Moving to Singapore after 30, Too late or never too late

hungrygodzilla
post Mar 1 2022, 02:30 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(waxppl @ Mar 1 2022, 01:20 PM)
Im sure there are some sinkies that discriminate msian.. like i said, "sinkies I know", not all sinkies..

it depends on what group of sinkies u mix with, low life sinkies sure hate u for "stealing their jobs"..
of coz you have all kinda people, some more gila than the rest. Those SG that like to say "stealing our jobs" are the loser group that is lazy and anti social and just purely keyboard warrior. Can't make it in life that's why blame everybody else. The ultimate goal to work in SG is to keep climbing up the career ladder, meet and be surrounded by better and smarter people.
SUSCoolStoryWriter
post Mar 1 2022, 02:47 PM

241 posts

TS, I moved to SG recently, on EP.

It depends on your commitments and lifestyle honestly.

1) At 30, probably most people will be looking at settling down with a partner and have children. 4.6k in Johor, with wife working also probably can lead a decent life with 1 child (assuming household income probably 7-8k in Johor).

2) But 3.2k in Singapore, don't dream of starting a family. Will die. You will lead a single life possibly until your 40s. 3.2k can survive in Singapore as a single.

3) 3.2k in Singapore is fresh graduate level, not really the salary for a professional lawyer but hey again, thousands of Malaysians cross the border for half that amount.

4) Going to Singapore doesn't necessarily mean you will be better career wise. Sometimes you shoot yourself in the foot. When u return to Malaysia, employers will benchmark against 3.2k, not 10k this is very important ya. Don't assume employers so generous will offer you 12-13k. They will look at what u get in Singapore, without conversion.

5) If you ok with staying single forever, yes you can come to Singapore.

6) See point 1 and 2. Need to ask yourself, where are you now and where you want to go.

If you have any questions let me know

This post has been edited by CoolStoryWriter: Mar 1 2022, 02:48 PM
SUStolongking
post Mar 1 2022, 03:05 PM

20 posts

Salary climb fast if you work hard. Just go if you get an opportunity. What’s there to lose?
SUSAligee
post Mar 1 2022, 03:06 PM

1st Choice = Singapore
2nd choice = KL
3rd choice = JB

Others state, forget it!
These 3-States would be the Next Megapolitans cities for the next 10-years to 20-years at least due to its Mega-population concentrated!

If, border opens @ 1-March;

1st Choice = Singapore + JB
2nd choice =
3rd choice = KL

This post has been edited by Aligee: Mar 1 2022, 03:11 PM
pisces88
post Mar 1 2022, 03:12 PM

3,971 posts

Confirm SG la. 3.5k sgd - expenses i think u have nett 1.7k minimum. Thats like 5k ringgit.

If lucky you can jump to other sg company in few years, maybe salary increase 1-2k sgd.

Plus, u dont have ur own family yet. Whats stopping you to try? Worse to worse , u can come back in a year.
bsa12
post Mar 1 2022, 03:20 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(Don't Troll me! @ Mar 1 2022, 10:05 AM)
if you accept the social life there why not.. mind you.. it would not easy to work with singaporean.. they are very fast paced and high in result.

my friend work there for 5 years and salary is gooding (around 8k sgd) but he still eating alone everyday at canteen because all of his colleague are singaporean.
Note - he is friendly and talkative person

your choice smile.gif
This
bsa12
post Mar 1 2022, 03:22 PM

562 posts

May be should consider back to muar with same pay less competition, better living
Enjoise
post Mar 1 2022, 03:41 PM

463 posts

i would pick 4600 johor while starting other hussle/investment, but if really want to go sg
0.8 x ur current would be ideal

also take into account uu cant comeback anytime uu want with this covid situation & most probably more competitive n stressful working environment
Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Mar 1 2022, 04:05 PM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 1 2022, 02:08 PM)
1. TS, you plan to stay in Sg or JB?

2. You plan to work there for short term or long term? I know of ppl who planned short term but as their commitment increases, they are stuck there.

3. You plan to start a family? You gotta familiarise yourself with their school system when you enrol your kids there.

4. Your kids will be stuck there if they're schooled there. Can't even speak Malay wei.
Interesting questions. let me add in some comments.

1. TS, you plan to stay in Sg or JB? If TS choose to work in SG, then of course stay in SG, nowadays can no longer travel daily.

2. You plan to work there for short term or long term? I know of ppl who planned short term but as their commitment increases, they are stuck there. Very true, i agree with this. This happens to a lot of people

3. You plan to start a family? You gotta familiarise yourself with their school system when you enrol your kids there. Indeed, it is very different to start a new life in singapore as an individual vs a family.

4. Your kids will be stuck there if they're schooled there. Can't even speak Malay wei. yea, one can only learn 1 mother tongue (depending on your race) in school apart from English.

TSweehournow
post Mar 1 2022, 04:54 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 1 2022, 02:08 PM)
1. TS, you plan to stay in Sg or JB?

2. You plan to work there for short term or long term? I know of ppl who planned short term but as their commitment increases, they are stuck there.

3. You plan to start a family? You gotta familiarise yourself with their school system when you enrol your kids there.

4. Your kids will be stuck there if they're schooled there. Can't even speak Malay wei.
1. I plan to stay in SG. Definitely cannot tahan long commute time.

2. Plan for now is work for long term. TBH cannot see a future in MY with weak currency. I do have a house mortgage and car loan but both are manageable right now as I spend very little and is very thrifty.

3 & 4. No kid. No plan to build family. Single till dead let nurse abuse at old folks home that kind.

TSweehournow
post Mar 1 2022, 05:10 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(CoolStoryWriter @ Mar 1 2022, 02:47 PM)
TS, I moved to SG recently, on EP.

It depends on your commitments and lifestyle honestly.

1) At 30, probably most people will be looking at settling down with a partner and have children. 4.6k in Johor, with wife working also probably can lead a decent life with 1 child (assuming household income probably 7-8k in Johor).

2) But 3.2k in Singapore, don't dream of starting a family. Will die. You will lead a single life possibly until your 40s. 3.2k can survive in Singapore as a single.

3) 3.2k in Singapore is fresh graduate level, not really the salary for a professional lawyer but hey again, thousands of Malaysians cross the border for half that amount. 

4) Going to Singapore doesn't necessarily mean you will be better career wise. Sometimes you shoot yourself in the foot. When u return to Malaysia, employers will benchmark against 3.2k, not 10k this is very important ya. Don't assume employers so generous will offer you 12-13k. They will look at what u get in Singapore, without conversion.

5) If you ok with staying single forever, yes you can come to Singapore.

6) See point 1 and 2. Need to ask yourself, where are you now and where you want to go.

If you have any questions let me know
EP means SGD 4.5k above. Nice leh. If I go with that offer then sadly it's S-pass kuli status. Anyway I did speak to the headhunter about the salary package and he said he will discuss with the potential employer. See how it goes la.

But then thanks for your reply and opinion. Wish you all the success in SG smile.gif

This post has been edited by weehournow: Mar 1 2022, 05:11 PM
TSweehournow
post Mar 1 2022, 05:13 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Mar 1 2022, 10:38 AM)
Regardless of your industry, what is your job role / title?

SGD3.5K is in the middle of nowhere, not here not there. Worst if eventually you go for PR, 20% goes to CPF, you left with about 2.8K take home.

- rental - HDB common room with aircon 800
- public transport - 150 (depending on usage or distance, i take a higher estimation)
- meals - 30 x 2 x 5 = 300 - this is 30 days 2 meal each, in hawker, plus some breakfast, plus sometime eat out with friends and colleague - 600
- personal needs - 300
- entertainment - 150

total basic is 2k per month

Things to continue:
- $ for parent, $ for saving, $ for insurance
- Ok with just renting a room, most of the time you just stay in your small room?
- Ok for 3 meals eating outside
- Ok for nobody go out with you
- Ok to spend 4-6 hours for a return trip to stay in JB to save cost? 4-6 hours is the normal jam + queue + immigration for going in and out in normal day before covid
- Ok for having to always look at price of food and menu to decide what you gonna eat with your current salary?
- Ok to stay away from your family for 1 week? 1 month? 1 year? It will start with 1 week, then you hate the jam, then you will start going back Johor 1-2 time per month, then you have covid, I have friends staying 2 years straight before getting to come back
- If you buy house in Johor, you will have extra burden, if you dont buy, how you gonna start your own family?
- Every commitment in MY, everything you owe the bank still need to pay, like your car, house, etc. Willing to give up your car? But when you come back got extra car for you to use? If not selling, you ok to leave the car to rot in Johor?
- Ready for a more stressful and competitive life in SG? I'm not kidding you, Malaysia people working style is really relaxed and slow and calm compared to SG.
- You single? attached? have family? You think you can or you know you can handle long distance relationship?

Harsh questions to answer:
- How long you been working already? Why is your salary 4.6k at 30 years old? What exactly is the problem? not taking initiative? not competitive enough? not qualified enough?
- The same problem you identify now, will it impact your salary growth in KL? will it impact in SG? Which do you think you have higher chance of moving up?
- Even if you take the offer in SG, next time you try to move to another job, people will see, 30 years old, taking almost fresh grad salary, something must be wrong, either i low ball this candidate like previous company, or i reject him
All these questions are not to discourage you, just wanna make sure you think thru properly first, if you confident life will change for the better then i say go ahead. Never too late. Also good if you single and have no loan / commitment to worry about. If you are open for SG, maybe you can open up a bit more to any other countries, might as well right? But if you still wanna come back Johor often, then can keep the choice to SG.
Thanks for the reply. Appreciate the feedback.

JustAskingOnly
post Mar 1 2022, 05:54 PM

401 posts

Sure can ahh? Heard need min sgd5k salary
abelyap
post Mar 1 2022, 06:39 PM

235 posts

SG for better immediate salary.
After you famous, then up to u to choose where to stay for long term. Cust look for u then.

But i did surprised with the salary. i thought lawyer good pay man. Maybe when u r the firm partner?
Eng_Tat
post Mar 1 2022, 06:57 PM

2,216 posts

i see all also salary high, me kuli 2k pay only at age 39 lol. i comehere when i am 36..

my roughly basic expenses= room 550 all in, food 5 per meal with own drink x3x30=450, transport 200, phone 30, the rest depends on you spend. if your salary 3.5k nett will save money faster la. anyone in sg near yishun wan lepak tcss can look for me. sienzz

This post has been edited by Eng_Tat: Mar 1 2022, 07:14 PM
Thebestscammer
post Mar 1 2022, 07:26 PM

311 posts

if you're living in johor isnt it already automatic that you should aim for SG instead of KL?
just commute to SG via johor and kick back on that 6krm (3.2kSGD) job or does it not work that way?
at least your 50 pages passport will see some use compared to everyone else that has a 50 page passport but only use 3 pages at most before need to renew lol
KuzumiTaiga
post Mar 1 2022, 07:44 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,317 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Mar 1 2022, 09:45 AM)
I am currently 30 years old with 5+ years of working experience in the legal industry. For my current job I am drawing a salary of RM4600+. I work in Johor btw. I feel that I am somehow stuck due to my slow career progression so I have been thinking about moving to Singapore.

I found a potential job which offers SGD3.5k at most, which means most likely they will only be paying 3.2k (optimistic?). I know for a fact that if I move to KL I could land a job that would pay me MYR5k+. So the dilemma is should I go to SG for smaller pay (disregard the conversion) and start afresh or to KL?

Appreciate any constructive view. Thanks.

Edited:

Since some of you replied asking for more details before giving advice, i thought I should supplement more info:

1. Single. No plan to start a family. In fact no plan to get into a relationship. Can foresee myself single till the day I die.

2. My previous jobs include lawyer and legal editor. Now working as a legal exec (in house).
Wait, so you are called to the bar here in Malaya?

You're okay with the idea of not practicing in sg?
Azzqech
post Mar 1 2022, 08:10 PM

530 posts

The minimum pay for Employment Pass is now SGD5000. Not sure as a lawyer whether you can go under S-Pass with SGD2500 min. If professionals can be put under S-Pass I don't see what is the point of putting a minimum salary for EP which can be easily sidestepped by employers.

Edit: According to SG Website S-Pass is for mid-level foreign employees (eg. technician) so I guess not.

This post has been edited by Azzqech: Mar 1 2022, 08:13 PM
Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Mar 1 2022, 09:47 PM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Mar 1 2022, 06:57 PM)
i see all also salary high, me kuli 2k pay only at age 39 lol. i comehere when i am 36..

my roughly basic expenses= room 550 all in, food 5 per meal with own drink x3x30=450, transport 200, phone 30, the rest depends on you spend. if your salary 3.5k nett will save money faster la. anyone in sg near yishun wan lepak tcss can look for me. sienzz
Not bad. Every month still can save around 770, can use to pay installment for housing loan at malaysia.
kenny B
post Mar 1 2022, 09:50 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(Don't Troll me! @ Mar 1 2022, 10:05 AM)
if you accept the social life there why not.. mind you.. it would not easy to work with singaporean.. they are very fast paced and high in result.

my friend work there for 5 years and salary is gooding (around 8k sgd) but he still eating alone everyday at canteen because all of his colleague are singaporean.
Note - he is friendly and talkative person

your choice smile.gif
most likely your friend problem kek.

ts just go here to know more about working life in sg
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4211035

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:31 PM