1)Returns from 1st 200k gets 3%
2)Not ALL returns from KDI save will be paid 3%
if yes i should have RM5877.79 being paid 3%

guy3288
post May 18 2022, 09:40 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ May 18 2022, 10:49 AM)
It is meant to be a place to park emergency fund. 2-3 mths of salary up to a year.

People who deposit in few hundred k or millions, lets hope they know how to invest also rather than just rely on these MMF funds.  sweat.gif
3% not enough to cover our Malaysia's yearly inflation.
you seem to think people who put millions in FD dont know how to invest
inflation will eat away their money etc.

You forgot to look at the quantum.
the actual amount of money you can get from it
be investment or FD.

example
A has 500k to invest - go hard for 10% return.
Good year got 10% return =RM50,000,
passive income RM4166 pm. happy.
Bad year?

B has RM10M in FD ,monthly got RM20833 to spend
Does he need to worry about inflation?
i dont think inflation will eat away his money.

High risk high return, just how high the risk i need to take?
to earn enough to spend.
guy3288
post May 19 2022, 08:38 AM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ May 18 2022, 09:50 PM)
lol....MMF and FD is safe heaven. Everyone keep saying MMF/FD cannot beat inflation. but dont forget that in this bad market, 3% guaranteed profit is good deal where by a lot of investment is losing money.
So i do agreed, do diversification on MMF, FD, other investment.
yes, never under estimate the value of these safe havens with steady and consistent returns.....no downfall, no negatives ever to cancel off your overall portfolio. It can only add , never reduce your money in hand.

many ex kakis from old FSM thread will remember how i argued and defended these safe havens when ASM,ASW,FD were being ridiculed by those so called investment sifus when in actual fact they themselves also cant beat the lowly 4-6% when averaged it out. Ramjade was there then as a very junior forumner, often being ridiculed by many of them every now and then...but now he has graduated to become an investment sifu.

QUOTE(IWannAAR @ May 19 2022, 03:06 AM)
this is exactly how i view it too. but for some reason, people still keep emphasising on diversification. actually really wanna know why people still insist on diversification and emphasise on inflation. is it because inflation will definitely have higher impact than losses from bad year?
that is because too many so called investment sifus are saying so.
And their voices are louder.
if you go to investment talks, they will brain wash you to take money all out from FD and invest.

Their excuse? inflation will eat away your money!

bottom line is how much you have in hand?
You dont have enough you may be susceptible to it.
guy3288
post May 19 2022, 02:05 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ May 19 2022, 10:06 AM)
thank you for your answer..
wanted to hear from one of you about it. Now I know the reasons.

true now is a bad market year.. near the end invest will be safer. News will have hints when that time will be.
there are always 2 sides of the coin to consider..

after many years i found out for myself the steady and consistent return is better.
steady and consistent i refer the 4-6% types, not the current 2-3% types.
My last batch FDs are still 4.85%pa interest paid monthly, till end next year.

So stocks, unit trusts etc are like for fun only in my case ie not earning much after 20 years
Had i put them in 4-6% above i would have earned more.

QUOTE(sgh @ May 19 2022, 12:43 PM)
I read your posts and understand you belong to the camp of FD, MMF etc which are all or mostly capital guaranteed. There is nothing wrong with this approach if your amount to be put is huge. But have you considered another strategy like below?

1. 80-90% into your favorite green color FD, MMF etc
2. 10-20% into higher risk investment like mutual fund, ETF, stocks etc

I am adopting above strategy. I am hoping by risking a small portion of the capital to chase after higher returns the total overall returns of both 1+2 will be higher than just 1 alone.

It is like soccer. You have super defensive defenders and midfielders camp in your own half, but you will still deploy 1-2 super out and out striker to get goals. If you put all players in your own half how to win the match? Hope for draw and down to penalties? Hmmm not wrong I guess
yeah sure, we cant just put all in FD, ASX or MMF right?

I started off with 20% there now slowly reduced to below 10% as i find them not very productive.for me lah.
I would rather rely on my 80% portions - consistent return 4-7.4%
7.4% from corporate bonds
properties should be safe right ,yet my best returns , 6-13% nett rental
capital appreciation 200%

guy3288
post May 19 2022, 09:43 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(Alocasia @ May 19 2022, 06:08 PM)
I learnt this concept from GenXGenYGenZ back then when I was still a student. He also said that focus on saving your first million and the following steps would be easier. Even with 1M, and 4% p.a averagely back then is already 40k p.a and 3.3k per month. Can you consistently make 3.3k nett from other investment like stocks monthly? And one may need to sell the stock before they can take the profit.
Yeah i remember that guy, prolific writer damn active in early versions of FD
he even went labelling almost everyone there.
FDMCGC - Fixed Deposit Musical Chair Gamers Club
FRMONBWFDP - Freaking Rich Members Or Not Bothered With FD Promotions

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2451962
i remember a very heated argument with him as well BR FD.

QUOTE(Alocasia @ May 19 2022, 07:40 PM)
I'm a bit old school and still believe in invest in yourself, upskills to increase job income, and stay frugal.

I agree, if not people no need to work already all sit in computer doing investment to make a living.
Peddlers come tell me this one guaranteed 10% return,
i ask why not you go take a loan and earn the extra yourself?

guy3288
post May 20 2022, 01:11 AM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 19 2022, 10:55 PM)
If you know what you are doing yes. Can be done. Rm3.3k/month. Been there and down that. But question is how many people can get that 1m? I am still no way near there. Maybe 40-50%mark.
That's the main point. Very difficult to get the first million.

a good 7.9% or more. thumbsup.gif

guy3288 don't worry. I think by next year. You can get back 4%p.a FD rate at the rate US is increasing their rates, Malaysia have to follow. No choice.
come what it may we just have to face it
but 4% is still abit too low...

and this many have been asking past many weeks....finally pending....

guy3288
post May 22 2022, 10:06 PM

5,847 posts

Referrer and referent' s full name all disclosed
no thanks to the RM10 token!
guy3288
post May 23 2022, 12:37 AM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ May 22 2022, 11:45 PM)
lol yeah, they are so insensitive about privacy doh.gif
literally received a referral summary email containing my name and all the referees name, daheck  doh.gif
i have pre-empted that by giving my downlines' code instead

guy3288
post May 27 2022, 12:35 AM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(JOMMAKAN @ May 26 2022, 01:18 PM)
in the end consistency is the key, but when comes to investment , invest in what you know but not just join the bandwagon.

I learnt my investment from my dad, he focus in income from his business. how about his savings? Does he put into stock, he never cause he know his weakness and he doesn’t have the time to do so.

What he did? ASM, financial advisor to invest for him, average out 6-10% yearly and don’t forget the power of compounding interest.

I am gen Y again we can’t compare our generation with baby boomers,  its different

For me, i am focusing increased my income, save hard earn power in ASM and EPF, I do bit of trading stocks,  unit trust etc
So far its good well.

stick to what you know, if you want to do something learn it don’t just do it for the sake of greed.
Yes, consistent 6-10% is enough
no need to be greedy for 10-15% with huge swing up and down.
becos many ended averaging out at below 4% in the end.

QUOTE(genesic @ May 26 2022, 10:56 PM)
just notice that i can filter out the Net deposit or current value from the TOTAL INVESTMENT SUMMARY graph.
but why is there a bump showing the current value increase and drop back as below ?

the graph/smooth line not so accurate la, better use the black straight lines
Mine also got that artificial bump up, not true value.

Also if use 1 week chart again not accurate, see like i started off with 0 on 19.5.22 , not true again.
even the accumulated returns are not accurate, actual value way above RM5000, there u see only RM1511..

what is the use i wonder...

and if put 1 week

guy3288
post May 30 2022, 02:19 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(_kilakila_ @ May 30 2022, 02:03 PM)
As of today : 30th MAY 2022.

Risk Profile : BALANCED

Initial Investment : RM10,000

surprised yours didnt pick up?? Mine all positive already

guy3288
post Jun 9 2022, 11:46 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jun 9 2022, 06:58 PM)
Just checked again today after getting email risk change completed. Shocked to see returns so fast. I also thought will have some losses changing portfolio:

Total I have in invest is 2.8k
When I left Balanced was 2754
Need to see statement to understand what happened 🤪
Not complaining though.. Maybe I came in at right time 😆
first you already lost RM46, capital 2800-->RM2754

I doubt 1 day can gain RM53.47 that is 53.47/2754 =1.94%
i track my Growth and Aggressive KDI Invest,
the daily gain is so little hardly 0.5% even over few days cant reach 1% gain.
must be some mistake somewhere , cant be 1.9% gain in 1 day.

guy3288
post Jun 13 2022, 09:53 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Jun 13 2022, 09:44 PM)
gold lau sai
i thought recession coming so bought Precious Metal Securities RM0.50, now kena?
Dropped some more must buy again.

guy3288
post Jun 13 2022, 11:45 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Jun 13 2022, 10:39 PM)
It suppose to hedge against inflation.
but there are other factors affecting its prices
Played this UT many years already was 30sen 2015 .price movements quite violent. one day dropped 2+% recently. make money sell and run, this time not so cheap but just buy as gambling portfolio,

guy3288
post Jun 16 2022, 08:49 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(_kilakila_ @ Jun 16 2022, 05:01 PM)
cry.gifcry.gifcry.gif

Balanced Portfolio seem worse?......
by right now equity down - aggresisve and growth Port should be worse
my growth and aggressive still positive
guy3288
post Jun 16 2022, 09:03 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(_kilakila_ @ Jun 16 2022, 08:56 PM)
You are lucky then..seems like never positive before..or just positive RM30+ in a day then next day -ve already..
Seem like whoever chose growth and aggressive all lucky lah
those who go for Balanced all underwater kah?
assuming we all invest from the 1st week or so.
guy3288
post Jun 20 2022, 05:58 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(000022 @ Jun 20 2022, 05:48 PM)
Nevermind me guys. Am a dumbarse. Just leave the field blank LOL. I placed 0 in it, and it disabled the proceed button
yes that is your fault go kacau Invest amount,
i in out in out so many times , never kena force buy Invest..

guy3288
post Jun 23 2022, 02:21 AM

5,847 posts

Going to buy CIRA..
Selling above 200k you see the amount does not add up..... X missing

System error paying 3% for X amount above 200k?

guy3288
post Jun 24 2022, 09:27 AM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Jun 23 2022, 12:29 PM)
What is CIRA?
Capital guaranteed structured product,
betting on Klibor not getting too high can earn 5.5% return pa paid 3 monthly

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 24 2022, 07:45 AM)
All negatives?
checked mine, entered on 19.2.2022, 22,25,28 and 2.3.22 all positive as at 31.5.2022, highest on 28.5.2022

Looking at my records all my KDI Invest portfolio(Growth and Aggressive) was at the peak end of May ie 28-31.5.22
How to explain the graph showing all negatives?

so big difference kah entered on 15 Feb 2022
compared to mine entered on 19.2.22 and few days later??

guy3288
post Jun 28 2022, 01:23 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(download88 @ Jun 27 2022, 06:08 PM)
what happen to reject / failed status ..
reject is from credit cards, i have taken out cash few hundred ks from it . interest free money to use first pay later

failed- i cancelled payment.
guy3288
post Jul 8 2022, 10:43 PM

5,847 posts

KDI Invest Growth and Aggressive portfolio again at its peak now, just like in end of May 2022...
profit 2.3-2.5% over cost since Feb 2022

Sold RM5ok KDI Save this morning, till now money still not in teruk!!!
Got many credit cards to pay, long weekend habis lah.......first time kena KDI save holding money so long....got RM80k 0% BT from UOB today, but wont be in time to pay my cards due date 11.7.22

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0933sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:42 AM