FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

!@#$%^
post Oct 5 2025, 05:28 PM

Safe Trader
17,497 posts

i think those who wanna fire have very good discipline to stop active income. always thought ppl will think money never be enough, no matter which level
Wedchar2912
post Oct 5 2025, 08:59 PM

3,592 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Oct 5 2025, 05:28 PM)
i think those who wanna fire have very good discipline to stop active income. always thought ppl will think money never be enough, no matter which level
Some people really believe money is everything... a few act like they are gonna live forever... Then there are others who just want balance -- and FIRE is one of the ways to get there.

Ironically, some of those who did FIRE end up with their passive income snowballing way beyond their old salaries. So what now -- is that called having the cake, eating it, and watching it bake more cakes on its own? thumbup.gif

Ramjade
post Oct 6 2025, 12:36 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(ltpg @ Oct 5 2025, 09:41 AM)
sometimes there is nothing to spend on. got money also dont know what to buy.
For eg. dining in expensive restaurant with overpriced drinks- i never liked those drinks and still prefer teh tarik at the local mamak shop. so less dine in these restaurants.  some ppl might say stingy or fake rich or so on but if you dont have the desire/interest, you will go on your likes/wants.

imagine, after 40, interest in cars also not much even when you can buy what you want by cash.  last time car got ding dent boom scratch,  must straight go repair.... now just keep until sell the car

btw, i have set target 6M with conservative returns 5% to completely fire. Just 2-3 years away.  Can extend but i dont need to accumulate any more  $$$ bcse no desire in luxury spending anymore.
Yes you right but I may try for once all you can eat sashimi 😂

QUOTE(magika @ Oct 5 2025, 01:34 PM)
They will hate you for this. Could not keep up with their peers. Sending out of country is simple, just need enough money. I could afford to sent all my children overseas without scholarship but i told them to study locally.
From my experience with rich friends who are able to make the move they told me no regrets. Just fly back like 2-3x/year. Better quality of life and people there.

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Oct 5 2025, 01:39 PM)
question is, is overseas really better? where are we talking about?
Not so religious and fanatic unlike us. That's what I am looking for. The old Malaysia in the 50-70s are good time. Not anymore. Today Malaysia is not good for kids.

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 5 2025, 01:52 PM)
May be in the past, but do u want to spend hundreds of thousands to get a qualification that no longer offer job security n opportunity in this AI era, should be the big question?
It's ok. Even if they are jobless, they can do whatever they want without worrying about the bills as long as they live within their means. That's why need to let them suffer, make them know the value of money, that money not easy to come by. I am doing the impossible. Lol.
Ramjade
post Oct 6 2025, 01:16 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 5 2025, 02:06 PM)
in general those  study in local  U eg UM USM UKM etc must have substance
very competitive , not easy to enter unless you are very good,
must be better than others if not no chance

if you are average you cannot enter unless
you got cable or privileged

so who goes overseas then?
Those who  cannot enter local U.
rejected by local u

got exeption lah.. some super good ones also
got  scholarship not the FAMA type.
most are those who are average
no confidence can get in local U
FAMA got no choice have to pay
to send them overseas.
Got loop hole. Call metrics. I got no interest in pushing my future kids for local uni as my goal is give them a chance to move if they wish to. Not Singapore either as everyone is so stress out. Place where they really have good work life balance, not much stress.

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 5 2025, 02:25 PM)
Yar lor,
Since the Dad is very skilled and good in trading option and buying shares and profits from it until can FIRE by 40+ yrs old and had been passing on that skills to the mother before their marriage.
Why not use teach and pass on that skill to the children instead of spending xxxk on overseas education that can no longer offer job security?
Why not use the xxxk as a working capital for investment. The Dad does not hv xk when started investing, yet the Dad can FIRE by 40+.
If Dad gave the children xxxk to start, ......huat + no worry abt job security.

If the Dad can be successful by just reading articles from the website of investing gurus, then imaging the outcome of investing if have one to one guidance and financial support of a guru Dad.
Definitely will be teaching them. What let go the skills on how to fish for yourself so that you no need to answer to any boss? I wish someone taught me that last time when I was a kid.

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 5 2025, 03:07 PM)
drool.gif  drool.gif  rclxm9.gif no need university ...autodidact cukup laugh.gif
No straight forward daddykasi.

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Oct 5 2025, 03:17 PM)
A great description of what a true FIRE lifestyle looks like, as practised by bro ramjade.

Let's not forget, even after "retiring" at 40, he is hardly idle. He simply has full control over his trinity of [time, energy, and money]: total freedom to choose how to spend each.

And just for context. With around 500K rm (in 2025) generating 10 to 15K pm, that's already a solid passive income setup. Fast forward to his projected 4M by 2033–2035 (at age 40), even if he halves his risk appetite, he's still talking about 40 to 60K rm pm potential income. (hint hint bro ramjade... this is very possible)

Some people call that "early retirement", I call that living life on your own terms, with dividends and option strategies attached.
And yes, teaching those skills to his kids? That’s achieving second-gen FIRE before they even hit 18. (isn't that what nobilities and royalties do... in a sense? lol)
Well said. Actually you forget health. So not trinity. Quad something? Thank you for the encouragement.
When you can do what you want with the time you have that is the true meaning of FIRE as long as your health permits it.

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 5 2025, 03:25 PM)
How i wish i have his investing knowledge to impart to my child who just graduated.
It's never too late. I won't make the same mistake my parents did but I will make what they taught me better.
HolyCooler
post Oct 6 2025, 04:56 AM

430 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Oct 5 2025, 05:28 PM)
I think most of the people going to fire going thru this struggle, it is not easy to beat the desire of "want more money". It depends on how high your desire to "have your own time fully" vs "desire to have much more money". For my case, i expect i could get 10mil+- more next 10 years if nothing special happens, but my desire of fire is so extremely high until i could beat the desire for the extra money.

Some people might not understand, i believe 99% of people will say just endure 10 years, you know so many people don't have such chance?

The answer is simple : I am really very very very tired, i have enough saving and i do not want to keep chasing more money anymore

Some people will understand why i made such decision.

MUM
post Oct 6 2025, 06:16 AM

14,856 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 6 2025, 01:16 AM)

Definitely will be teaching them. What let go the skills on how to fish for yourself so that you no need to answer to any boss? I wish someone taught me that last time when I was a kid.

💯👍👍, ... so instead of spending 500k each by sending children to overseas educations. Which may results in
Children not finishing the education or
Children got cert n came back to earn but would takes decades of saving to replace that spend 500k + interest or,
Children worked but has no job security or,
Children worked under constant job stresses and torment of bosses.

You would instead teach them investing using your time n experience proven strategy and use that 500k as working capital. 👍👍.
Imagine how much wealth you would have accumulated from age 20 to age 40 if you have 500k and started investing with what you knew now back then. 🫅🤴.

Ramjade
post Oct 6 2025, 08:20 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Oct 6 2025, 04:56 AM)
I think most of the people going to fire going thru this struggle, it is not easy to beat the desire of "want more money". It depends on how high your desire to "have your own time fully" vs "desire to have much more money". For my case, i expect i could get 10mil+- more next 10 years if nothing special happens, but my desire of fire is so extremely high until i could beat the desire for the extra money.

Some people might not understand, i believe 99% of people will say just endure 10 years, you know so many people don't have such chance?

The answer is simple : I am really very very very tired, i have enough saving and i do not want to keep chasing more money anymore

Some people will understand why i made such decision.
I know. I was one of them.

tweakity
post Oct 6 2025, 10:30 AM

154 posts

For context of FIRE discussion since RE will most likely involve children in Primary to Secondary school range
I seems to recall during my simply survey, there is a distinct 'level' within Private school itself in terms of Tuition fees
Even within National syllabus itself, there are maybe 3 levels of tuition fee
And the cheapest International syllabus, is maybe slotted in between them
So from bottom to top, the fees is maybe 4~6x range
At what range do y'all feel will not cause unwanted 'peer pressure' to your children. Or experienced Father kena ady wan can chip in

Me myself went through Public school all the way, and I can already feel it especially towards the 15 ~17 years old period

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 5 2025, 12:20 PM)
I am not sending them to build relationship. I am sending them so they can get a chance to go out of the country. Something I cannot do.

It is parents responsibility to give the best education they can afford to their kids.
jasontoh
post Oct 6 2025, 10:40 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 5 2025, 12:20 PM)
I am not sending them to build relationship. I am sending them so they can get a chance to go out of the country. Something I cannot do.

It is parents responsibility to give the best education they can afford to their kids.
You do know that most private schools have a whole lot other fees and activities which will involve a whole lot of money? Are you going to ask your children to stop all those since you are already paying their school fees? Then in the first place why enroll them into something where they cannot make friends and do activities with them?

QUOTE(tweakity @ Oct 6 2025, 10:30 AM)
For context of FIRE discussion since RE will most likely involve children in Primary to Secondary school range
I seems to recall during my simply survey, there is a distinct 'level' within Private school itself in terms of Tuition fees
At what range do y'all feel will not cause unwanted 'peer pressure' to your children. Or experienced Father kena ady wan can chip in

Me myself went through Public school all the way, and I can already feel it especially towards the 15 ~17 years old period
What do you mean by the bold part?

This post has been edited by jasontoh: Oct 6 2025, 10:46 AM
tweakity
post Oct 6 2025, 10:48 AM

154 posts

Mid-range International School, like some language cultural club school break activity is go to Korea or China for 'cultural exchange'
Low-end National school, visit maybe Zoo, or Museum with snacks and can visit souvenir shop
Public school, if any, go to Park or Playground for Photo session
I feel that the upkeep has quite big of a gap already

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Oct 6 2025, 10:40 AM)
You do know that most private schools have a whole lot other fees and activities which will involve a whole lot of money? Are you going to ask your children to stop all those since you are already paying their school fees? Then in the first place why enroll them into something where they cannot make friends and do activities with them?
tweakity
post Oct 6 2025, 10:57 AM

154 posts

Because after 15 years old parents start to give allowance or eat out after school activity. Can feel a bit 'peer pressure' already
Ohh my time right, start to have Nokia and Motorola already. Can SMS etc. So can feel the have/dont have group segregation
Or 17 years old, guys also can become popular when they drive Mercedes to school ( sour talk )

jasontoh
post Oct 6 2025, 11:00 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(tweakity @ Oct 6 2025, 10:48 AM)
Mid-range International School, like some language cultural club school break activity is go to Korea or China for 'cultural exchange'
Low-end National school, visit maybe Zoo, or Museum with snacks and can visit souvenir shop
Public school, if any, go to Park or Playground for Photo session
I feel that the upkeep has quite big of a gap already
QUOTE(tweakity @ Oct 6 2025, 10:57 AM)
Because after 15 years old parents start to give allowance or eat out after school activity. Can feel a bit 'peer pressure' already
Ohh my time right, start to have Nokia and Motorola already. Can SMS etc. So can feel the have/dont have group segregation
Or 17 years old, guys also can become popular when they drive Mercedes to school ( sour talk )
While I don't think we should succumb to peer pressure, but surely the child will feel upset if he/she is always missing out on all those activities. One of the manager I've known off, maybe salary around 20-30K hmm.gif told me he also struggle with all the hidden "charges" enrolling his kid to the international school - even though he don't sign his kid up for all the activities.
tweakity
post Oct 6 2025, 11:12 AM

154 posts

Yes, it's a very thin line to thread on. Very very hard to balance. Of course parents will wish their children to have will of steel like them. But with a different Starting point, the mind will build on a different level. Your level 1 is not other kids level 1.
Like I cannot always say, see, see that iPad. Daddy can buy 10 biji you know. But I dont want to buy, because I want you to suffer like me. Extreme case la
No right wrong though. Just really hard to catch the balance

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Oct 6 2025, 11:00 AM)
While I don't think we should succumb to peer pressure, but surely the child will feel upset if he/she is always missing out on all those activities. One of the manager I've known off, maybe salary around 20-30K  hmm.gif  told me he also struggle with all the hidden "charges" enrolling his kid to the international school - even though he don't sign his kid up for all the activities.
jasontoh
post Oct 6 2025, 11:17 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(tweakity @ Oct 6 2025, 11:12 AM)
Yes, it's a very thin line to thread on. Very very hard to balance. Of course parents will wish their children to have will of steel like them. But with a different Starting point, the mind will build on a different level. Your level 1 is not other kids level 1.
Like I cannot always say, see, see that iPad. Daddy can buy 10 biji you know. But I dont want to buy, because I want you to suffer like me. Extreme case la
No right wrong though. Just really hard to catch the balance
I personally will send them to the SK. What I will do more is to educate him myself after school. I did not go to tuition last time and I don't see the need for my kid to go there (esp primary school where the foundation is build). My wife might not agree but I don't want my kid to be miserable studying meaninglessly 24/7, but rather he enjoy his childhood. As for not sending international school is because I would rather save for his oversea education in the future, if he is not getting any local uni placement. So no point burning money in primary/secondary schooling.
MGM
post Oct 6 2025, 11:27 AM

18,400 posts

International school + overseas Uni total cost would be >rm 1mil per child.
Ramjade
post Oct 6 2025, 12:07 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(tweakity @ Oct 6 2025, 10:30 AM)

I myself went though public school the whole way, I am not letting my kids go through what I went though. Secondary school especially the maths, science subject the teachers are useless. I can't even understand them. When we asked question look at us blankly or read back from textbook. The best part is the national textbook is super useless Vs some overseas textbook that I happen to have my hands on. They are more understandable Vs national textbook despite being thicker. Nope. No more.

Of course. My kids education will be all free and expenses fully paid for by my investments. Why do your think I am so aggressive with my savings and investing? I don't want any surprises that can detail my plan.

Apert from my experience above and seeing the education ministry doing "national day for some country" nope. Not going to let my kids be indoctrinated by religious/political belief. Even my parents said don't bother with public school. They are way gone from their reliable days of 1970s time. One of extended family working in public school told me don't send your kids to public school. So if you have boots on the ground, pay attention. The other alternative is Chinese school. But I am going to let them become the stereotype Chinese people.

I wish it didn't have to come to that. But as I said play the cards that you are dealt with. You cannot ask for the cards but can certainly play with them even though it is bad hand.

I do wish to send them to national school. Who wouldn't want to save money? But when you have own experience and family member in the industry, that's enough info even though it maybe bias.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 6 2025, 12:55 PM
MGM
post Oct 6 2025, 12:36 PM

18,400 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 6 2025, 12:07 PM)
I myself went though public school the whole way, I am not letting my kids go through what I went though. Secondary school especially the maths, science subject the teachers are useless. I can't even understand them. When we asked question look at us blankly or read back from textbook. The best part is the national textbook is super useless Vs some overseas textbook that I happen to have my hands on. They are more understandable Vs national textbook despite being thicker. Nope. No more.
Of course. My kids education will be all free and expenses fully paid for by my investments. Why do your think I am so aggressive with my savings and investing? I don't want any surprises that can detail my plan.

Apert from my experience above and seeing the education ministry doing "national day for some country" nope. Not going to let my kids be indoctrinated by religious/political belief. Even my parents said don't bother with public school. They are way gone from their reliable days of 1970s time. One of extended family working in public school told me don't send your kids to public school. So if you have boots on the ground, pay attention. The other alternative is Chinese school. But I am going to let them become the stereotype Chinese people.

I wish it didn't have to come to that. But as I said play the cards that you are dealt with. You cannot ask for the cards but can certainly play with them even though it is bad hand.
What about home schooling since u probably r FIRED by the time your children start schooling.

This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 6 2025, 12:37 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 6 2025, 12:53 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 6 2025, 12:36 PM)
What about home schooling since u probably r FIRED by the time your children start schooling.
Nope not by my calculations.
guy3288
post Oct 6 2025, 02:09 PM

5,850 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 6 2025, 01:16 AM)
Got loop hole. Call metrics. I got no interest in pushing my future kids for local uni as my goal is give them a chance to move if they wish to. Not Singapore either as everyone is so stress out. Place where they really have good work life balance, not much stress.

we all STPm lah where got loophole

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 6 2025, 12:07 PM)

I do wish to send them to national school. Who wouldn't want to save money? But when you have own experience and family member in the industry, that's enough info even though it maybe bias.
i had very good experience so i wont discourage my kids like you do.
no such thing that i couldnt understand i let it go..
studies man... the most important thing in life that time.

so i got pleasant experience all the way to U. got sultan scholarship
study FOC ..after graduation got balance cash. Didnt use my FAMA money 1 sen.

so i wont tell my kids dont do what i am doing
better follow me... go study hard get into local U.
use our tax money
dont use FAMA money!

now is even easier.. where got so difficult in learning nowadays
everything is there for you, teachers know or not never mind

same with jobs...enjoying it...so i wont scare the wits out of my kids like you do.

your experiences in life changed your thinking bro...
you have been through alot of bitter things.......
till you dont trust them any more...

Ramjade
post Oct 6 2025, 02:54 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 6 2025, 02:09 PM)
we all STPm  lah where got  loophole
i had very good experience so i wont discourage my kids like you do.
no such thing that i couldnt understand i let it go..
studies man... the most important thing in life that time.

so i got pleasant experience all the way to U. got sultan scholarship
study FOC ..after graduation  got balance cash. Didnt use my FAMA money 1 sen.

so i wont tell my kids dont do what i am doing
better follow  me... go study hard get into local U.
use  our tax money
dont use FAMA money!

now is even easier.. where got so difficult in learning nowadays
everything is there for you, teachers know or not never mind

same with  jobs...enjoying it...so i wont scare  the wits out of my kids like you do.

your experiences in life changed your thinking bro...
you have been through alot of bitter things.......
till you  dont trust them any more...
Well I will admit that you are lucky and yes I have through lots of bitter things in life sort of scarred. I won't deny that. That is why I strongly believe in hard time create strong men.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 6 2025, 03:02 PM

163 Pages « < 148 149 150 151 152 > » Top

0.0168sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:16 PM