Let's Talk Salary v9, Sharing Thread

hksgmy
post Jul 16 2023, 09:25 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(viruz @ Jul 3 2023, 12:11 PM)
Hi, I would like to know what kind of job can make annual income above RM800 ~ RM1.2mil annually? CEO?Specialist?
Yes, but it also depends on:

1. Seniority
2. Field of specialty (an anaesthetist or an emergency physician will never achieve the same level of pay as an interventional cardiologist or an oncologist)
3. Private vs public sector (private >>> public, obviously)
4. Where you practice medicine (I can only speak for myself, but in my experience, Singapore > Australia > Malaysia)
5. Whether you get foreign patients or not
hksgmy
post Jul 16 2023, 04:13 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Has anyone here not fully recovered from COVID 19 pay cuts yet?

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jul 16 2023, 04:15 PM
hksgmy
post Jul 16 2023, 04:22 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jul 16 2023, 04:18 PM)
Intel
Oh dear. Yeah, I read about the retrenchment. I hope none of our forum members here are affected.
hksgmy
post Aug 2 2023, 09:02 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(kens88` @ Aug 2 2023, 02:01 PM)
Wow...See so many youngsters get so high salary makes me a bit depressed. but I am somewhat satisfied with my current arrangement

Job Title : Sales Exec
Job Desciption :
Years spent in company : few months
Company : Small cap company listed on Bursa
Industry : Chemicals
Tenure :
Employment Level :
Experience before joining (years) : 6
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Engineering degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 35

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 5400 + 800 transport allowance
Contractual Bonus (months): 1 mths
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : dunno how much because just joined
Work Flexibility (where relevant) : Meet client  a lot so hours are considered flexible
Work From Home Availability: X days in a month
Annual Leaves: 14 days
Flexi Working Hours : quite flexible. Just need do some paper work in office once in a while

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : insurance and medical. 400 per year for optical and dental
Transport Benefits : claim toll, parking and petrol aside from allowance stated above
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : company phone and data plan
Other Benefits :

Future Prospects (personal outlook) :
Current salary against peers in industry :For sales exec I think this pay is decent for the amount of work that needs to be done and WLB
Growth prospects : Development of new products is harder than I thought. Requires a lot of communication skills and patience. Those who say AI can replace sales and business development easily really dreaming. Your client can reject the AI more easily than a human. I believe there is always a strong demand for sales, marketing and business development
Where I will go from here : Depends on my performance in current place for this few years. Hope to go to leadership or management position in 5 more years.

Some background:
I started working in 2016 where I was some kuli in manufacturing.
2016 pay was RM2900. When I quit in 2019 it was 3500.

Then I joined a sales and service company (MNC)
The pay was only RM3800. But I took it because I was sick of the previous company and new company also offered me company car.
When I quit in 2022 because of crazy middle management my pay was RM4400. I would say I missed out on big pay jump in this second job. But I saved quite a bit as I did not have much commitment at that time. Work load was also less due to MCO shortly after I joined.

Then from that RM4400 jump to my current RM6200. I don't really hope to jump again for the next big increment; since I think my current place is quite good.
Thank you for sharing - it's an inspiring read! Well done!
hksgmy
post Sep 19 2023, 10:16 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(danscsa @ Sep 14 2023, 02:54 PM)
Been more then a decade since my last update.
2009-2017
Job Title : Plant Manager , progressed from being an Engineer
Job Description : Manage the whole plant and all departments
Years spent in company : 8+
Edu Qualification: BE Hons Mechanical
Company : SME MNC
Industry : Local O & G
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : permanent
Experience before joining : nil, started fresh here
salary : RM 10K, company car provided and housing with utilities paid for.
Job Title :Regional Ops Manager
Job Description :Head of Ops
Years spent in company : 2
Company : Cash Solutions Provider
Industry : Financial Services
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Senior Manager
Experience before joining (years) :8
Highest paper qualification/ education background : MBA , BE Hons
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 24/7 due to nature of the business

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM14000
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 1mths
Work Flexibility (where relevant) :Nil
Flexi Working Hours :  No
Health Benefits : Individual covered
Transport Benefits : Petrol
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits :Laptop and mobile

Took nearly a 3 year break during covid , focusing on being a father and upskilling.

Job Title :Head of Operations
Job Desciption :Head of Ops
Years spent in company : 4 months 
Company : Material Science Company
Industry : Construction
Tenure : Pemanent
Employment Level : Senior Manager
Experience before joining (years) :10
Highest paper qualification/ education background : MBA , BE Hons
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45 hours 

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : SGD 11500
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : AWS
Work Flexibility (where relevant) :Nil
Flexi Working Hours :  No
Health Benefits : Individual covered
Transport Benefits :
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits :Laptop
Well done! That's a huge salary jump! Congratulations

hksgmy
post Sep 20 2023, 02:25 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(danscsa @ Sep 20 2023, 01:29 PM)
Thanks if to compare in hindsight should be earning same amount of SGD14K as per MYR however just thankful to have a job after a 3 year hiatus!
It’s a good start and you can only go higher!

All the best!
hksgmy
post Apr 16 2024, 03:33 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(AdventureAddict88 @ Mar 22 2024, 12:31 AM)
Woa the salary is quite high compared to malaysia
Can't compare 1st world, developed economy with Malaysia's.
hksgmy
post Apr 16 2024, 03:35 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(dunkiedonuts @ Mar 27 2024, 08:05 AM)
I came to SG way before covid, rental was much cheaper and managed to get my PR and bought a flat before prices skyrocketted due to covid. My job doesnt require me to go to office and there are cheap food places near my house. I dont own a car and public transport is very convenient. It's much cheaper to just grab/rent a duration based electric car. Monthly mortage is fully covered by my CPF (EPF equivalent in Malaysia). My income is pretty high (non property agent nor insurance jobs but high base sales job with a good commission payout working in an MNC) and I save 70% of my income (after expenses, insurance and misc stuff). Get to splurge on travel and good stuff occassionally.

The situation is no doubt different post covid- high rental/property prices/much slower PR approval time- I have some Malaysian friends who have opted to rent in JB while waiting for their PR/chance to get a flat/accumulate enough savings. Long term wise IMHO benefits of moving here definitely outweighs working in Malaysia. I agree that you live very comfortably owning a car and a landed big house with an income of 10-15k RM, but that's pretty much it. If your income doesnt grow in tandem with rising inflation and weakening RM, you will feel the pinch sooner or later and travelling overseas is just going to be more expensive over time. While in SG, after living here for a number of years- I have the option to move back to Malaysia or elsewhere without much restrictions.
Thanks for sharing, and for your honest opinion!
hksgmy
post Apr 29 2024, 08:30 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Apr 28 2024, 08:46 PM)
Congratulations and very well done at your age! Number may look crazyyyyy if converted to MYR but yeah, after reverse conversion back to USD / GBP it really is not much considering the taxation and cost of living (especially rental) on that part of the world.

Do you intend to naturalise there over the long term, or eventually return to Malaysia after grinding enough moolah?
I asked the same question of him, when he posted his profile under the "what's your net worth" thread, and he (like many others in his shoes, myself included) indicated that it would be hard for him to return to Malaysia unless it's for retirement, given that the role he plays isn't readily available in Malaysia.
hksgmy
post May 1 2024, 09:22 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Consultant92 @ May 1 2024, 08:15 PM)
I wouldn’t consider having a job in a high stress, super competitive industry that fires ppl at high rates financial stability.
If I get fired, I will literally go bankrupt in a year with my mortgage to pay…

Also, I meant being financially stable for the rest of my life! biggrin.gif
These are early days my friend. The sky is the limit for you when you reach your full potential.
hksgmy
post May 9 2024, 06:12 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(GambitFire @ May 3 2024, 01:43 AM)
Job Title : Senior Finance Advisor
Job Description : Leading the annual budget and company financial planning.
Years spent in company : 10
Company : MNC
Industry : Oil & Gas
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Management
Experience before joining (years) : Nil..started as a Graduate Trainee..
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Masters and Prof Paper
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 22000
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 4-5mths
Congratulations! Another member of the much vaunted RM20k club in /k notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
hksgmy
post May 26 2024, 08:49 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(ProSuperSchool @ May 23 2024, 04:32 PM)
I want to ask..why do people keep their salary a secret, I know from non family, from friendds I can see, but this even from siblings still wanna keeep it a secret? why aa, haha
One’s pecuniary package is not a topic for polite conversation amongst civilised citizens.
hksgmy
post May 29 2024, 04:16 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(DatoChin @ May 29 2024, 12:30 AM)
what so hard to understand. Most people tied their salary to their self worth.

low income people afraid others will laugh at their salary or even look down
high income people scare others will ask them for money

Guess what kind of people will post their salary here?
Btw is so easy to lie on internet, that I lie everyday unconsciously
Agree with you. Easy to lie, much harder to keep a consistent narrative to keep up the lie.

Easier just to tell the truth.
hksgmy
post May 29 2024, 12:10 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Haloperidol @ May 29 2024, 08:13 AM)
Pathological liar will make the lie "truth" to himself/herself.
It's like self-reinforcement.
Sometimes, this is all they have to break up the humdrum of their real life. Just let them be and don’t take even this away from them haha
hksgmy
post Jun 11 2024, 07:49 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Snoozeaway @ Jun 11 2024, 07:44 PM)
This would be my last sharing on my career progress as I do not see  myself transitioning back to Malaysia.

I hope my progress will inspire everyone to be brave in asking for what you deserve ✨️. Do not limit yourself to your last drawn salary and Corporate have more budget than what you imagine.

Role: New, head-hunted
Experience: 5years
Basic: 135k
Bonus: 2-3months + RSU

I open up my direct message if you would like help with CV reviews or any salary negotiation tips.
$135k/month… who would ever want to give that up to go back to Malaysia?!

Congrats bro!
hksgmy
post Jun 11 2024, 10:00 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(canjeth @ Jun 11 2024, 09:55 PM)
What currency is the 135k?
If Im reading it correctly, he’s in Singapore.
hksgmy
post Jun 11 2024, 10:01 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Snoozeaway @ Jun 11 2024, 07:44 PM)
This would be my last sharing on my career progress as I do not see  myself transitioning back to Malaysia.

I hope my progress will inspire everyone to be brave in asking for what you deserve ✨️. Do not limit yourself to your last drawn salary and Corporate have more budget than what you imagine.

Role: New, head-hunted
Experience: 5years
Basic: 135k/annum
Bonus: 2-3months + RSU

I open up my direct message if you would like help with CV reviews or any salary negotiation tips.
Sorry, sorry… I didn’t see your edit there.

Even then, it’s still a very respectable sum of money! Well done!
hksgmy
post Jun 26 2024, 04:12 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Batman @ Jun 26 2024, 03:06 PM)
after many years later, same role, and same company.

Salary: 25K+
Congratulations sir!
hksgmy
post Oct 2 2024, 07:11 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Oct 2 2024, 06:30 PM)
hksgmy you don't come here and make others depressed hehe.
I…. am soon to be unemployed at the end of the year. I should do well to keep my big mouth firmly shut and know my station in kopitiam life hahahaha

0.0392sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:45 AM