29 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Let's Talk Salary v9, Sharing Thread

autodriver
post Jul 26 2022, 09:23 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(Jay.C1992 @ Jul 18 2022, 04:06 PM)
Hi, i just share about my Career Progression as an External Auditor.

I graduate from a Private University in Malaysia (4 Years Course).

Got My ACCA during my 1st Job. Details shown in below:

2016 (Started in Feb) Small Audit Firm: RM 2.5k
2017 (Promoted) : RM 3.2k (Finished my ACCA)
2017 (Move to a Mid-tier) : RM 3k (For Greater Exposure)
2018 (Promoted) : RM 3.8k
2018 (Move to a Small Firm) : RM 3.5k (Due to Family Matters, need to move back to Hometown)
2019 (Promoted) : RM 4.5k (Get my MIA and ACCA Member)
2019 (Move to one of the Big 4): RM 5.2k
2021 (Go to Commercial for Contractual work) : RM7.5k
2021 (Move back to Audit) : RM 6.5k
2022 (After getting my Audit Partner License) : RM 10k

My Career is keep on shifting from job to job due to incident happen around me.
I am lucky enough to some good Manager or Partner during the time which i climbing up to the Audit Partner post even though i am unsure about what would be my next promotion or even increment.

My Firm eventually could provide a high Bonus/Performance incentive around 3-4months.

Time is changing and so the industry. Don't wait for opportunity but snatch it when you have a chance.  thumbup.gif
Maybe it is applicable to you as auditor but not all industry can apply. To be honest if I were see someone resume like you (non-accounting) I will seriously forgone the candidate for good because it is zero loyalty. How one can gain more experience if jumping here and there as job hopper. To acquire skill in fact 6 months or 1 year can be competence to do the task but experience and network need time to build. Changing job frequently doesn't mean of getting good experience but rather it is for seeking good pay purpose.
canjeth
post Jul 26 2022, 09:28 AM

502 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Jul 26 2022, 09:23 AM)
Maybe it is applicable to you as auditor but not all industry can apply. To be honest if I were see someone resume like you (non-accounting) I will seriously forgone the candidate for good because it is zero loyalty. How one can gain more experience if jumping here and there as job hopper. To acquire skill in fact 6 months or 1 year can be competence to do the task but experience and network need time to build. Changing job frequently doesn't mean of getting good experience but rather it is for seeking good pay purpose.
How about changing jobs every 2 years+? Acceptable?
Minana1004 P
post Jul 26 2022, 10:04 AM

Probation
31 posts

QUOTE(AhBoy~~ @ Jul 25 2022, 01:05 PM)
primary objective of work is $

sh*t boss, how fast next interview come << out of your control

DBA, Data engineer just a tittle, do some training your if you really interested with certain topic << this is under your control

even if the bank offer/better permanent offer come after you join back contract job, nothing stop you from moving again, it is valid reason to move from temp job to permanent one. Some more is IT, no one bother if you hop really because everyone is doing it, it is just the way market and the industry works.
yep that's what i'm still doing now.. self-learning and personal projects. I'm just worried about the fact that I'm gonna be stuck with that job for one year once I signed all the documents, so gonna have to wait for a while to pursue my dreams.

But job hopping every year, I'm afraid of what it will look like on my resume sweat.gif don't have much experience job hopping but I guess if people with a lot of experience and skills can get away with it easily
autodriver
post Jul 26 2022, 12:08 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(canjeth @ Jul 26 2022, 09:28 AM)
How about changing jobs every 2 years+? Acceptable?
My own opinion. Before 30 years old can change job every 2 or 3 years but when once hit 30 we must focus on 1 job role or 1 industry for further development. After 30 job change frequency should limit at 4-5 years a job at least.

I have several real cases. My friend A who grad in accounting and got a job in small accounting firm. After 1 year he join 1 MNC corporate as account payable but he switch to another local company just merely 9 months due to higher offer but this time as debt collector. Even after 30 years old he still keeping change job every 2-3 years. But thing change after 35 years old when he start finding himself difficult to get new job. Recruiters questioning him why he change job so often and most of the job he change the title remain same as senior executive. He sharing now age about 40 he is in senior executive and salary stagnant. Worse thing is during MCO time he being retrenched and jobless for nearly 1 and half year. Although he got a job now as senior executive but salary is around 4k which is similar as the time he was 30. Whereas some friends who grad same time is now become asistant manager or manager earning beyond 5k or some surpass 10k. He is regret that he did not spent time to build his network and gather enough experience in 1 company.

There are many cases employee said current company do not appreciate loyalty. However there are number of companies outside are appreciate loyalty staffs and they hope to hire. I believe majority of company do not wish to hire a staff who only work for 1-2 years then quit.
coolguy_0925
post Jul 26 2022, 08:25 PM

4,537 posts

QUOTE(Minana1004 @ Jul 26 2022, 10:04 AM)
yep that's what i'm still doing now.. self-learning and personal projects. I'm just worried about the fact that I'm gonna be stuck with that job for one year once I signed all the documents, so gonna have to wait for a while to pursue my dreams.

But job hopping every year, I'm afraid of what it will look like on my resume sweat.gif  don't have much experience job hopping but I guess if people with a lot of experience and skills can get away with it easily
You mean your contract cannot resign with like 2 months notice? Similar contract jobs in my previous company allow people to resign rather than need to complete the whole tenure

And probably that is also the reason why the offer is higher as it is a contract job, which certain benefits for permanent staff do not apply to you eg. 13-mth bonus

QUOTE(autodriver @ Jul 26 2022, 12:08 PM)
My own opinion. Before 30 years old can change job every 2 or 3 years but when once hit 30 we must focus on 1 job role or 1 industry for further development. After 30 job change frequency should limit at 4-5 years a job at least.

I have several real cases. My friend A who grad in accounting and got a job in small accounting firm. After 1 year he join 1 MNC corporate as account payable but he switch to another local company just merely 9 months due to higher offer but this time as debt collector. Even after 30 years old he still keeping change job every 2-3 years. But thing change after 35 years old when he start finding himself difficult to get new job. Recruiters questioning him why he change job so often and most of the job he change the title remain same as senior executive. He sharing now age about 40 he is in senior executive and salary stagnant. Worse thing is during MCO time he being retrenched and jobless for nearly 1 and half year. Although he got a job now as senior executive but salary is around 4k which is similar as the time he was 30. Whereas some friends who grad same time is now become asistant manager or manager earning beyond 5k or some surpass 10k. He is regret that he did not spent time to build his network and gather enough experience in 1 company.

There are many cases employee said current company do not appreciate loyalty. However there are number of companies outside are appreciate loyalty staffs and they hope to hire. I believe majority of company do not wish to hire a staff who only work for 1-2 years then quit.
RM4k for an experienced sounded like your friend kena lowballed or maybe he is desperate for reentering job force as even some freshies now are paid that amount
Raddus
post Jul 26 2022, 08:37 PM

239 posts

As a junior designer that focuses on UI/UX web design works (no coding involved)

With RM2800 salary is this around the average for joiners?

I recently heard that UX designers actually earn more than this 3-4k but thing is maybe because I'm junior so it's reasonable?
Frank3
post Jul 26 2022, 09:24 PM

263 posts

Job Title : QA Automation Engineer
Job Description : Develop and maintain automation code (python) for mobile app.
Years spent in company : 1 year ++
Company : Cryptocurrency Company
Industry : Fintech
Tenure : Permanent
Experience before joining: 11 yrs (Including Malaysia)
Experience in Singapore: 8 yrs (Since 2014)
Highest paper qualification/ education background : B. Degree (IT)
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 44 +-

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : SGD 9350
Monthly Allowance: NA
Contractual Bonus (months): 0
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 100% of annual salary paid by cryptocurrency (vested 4 years: 1st year anniversary 10%, 2nd year 20%, 3rd year 30%, 4th year 40%)

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : Medical Insurance
Transport Benefits : NA
Flexi Working Hours : Yes.
Leave: Annual Leave (21-25 days) + Birthday Leave + Work Anniversary Leave + Sick Leaves

Ex-boss ask me to help him build test automation for his new company product and pay me USD3000 per month as part time job (50 hours per month).

So total monthly income is SGD9350 + SGD4000 (USD3000) = SGD13350

This post has been edited by Frank3: Jul 26 2022, 09:25 PM
Jay.C1992
post Jul 27 2022, 08:48 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Jul 18 2022, 07:58 PM)
It's ok. Did you apply for the license? How was the experience like?
Yes, if you wish to Audit Partner eventually you need to get the license before moving on.

Well, it do take quite a lot of study before you go for the license interview.

I could said that I am lucky enough to pass the interview for the audit license.
Jay.C1992
post Jul 27 2022, 08:52 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Harry929292 @ Jul 19 2022, 10:00 AM)
Wow I can only imagine how you felt from 2016-2021. Your pay didnt move and instead drop at times but yet you persevered and became a partner... Congrats on the hard work and never giving up attitude mentality.
In the early time of my career, i do questioning myself whether Audit Partner will be achievable but thanks god my hard work do paid off.

This post has been edited by Jay.C1992: Jul 27 2022, 08:52 AM
Jay.C1992
post Jul 27 2022, 08:58 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Jul 20 2022, 01:24 PM)
I see you really love auditing. How is the work life balance ?

I am no auditor myself but my friend is totally stressed out working in audit firm ( especially big4 ). Everyday crying OTW to work, everyday ( including weekend ) work until 2am.

It is really sad that auditor despite being a professional but can be having worst work-life balance job out there, compared to engineer, doctors and lawyers.
You don't really have work-life balance in most of time whereby it's always work life integration which my boss always mentioning.

Yes, we do work on almost every weekend even you becoming an Audit Partner if your staff is not competent enough to ensure that the Financial statement which Partner signing is true and fair.

Not sure about other industry but it will also depend on the firm culture whether overtime working is required.

Jay.C1992
post Jul 27 2022, 09:01 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(jay.li @ Jul 22 2022, 10:44 PM)
That's quite a jump from 2021 to 2022. You joined as manager in 2021?
What line are u in? Software developer?
Your friend girl or guy? Just asking. But seriously, if feel that way everyday, think its better to really consider whether want to keep working in audit or not. Or is it ur friend wants to get the practical experience first?
Yes, as Manager.
The increment is because of the Audit License obtained but also need to noted that any audit report signed will be held accountable to each individual partner who sign on it as such I would say that due to the risk that partner taking up, the paid increased.
autodriver
post Jul 27 2022, 09:09 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Jul 26 2022, 08:25 PM)
You mean your contract cannot resign with like 2 months notice? Similar contract jobs in my previous company allow people to resign rather than need to complete the whole tenure

And probably that is also the reason why the offer is higher as it is a contract job, which certain benefits for permanent staff do not apply to you eg. 13-mth bonus
RM4k for an experienced sounded like your friend kena lowballed or maybe he is desperate for reentering job force as even some freshies now are paid that amount
It is hard for him to ask for 5k in a senior position at age of 40. Not many company willing to hire a senior executive at age of 40 in 5k where they can provide 4k to hire and younger staff who are more willing to learn and willing to work OT. As a male in age of 40 we should at least in position like teamleader, assistant manager or above.

For admin work freshies paid is still below 4k bar, probably in between of 2.5 - 3.5k. We can jump company to get pay rise but after age of 30 we should stay in one field and develop our professionalism. By age of 35 and above we should be in assistant manager or above level.
Jay.C1992
post Jul 27 2022, 09:10 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Jul 26 2022, 09:23 AM)
Yes, you are right, it do take years for acquire skills and experience.
But it's seems to be a trend where people not satisfying with the current paid and then job hop to another company (seems a lot when auditing the payroll)

Nowadays, younger professional (my staff) also changing job quite frequently due to paid, work-life or perhaps job exposure.

There are a lot of talent out there but most of them work for large organisation, talent is hard for smaller organization.

Harry929292
post Jul 27 2022, 05:29 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(Jay.C1992 @ Jul 27 2022, 08:58 AM)
You don't really have work-life balance in most of time whereby it's always work life integration which my boss always mentioning.

Yes, we do work on almost every weekend even you becoming an Audit Partner if your staff is not competent enough to ensure that the Financial statement which Partner signing is true and fair.

Not sure about other industry but it will also depend on the firm culture whether overtime working is required.
What is work life integration really? I t just sounds like working non stop and being underappreciated kan? Especially working for Chinese bosses in Big 4
Harry929292
post Jul 27 2022, 05:29 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(Jay.C1992 @ Jul 27 2022, 08:52 AM)
In the early time of my career, i do questioning myself whether Audit Partner will be achievable but thanks god my hard work do paid off.
Can share some examples for the adik adik on what kind of hard work you put in?
Mavik
post Jul 27 2022, 06:05 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Harry929292 @ Jul 27 2022, 05:29 PM)
What is work life integration really? I t just sounds like working non stop and being underappreciated kan? Especially working for Chinese bosses in Big 4
Means life is integrated in your day-to-day life. Go to the zoo with the family and kids, oh, have to answer customer call. Overseas having family holiday, have to find wifi spot to take a zoom call. At home during the weekend, gardening and also on a zoom call at the same time.
coolguy_0925
post Jul 27 2022, 07:51 PM

4,537 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Jul 27 2022, 09:09 AM)
It is hard for him to ask for 5k in a senior position at age of 40. Not many company willing to hire a senior executive at age of 40 in 5k where they can provide 4k to hire and younger staff who are more willing to learn and willing to work OT. As a male in age of 40 we should at least in position like teamleader, assistant manager or above.

For admin work freshies paid is still below 4k bar, probably in between of 2.5 - 3.5k. We can jump company to get pay rise but after age of 30 we should stay in one field and develop our professionalism. By age of 35 and above we should be in assistant manager or above level.
If it is a clerical or admin work, then there is a ceiling

So he was jumping from one admin job to another admin job

If want salary to go further up, skillset is important

With that, even I am not a teamleader, asst mgr etc. I still can be an IC with specialist / techinical route
dattebayo
post Jul 27 2022, 10:40 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Jul 26 2022, 12:08 PM)

QUOTE(autodriver @ Jul 27 2022, 09:09 AM)

even as an account assistant, your friend's pay is severely underpaid, these days even junior role can go up to 5k, accounting manager maybe from 8k onwards, with ACCA is five figures above easily

it seems for each time ur friend jump, he only look for minor increment and not the role/responsibilities that comes with it, in accounting field there's not much choices other than to climb the ladder, unlike other engineering fields whereby just being a senior engineer can get high pay while remaining an IC

coolguy_0925
post Jul 28 2022, 01:56 AM

4,537 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 27 2022, 10:40 PM)
even as an account assistant, your friend's pay is severely underpaid, these days even junior role can go up to 5k, accounting manager maybe from 8k onwards, with ACCA is five figures above easily

it seems for each time ur friend jump, he only look for minor increment and not the role/responsibilities that comes with it, in accounting field there's not much choices other than to climb the ladder, unlike other engineering fields whereby just being a senior engineer can get high pay while remaining an IC
Accounts Asst. in Klang Valley, yes

in other than KV like Melaka, N9... RM2,500 maybe

because of cost concern, even MNC offers this level, and they take max until Matriculation, Diploma or CAT leavers

SME... SPM max then and offer you RM1,500 (Even RM1,200 also ada on Jobstreet last time) and jobscope = FULL SET of account

For Accounting wanna become IC then have to steer a bit out of Financial Reporting, go FP&A or Project Accountant then can get RM8k and above in MNC as IC

If regional role then 5 figure possible but have to jaga a few countries lah

Harry929292
post Jul 28 2022, 12:25 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 27 2022, 06:05 PM)
Means life is integrated in your day-to-day life. Go to the zoo with the family and kids, oh, have to answer customer call. Overseas having family holiday, have to find wifi spot to take a zoom call. At home during the weekend, gardening and also on a zoom call at the same time.
OMG that sounds like a typical asian farked up mindset to keep working. The China 996 culture.

It should work both ways then, half way I work, my wife call then I will just get up and leave OR will it be just one direction where bosses can disturbyou but you cannot disturb them if your family needs you.

29 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.1301sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:16 AM