4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Percentage of salary increment for job hopping, increment standard in 2022?

ungka
post May 19 2022, 10:54 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 18 2022, 04:26 PM)
I too has been working for 11-12 years

salary growth

2019 - 62xx
2020 - 90xx (internal promotion)
2021 - 10xxx (job hop 1)
2022 - 11xxx (job hop 2, was asking just to match the previous pay due to not serving 1 full year in previous company, only to found out that the latest company actually can offer much more)

anyhow i can say i am no where a senior now, despite getting the manager lvl pay in other industries
nice one.
mazai5100
post May 19 2022, 11:31 AM

39 posts

Deleted in request ID fd43ec7d-aaef-4e0d-a705-ec2c6b273b69

This post has been edited by mazai5100: Jun 29 2023, 11:19 PM
UsopSontorian
post May 19 2022, 02:22 PM

195 posts

tak nak kalah semua haha
viole
post May 19 2022, 07:39 PM

KFC Lover
840 posts

Min 30% please. Dont spoil the job market.

I have been working in 5 companies already throughout my 7 years of working.

My increment ranges from 25% to 50%.
SUSdattebayo
post May 19 2022, 11:16 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(viole @ May 19 2022, 07:39 PM)

ain’t that be a cap in everything?

if not one can easily hit /k/ standard salary while just being a senior exec
viole
post May 19 2022, 11:20 PM

KFC Lover
840 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 19 2022, 11:16 PM)

Depends on company. And your nego skill.

For example, if you are from chinaman company with 3k basic and 5 years experience. Suddenly join petronas, you can get around 6k to 7k according to their standard scale.

Thats more than 50% no?
tishaban
post May 20 2022, 08:47 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(viole @ May 19 2022, 11:20 PM)

For example, if you are from chinaman company with 3k basic and 5 years experience. Suddenly join petronas, you can get around 6k to 7k according to their standard scale.

Thats more than 50% no?
Yes it is highly dependent on the company and situation.

I know a guy who went from about RM9k per month as a manager at a chinaman company and getting RM14k at a multinational as a team lead, didn't even have to nego much because the multinational standard range was like that.

Maybe /k/ standard salary needs to be revised post covid /s tongue.gif biggrin.gif

TSCuteSniper22
post May 23 2022, 01:22 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(viole @ May 19 2022, 07:39 PM)

QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 19 2022, 11:16 PM)

QUOTE(viole @ May 19 2022, 11:20 PM)

Thats more than 50% no?
QUOTE(tishaban @ May 20 2022, 08:47 AM)
Yes it is highly dependent on the company and situation.

I know a guy who went from about RM9k per month as a manager at a chinaman company and getting RM14k at a multinational as a team lead, didn't even have to nego much because the multinational standard range was like that.

Maybe /k/ standard salary needs to be revised post covid /s  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif
But in my case, the problem is 30% increment already lead to 10k above. With such high salary already meet the manager/team lead standard? isnt it? Someone still able to retain their same job title/workload with such high salary?
viole
post May 23 2022, 01:27 AM

KFC Lover
840 posts

QUOTE(CuteSniper22 @ May 23 2022, 01:22 AM)
But in my case, the problem is 30% increment already lead to 10k above. With such high salary already meet the manager/team lead standard? isnt it? Someone still able to retain their same job title/workload with such high salary?
Possible. I know many of my peers just an executive/senior exec and not manager/lead. They earn 10k - 15k range.

In this age where even freshie can get around 4k/5k, 10k is not a lot to ask for.
soules83
post May 23 2022, 09:47 AM

Hohoho I dunno
2,024 posts

its the value you create which define your salary. As mentioned, Chinaman company manager job will focus more on lower value item than MNC.

Its time for Malaysia to move away from low value job and become direct competition with Singapore.
tishaban
post May 23 2022, 09:56 AM

3,615 posts

In some companies, definitely the 3-4 multinationals I've worked at before, and even the local company I'm in now, they'll have two tracks ie. people management and individual contributor. Salary range for both are the same, the only difference being whether or not you have people reporting to you. In the hierarchy:

- team load = specialists
- manager = advisor
- senior manager = senior advisor

I've had specialists being paid RM18-25k. Good to ask if a company practices this when you're interviewing.

SUSdattebayo
post May 23 2022, 01:41 PM

5,366 posts

my case is 11k - middle level engineer, above me still got Sr engineer, then only team lead; above team lead is head of infra something already. So total only 5 ranks, from very bottom to very top.

btw the team lead has been on this role for more than 10 years

so i can deduce over here, they don't abuse the titles as much as other places, they don't simply give glamor titles,
ragk
post May 23 2022, 02:31 PM

BooBoo~
2,353 posts

Some company know how important advance technical personnel are and appreciate them, I'm SSE with the salary range of team lead/manager, or even HOD level if compare to my previous company.

And title is pretty misleading sometimes, at my previous company tech lead is just like SSE with heavier code monkey workload, and in my current company SSE need to provide architecture solution. But current working environment is much friendlier in term of workload with higher pay as they follow proper sprint and given enough time for development.

This post has been edited by ragk: May 23 2022, 02:38 PM
amirulnuriman P
post Aug 7 2023, 03:42 PM

Probation

My job hopping salary
Working as SAP ABAP
2021: 2k (GLC)
2022: 3.5k (MNC)
2023: 6k (MNC)

hksgmy
post Aug 8 2023, 08:42 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(soules83 @ May 23 2022, 09:47 AM)
its the value you create which define your salary. As mentioned, Chinaman company manager job will focus more on lower value item than MNC.

Its time for Malaysia to move away from low value job and become direct competition with Singapore.
The question is "how"?

amirulnuriman P
post Aug 9 2023, 03:56 PM

Probation

[/quote]
Delete post
valerie.wen
post Aug 10 2023, 11:24 AM

267 posts

My job hopping salary/income - Digital Marketing
2018 - RM3800 (On-site)
2020 - Jobless
May 2021 - RM3200 (Hybrid, project basis)
August 2021 - RM4200 (Hybrid, headhunted by competitor)
November 2021 - RM6500 (Remote)
June 2022 - USD2500 (Remote, company ran into financial issues)
August 2022 - USD3000 (Remote)

This post has been edited by valerie.wen: Aug 10 2023, 11:27 AM
soules83
post Aug 10 2023, 08:25 PM

Hohoho I dunno
2,024 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 8 2023, 08:42 AM)
The question is "how"?
same way as how Singapore flash their low tech factory to Msia
soules83
post Aug 10 2023, 08:27 PM

Hohoho I dunno
2,024 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 8 2023, 08:42 AM)
The question is "how"?
same way as how Singapore flash their low tech factory to Msia. But Infineon kulim fab is a good start for Msia

This post has been edited by soules83: Aug 10 2023, 08:32 PM
macaionly
post Aug 10 2023, 11:20 PM

35 posts

i've hopped a couple of companies, and always ask for 30%.
result is one of 2 scenarios -
1. i got 30% (happen once only)
2. from 30%, nego to 20+% (more realistic).

so just go for 30% and nego from there.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0311sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:41 AM