Let's Talk Salary v9, Sharing Thread

polarzbearz
post Apr 29 2024, 09:24 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 29 2024, 08:30 AM)
I asked the same question of him, when he posted his profile under the "what's your net worth" thread, and he (like many others in his shoes, myself included) indicated that it would be hard for him to return to Malaysia unless it's for retirement, given that the role he plays isn't readily available in Malaysia.
I see. Makes sense actually, Malaysia have plenty of talents but the country itself isn't economically/politically/matured enough to absorb the talents hence the brain drain. But for retirement, definitely one of the better options here given the low cost of living but pretty high living standards compared to advanced economies.
Consultant92
post Apr 29 2024, 05:38 PM

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Apr 28 2024, 12:46 PM)
Congratulations and very well done at your age! Number may look crazyyyyy if converted to MYR but yeah, after reverse conversion back to USD / GBP it really is not much considering the taxation and cost of living (especially rental) on that part of the world.

Do you intend to naturalise there over the long term, or eventually return to Malaysia after grinding enough moolah?
I am not too sure really.
As mentioned by @hksgmy above, most probably not anytime soon, as there are many other things besides $$$ to consider.
I do understand the flexibility that comes with having money, but I truly think that as long as you work hard / smart, your financials should be ok in a place like M’sia anyway.
Me and my spouse are focusing on finding something to do / somewhere to go that’ll make us (and our future kids) happy. And unfortunately, I don’t think Malaysia will be the place (yet).

Tbh, if I want to make money quick, I’d go back to M’sia…
I get to save peanuts here (but I’m paying for my mortgage so I guess it’s some form of asset / wealth…).
I used to work in one of the MBBs and I can transfer/apply to the KL office fairly easily. They pay super well in M’sia.
Also, I’ve gotten some pretty good offers (some with total comp >RM600k pa) to work in Malaysia. With that kinda money, my spouse won’t need to work and we can actually feel super rich and save up a lot… imaging staying in a RM10-15k pm rental unit in KL, have a domestic helper and a chauffeur, easily affordable.
vs. Earning RM100k per month in US/UK and can barely afford any decent apartments...
Moreover, starting businesses is a lot easier (lower barriers, less competitive, and more growth) in SEAsia.

But being rich is not our main goal.
For now, I want to be financially stable asap; and be happy, and make my parents happy while I can.
In the future, I want my kids to be happy, and perhaps spend some time to make M’sia and the world a better place however much or little I can. (Maybe going into teaching).

Of course, staying in the U.K./US has its ups and, mainly, downs too… And I don’t think I like my job.
So going in circles… I’m a bit of a limbo right now…

This post has been edited by Consultant92: Apr 29 2024, 05:43 PM
Vervain
post May 1 2024, 07:05 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(Consultant92 @ Apr 29 2024, 05:38 PM)
I am not too sure really.
As mentioned by @hksgmy above, most probably not anytime soon, as there are many other things besides $$$ to consider.
I do understand the flexibility that comes with having money, but I truly think that as long as you work hard / smart, your financials should be ok in a place like M’sia anyway.
Me and my spouse are focusing on finding something to do / somewhere to go that’ll make us (and our future kids) happy. And unfortunately, I don’t think Malaysia will be the place (yet).

Tbh, if I want to make money quick, I’d go back to M’sia…
I get to save peanuts here (but I’m paying for my mortgage so I guess it’s some form of asset / wealth…).
I used to work in one of the MBBs and I can transfer/apply to the KL office fairly easily. They pay super well in M’sia.
Also, I’ve gotten some pretty good offers (some with total comp >RM600k pa) to work in Malaysia. With that kinda money, my spouse won’t need to work and we can actually feel super rich and save up a lot… imaging staying in a RM10-15k pm rental unit in KL, have a domestic helper and a chauffeur, easily affordable.
vs. Earning RM100k per month in US/UK and can barely afford any decent apartments...
Moreover, starting businesses is a lot easier (lower barriers, less competitive, and more growth) in SEAsia.

But being rich is not our main goal.
For now, I want to be financially stable asap; and be happy, and make my parents happy while I can.
In the future, I want my kids to be happy, and perhaps spend some time to make M’sia and the world a better place however much or little I can. (Maybe going into teaching).

Of course, staying in the U.K./US has its ups and, mainly, downs too… And I don’t think I like my job.
So going in circles… I’m a bit of a limbo right now…
You have financial stability. your next goal is financial freedom innocent.gif
Consultant92
post May 1 2024, 08:15 PM

QUOTE(Vervain @ May 1 2024, 11:05 AM)
You have financial stability. your next goal is financial freedom  innocent.gif
I wouldn’t consider having a job in a high stress, super competitive industry that fires ppl at high rates financial stability.
If I get fired, I will literally go bankrupt in a year with my mortgage to pay…

Also, I meant being financially stable for the rest of my life! biggrin.gif
hksgmy
post May 1 2024, 09:22 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Consultant92 @ May 1 2024, 08:15 PM)
I wouldn’t consider having a job in a high stress, super competitive industry that fires ppl at high rates financial stability.
If I get fired, I will literally go bankrupt in a year with my mortgage to pay…

Also, I meant being financially stable for the rest of my life! biggrin.gif
These are early days my friend. The sky is the limit for you when you reach your full potential.
GambitFire
post May 3 2024, 01:43 AM

100 posts

Job Title : Senior Finance Advisor
Job Description : Leading the annual budget and company financial planning.
Years spent in company : 10
Company : MNC
Industry : Oil & Gas
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Management
Experience before joining (years) : Nil..started as a Graduate Trainee..
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Masters and Prof Paper
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 22000
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 4-5mths

hksgmy
post May 9 2024, 06:12 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(GambitFire @ May 3 2024, 01:43 AM)
Job Title : Senior Finance Advisor
Job Description : Leading the annual budget and company financial planning.
Years spent in company : 10
Industry : Oil & Gas
Employment Level : Management
Experience before joining (years) : Nil..started as a Graduate Trainee..
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Masters and Prof Paper

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 22000
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 4-5mths
Congratulations! Another member of the much vaunted RM20k club in /k notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
SamTheBoi
post May 12 2024, 12:02 AM

Job Title : Senior DevOps Engineer
Job Description : Be the magic glue that holds software products / IT infrastructure together
Years spent in company : less than one year
Industry : Consulting
Employment Level : Technical staff
Experience before joining (years) : 1.5 year
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 9200
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 1-2mths

May I know roughly what is the celery ceiling for IT related positions in Malaysia? e.g. Team Lead / Manager positions

Last time I heard my ex-colleague macam hard in getting increment from jumping, I don't know the amount, but I'm guessing it's somewhere around 15k range?
cute_boboi
post May 12 2024, 02:11 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(SamTheBoi @ May 12 2024, 12:02 AM)
Job Title : Senior DevOps Engineer
Job Description : Be the magic glue that holds software products / IT infrastructure together
Years spent in company : less than one year
Industry : Consulting
Employment Level : Technical staff
Experience before joining (years) : 1.5 year
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 9200
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 1-2mths

May I know roughly what is the celery ceiling for IT related positions in Malaysia? e.g. Team Lead / Manager positions

Last time I heard my ex-colleague macam hard in getting increment from jumping, I don't know the amount, but I'm guessing it's somewhere around 15k range?
You can download annual reports from Jobstreet, Monster, Ambition, etc. to get an idea. However real life scenario I have managed Tech Lead (Senior Developer) at 18k and SDM at 25k in MNC in KL but these are really experienced post >10 years, at 80-90 percentile, so the numbers can get higher.

For DevOps, it's not hard, just need to right opportunity and timing when there is a good offer comes up.
icon_rolleyes.gif

SamTheBoi
post May 12 2024, 04:49 PM

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ May 12 2024, 02:11 PM)
You can download annual reports from Jobstreet, Monster, Ambition, etc. to get an idea. However real life scenario I have managed Tech Lead (Senior Developer) at 18k and SDM at 25k in MNC in KL but these are really experienced post >10 years, at 80-90 percentile, so the numbers can get higher.

For DevOps, it's not hard, just need to right opportunity and timing when there is a good offer comes up.
icon_rolleyes.gif
Thank you sifu!

Recently got sembang a bit with manager (an open minded person), heard him say quite hard for them to get headcount, due to company lower than average salary offering (but amazing WLB).

Guess I still have quite a lot to look forward to! laugh.gif
ProSuperSchool
post May 23 2024, 04:32 PM

583 posts

I want to ask..why do people keep their salary a secret, I know from non family, from friendds I can see, but this even from siblings still wanna keeep it a secret? why aa, haha
coolguy99
post May 23 2024, 06:26 PM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(ProSuperSchool @ May 23 2024, 04:32 PM)
I want to ask..why do people keep their salary a secret, I know from non family, from friendds I can see, but this even from siblings still wanna keeep it a secret? why aa, haha
Guess it’s considered as a taboo in Asian families. I don’t discuss about this with my family too.
byt112000
post May 23 2024, 06:54 PM

41 posts

i feel like a loser now after scrolling through this thread
vankodoq
post May 24 2024, 03:46 PM

377 posts

because everyone can see from experiences (hopefully from others') that money can actually break family ties.. whistling.gif

QUOTE(byt112000 @ May 23 2024, 06:54 PM)
i feel like a loser now after scrolling through this thread
nah, don't be.. I'd be feeling the same thing like 15 years ago..
if anything, see the posts here as goals.. nod.gif
AhBoy~~
post May 24 2024, 04:58 PM

1,149 posts

Bosses happy, when people don't know what their work/value worth is easier to low ball people on salary.
hksgmy
post May 26 2024, 08:49 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

One’s pecuniary package is not a topic for polite conversation amongst civilised citizens.
DatoChin
post May 29 2024, 12:30 AM

91 posts

I want to ask..why do people keep their salary a secret, I know from non family, from friends I can see, but this even from siblings still wanna keeep it a secret? why aa, haha
what so hard to understand. Most people tied their salary to their self worth.

low income people afraid others will laugh at their salary or even look down
high income people scare others will ask them for money

Guess what kind of people will post their salary here?
Btw is so easy to lie on internet, that I lie everyday unconsciously
hksgmy
post May 29 2024, 04:16 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(DatoChin @ May 29 2024, 12:30 AM)
what so hard to understand. Most people tied their salary to their self worth.

low income people afraid others will laugh at their salary or even look down
high income people scare others will ask them for money

Guess what kind of people will post their salary here?
Btw is so easy to lie on internet, that I lie everyday unconsciously
Agree with you. Easy to lie, much harder to keep a consistent narrative to keep up the lie.

Easier just to tell the truth.
Haloperidol
post May 29 2024, 08:13 AM

1,500 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 29 2024, 04:16 AM)
Agree with you. Easy to lie, much harder to keep a consistent narrative to keep up the lie.

Easier just to tell the truth.
Pathological liar will make the lie "truth" to himself/herself.
It's like self-reinforcement.

hksgmy
post May 29 2024, 12:10 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Haloperidol @ May 29 2024, 08:13 AM)
Pathological liar will make the lie "truth" to himself/herself.
It's like self-reinforcement.
Sometimes, this is all they have to break up the humdrum of their real life. Just let them be and don’t take even this away from them haha

29 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.86    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:06 PM