to lay back and do what they like without the suffering and oppression that is needed for anyone to develop into strong minded people.
Don't know if they are really that good.

I heard IGGSE sort of designed from Swedish style education, no homework one, more empowerment to allow children to make more critique decisions. The jury is still out there, whether if they can perform as well in the real corporate world.

I have worked with some british guys, they very good in accentuating themselves, but work quality the verdict is still out there.
TSmezanny
post Mar 9 2023, 08:44 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(ruffy_z @ Mar 9 2023, 08:10 AM)
I wish the Missionary Schools were retained with English as their medium of instruction and other English medium schools as well. Why did those old farts had to mess up the excellent education system we had back in the days
i came from a missionary school, it was one of the nation's best.

and u know what ?

after gomen took over, they ruined it !!!

they brought in many teachers of their out of the missionary school HR recruitment.

the teachers were of questionable qualities, often ponteng classes, My class monitor even caught one or two sleeping in the teacher;s room when they were supposed to deliver lessons.

the good ones were retiring one by one, or requested to transfer to other schools.

when my missionary school was turned into a full blown sekolah kebangsaan, that's when my nightmare started.

to make matters worse, they were transfering truant students from other states to my school. A few students that got kicked out of RMC and other boarding schools for sleeping, selling cigarettes, ragging and bullying came to my classroom. It turned my class into a circus.

Teachers were scared to come to my class, because we had many gangsters. After school, they would regroup and go to jinjang to fight.

This is why I have doubts to want to send my kids to SK.
SotongBiru
post Mar 9 2023, 08:52 AM

200 posts

In many cases, it is not a choice. Either get some education or none. Especially this past pandemic.
Namelessone1973
post Mar 9 2023, 08:58 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(mezanny @ Mar 9 2023, 08:40 AM)
Don't know if they are really that good.

I heard IGGSE sort of designed from Swedish style education, no homework one, more empowerment to allow children to make more critique decisions. The jury is still out there, whether if they can perform as well in the real corporate world.

I have worked with some british guys, they very good in accentuating themselves, but work quality the verdict is still out there.
You do know that our primary schools including SRJKC are going towards no homework too. There are already some SRJKC that is doing it today. Exams already abolished for standard 1 to 3 and UPSR is no more too.

SUSSunwhite
post Mar 9 2023, 09:09 AM

22 posts

Kesian... investor PR $10M nia .. why so difficult ?

14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:11 AM