FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

HolyCooler
post Jul 27 2022, 05:09 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 27 2022, 10:52 AM)
Speaking as a parent - i agree with U that children never had a say, it's the parents' choice/decision on the children's being conceived and born.

Thus, IMHO, it's the parents' duty to do their best to grow their children to be able to care for themselves and hopefully, others like their partner, own children & help out in society. All i want from my kids are to see them - f2f or video-calls, and if possible spend some time with them.
agreed.

I feel it is disgusting when some parents born child to treat / build the child as their future banks / ATM machine / slaves.

I am fine if older generation's parents to have such thinking, but for newer generations, i don't expect so. If i have childs, i will give them money, not asking money from them.

HolyCooler
post Jul 27 2022, 06:09 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Jul 27 2022, 05:37 PM)
Actually your above sentence go the other way too. Some born child treat their parents it is their mandatory obligatory to give them monies to spend. They retort you give birth to me so you better give me monies spend else why give birth to me. Sounds familiar in soap opera? Well it happen in reality too. So don't this kind of thinking disgusting as well? Parents are born to give monies to children even when they are grown up and they can start earning monies. Once parents monies use finish, bye bye grown up child leave.
Of course disgusting too. Thus, parents don't expect or build their childs as ATM machines. And child after grown up, don't expect to get free money from parents too.

If the childs want to give money to parent, or parents want to continue giving money to their childs after childs have grown up, that is perfectly fine.
HolyCooler
post Jun 24 2023, 05:00 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(blingless @ Jun 9 2023, 10:45 PM)
Anyone close to FIREing in the next 18-24 months?
Or pivoting towards LEAN FIRE or BARISTA FIRE to speed things up?

Has your investment strategy changed much as you get closer to your goal?
Is the recessionary environment affecting your timeline?
Perhaps 12-18 more months max for me. Ideally is 12 more months, and definitely won't be more than 18 months.

My father retired at 55, and now he is 80 and still has lots of things to do everyday (he is able to follow youtube tutorials to create various gadgets). Same for me, i am a gamer (started playing game when i was 4-5 years old. Till now still playing games 2-6 hours daily), and have a lot of side hobbies, and have a lot of areas i want to explore such as augmented reality, 3d scanning / printing, etc. (AR and 3d scanning / printing are still kinda expensive atm, example, a industry grade of high accuracy 3d scanner can be up to USD 25k-40k. Apple's upcoming AR is USD 3.5k)

I want to be fully FIRE without worrying anything, won't bother to collect rental or to entertain tenants' complains, won't bother to check share up or down, etc. My passive income are all from FD, EPF, company share, etc. Worst case rm15K +- monthly, best case rm100k+- monthly.

Do i like my job? yes. But i have some personal issues that made me decide it is the time to leave the job and fully enjoy what i always wanted to do, full time.

HolyCooler
post Aug 9 2023, 06:27 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jul 14 2023, 05:22 AM)
Bro...RM 2.5 chicken rice? Maybe back in early 80s got lah. Late 80s already RM3.

Unless you are talking USD $2.5
My area still had rm2.5 chicken rice in mid of 90s. And if customer ordered chicken wing, he gave 2x chicken wings, and yes, rm 2.5. Other shops selling more expensive with only 1x chicken wing tho. Best chicken rice in my memory, spicy chili sos, very tatsy chicken and rice.

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 17 2023, 09:22 PM)
wah bro  >SD100k passive income a month
no kids mana boleh habis pakai
no plan to  retire in malaysia, x3.5 that amount.
My boss has similar passive income based on my rough (conservative) calculation.

I followed him to some "high class" places, a few hundreds or a few k tips to various girls, or have a girl sit besides chichat / drink together that cost a few K per girl, or bring girl out cost over 10k, etc. Only this amount of passive income able to afford. I was thinking, if a man has so much money, what places they can spend the money? If they don't spend it, it is really wasted. If i have so much money, i guess my wife will close 1 eye if i have other gfs outside tongue.gif

HolyCooler
post Aug 9 2023, 11:19 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 9 2023, 06:41 PM)
Haha... no she won't bro. In fact, she will keep a tighter rein on your finances! In my case, my wife and I worked equally hard to get to where we are today, it can be rightfully said that we both chipped in and we both pulled our weight. She will never let her blood, sweat & tears be enjoyed by "another woman" ... and neither I am stupid enough to allow that to happen to me.
My wife never control my finances, and i will never let woman to control me in any aspect biggrin.gif

She once joked if i become damn rich one day she doesn't mind me bring back 3 more wives to play mahjong with her, that gave me a bit of hope tongue.gif

My boss has a rich friend who divorced a few times, i wonder how the guy protect his assets / money. I guess people this rich should have some ways to save their money / assets, and won't let ex-wives to share half of their assets / money every time he divorced.
HolyCooler
post Aug 11 2023, 12:43 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(glamoroussoul @ Aug 10 2023, 09:55 PM)
This makes me wonder. What if wife becomes ultra rich? Can you close one eye and let her bring back 3 husbands to smoke cigar together? 😛
If she decides to do that, then i choose to divorce and become free man again, all win situation, simple brows.gif

But i never heard of such cases happen on woman but mostly on man, any real life example you know about? Logically, this would only happen on man, but not woman. Only heard about guys become rich have more chance of become bad, but never heard of woman become rich and turn bad and need more husbands / bf.

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 10 2023, 09:12 AM)
Haha. I’m an old romantic, so I prefer 张学友’s 爱是永恒
I once was like that. 只愿一生爱一人

This post has been edited by HolyCooler: Aug 11 2023, 12:45 PM
HolyCooler
post Aug 11 2023, 04:50 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 11 2023, 02:16 PM)
With >RM2m in EPF, and utilise the EPF dividend annually, would it be consider FI/RE ?
If yes, which F.I.R.E. category will it fall under ?
It really depends on your current age, your lifestyle. I am mid of 40, 2mil won't be enough for me to live my current lifestyle.

I always plan things based on the worst scenario. Even if EPF has 5-6% these few years, and even if FD has 3.5-4%+ recently, i calculate my return based on 3% to be safe. So if i want to have 15k per month as passive income, i aim for 6mil in bank + epf. (Last i checked, my highest monthly spending was around 6k. Now i guess is around 8k)

If i am still living my 10 years ago's life style, 2mil probably will be enough.

HolyCooler
post Aug 11 2023, 06:31 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 11 2023, 04:58 PM)
see? so many started to claim it's not enough. lol...... that didn't take too long.

point is..... it's unrealistic to assume that the capital will remain untouched.

even a simplistic linear drawdown of say RM10k per month, it will still last a healthy 200 months or 16.6 years.

For those who keeps arguing to purely live off the pure passive income, are you guys really committed to leaving the seed money completely untouched for the next generation or whomever you have nominated in your will?
No way i will keep the seed money completely untouched.

I will start using it after i reached a certain age. Buy a car that cost over a million? Buy very expensive collectibles? Be a sugar daddy to feel young again? I will use the money to enjoy my life to the fullest before i am gone. Only some money will be left to my sister's daughters, and my houses will be passed to them.
HolyCooler
post Aug 15 2023, 03:07 PM

434 posts

Life after retired, the keyword is "hobbies". My father been retired for 25 years, he self-made aquariums, fish tanks (with few hundreds of fishes), modified bicycle, gadgets for climbing trees, planted coconut trees, papaya trees, chili padi, etc, doing carpenter tasks, playing games (mostly those gambling games on hp like mahjong, etc. But is free to play, he never spent money on it), watching movies, etc.

P/S Tree climbing gadget, similar to this, my father did it all by himself after understanding the logic/ theory : https://www.youtube.com/shorts/_7wfLu57qFo

He is still watching youtube daily to see what kind of gadgets he can do. My father did various jobs to survive when he was young, so he possesses many diff skills.

Those people who said they don't know what to do after retired, they need to build hobbies.
HolyCooler
post Aug 25 2023, 04:38 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 25 2023, 04:35 PM)
Just some quotes, bros,...

You either answer to a boss, or you'll have to answer to the market.

If you have made enough money to earn FD interest, or share/REIT dividend payouts, the you'll have to answer to boredom.
Retired not equal to boredom bro, unless your life is just work and no hobbies / entertainments at all.

I confused.gif every time people said retired = die faster / nothing to do / bored.
HolyCooler
post Apr 11 2025, 02:29 PM

434 posts

It is almost the time i should fulfil my dream aka FIRE.

I think i am one of the very luckiest ones. My dreams were :
1. Own a house no need to pay rental
2. Able to buy the most powerful graphics card when it is launched
3. No need to work still have money to use and save each month
4. Eat foods or buy cloths no need to worry about the price

Simple dreams. All achieved.

I have so many hobbies, with the rise of AI, my life become even more interesting now, just need to leave my job and go into full enjoy mode.

HolyCooler
post Apr 11 2025, 03:23 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 11 2025, 03:15 PM)
Congrats, enuf to support how many of u?
How many of me? You meant my family? Basically no issue to support any family members included my close friends. My current monthly expenses is around 7k, but i buffered it up to 12k in case anything happens. And with the money saved each month, i can afford a new Porcshe every few years. I think i am pretty safe, and very lucky.

HolyCooler
post Apr 11 2025, 10:48 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Apr 11 2025, 08:07 PM)
Congrats on your achievement..

Curious to know the components of the 7K, ie just pure food groceries, utilities, insurance, car? Is that 7k at this moment per pax ?
I have 0 commitments now, cars and houses' instalments already settled. And i do not buy insurance, i went to government hospitals a few times in my life and i am satisfied with the services so far. And most importantly, the main reason i don't buy insurance is i can't accept how those private hospitals and insurances pakat to charge the crazy fees. I always call these insurance and private hospitals as vampires.

These 7-8k basically is for the car petrol, internet, phone bill, electric and water bill, foods (i noticed i am eating lesser and didn't spend much on expensive foods recently, no such desire), etc. I don't have kids and will not have kids.

Because i do not live a frugal style, so i expect 7-12k will be my monthly expenses after retired, worst case would be 15k (based on this 15k, i know i agak agak can save how much per month). Besides the money put in FD, EPF, ASM/ASNB to earn the dividend/interest, i take out 200-300k as a pool for me to help people, buy luxury items (i don't have desires for those bags or watches, but wife once in a while will buy some), collections, etc.
HolyCooler
post Apr 13 2025, 05:09 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Apr 13 2025, 12:57 PM)
15k just nice for 2 person with some travelling thrown in. Just nice not safe.
My wife retied at 30s and already went to most of the countries she wanted to go. The last trip costed around 30k with some souvenirs purchased here and there. In the future there won't be much will be spent on travelling.

Personally i don't like to travel, Japan was the country i wanted to go so much as a kid, but once i went there, i realised one thing, the world has become so small due to the Internet, almost everything i wanted to see there i could see from the local shops and photos from the Internet (mostly collectibles like statues, action figures, etc), and i also realised i don't feel the excitement as i expected when i see the things there. There is no more reasons for me to travel (and sightseeing for me is really boring you know), so i just let my wife goes travelling with her friends, follow those fixed trips, etc.

When i was doing the calculation, when i said "safe", is even if i used 15k monthly, i still have another amount left for backup, it is the backup of the backup (7-8k used, can have back up till 15k, after reached 15k, i still have backup of the backup. I am a very safe person, just an example, if i calculated 1mil is enough, i will make it 4mil to feel safe. And if people can get 4% from bank and 5% from EPF, i would make it 3% averagely for calculation). And i also mentioned that 200-300k will not be used as a calculation for the interest/dividend's return, so even if i wanna travel, the money will be from this money pool that won't affect the return's calculation. The modal i put in ASM/FD/Bank/etc, even if it is 0 interests / dividend earned, i still can live very good until i am leaving this world, this is the main factor that helped me to made up my mind.

Compare to many here i saw, their net worth are really high, but i am satisfied with what i have now, really appreciate. (Know a real life guy, monthly bank FD interest can be > 300k per month assumed he put everything in to FD with 4% interests, how do you imagine this kind of life?)
HolyCooler
post Apr 13 2025, 07:37 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 13 2025, 05:52 PM)
Yeah,.. boredom starts to set in when we see things which are similar 'in concept' to things we have seen and experienced before, as in tall buildings, unique architectures, luxurious establishments as in hotels, restaurants, adult entertainment parlours, etc....

Today,... I travel in more exotic ways,... I drove to The North Pole in deep winter, etc,... and brought my family along. -30 degs C, elevation of -10m (below sea level at that ocean, forgot the name),... dangers of driving on the Dempster Highway,... these are the things to experience today ! Any interest in doing these ?
Sounds pretty cool man. So far i experienced -25 at China Harbin, i quite like the weather there, if i am not marriage, i would be spending a few months a year there. I still remember my mind felt very calm when i was there, i love being alone and walking on the road alone, or sitting outside the shops and enjoying the weather alone. Danger driving? I already involved in a car accident not long ago (not my fault), so it is a no-no, and maximum speed i ever drove in my life was 150 max, and it was 25 years ago, lol. I can imagine those things are quite interesting, i think if i can think of one that would interest me would be ski-ing, but i am not sure if my eyes are good enough for that, or if i could learn it without hurting myself now (tho i started ice skating when i was below 12).

QUOTE(adele123 @ Apr 13 2025, 05:56 PM)
Each to their own. I kinda understand your point of view about the travel part.

But I like to travel because I also like the food there.

Have you planned out how you gonna say goodbye to your day job? As in how to answer if you are asked why you are quitting? Would retirement be the answer?
Ya, i can understand that. Like my wife, her main reason to go to travelling is because she want to see the flowers that are not available in Malaysia...

I will just tell them it is the time for me to retire and fully enjoy my me-time.

HolyCooler
post Apr 19 2025, 07:30 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 16 2025, 11:52 AM)
if you can drive... you can see where you are skiing wink.gif

the biggest issue is your knees need to handle the stress... because you will be bending them much going down hill...

anyways... at what age you wanna fire?
Mid of 40. So latest by next year or earliest by this year.

QUOTE(ionStorm @ Apr 17 2025, 10:29 AM)
On the contrary, it's very possible. Everyone's got something that is easy to them but difficult to others. "Easy" is simply a combination of how you're wired and the aggregate of your experience.
My own experiences so far. I am not a gambler, but every time i went to Genting, i could win around rm 200-500. 10+ times now never missed. And i think 200-300 is really "easy" to achieve (my modal is 1000-2000). I can control myself very well, sometimes i achieve my target within 5-10mins and i will straight away leave the casino (15 years ago I saw my friend won rm 1k in a short time, not willing to leave because he thinks "he just arrived", then at the end lost the rm1k and lost all his modal)

Not asking people to gamble (all of my friends went Genting expecting to lose, and so far they go Genting sure lose money, they are too greedy, they won't leave even if they already winning a lot at the beginning, they will only leave when they lose everything), but i quite agree sometimes things harder to achieve by certain people seems able to achieve by someone else easier.
HolyCooler
post Apr 21 2025, 12:52 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(ruben7389 @ Apr 21 2025, 09:54 AM)
Cool

Personally for me,
I'm just very weary of them. Have seen too many stories where the kids get the parents to transfer all then tell them also to sell their house (or transfer the house to their name to cash out a loan) and then ask them to come stay with and take care grandkids, after grandkids start going to school, the wife of the son (usually son) start kicking up a storm and parents get so unformfortable and move out and kids also don't want to support them after having taken away their properties etc

Few months ago also I was at tiger bank and this old uncle next counter came to bank and asked to check for the house and car grant as he previously took loan with them, bank staff said no more redi cos sold last year. The kids ask him to sign etc without telling him for what (old guy so maybe can't see properly to trust kids too much) and he signed. Kids took the money and changed their phone numbers and chao. He himself was telling the bank staff. Now he no house, no car, no epf and wife also passed away, he also said don't know what to do

I see all this and hear all these, haiyo very saddening la. Especially to have that at that age.... So disheartening
Met an English educated Chinese aunty around 26 years ago at a bus station, eve of Chinese new year (age looked like 70+), very talkative. Kept telling me all her sons/daughters very successful working/living oversea as i forgot what professions, may be accountant / architect / doctor, she looked so proud. But now i think back, she seems kena abandoned by her kids, even CNY no body came back to accompany her and left her alone staying in Malaysia, and occasionally talking to a stranger (like me) about how successful her kids are...
HolyCooler
post Apr 23 2025, 01:00 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Apr 21 2025, 02:21 PM)
wow... 26 years ago... i think at the time, my main concern was how to pass SPM and wondered whether our country would crash to become like vietnam... (ops... looks like Vietnam is not doing that badly since 1999). lol.
retirement was 100% not a concern at the time...  blush.gif

With the progression of technology, the standard, or even the need, be physically present with loved ones may be changing. It’s not like the 1980s anymore, when affordable long-distance communication meant writing letters, and video calls were virtually nonexistent.
Today, staying emotionally close doesn’t always require being physically near or in person. Of course, being in person should still be preferred. (like job interviews... if understand what I mean)
That time i was in college. Every time going back to hometown needed to go to the KL bus station, and that time the bus station so many ah pek pretended as gangster trying to threaten students for money, LOL. I remember i kena threaten by someone hisap dadah asking me to give him money, i fuked him and said go away, but then he took out a syringe as weapon, i surrendered and gave him rm1 and he went away ranting.gif

When the auntie talking to me non-stop, what in my mind was 2 things. First thing was, this auntie must be damn rich since her kids can go study oversea and even staying there. Second thing was, this auntie 99% should be a weirdo (in her kids' eyes) that kena abandoned by her kids, if not no way lepaking here in bus station talking to me. She talked a lot but i can't remember most things except her kids were oversea working high class jobs.

It is correct nowadays is different, it may be a better thing do not stay together and only communicate virtually or see each other in-person once in a while, lesser conflicts and more freedom for each other.
HolyCooler
post Sep 19 2025, 04:46 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Sep 12 2025, 05:03 PM)
Home Flexi Loans are great tools for liquid cash.  Basically, if your home is worth RM2m, take the max loan financing e.g. RM1.7m for it and put it back the full RM1.7m cash from the loan into the current account linked to the loan and zerorize the loan. Meaning you pay zero interest on the loan and now have a RM1.7m credit facility on demand.  Some banks may charge you a monthly fee of RM10 for this type of facility, but its the cheapest facility for emergency liquid cash when you need it and you may have this facility for the tenure of your home loan.  Then top it back up again and zerorize the loan once more when fresh funds come in.
This is what i do. I told a lot of friends but all of them didn't know they can do this. But i don't zerolize the interest, i still pay a few ringgit to rm10+ per month since i only put in 99.9% to avoid fully paid the house loan.

QUOTE(126126 @ Sep 15 2025, 05:13 PM)
I see a lot of tips on how to fire investment wise, but dont seem to have a lot of tips on these 2 topics, which i feel is equally important:

2. What to do after FIRE? I know many have retired here, come share tips on what you do in your daily life. I believe this is a huge challenge esp those that retired very young, because many of your peers are still in the rat race.
Too many things to do for a gamer like me. And recently i am into learning AI (image/video related). Many other plans like exploring into 3D scanning / printing still pending... Time is not enough...

QUOTE(126126 @ Sep 12 2025, 04:40 PM)
I have these props like you, i still count them as part of my NW. but if the assets are not productive i just lump them generally as non-investable assets. Reason being if circumstances change, say for some reason u are short of cash, you can still liquidate your props and go the rental route. In fact reverse mortgage may even become a norm in the future
Good for u if you can just turn on the switch and tune up your spending. My swr is currently at 1.7% and i have already upped spending by a lot. Guess i need to learn to up it even more
Personally i don't count properties as my NW (by right i should), main reason is these properties need time (months or years) to change back to cash unless i sell them super cheap.

QUOTE(spoonudus @ Sep 14 2025, 08:11 PM)
Glad to see this thread active again. Took me a while to catch up reading lol. One topic of discussion interest me.

Those who earns great income, i believe one mention here rm30k or rm40k, in his 30s or 40s, would they FIRE and leave high paying jobs.

I have a friend who is exactly in this predicament right now. He just got promoted, in a new department and earning quite a good salary already, so the promotion for sure gives him a nice bump in salary.

I know he is a frugal guy and have talked about retiring early before. But with the new promotion and salary bump, i also wonder if he has a change of heart.

Even if he has enough saved to FIRE, working longer also means more buffer in the savings. But it also means his time will be tied up with work as oppose to FIRE where he will get to control what he does entirely, which is basically the  purpose of FIRE. But if continue working is something he doesnt mind doing, and he can quit anytime he wants, he still has that control no?

I wish i would reach that level. Not a bad problem to have lol
My case is extra money can't change my plan. I will be working minimum 10more years if i can't stop my desire of chasing more money. But i did slowdown my plan 1-2 years tho.

HolyCooler
post Sep 19 2025, 04:48 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Sep 17 2025, 11:38 PM)
able to work should gather more.
dont waste  your earning capability
If i think like this, i don't know i will work till when sad.gif

0.0668sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled