131 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

University UCSI University Thread: The University....., ....The Experience!

jason18689
post May 8 2008, 10:23 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ May 7 2008, 08:55 PM)
yaya..
i m taking calculus & analytical geometry 2, circuit theory 1, digital electronics 1,& technical communication.
how do u noe, bro?
r u my senior? if so, do u hv d txtbook?
i m looking for second hand txtbook (either photostated or original, i dun really mind, as long as can use)
if not, i tink i hv to photostat the txtbook somehow..
nice to meet u.

BTW, i heard tat UCSI is goin to upgrade to University level in tis cumin September..
is tat real?
if it is real, then u cant blame the security guard wat,  shakehead.gif
tis is jz the steps taken to make sure UCSI is a safe place to study to keep it's name "clean"..
i am a 2ndsem year 1 student...digital i am taking this sem, so might be saying hello to you soon...
about textbooks, i buy original ones...but i have no intention to sell, coz i will be using them in advance..

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ May 8 2008, 05:35 PM)
Majority speaks Cantonese, a little bit hard for me as I don't speak Cantonese at all
cantonese at least i know...
last sem, which is my first sem, all my new frends were from Johor, all talk chinese one... most of the time like boycott me...but this sem, wahahha, i know how to talk...now condition better thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSkobe8byrant
post May 8 2008, 10:26 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ May 8 2008, 07:54 PM)
tat's a security guy sitting in front of the entrance of library these dayz..i hv no idea wat his job is.. hmm.gif

off topic : scholarship meeting just change to tuesday(13May 08)..jz received the mail today..4pm at boardroom..

Added on May 8, 2008, 7:56 pm

i dun really agree wif these.. shakehead.gif
actually most of the students speak in English.. mos students r communicating in english language..
just wen u r  taklin  wif ur own fren, then u guyz will speaks in cantonese or chinese lar..
Sigh, ever taken the Student Tutor thingie? Want to take it up? We can work 35 hours only! Only thing is that I worry that no one will pick us then we'll have that many hours to work in the future!

So, want to meet up? tongue.gif And boardroom Block A?
lilredridinghood
post May 8 2008, 11:59 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ May 8 2008, 11:54 PM)
i dun really agree wif these.. shakehead.gif
actually most of the students speak in English.. mos students r communicating in english language..
just wen u r  taklin  wif ur own fren, then u guyz will speaks in cantonese or chinese lar..
Honestly, I'm not at all surprised at your reply. Your ignorance is forgivable though, or...did I join the wrong Sedaya???

I can assure you, those people around me, they speak only Cantonese or Mandarin. If they do try to converse in English, I can assure you that, there will be elementary grammar mistakes in each and every sentences that comes out from their mouth.

Like some of my friends, back in UCSI, who can't speak decent English at all and I do mean literally, perhaps you may find that unessential because of mindsets like: "Aiyah, I speak he understands, can d what.". But, we as undergraduates, who in the future may be working for big companies like Ogilvy, HP, IBM, etc. and can't even converse decently with Manglish, how are you gonna gain any respect from your employers or customers? And would you be proud to call yourself an undergraduate?

As for kobe08bryant, what happened to your article or whatever that you promised to write after Friday lar, how many weeks already?
jason18689
post May 22 2008, 11:07 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

he is way too popular to keep empty promises lah...XD ~~

jerk
post May 23 2008, 12:29 AM

1,039 posts

erm. what is the rates for private off-campus accomodation ?preferbably single room or twin sharing.

will it be easier that i just stay at the angkasa unit b UCSI?

what is the advantages or differences between those mantain by UCSI compare to those private one?
dorothytong85
post May 23 2008, 03:41 PM

QUOTE(GrecY_LolliPoP @ May 6 2008, 01:50 AM)
blink.gif hmmm.. im also kinda curious about the fee of mass communication.. Cant find it inside the website.
I am mass comm. final year student, about the fees, the marketing people said it could be RM 37,900, almost RM38,000 for the whole programme. In year 1 and year 2, the fees are roughly in RM 3k to RM5k per semester, but when you are in the final year, it might be RM7k and more. It depends on how many subjects you take per semester, the amount are different every semester. rclxm9.gif

Added on May 23, 2008, 3:52 pm
QUOTE(jerk @ May 23 2008, 12:29 AM)
erm. what is the rates for private off-campus accomodation ?preferbably single room or twin sharing.

will it be easier that i just stay at the angkasa unit b UCSI?

what is the advantages or differences between those mantain by UCSI compare to those private one?
I think most probably the accomodation provided by UCSI will be charged by the rates which they charge for hostel price, i dont really know. The private stay is roughly RM200 to RM300 per month. It depends on how much the whole unit cost, plus utility fees and internet services are extra charge. If empty houses, i think the lowest should be RM750 for the whole unit with 3 bedroom which you can rent it to other ppl, for fully furnished, i think the rate will be around RM1k to RM1.2k per month exclude the utility fees. The utility fees will be around RM200 to RM300 per month per house. (electric RM 100+/-, water RM50+/-, internet RM110+/-) It can be share with 4 to 5 ppl per unit, so i think it will be cheaper than the UCSI provided accomodation. UCSI one, i think you just pay to UCSI, but private one you need to pay the utility bills every month by yourself in the post office there. I think that would be the difference of staying private or ucsi. Another thing is that, i think UCSI will divide at least one international student per unit. if sharing, should be on one local, one international, single room might be slightly more expensive than the twin sharing.

That is personal opinion.

This post has been edited by dorothytong85: May 23 2008, 03:52 PM
jerk
post May 23 2008, 11:25 PM

1,039 posts

ok thanks for your info.

so any vacancy among forum members here or any pharmacy student here?
lilredridinghood
post May 23 2008, 11:29 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

my cuz was a pharmacy student there before she transferred to Curtin. Try going for somewhere further if you don't mind walking or if you have a car, the rent might be lower.
jerk
post May 24 2008, 12:34 AM

1,039 posts

i dont mind walking at all. within 15 mins or so. so any idea where should i look for accomodation? near angkasa unit ?
*serenity*
post May 29 2008, 11:13 AM

56 posts

Hi.

I'm wondering if there is any former ucsi architecture students who attempted or successfully completed PAM part 1 exam here?
teikwei
post May 29 2008, 11:36 AM

221 posts

im BABA student here...this is my last year in UCSI lor..haha..
i studied my diploma at Stamford KL...after grad,then change to UCSI..bcz vr near from my hse..haha...many ppl will choose UCSI bcz it is near..cz others Campus all vr fall from those who stay in KL area...=p..Erm...i thk every Universities or colleges also the same..got good and bad...and i vr agree wf my mum's friend..he said that the student alwiz complaint that their university or college not good 1..haha..this is true..=p

for me UCSI not bad de..but some of the lecturer really suckie lar...n not friendly at all compare wf my previous college...some are good n helpful....=)
blinkblink88
post May 30 2008, 12:40 PM

Blink Pets Bakery
650 posts

QUOTE(*serenity* @ May 29 2008, 11:13 AM)
Hi.

I'm wondering if there is any former ucsi architecture students who attempted or successfully completed PAM part 1 exam here?
i m architecture student in UCSI...
until now not even 1 student completed because this is consider a quite new course for UCSI..
but is coming soon...mayb 1 more semester there will be someone going to part 1 PAM examination..
jason18689
post May 30 2008, 04:15 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(teikwei @ May 29 2008, 11:36 AM)
im BABA student here...this is my last year in UCSI lor..haha..
i studied my diploma at Stamford KL...after grad,then change to UCSI..bcz vr near from my hse..haha...many ppl will choose UCSI bcz it is near..cz others Campus all vr fall from those who stay in KL area...=p..Erm...i thk every Universities or colleges also the same..got good and bad...and i vr agree wf my mum's friend..he said that the student alwiz complaint that their university or college not good 1..haha..this is true..=p

for me UCSI not bad de..but some of the lecturer really suckie lar...n not friendly at all compare wf my previous college...some are good n helpful....=)
yea ritez !
everyone has something to complain, even it is just a small matter...
Examples, people can shout on how good taylor college is, how good sunway college, and so on...
but when i ask my frends who are studying at taylor, she say, CALCULUS LECTURER SUX...
sunway, ACCOUNTING LECTURER SUX..
so, not even a single college has perfection, though some are desperate for perfect... whistling.gif whistling.gif
*serenity*
post May 30 2008, 04:23 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(blinkblink88 @ May 30 2008, 12:40 PM)
i m architecture student in UCSI...
until now not even 1 student completed because this is consider a quite new course for UCSI..
but is coming soon...mayb 1 more semester there will be someone going to part 1 PAM examination..
I see. Isn't there any seniors who attempted?

Which year are you in now?

And what do you think of the architecture course in UCSI?

Thank you in advance for answering my questions. I might be registering myself for the Architectural Technology programme

This post has been edited by *serenity*: May 30 2008, 04:26 PM
Darkmage12
post May 30 2008, 04:58 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(jerk @ May 23 2008, 11:25 PM)
ok thanks for your info.

so any vacancy among forum members here or any pharmacy student here?
you doing pharmacy?
pilotan
post May 30 2008, 07:01 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ May 8 2008, 11:59 PM)
Honestly, I'm not at all surprised at your reply. Your ignorance is forgivable though, or...did I join the wrong Sedaya???

I can assure you, those people around me, they speak only Cantonese or Mandarin. If they do try to converse in English, I can assure you that, there will be elementary grammar mistakes in each and every sentences that comes out from their mouth.

Like some of my friends, back in UCSI, who can't speak decent English at all and I do mean literally, perhaps you may find that unessential because of mindsets like: "Aiyah, I speak he understands, can d what.". But, we as undergraduates, who in the future may be working for big companies like Ogilvy, HP, IBM, etc. and can't even converse decently with Manglish, how are you gonna gain any respect from your employers or customers? And would you be proud to call yourself an undergraduate?

As for kobe08bryant, what happened to your article or whatever that you promised to write after Friday lar, how many weeks already?
EXACTLY!!
i was actually kinda shocked when i saw so many ppl around speaking mandarin or cantonese.
totally different from other colleges laa blink.gif
i was once introduced by my fren to her taylors mates. man. it was totally different lo.
AAALLLLL of them can speak REALLY DECENT english & mandarin~
whereas in ucsi???
ayy~~ things were different la.
i mean, im not saying being a banana is honourable or wat la.
but at least, its a basic for being able to speak proper english or manglish.
hei
we're already university students la tongue.gif tongue.gif
lilredridinghood
post May 30 2008, 07:25 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

Looking at some of the remarks here, made me, speechless

Honestly speaking, I am not a person who complains a lot, and just to make myself clear, I have been to 2 different private colleges back in Malaysia, and I have only complain about UCSI.

I am in VUW, Vic Uni in Wellington, no problem, no qualms.

I can understand your optimism guys, but a real university isn't only about giving you a degree. It is the campus experience that matters, opps....isn't that UCSI's motto? Paying heaps of money for an internship? Which is compulsory every year?
Darkmage12
post May 30 2008, 07:49 PM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(pilotan @ May 30 2008, 07:01 PM)
EXACTLY!!
i was actually kinda shocked when i saw so many ppl around speaking mandarin or cantonese.
totally different from other colleges laa  blink.gif
i was once introduced by my fren to her taylors mates. man. it was totally different lo.
AAALLLLL of them can speak REALLY DECENT english & mandarin~
whereas in ucsi???
ayy~~ things were different la.
i mean, im not saying being a banana is honourable or wat la.
but at least, its a basic for being able to speak proper english or manglish.
hei
we're already university students la  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
the staff and lecturers can't speak proper english so you think the students can?
about ur statement there i was also shocked when i went there for the first time lol....i asked in english and was replied in mandarin doh.gif
jerk
post May 31 2008, 12:23 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ May 30 2008, 04:58 PM)
you doing pharmacy?
going to be one... btw, what is the dress code for pharmacy students there? is it formal(long sleeves with tie) everyday?
Darkmage12
post May 31 2008, 01:08 AM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(jerk @ May 31 2008, 12:23 AM)
going to be one... btw, what is the dress code for pharmacy students there? is it formal(long sleeves with tie) everyday?
coming sem year 1? anyway got students wear casual 1 long sleeves with tie would have kill me lolz

131 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:53 AM