4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

University UCSI University Thread: The University....., ....The Experience!

TSkobe8byrant
post Sep 19 2007, 06:16 PM, updated 15y ago

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

So I decided to create a UCSI thread (with permission from darkages) where whatever questions from people wanting to study here can come forward and more importantly, for students of UCSI to really discuss about the college.

UCSI's website

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Sep 8 2010, 11:53 AM
TSkobe8byrant
post Apr 7 2008, 04:45 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Apr 6 2008, 01:53 PM)
Hi..i m a scholarship student as well..it's not any hard job that u hv to do..the staff in Students Affairs Office will alocate you to certain department(in fact, u can choose it urself),e.g: Lab, library, finance office or watever, then u jz have to go there & look for ur your staff in charge (known as our supervisor), then u jz hv to do the jobs such as typing, filing, photostating, calling, printing, & watever they need ur help.It's more like office job..as for if u choose lab, then u jz hv to go there to clean up the lab.

All these jobs are calculated per hour..we need to finish 65 hours per long semester or 35 hours per short semester..
Long semester = 4 months.
Short semester = 2 months.

Is it clear? Anything can ask me..

Added on April 6, 2008, 2:36 pmso it is about 5 hours in a week..
Besides that , u can help out in any UCSI events as usher to counted  as ur scholarships hours too..

hahaz..i tink UCSI is the only college with this "scholarship-students-working" policy..
Hey, Venice, what course are you taking? I am in Accounting and Finance Year 1 and I am having to work 65 hours as part of my requirements as well.

@ HELP practices this 'child labor' policy as well tongue.gif

And for the record, what lilredridinghood has said is QFT.

I'll have more info posted up in the first post after this Friday smile.gif Do keep a lookout biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Apr 7 2008, 04:48 PM
TSkobe8byrant
post May 6 2008, 04:29 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ May 5 2008, 10:44 PM)
Hey,bro..i m currently in Electrical & Electronics Engineering, year1..
hhez..jz start my 1st classs for first sem of degree..hahaz..
feeling excited..
feeeling like first time going to school...
hehez..
the feeling of persueing degree really kinda excited, new & fresh to me..

Added on May 5, 2008, 10:46 pm

no worries..
since u can get the scholarship..i m sure u wont perform lousy jobs ritez?
u wont b kicked out jz bcz of this, as far as i noe, ur exam result post the most significant effect to ur scholarship..
u have to maintain ur result every semester..
Which department you are working in again? Perhaps I could have bumped into you and not know you. I'm in either Finance or Marketing department.

To your add-on and the other guy, you won't get kicked out because you made a mistake. You are only human. Heck, you can even drag the work onto the next semester and get away. I have done that many-a-time. Why?! I would like to concentrate on my life and studies during the semester especially if I am taking 5 subjects and then work at UCSI during the holidays where we won't have to compete for work, if you know what I mean. But now that I have told you this, don't tell anyone else tongue.gif

QUOTE(GrecY_LolliPoP @ May 6 2008, 01:50 AM)
blink.gif hmmm.. im also kinda curious about the fee of mass communication.. Cant find it inside the website.
You will have to call the college out. Sorry I can't help you much. Number's available at the website.

BTW does anyone find it annoying that the college has these RUDE security guards asking students for their IDs? I'm writing a letter to Mr. Kit about this.

QUOTE(geN3 @ May 5 2008, 01:56 PM)
is this true??
library cloin so early??
so many african there ah??
erm...can i knw do the majority of the students speak in english or wat?
this is so crazy...
just because they giv d scholarship so hav to so all this ah?
haiz!

now im not sure whether i wana enrol myself in there anot?
can any1 tell me about the quality of the lecturer for Acc & Finance???
how izit?
Students takin acc & finance in UCSI can giv me sum opinions of the quality of edu bac in UCSI???
thanks...
Library closes at 7 or 8. Yes, unfortunately but you can't expect people NOT to go home. Yes, scholarship students will have to work but AFAIK, it's not only UCSI who has this policy. You might want to check on this with other colleges. I do feel short handed as I thought scholarships were GIVEN and not in exchange for your work but look on the bright side, you'd have working experience that would be listed in a certificate that could count in your ceevee (well at least according to the Student Affairs people lah).

As for Acc and Finance, what do you mean quality? It's hard for me to judge as I haven't been to other colleges but I wish I could find a better one lah though I can't afford a pricier *cough* better*cough* college.

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: May 6 2008, 04:33 PM
TSkobe8byrant
post May 6 2008, 07:41 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(lbaby @ May 6 2008, 05:21 PM)
hmm....want to study at ucsi for the course ,bachelor of science-food science and nutrition,want to seek the help of you guys here-
1)can i become a nutritionist aft graduate from this course?
2)lecturer for this subject good?
3)ever get lousy timetable for student in this faculty?
4)is the syllabus of this subject not so into nutrition?
5)seriously do u guys think the hostel fees is way high?
thx
I can't answer 1 - 4 but for 5), most people choose to live in the Hostel for one semester to familiarize with the surroundings and gather 3 to 4 friends in the Hostel to then RENT an appartment in Angkasa condominiums nearby where the shared rental is much cheaper than what you pay for the Hostel.
TSkobe8byrant
post May 8 2008, 04:28 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ May 7 2008, 08:55 PM)

Added on May 7, 2008, 9:01 pm
i used to work in Student Affairs Office.
but still wondering which depaertment i m going to work in tis sem..since my SChool of Engineering is moving to north wing wat..
by the way,bro, wat do u tink of working in Labs? is it nice?
or helping in School of engineering will be better?
do u have any frens been working there before?
need ur advice..it will help me a lotz..

BTW, i heard tat UCSI is goin to upgrade to University level in tis cumin September..
is tat real?
if it is real, then u cant blame the security guard wat,  shakehead.gif
tis is jz the steps taken to make sure UCSI is a safe place to study to keep it's name "clean"..
Lab work is very repetitive and unless you are a student in the school (engineering or SASA), I don't really recommend it. Helping your own school has its quirks lah - you get to make friends with your lecturers and help them with stuff. In turn, should you have any queries or difficulties, you know lah.

Yes, upgrading to University level, hence the influx of new lecturers and bigger departments and separation of classes from Diploma and Degree level. Yes, I can still blame them because they should learn how to be courteous instead of shouting "Huey, ID?!" Imagine if a parent or visitor were on the receiving end of that? And you telling me that UCSI should only bother about the security once it reaches University level?!

Off topic: Going to the scholarship meeting this Monday?! If so, can meet you there biggrin.gif
TSkobe8byrant
post May 8 2008, 10:26 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ May 8 2008, 07:54 PM)
tat's a security guy sitting in front of the entrance of library these dayz..i hv no idea wat his job is.. hmm.gif

off topic : scholarship meeting just change to tuesday(13May 08)..jz received the mail today..4pm at boardroom..

Added on May 8, 2008, 7:56 pm

i dun really agree wif these.. shakehead.gif
actually most of the students speak in English.. mos students r communicating in english language..
just wen u r  taklin  wif ur own fren, then u guyz will speaks in cantonese or chinese lar..
Sigh, ever taken the Student Tutor thingie? Want to take it up? We can work 35 hours only! Only thing is that I worry that no one will pick us then we'll have that many hours to work in the future!

So, want to meet up? tongue.gif And boardroom Block A?
TSkobe8byrant
post Jun 18 2008, 05:29 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(konakona @ Jun 17 2008, 09:37 PM)
Um.. I would like to ask if someone would enlighten me more about UCSI?

I am going to register for Foundation in Architecture.

So,
1. How is the class?

2. What is the basic needs? Books? Laptops?

3. The environment?

If you fel like want to add something please do so. ^^

Thanks in advance.
1. No comment.

2. Books? You'd need to take the UCSI shuttle to get to the library which is located in a different block from the main building. Faculty of Engineering has shifted to the new wing (whatever it's called - North Wing, I believe). It's the old FIT building.

3. Like a construction site? tongue.gif

TSkobe8byrant
post Aug 29 2008, 11:21 AM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(morph @ Aug 28 2008, 06:55 PM)
to all current UCSI students,

I need to know whether the course selection needs some kind of special activation for 1st timers?

i dont seem to be able to do so with the eadvantage.

kindly HELP!!!!
From foundation to degree for your first sem, yes you do need to go to record office and ask the staff there to assist you. smile.gif

Add: I noticed that you missed Orientation so yes you need to go to records office (first floor Block A) for assistance as well be it for Foundation first time or Foundation to Degree first time.

Add 2: Celaka, 1 subject results not out yet. mad.gif

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Aug 29 2008, 11:31 AM
TSkobe8byrant
post Aug 29 2008, 08:58 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(mellyboo @ Aug 29 2008, 07:27 PM)
thanks kobe8bryant
i guess i'll just head over to the office to fix it on tuesday
i heard classes start on tuesday
is that right?
That would depend on what subjects you're taking?

To the old timers, any word on any Awards Day? smile.gif

EDIT: Anyone taking a course in Accouting and Finance or Computing? Kindly let me know, thx.

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Aug 29 2008, 09:55 PM
TSkobe8byrant
post Aug 30 2008, 06:38 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(pilotan @ Aug 30 2008, 04:05 PM)
hei there are some awards for people who score well rite?
what r de qualifications for that huh?
There are three types of awards that students are eligible for but unless you score 75 above and have a good co curricular record in UCSI , don't expect to get the awards.

However, for top achievers, there's also the Dean List - only thing NO CASH PRIZE. tongue.gif
TSkobe8byrant
post Aug 30 2008, 06:58 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(pilotan @ Aug 30 2008, 06:53 PM)
no cash prize??? then wat they offer?
never-ever cancel the class at de last minute n make us go 2 college for nothing?  blink.gif  blink.gif
A certificate smile.gif

Would be very helpful in getting you a better Co-Op job wink.gif
TSkobe8byrant
post Sep 10 2008, 10:48 AM

12,275 posts

Next intake is January
Non co-op break is December
Co-op break is November
TSkobe8byrant
post Sep 23 2008, 05:51 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(keccik @ Sep 19 2008, 02:08 PM)
4months. (september - december) 2 weeks holiday, then the new semester begins. im doin' my coop once i've completed all 3 semesters.
LOL - took nothing during short sem?

BTW, anyone received their invites for Awards Day? I received mine but have no idea what I won doh.gif They don't state it in the letter. Have to call them to ask. yawn.gif
TSkobe8byrant
post Sep 24 2008, 06:05 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(jerk @ Sep 24 2008, 02:32 PM)
i saw the award list is out at the lobby.. you can know what you won now.
Yeap, saw it just now. The list is outside each respective faculty's notice board and you'd have to get the acceptance slip from the faculty's clerk.

BTW guys, any LYN-ians else going there? let's meet up. biggrin.gif
TSkobe8byrant
post Sep 27 2008, 09:30 PM

12,275 posts

Anyone doing a degree in programming/computing? Please message me here. Thanks. Have some queries biggrin.gif
TSkobe8byrant
post Sep 28 2008, 01:13 AM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(linkeong @ Sep 28 2008, 12:30 AM)
As you said printers are cheap nowadays so why don't we just buy 1 for our own use. There are more options to print than the school computers. Especially powerpoint slides where most ppl print until the words are too small to be seen.
if you think that way, feel free to use your own printer but don't stop us from trying to get the most out of every sen spent by our parents. wink.gif
TSkobe8byrant
post Oct 13 2008, 11:42 AM

12,275 posts

This is not UCSI kopitiam.

Kindly refrain from such posts before the thread is shut down.
TSkobe8byrant
post Oct 15 2008, 10:45 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(chloe_yee87 @ Oct 13 2008, 09:31 PM)
Good Luck for finals next week people! biggrin.gif
Chloe, are you an IT student? Can help me with something on my assignments? blush.gif

QUOTE(wskyline @ Oct 15 2008, 09:18 PM)
latest
i think next sem school fees had raised with addition of rm 1000

GOOD news for all
University of Currency Sucking Institution
Yes, I know. Major suckage - University status gives them the right to increase fees.

You "C" Shit Inside laugh.gif
TSkobe8byrant
post Oct 16 2008, 01:18 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(den @ Oct 16 2008, 01:00 PM)
The increase in the tuition fee, is it in parallel with the change of UCSI from University College to University?

And I have to agree with the grading system in UCSI =.=
I rather have the grading system in other college or similar to grading system in UK universities.
Yes, Year 1 subjects aren't counted in the CGPA. That's rubbish if you ask me. I mean, WTF?! That's killing us. All the As are down the drain because of that doh.gif
TSkobe8byrant
post Oct 16 2008, 09:37 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(marine88 @ Oct 16 2008, 06:06 PM)
haha, since UCSI is a kind of nonsense, why u guys still stick with it?
for me is becoz no other colleges will accept my lousy pre-U result..... tongue.gif  tongue.gif
- Geographical reasons
- Already in Year 2
- Girlfriend
- Taking ACCA in the future so doesn't matter where I get the degree from as long as there's exemptions

QUOTE(WinnieH @ Oct 16 2008, 09:04 PM)
haiz. yeh. medicine course increase rm 20k overall for 5 years. haiz. this sucks a big time. T.T
- Cool. Can ask you assignments next time. Got facebook? tongue.gif PM me if willing to give. Don't worry, not hitting on you. icon_rolleyes.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0464sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:51 AM