8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Moving to Singapore after 30, Too late or never too late

Redshelf411
post Mar 4 2022, 02:09 PM

800 posts

If you choose to stay = what will you get from Malaysia?
mushigen
post Mar 5 2022, 01:56 PM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(LaSat @ Mar 3 2022, 11:56 PM)
SG if you can save SGD500 = RM1500 already saving, every month!
Malaysia, don't think you can save that amount with Bangla Low-salary benchmark here!

If, you opt for PR after 2-years, you definitely can get higher salary as Singaporean & have more saving upto SGD1000 = Rm3000 /per month!
I had seen my friends done that, usually the 1st 5-years need to struggle abit, after that almost like SGreans already!
If borders & the JB MRT start in 2-years time, can save even more staying in JB, buy any JB Semi-D & having a HDB not a problem!
The last I checked, you cannot have any property overseas if you intend to buy hdb flat.
Cadence16
post Mar 5 2022, 02:22 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 5 2022, 01:56 PM)
The last I checked, you cannot have any property overseas if you intend to buy hdb flat.
You are right. Anyway you can only buy hdb if you are a citizen or PR. PRs can't buy brand new, can only buy Resale unless married to a citizen and buying together.
mushigen
post Mar 5 2022, 03:03 PM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(Cadence16 @ Mar 5 2022, 02:22 PM)
You are right. Anyway you can only buy hdb if you are a citizen or PR. PRs can't buy brand new, can only buy Resale unless married to a citizen and buying together.
I am aware of this. And even for resale flat, PR alone cannot buy, must at least marry another PR.
heavensea
post Mar 5 2022, 04:14 PM

9,616 posts

Earn sgd first, talk later.
You'll regret if didn't do it ASAP...
Gold_Moderator
post Mar 5 2022, 04:22 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Mar 1 2022, 09:59 AM)
My hometown is in Muar and now I'm working in Senai. So it really is in the middle point of SG and KL.
i from 84000 also. you still young , better try your luck in singapore, US , australia. sure u won’t regret. but remember one thing, singapore life very fast. even their escalator also fast than malaysia. if i were you, i will go. just don’t spend so much in geylang.
Gold_Moderator
post Mar 5 2022, 04:24 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Mar 4 2022, 02:09 PM)
If you choose to stay = what will you get from Malaysia?
easy life. and boring.
Cadence16
post Mar 6 2022, 11:33 AM

43 posts

Good for retirees
Jiaaah
post Apr 27 2022, 07:16 PM

QUOTE(weehournow @ Mar 1 2022, 09:45 AM)
I am currently 30 years old with 5+ years of working experience in the legal industry. For my current job I am drawing a salary of RM4600+. I work in Johor btw. I feel that I am somehow stuck due to my slow career progression so I have been thinking about moving to Singapore.

I found a potential job which offers SGD3.5k at most, which means most likely they will only be paying 3.2k (optimistic?). I know for a fact that if I move to KL I could land a job that would pay me MYR5k+. So the dilemma is should I go to SG for smaller pay (disregard the conversion) and start afresh or to KL?

Appreciate any constructive view. Thanks.

Edited:

Since some of you replied asking for more details before giving advice, i thought I should supplement more info:

1. Single. No plan to start a family. In fact no plan to get into a relationship. Can foresee myself single till the day I die.

2. My previous jobs include lawyer and legal editor. Now working as a legal exec (in house).
Reviving the thread to check in with on your decision.

Sidetrack, With the new immigration framework, I heard it's much harder for non-tech people to move to Sg. Do you have any insights on this?
simonhtz
post Apr 29 2022, 02:37 PM

312 posts

Short answer: SG. Long answer: Singapore

Give it a shot of a year or 2. If it doesn’t work out, come back.
Bossku_Johor
post Apr 29 2022, 02:46 PM

146 posts

Welcome to Singapore...

Try first...if u like u stay...don like go back....but try first....3.2 is just beginner...u can start looking for other opportunities once in

but work culture not the same...here ppl more kiasu one....if hati tissue better don't....need to have thick skin a bit....

This post has been edited by Bossku_Johor: Apr 29 2022, 02:50 PM
Man of Tomorrow P
post May 18 2022, 01:16 AM

Probation

I'm still studying and I currently have a diploma in mechanical engineering. I have a plan to work at SG for 3 months during my sem break as a technician. Is it a good idea ? . Your thoughts?
Xccess
post May 18 2022, 02:19 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,695 posts

Legal editor? Mind elaborate more on your jobscope? In SG, most submission are done via E-litigation, online filing be it Divorce, Power of Attorney, Letter of Administration/Grant of Probate etc etc. Just be mentally ready to pick up new stuff.

This post has been edited by Xccess: May 18 2022, 02:21 AM
smon80
post May 18 2022, 06:04 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Mar 1 2022, 09:59 AM)
My hometown is in Muar and now I'm working in Senai. So it really is in the middle point of SG and KL.
Go any enjoy and learn something there. Get some money maybe you can retired from your job do some small business back here later.
Just enjoy a diff lifestyle there, here unless you are getting over 10k paid or business here or less, working about same, only money diff.

Pakatan SinMa Plus
post May 18 2022, 08:42 AM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 5 2022, 01:56 PM)
QUOTE(Cadence16 @ Mar 5 2022, 02:22 PM)
QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 5 2022, 03:03 PM)
I am aware of this. And even for resale flat, PR alone cannot buy, must at least marry another PR.
All the above are correct. Hdb is a public housing, there are many rules to follow in order to buy a hdb, such as A hdb owner could not own a foreign property, only married min 3 year sgp pr can own a hdb., and one should fulfill some other quota requirement before he/she can purchase a hdb.

There are many other rules to follow before or after one purchases a hdb too. 😂

ja836kyau
post May 18 2022, 09:05 AM

20 posts

This topic had been discussed since S$1 = RM2.5.

First mover already profit gao gao rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
TiramisuCoffee
post May 18 2022, 10:18 AM

1,199 posts

Since u hv no commitments no harm give it a try. Can always come back …

Good luck!
Daprind
post May 18 2022, 11:18 AM

137 posts

honestly speaking, at the age of 30 to get monthly pay SGD 3.5K is quite low. I can barely survive with SGD2.7K in the past 10 years ago. But nevertheless, Good luck TS.
Docile
post May 18 2022, 11:27 AM

Naked Sleeper
404 posts

Haters will tell u 3.2k in singapore is a fresh grads pay blabla
Don't listen, go ahead
Its never too late

TSweehournow
post Jun 15 2022, 04:17 PM

44 posts

Update: I got an offer and decided to go to Singapore. Will be there in August 2022.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:53 PM