FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

Ramjade
post May 17 2023, 05:12 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ May 17 2023, 04:53 PM)
I understand this. I can stop working today if I want to. then what? sit at home do nothing. A week is fine but after that becomes restless.

I like working.  there are so many different issues every day. different countries different problems. but at home. suddenly zero...
So many things to do leh. Imagine waking up without alarm clock, go for morning jog or taichi, then only go to work. Work also until you want then just leave early. No need to bring work back to house.
dwRK
post May 17 2023, 05:38 PM

the consummate chartist
6,228 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 17 2023, 05:12 PM)
So many things to do leh. Imagine waking up without alarm clock, go for morning jog or taichi, then only go to work. Work also until you want then just leave early. No need to bring work back to house.
some ppl likes hussle bussle high pressure corporate world... usually they in upper management...

lower management with no hope progressing getting shit on by upper management usually the ppl wanna retire early... biggrin.gif

ronnie
post May 17 2023, 05:39 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

The person who starts FIRE has gone back to work....
joshgm_119
post May 17 2023, 05:40 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 17 2023, 05:38 PM)
some ppl likes hussle bussle high pressure corporate world... usually they in upper management...

lower management with no hope progressing getting shit on by upper management usually the ppl wanna retire early... biggrin.gif
You sir, have hit the nail on the head!

I started following the movement when I was early on in my career.
Now I'm commenting after a fair bit of progression where I would just be bored if I RE.

Its still on my radar, but not my primary goal anymore.
prophetjul
post May 17 2023, 05:40 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 17 2023, 05:39 PM)
She told you that? biggrin.gif
joshgm_119
post May 17 2023, 05:43 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 17 2023, 05:40 PM)
She told you that?  biggrin.gif
For a little context

SOS

SUSSihambodoh
post May 17 2023, 05:44 PM

436 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 17 2023, 05:38 PM)

I concur, some really just love the stress and politics in a corporate career.

But then again not all who are capable want to climb up the corporate ladder. Some just want peace in life. Some just want to spend more time on their family and hobbies.
Wedchar2912
post May 17 2023, 07:19 PM

3,593 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ May 17 2023, 04:12 PM)
this FI/RE thingy is new concept ? never heard of it until now. if retire early then do what?
It is quite a old concept. At least back mid 2000s, but could be even earlier.

the focus is not on retirement; the main focus is on the criteria of what it means to be able to be financial independent or able to retire early. ie how much is enough.

After achieving FIRE, basically it is up to the person what he wants to do as the person is no longer enslaved by the need to earn a living.... if want to continue working, also can.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: May 17 2023, 07:19 PM
Wedchar2912
post May 17 2023, 07:23 PM

3,593 posts

QUOTE(joshgm_119 @ May 17 2023, 05:43 PM)
For a little context

SOS
not that dude.... the concept predates him.

wongmunkeong
post May 17 2023, 07:43 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 17 2023, 07:23 PM)
not that dude.... the concept predates him.
kinda started with "Your Money or Your Life" by Vicki Robin (Author), Joe Dominguez (Author) right?
batman1172
post May 17 2023, 08:08 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 17 2023, 07:19 PM)
It is quite a old concept. At least back mid 2000s, but could be even earlier.

the focus is not on retirement; the main focus is on the criteria of what it means to be able to be financial independent or able to retire early. ie how much is enough.

After achieving FIRE, basically it is up to the person what he wants to do as the person is no longer enslaved by the need to earn a living.... if want to continue working, also can.
OIC. Nice concept. Just reading it. FI part is nice. should be taught in school. RE depends.

I always tell young peeps to enjoy what they are doing and have passion in it. Keep investing in own self. Eventually won’t be a job.

I know doctors who really cares and they don’t need the job. So damn rich already. But still work at 70+. Artist and musicians are other good examples. And I know auditors who enjoy counting other people money lol

dwRK
post May 17 2023, 10:51 PM

the consummate chartist
6,228 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ May 17 2023, 05:44 PM)
I concur, some really just love the stress and politics in a corporate career.

But then again not all who are capable want to climb up the corporate ladder. Some just want peace in life. Some just want to spend more time on their family and hobbies.
yes i know some people like this... no chance for FI or RE... forever middle class... and they are content...

This post has been edited by dwRK: May 17 2023, 10:51 PM
dwRK
post May 17 2023, 11:08 PM

the consummate chartist
6,228 posts

QUOTE(magika @ May 17 2023, 04:26 PM)
If you look at his spreadsheet,  its fantasy wheras my way is reality.

Its not difficult with online banking to download monthly statements of credit cards and savings account. Been doing that as retired early for many years now. I also did a quarterly review so that can keep track.
half are actual spending iirc... only the food bit is too low, the mrs probably does the groceries... smile.gif the rest looks ok... dunno how much validation he has done, so i wouldn't call it fantasy...

gashout
post May 18 2023, 07:30 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 7 2021, 12:17 PM)
Assuming you live till 80 ...

5,000,000 ÷ 40 years = 125,000 per year ÷ 12 = 10,417 per month.

Put your money in FD and cont charity work.

DONT 'fall in love again'.
this sounds like a good number to retire...
SUSSihambodoh
post May 18 2023, 09:57 AM

436 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 17 2023, 10:51 PM)
yes i know some people like this... no chance for FI or RE... forever middle class... and they are content...
Their biggest fallacy is the spend as much as they earn putting themselves in perpetual debt.
low yat 82
post May 18 2023, 10:15 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ May 17 2023, 04:12 PM)
this FI/RE thingy is new concept ? never heard of it until now. if retire early then do what?
mana new thing. long time ago d lo. dats how it poison those uni student las time. join mlm. passive income retire early biggrin.gif
dwRK
post May 18 2023, 11:39 AM

the consummate chartist
6,228 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ May 18 2023, 09:57 AM)
Their biggest fallacy is the spend as much as they earn putting themselves in perpetual debt.
that is different group of ppl lah... one kind one... hahaha...

gashout
post May 18 2023, 11:50 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ May 18 2023, 09:57 AM)
wanna ask how you achieved so much net worth in your 40s?

did you do business or got a high income job?
batman1172
post May 18 2023, 11:59 AM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ May 18 2023, 10:15 AM)
mana new thing. long time ago d lo. dats how it poison those uni student las time. join mlm. passive income retire early  biggrin.gif
Just found out what FI/RE yesterday. probably been doing the FI part long time but we old guys just call it retirement planning.
lots of students study something which they have no passion. its a big problem. easily end up get "poison"
icemanfx
post May 18 2023, 12:40 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(joshgm_119 @ May 17 2023, 05:43 PM)
For a little context

SOS
In reality, very few in this country could fi and re.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 18 2023, 12:41 PM

163 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0219sec    1.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:06 PM