131 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

University UCSI University Thread: The University....., ....The Experience!

Darkmage12
post Apr 6 2008, 03:17 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Apr 5 2008, 08:54 AM)
WAS a UCSI student for 1.5 years, and honestly....Totally despise it. I will not bash the lecturers this time as there are different opinions from different students, and it might be unfair to those good ones. But there's one thing, UCSI should take ENGLISH into consideration when hiring lecturers instead of just looking at their certs.

Africans? Plenty, but not 85% I would say 30%, which is still a lot for a local private institution. The quality of the facilities? There may be a lot of computers in the lab, but how fast is the connection? The gym is the only one that I can say, okay for a Malaysian private institution as not many colleges or university college can provide such facilities. The lecture rooms are always too small. Car parks are too limited but again, no other colleges can provide cheap parking space. Worst of all, as a University College, they can't even provide a decent library; it opens from when to when again? Is it 7pm or 8pm? That's a joke. What if students want to study till late night? Why not at least open a space or a room for students to be able to study till at least 12am?

Okay there are however some good points about the school though, such as the lecture theatres and the gym. I'm trying to be as neutral as possible now.  tongue.gif
A lot of local private institutions in Greater KL have a huge population of Africans in most cases at least 50% are Africans

QUOTE(loveless90 @ Apr 6 2008, 01:23 AM)
izzit ok to study medicine in UCSI??
will it be more expensive as compared to the other medicine institutes?
QUOTE(chyz66 @ Apr 6 2008, 07:13 AM)
And, how is the Pharmacy course there ? I heard that they are abit cheaper than IMU .
both medic and pharmacy are cheaper
arsenwagon
post Apr 7 2008, 10:48 AM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Apr 6 2008, 01:53 PM)
Hi..i m a scholarship student as well..it's not any hard job that u hv to do..the staff in Students Affairs Office will alocate you to certain department(in fact, u can choose it urself),e.g: Lab, library, finance office or watever, then u jz have to go there & look for ur your staff in charge (known as our supervisor), then u jz hv to do the jobs such as typing, filing, photostating, calling, printing, & watever they need ur help.It's more like office job..as for if u choose lab, then u jz hv to go there to clean up the lab.

All these jobs are calculated per hour..we need to finish 65 hours per long semester or 35 hours per short semester..
Long semester = 4 months.
Short semester = 2 months.

Is it clear? Anything can ask me..

Added on April 6, 2008, 2:36 pmso it is about 5 hours in a week..
Besides that , u can help out in any UCSI events as usher to counted  as ur scholarships hours too..

hahaz..i tink UCSI is the only college with this "scholarship-students-working" policy..
hehe thx sis biggrin.gif

is it a very relaxed job? like govt servant , can chit chat.. lol

and i'm afraid i'll screw up the job n get kicked out sweat.gif

so why did you choose this college since it's the only one practising this "students labour" thingy. cry.gif

TSkobe8byrant
post Apr 7 2008, 04:45 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Apr 6 2008, 01:53 PM)
Hi..i m a scholarship student as well..it's not any hard job that u hv to do..the staff in Students Affairs Office will alocate you to certain department(in fact, u can choose it urself),e.g: Lab, library, finance office or watever, then u jz have to go there & look for ur your staff in charge (known as our supervisor), then u jz hv to do the jobs such as typing, filing, photostating, calling, printing, & watever they need ur help.It's more like office job..as for if u choose lab, then u jz hv to go there to clean up the lab.

All these jobs are calculated per hour..we need to finish 65 hours per long semester or 35 hours per short semester..
Long semester = 4 months.
Short semester = 2 months.

Is it clear? Anything can ask me..

Added on April 6, 2008, 2:36 pmso it is about 5 hours in a week..
Besides that , u can help out in any UCSI events as usher to counted  as ur scholarships hours too..

hahaz..i tink UCSI is the only college with this "scholarship-students-working" policy..
Hey, Venice, what course are you taking? I am in Accounting and Finance Year 1 and I am having to work 65 hours as part of my requirements as well.

@ HELP practices this 'child labor' policy as well tongue.gif

And for the record, what lilredridinghood has said is QFT.

I'll have more info posted up in the first post after this Friday smile.gif Do keep a lookout biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Apr 7 2008, 04:48 PM
sunshine88
post Apr 7 2008, 08:30 PM

65 posts

Does anyone here enrolled into the International Degree Pathway(IDP)?
What is the requirements for STPM leavers? and how about the fees?
Is biomedical science course being conducted there in UCSI?..I'm asking this, cuz, i noticed they parner with some unis for biomedical science course too.
I hope anyone who is currently enrolled in this program can give some useful comments .
Thanks! wink.gif
lilredridinghood
post Apr 8 2008, 05:53 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

was one of the IDP students, but never transfer through it. Had plenty of bad thoughts about it.
Sexorcist
post May 4 2008, 08:22 PM

QUOTE(asasin1990 @ Apr 5 2008, 11:44 PM)
I am interesting about the lecture and the facility but by the same time the program and the certificate is important too...
I would like to ask about the engineering course there... issit recognice by BEM or LAN ?? UCSI engineering student pls VOICE OUT!!! U all can tell the truth dun be scared of it!!
Thx ya...
Facilities is very good at the new campus (cos you paid high tution fees for it). Lecture well there are new lecturers that just come in recently for the new semester and i already graduated so can't really comment. Generally ok, there are bad ones but there are good ones as well. I believe there is no university with 100% good lecturers. As a university student you should know they are not there to "feed" you anymore, good or bad still depends on your own studying attitude.

It is recognise by LAN but not so sure with BEM. The 1st batch which is us are still in the middle of processing to obtain that. Just a little tips- working for MNC or any local private companies like Intel, Motorola does not concern whether your degree recognise by BEM or not. Results earns you your interview, interview outcome earns you the job. Knock yourself out unless you want to work related to the government.

Overall, if you can pay the fees to study in UCSI, i would recommend to go UK to study their ECUK recognise 3+0 programme. If ECUK recognise, BEM for sure must recognise course they follow that standard. Differences is you pay the same amount of fees, but in 4 years at UCSI. 3years in UK provided you work part time to cover the living expenses there.

In conclusion, studying Engineering in Malaysia and pay over 40-50k is just not worth it. You deserved better when you pay that much.
cw_virus
post May 4 2008, 11:31 PM

65 posts

FUture engineering students.Not all engineering courses need to be recognized by BEM.Only a few of the majors really need BEM recognition.

UCSI is a good school for biomed /pharmacy/food science/nursing/music.
Mass comm,i would recommend Taylor's / HELP
Engineering>Taylor's / KBU / Apiit

I'm an education counsellor,if you guys have any doubts or queries regarding anything[on education],please feel free to pm me.I'll be glad to assist you.
geN3
post May 5 2008, 01:56 PM

23 posts

WAS a UCSI student for 1.5 years, and honestly....Totally despise it. I will not bash the lecturers this time as there are different opinions from different students, and it might be unfair to those good ones. But there's one thing, UCSI should take ENGLISH into consideration when hiring lecturers instead of just looking at their certs.    Africans? Plenty, but not 85% I would say 30%, which is still a lot for a local private institution. The quality of the facilities? There may be a lot of computers in the lab, but how fast is the connection? The gym is the only one that I can say, okay for a Malaysian private institution as not many colleges or university college can provide such facilities. The lecture rooms are always too small. Car parks are too limited but again, no other colleges can provide cheap parking space. Worst of all, as a University College, they can't even provide a decent library; it opens from when to when again? Is it 7pm or 8pm? That's a joke. What if students want to study till late night? Why not at least open a space or a room for students to be able to study till at least 12am?

is this true??
library cloin so early??
so many african there ah??
erm...can i knw do the majority of the students speak in english or wat?

so it is about 5 hours in a week..  Besides that , u can help out in any UCSI events as usher to counted as ur scholarships hours too..    hahaz..i tink UCSI is the only college with this "scholarship-students-working" policy..

this is so crazy...
just because they giv d scholarship so hav to so all this ah?
haiz!

now im not sure whether i wana enrol myself in there anot?
can any1 tell me about the quality of the lecturer for Acc & Finance???
how izit?
Students takin acc & finance in UCSI can giv me sum opinions of the quality of edu bac in UCSI???
thanks...
Itori
post May 5 2008, 03:13 PM

181 posts

Wow... UCSI really a place for ads. I see DiGi ads at most of the places. Even at orientation, they give out DiGi handouts to ppl...

Got contract advertising DiGi stuff kah? I tot UCSI is really like something awsome. But looking at it, it seems pretty normal like a university in Kuching, Sarawak. I'm at KL now, I've been to the place.

SICS (UCSI Kuching) I donno what it's like already. Didn't want to talk about it either.
geN3
post May 5 2008, 03:37 PM

23 posts

SICS (UCSI Kuching) I donno what it's like already. Didn't want to talk about it either.

y did u say so wo?

so where r u studyin now??
wat course??
venicelim
post May 5 2008, 10:44 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Apr 7 2008, 04:45 PM)
Hey, Venice, what course are you taking? I am in Accounting and Finance Year 1 and I am having to work 65 hours as part of my requirements as well.

@ HELP practices this 'child labor' policy as well tongue.gif

And for the record, what lilredridinghood has said is QFT.

I'll have more info posted up in the first post after this Friday smile.gif Do keep a lookout biggrin.gif
Hey,bro..i m currently in Electrical & Electronics Engineering, year1..
hhez..jz start my 1st classs for first sem of degree..hahaz..
feeling excited..
feeeling like first time going to school...
hehez..
the feeling of persueing degree really kinda excited, new & fresh to me..

Added on May 5, 2008, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Apr 7 2008, 10:48 AM)
hehe thx sis  biggrin.gif

is it a very relaxed job? like govt servant , can chit chat.. lol

and i'm afraid i'll screw up the job n get kicked out  sweat.gif

so why did you choose this college since it's the only one practising this "students labour" thingy.  cry.gif
no worries..
since u can get the scholarship..i m sure u wont perform lousy jobs ritez?
u wont b kicked out jz bcz of this, as far as i noe, ur exam result post the most significant effect to ur scholarship..
u have to maintain ur result every semester..

This post has been edited by venicelim: May 5 2008, 10:46 PM
jason18689
post May 6 2008, 01:40 AM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

Venice Lim,
then you must be taking Calculus 2 and Circuit Theory 1 and others which i dont know this sem....

GrecY_LolliPoP
post May 6 2008, 01:50 AM

56 posts

blink.gif hmmm.. im also kinda curious about the fee of mass communication.. Cant find it inside the website.
TSkobe8byrant
post May 6 2008, 04:29 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ May 5 2008, 10:44 PM)
Hey,bro..i m currently in Electrical & Electronics Engineering, year1..
hhez..jz start my 1st classs for first sem of degree..hahaz..
feeling excited..
feeeling like first time going to school...
hehez..
the feeling of persueing degree really kinda excited, new & fresh to me..

Added on May 5, 2008, 10:46 pm

no worries..
since u can get the scholarship..i m sure u wont perform lousy jobs ritez?
u wont b kicked out jz bcz of this, as far as i noe, ur exam result post the most significant effect to ur scholarship..
u have to maintain ur result every semester..
Which department you are working in again? Perhaps I could have bumped into you and not know you. I'm in either Finance or Marketing department.

To your add-on and the other guy, you won't get kicked out because you made a mistake. You are only human. Heck, you can even drag the work onto the next semester and get away. I have done that many-a-time. Why?! I would like to concentrate on my life and studies during the semester especially if I am taking 5 subjects and then work at UCSI during the holidays where we won't have to compete for work, if you know what I mean. But now that I have told you this, don't tell anyone else tongue.gif

QUOTE(GrecY_LolliPoP @ May 6 2008, 01:50 AM)
blink.gif hmmm.. im also kinda curious about the fee of mass communication.. Cant find it inside the website.
You will have to call the college out. Sorry I can't help you much. Number's available at the website.

BTW does anyone find it annoying that the college has these RUDE security guards asking students for their IDs? I'm writing a letter to Mr. Kit about this.

QUOTE(geN3 @ May 5 2008, 01:56 PM)
is this true??
library cloin so early??
this is so crazy...
just because they giv d scholarship so hav to so all this ah?
haiz!

now im not sure whether i wana enrol myself in there anot?
can any1 tell me about the quality of the lecturer for Acc & Finance???
how izit?
Students takin acc & finance in UCSI can giv me sum opinions of the quality of edu bac in UCSI???
thanks...
Library closes at 7 or 8. Yes, unfortunately but you can't expect people NOT to go home. Yes, scholarship students will have to work but AFAIK, it's not only UCSI who has this policy. You might want to check on this with other colleges. I do feel short handed as I thought scholarships were GIVEN and not in exchange for your work but look on the bright side, you'd have working experience that would be listed in a certificate that could count in your ceevee (well at least according to the Student Affairs people lah).

As for Acc and Finance, what do you mean quality? It's hard for me to judge as I haven't been to other colleges but I wish I could find a better one lah though I can't afford a pricier *cough* better*cough* college.

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: May 6 2008, 04:33 PM
lbaby
post May 6 2008, 05:21 PM

34 posts

hmm....want to study at ucsi for the course ,bachelor of science-food science and nutrition,want to seek the help of you guys here-
1)can i become a nutritionist aft graduate from this course?
2)lecturer for this subject good?
3)ever get lousy timetable for student in this faculty?
4)is the syllabus of this subject not so into nutrition?
5)seriously do u guys think the hostel fees is way high?
thx
TSkobe8byrant
post May 6 2008, 07:41 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(lbaby @ May 6 2008, 05:21 PM)
hmm....want to study at ucsi for the course ,bachelor of science-food science and nutrition,want to seek the help of you guys here-
1)can i become a nutritionist aft graduate from this course?
2)lecturer for this subject good?
3)ever get lousy timetable for student in this faculty?
4)is the syllabus of this subject not so into nutrition?
5)seriously do u guys think the hostel fees is way high?
thx
I can't answer 1 - 4 but for 5), most people choose to live in the Hostel for one semester to familiarize with the surroundings and gather 3 to 4 friends in the Hostel to then RENT an appartment in Angkasa condominiums nearby where the shared rental is much cheaper than what you pay for the Hostel.
venicelim
post May 7 2008, 08:55 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ May 6 2008, 01:40 AM)
Venice Lim,
then you must be taking Calculus 2 and Circuit Theory 1 and others which i dont know this sem....
yaya..
i m taking calculus & analytical geometry 2, circuit theory 1, digital electronics 1,& technical communication.
how do u noe, bro?
r u my senior? if so, do u hv d txtbook?
i m looking for second hand txtbook (either photostated or original, i dun really mind, as long as can use)
if not, i tink i hv to photostat the txtbook somehow..
nice to meet u..

Added on May 7, 2008, 9:01 pm
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ May 6 2008, 04:29 PM)
Which department you are working in again? Perhaps I could have bumped into you and not know you. I'm in either Finance or Marketing department.

To your add-on and the other guy, you won't get kicked out because you made a mistake. You are only human. Heck, you can even drag the work onto the next semester and get away. I have done that many-a-time. Why?! I would like to concentrate on my life and studies during the semester especially if I am taking 5 subjects and then work at UCSI during the holidays where we won't have to compete for work, if you know what I mean. But now that I have told you this, don't tell anyone else tongue.gif
You will have to call the college out. Sorry I can't help you much. Number's available at the website.

BTW does anyone find it annoying that the college has these RUDE security guards asking students for their IDs? I'm writing a letter to Mr. Kit about this.
Library closes at 7 or 8. Yes, unfortunately but you can't expect people NOT to go home. Yes, scholarship students will have to work but AFAIK, it's not only UCSI who has this policy. You might want to check on this with other colleges. I do feel short handed as I thought scholarships were GIVEN and not in exchange for your work but look on the bright side, you'd have working experience that would be listed in a certificate that could count in your ceevee (well at least according to the Student Affairs people lah).

As for Acc and Finance, what do you mean quality? It's hard for me to judge as I haven't been to other colleges but I wish I could find a better one lah though I can't afford a pricier *cough* better*cough*  college.
i used to work in Student Affairs Office.
but still wondering which depaertment i m going to work in tis sem..since my SChool of Engineering is moving to north wing wat..
by the way,bro, wat do u tink of working in Labs? is it nice?
or helping in School of engineering will be better?
do u have any frens been working there before?
need ur advice..it will help me a lotz..

BTW, i heard tat UCSI is goin to upgrade to University level in tis cumin September..
is tat real?
if it is real, then u cant blame the security guard wat, shakehead.gif
tis is jz the steps taken to make sure UCSI is a safe place to study to keep it's name "clean"..

This post has been edited by venicelim: May 7 2008, 09:01 PM
TSkobe8byrant
post May 8 2008, 04:28 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ May 7 2008, 08:55 PM)

Added on May 7, 2008, 9:01 pm
i used to work in Student Affairs Office.
but still wondering which depaertment i m going to work in tis sem..since my SChool of Engineering is moving to north wing wat..
by the way,bro, wat do u tink of working in Labs? is it nice?
or helping in School of engineering will be better?
do u have any frens been working there before?
need ur advice..it will help me a lotz..

BTW, i heard tat UCSI is goin to upgrade to University level in tis cumin September..
is tat real?
if it is real, then u cant blame the security guard wat,  shakehead.gif
tis is jz the steps taken to make sure UCSI is a safe place to study to keep it's name "clean"..
Lab work is very repetitive and unless you are a student in the school (engineering or SASA), I don't really recommend it. Helping your own school has its quirks lah - you get to make friends with your lecturers and help them with stuff. In turn, should you have any queries or difficulties, you know lah.

Yes, upgrading to University level, hence the influx of new lecturers and bigger departments and separation of classes from Diploma and Degree level. Yes, I can still blame them because they should learn how to be courteous instead of shouting "Huey, ID?!" Imagine if a parent or visitor were on the receiving end of that? And you telling me that UCSI should only bother about the security once it reaches University level?!

Off topic: Going to the scholarship meeting this Monday?! If so, can meet you there biggrin.gif
lilredridinghood
post May 8 2008, 05:35 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(geN3 @ May 5 2008, 05:56 PM)
is this true??
library cloin so early??
Majority speaks Cantonese, a little bit hard for me as I don't speak Cantonese at all
venicelim
post May 8 2008, 07:54 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ May 8 2008, 04:28 PM)
Lab work is very repetitive and unless you are a student in the school (engineering or SASA), I don't really recommend it. Helping your own school has its quirks lah - you get to make friends with your lecturers and help them with stuff. In turn, should you have any queries or difficulties, you know lah.

Yes, upgrading to University level, hence the influx of new lecturers and bigger departments and separation of classes from Diploma and Degree level. Yes, I can still blame them because they should learn how to be courteous instead of shouting "Huey, ID?!" Imagine if a parent or visitor were on the receiving end of that? And you telling me that UCSI should only bother about the security once it reaches University level?!

Off topic: Going to the scholarship meeting this Monday?! If so, can meet you there biggrin.gif
tat's a security guy sitting in front of the entrance of library these dayz..i hv no idea wat his job is.. hmm.gif

off topic : scholarship meeting just change to tuesday(13May 08)..jz received the mail today..4pm at boardroom..

Added on May 8, 2008, 7:56 pm
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ May 8 2008, 05:35 PM)
Majority speaks Cantonese, a little bit hard for me as I don't speak Cantonese at all
i dun really agree wif these.. shakehead.gif
actually most of the students speak in English.. mos students r communicating in english language..
just wen u r taklin wif ur own fren, then u guyz will speaks in cantonese or chinese lar..

This post has been edited by venicelim: May 8 2008, 07:56 PM

131 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:00 PM