131 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

University UCSI University Thread: The University....., ....The Experience!

jerk
post Jun 1 2009, 11:46 PM

1,039 posts

@patricktiew

negative marking are meant to penalize student for any mistake they did in multiple choice Q. it is obvious that they are there to stop students for not studying at all and try to get away with lucky/smart guessing.

used to be -0.25 for every wrong you get (not sure about the value now) and apparently ucsi sch of pharm and medic is the only place doing that i guess.

so, if you didnt study at all for a particular sub, you might end up with negative marks for that section.

i dont think pharm students get to complain though. at least you still need 4 wrongs to accumulate it to become 1 mark. medic student get penalized 1 mark for every wrong they get. so, they are more likely to end up with negative marks.

the system put students at disadvantage and thus student are expected to know their material.

you should be told more of that before your first quizzes. in my year though, 1 lecturer didnt do that for quiz. so, we are kind of lucky for that subject.

sch of pharm have other requirement such as "student must achieve at least 40% (not sure about the value) in finals". this mean you have to get at least 40% in finals regardless how much you get for other part.

lets say you have 25% for your quiz and tutorials and you just need another 25% to pass that unit and some might get away with that without studying for finals. therefore they have the extra requirement above there. this however is common even in other Uni.

again putting student at disadvantage and try to stop students from not studying
jason18689
post Jun 1 2009, 11:59 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

btw...
anyone know about the latest grading for ucsi ???
Some say for Engineering ( 4 years )...
Year 3 subs - 20% cgpa
Year 4 subs - 80% cgpa
dont know how true they are anyway..

TSkobe8byrant
post Jun 2 2009, 11:52 AM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Jun 1 2009, 11:59 PM)
btw...
Year 3 subs - 20% cgpa
Year 4 subs - 80% cgpa
That's the correct grading.
Vinci777
post Jun 2 2009, 01:28 PM

No Title
1,616 posts

So be extra hardworking in ur final year. If u screw up the final year, even full A's before wont bless u because in UCSI, they always believe final year is the most important.
morph
post Jun 2 2009, 01:28 PM

2,657 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Jun 1 2009, 11:59 PM)
btw...
Year 3 subs - 20% cgpa
Year 4 subs - 80% cgpa
What about Year 1 and 2 ?

Nothing is included into CGPA ?
Vinci777
post Jun 2 2009, 01:50 PM

No Title
1,616 posts

As told by my head of deparment that time. Only Year 2 and Year 3 are counted. ( For IT 3 years degree)

This post has been edited by Vinci777: Jun 2 2009, 01:50 PM
jason18689
post Jun 3 2009, 12:09 AM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

Which is generally says that the last 2 years are the years counted for CGPA lo ?

Well, i failed a Year 3 subject, and failed again for supplementary...
I wanted to know what happens if i retake the subject...
what will happen to my cgpa ?
The old one vanished and counts for the new one right ? haha, hope so ^^

onelove89
post Jun 3 2009, 12:23 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

lol! It does look like a shopping complex now that you've mention it..... but i like it =D I hate those ancient designs >< prefer a more modern structure/design. =)
`arthas
post Jun 3 2009, 12:31 AM

193 posts

UCSI advertisement really holiao. lol
SUSmarine88
post Jun 3 2009, 03:07 AM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(eriko11 @ Jun 3 2009, 01:10 AM)
ucsi is such a money-sucking university
college dahlah macam shopping complex
they accept belo-wpar students and charge exorbitant fees
haha, why said so macam shopping complex?? which part making it looks like ? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

TSkobe8byrant
post Jun 3 2009, 08:45 AM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Jun 3 2009, 12:09 AM)
Which is generally says that the last 2 years are the years counted for CGPA lo ?

Well, i failed a Year 3 subject, and failed again for supplementary...
I wanted to know what happens if i retake the subject...
what will happen to my cgpa ?
The old one vanished and counts for the new one right ? haha, hope so ^^
Yes.

The old one doesn't vanish. If that were the case, people will fail the finals if they can't get an A and retry. doh.gif
chloe_yee87
post Jun 3 2009, 11:27 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(Vinci777 @ Jun 2 2009, 01:28 PM)
So be extra hardworking in ur final year. If u screw up the final year, even full A's before wont bless u because in UCSI, they always believe final year is the most important.
Damn stupid policy. First year is the year that all new students are so damn semangat to study...
after the 1st yr, ppl usually start to enjoy and screw their uni years..lol

QUOTE(morph @ Jun 2 2009, 01:28 PM)
What about Year 1 and 2 ?

Nothing is included into CGPA ?
yes...generally, in all courses in ucsi, 1st year is omitted.... but doesnt apply to medic and pharm students...

QUOTE(`arthas @ Jun 3 2009, 12:31 AM)
UCSI advertisement really holiao. lol
ya meh? Altho so much advertising, soooo many ppl dont know abt ucsi...
Vinci777
post Jun 3 2009, 11:41 AM

No Title
1,616 posts

QUOTE(chloe_yee87 @ Jun 3 2009, 11:27 AM)
Damn stupid policy. First year is the year that all new students are so damn semangat to study...
Thats y they are smart. Semangat for nothing and slack later proved to be dying. rclxms.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif . But its nice to fail and pass without effecting ur CGPA. Everyone shud have a second chance. Fail once and get A on the next, the A CGPA shud be reflected. Haha
patricktiew
post Jun 3 2009, 06:24 PM

177 posts

so what about the lecturer from school pharmacy?
do we have to attend same lecture for a particular subject with other courses?
cynthia_tss
post Jun 3 2009, 07:49 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(patricktiew @ Jun 6 2008, 12:01 AM)
Hi all,

im interested with the pharmacy in ucsi.
but i was told that i need to take a chemistry exam and an interview.
the chemistry question is from general chemistry or organic chemistry or wat?
what about the interview? what they will asking?
How is the study enviroment?stress?

tq... biggrin.gif
it will be both organic n general chem.
interview is ok.
study environment is stressful.

Added on June 3, 2009, 7:54 pm
QUOTE(angie89 @ May 27 2009, 09:30 PM)
hey, i passed the interview~~ XD

so, im jus waiting for the offer letter....

@patricktiew

hv u receive the letter yet?? r we suppose to pay once we gt the letter???  rclxub.gif
any1 interested in buying over some old notes and text books for year 1 - year 4 pharamcy course in ucsi ?

Added on June 3, 2009, 7:57 pm
QUOTE(patricktiew @ Jun 3 2009, 06:24 PM)
so what about the lecturer from school pharmacy?
do we have to attend same lecture for a particular subject with other courses?
lecturers from school of pharmacy only teach pharmacy students.. so u wont be having chances to have students from other course to join un in da class..

the lecturers are good

This post has been edited by cynthia_tss: Jun 3 2009, 07:57 PM
jason18689
post Jun 3 2009, 08:02 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jun 3 2009, 08:45 AM)
Yes.

The old one doesn't vanish. If that were the case, people will fail the finals if they can't get an A and retry. doh.gif
But bear it in mind, you will have to pay thousand over ringgits if you retake...
there are some universities does that....they only take the latest into account...
hmm.gif

QUOTE(chloe_yee87 @ Jun 3 2009, 11:27 AM)
yes...generally, in all courses in ucsi, 1st year is omitted.... but doesnt apply to medic and pharm students...
ya meh? Altho so much advertising, soooo many ppl dont know abt ucsi...
hmmmph, i think engineering different....
they only count Year 3 and Year 4...
cynthia_tss
post Jun 3 2009, 08:03 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(wskyline @ May 26 2009, 01:39 PM)
back to the ques on pharmacy..
basically, as for now, all the good lecturers had left..
2nd, the regulations here are tough..
3rd, markings and scoring is tough.. its not like public U or IMu where they use the graph bell shape distribution
4th, u will get to know the head of school and slowly make her as ur enemy no. 1
5th, life here is tough and not like other plces where u still can enjoy
6th, they school make u restless but you can complaint just dat they never take ur words with a lot of 'ad hock' new policy
wat else ar? its better u ask questions and i try clear any doubt

for the interview test, passing the chemistry test of coz is essential and a must.. well, we wont be touching on inorganic chemistry at all .. pharmacists dont deals with that..
there are few tips for interview..
basically, u must talk and talk and show ur communication skills
dominating the talk is alright..
they want to evaluate ur self confidence as well as ur confidence in taking this course..
besides, they want to know hw active u r .. like in cocuriculum..
you can talk all the great experience u had been having before
BUT RMB THE KEY WORD MODERATION..
dun be 'over' by telling the lecturers that u work in a pharmacy before and u sell drugs to the Cs.. so u think u will do better in this course.. fews had answered like this and get disqualified
basically, the wanted to know your passion /interest/ability in taking this course..
if u let them control u and u dont ask any ques or remain silence --> disqualified
i don't think all the good lecturers have left us ( some did, like Dr. T, mR. j ).. at least, there are still good lecturers with patience, willing to teach .

HMM... I BASICALLY AGREE WITH 2ND TO 6TH POINT WRITTEN BU WSKYLINE. HOWEVER, IN YOUR VERY FINAL YEAR, OR PERHAPS VERY FINAL SEM, U WILL SLOLY STARTED TO LIKE UR HEAD AND UNDERSTAND ALL SHE DID, WAS FOR OUR OWN GOOD. I THINK, SHE IS GOOD.

Added on June 3, 2009, 8:17 pm
QUOTE(wskyline @ May 30 2009, 01:13 AM)
pharmacy course only..
for payment, the marketing ppl will tell u that due to limited space, you should pay now to reserve your place...
its actually a marketing strategy.. even if the skool started alrdy, my fren still able to enter into this course..
most of the students here would advise their friends not to study here..due to various reasons mentioned..
anyhow, if u have no choice to go here..
then, try to find way to enjoy ur study life...
if nt mistaken, the pre-requisite for granting the a university status is that the programmes offered should not have any twinning programme...hence, we no longer have any twinning and graduates will carry the degree from UCSI University
most of the students here would advise their friends not to study here..due to various reasons mentioned..
anyhow, if u have no choice to go here..

this is not very true actually.

i would rather put it this way - come UCSI if u wan to gain a lot of knowledge

This post has been edited by cynthia_tss: Jun 3 2009, 08:17 PM
angie89
post Jun 3 2009, 09:25 PM

26 posts

hey... i have a question here~~ where do we get the books??? from the Uni bookshop or other places?? or any senior plannin to sell their books?? laugh.gif
TSkobe8byrant
post Jun 3 2009, 10:54 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Jun 3 2009, 08:02 PM)
But bear it in mind, you will have to pay thousand over ringgits if you retake...
there are some universities does that....they only take the latest into account...
hmm.gif
doh.gif

You yourself would be happier if you could retake than get a C-. You aren't the only one.

In any case, your old result doesn't 'vanish.' People will see a SUPP. remark at your grades.
jason18689
post Jun 4 2009, 12:35 AM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jun 3 2009, 10:54 PM)
doh.gif

You yourself would be happier if you could retake than get a C-. You aren't the only one.

In any case, your old result doesn't 'vanish.' People will see a SUPP. remark at your grades.
Only if you got the money to retake it over and over again...

And, of course there will be a remark.
I was referring to the CGPA...they only take the latest to the account laugh.gif

131 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:50 PM