FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

Ramjade
post Oct 6 2025, 10:40 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Oct 6 2025, 08:30 PM)
there are other benefits other than accumulating money. once one retires, the mind becomes more idle than usual, and that's when all the diseases come. just look at dr m, who has never stopped 'working'.
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Oct 6 2025, 08:58 PM)
Yet another fallacy… as if “retirement” automatically equals mental decay.  tongue.gif
I suppose for some, if their only sense of purpose comes from being on the corporate hamster wheel, then yeah... idleness might feel like death.  sad.gif

PM4 as an example? Come on lah… at this point, he’s not exactly working... more like stirring the pot for entertainment value. Pretty sure that’s not the kind of work/job/occupation you meant.  wink.gif
A less controversial but popular example people love to use is Buffett...
Then by that logic, I'm not retired either... since I love doing what Buffett does. brows.gif
QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Oct 6 2025, 09:03 PM)
if u have been to hospitals and old folks home u will understand. if u just eat and sleep then mind will slowly float away. post-retirement still need some proper hobby etc, not just money to eat and sleep. just saying continuing to work is just one of the many ways to kill time and remain active. many become grab drivers etc to remain active.

on the side note, actually i was trying to say his mind is actively scheming.
QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Oct 6 2025, 09:10 PM)
that's good.

but there's also something called post-retirement depression that might affect some. so FIRE is not the end of the journey. long way to go.

icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Oct 6 2025, 10:16 PM)
So what dods a typical day of a 40s yo FIRE person look like? A weekday when other people is at work for example.
Come I share with you. Wake up maybe 7am, make some cold brew green tea, go for walks, or go marketing. Strength training. Very important for old people. Planks, pull up, squads.
Then maybe sip some green tea after coming back from walks. Prepare more cold brew green tea for the rest of the day.
Do cooking.
Do gardening to get some 10-11am sunlight
Do home made soap in small batches to sell
Lunch time
Walk after meal for around 1H. Very important.
Nap time.
Do what you want after waking up. Read books, play video game, play with dogs, prepare for evening gardening. The time is yours. You earned it. No bosses. Maybe mister or misses to answer to only 😛
Sleep around 9-10pm

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Oct 6 2025, 09:29 PM)
what about getting 'golden visas'?
Last time yes. Nowadays I think slightly less good. You can see lots of other country offer better perks.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 6 2025, 10:40 PM
jasontoh
post Oct 7 2025, 08:54 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Oct 6 2025, 09:05 PM)
haha... ok... understand.... don't worry, I am also actively scheming.... on how to grow my pot....  icon_rolleyes.gif
Do you FIRE because you wanted to or because of some circumstances? If without those circumstances will you still FIRE or continue to work?

So what dods a typical day of a 40s yo FIRE person look like? A weekday when other people is at work for example.
Was wondering as well. Sometimes I try to clear AL I also not sure what to do with the extra hours away from work

This post has been edited by jasontoh: Oct 7 2025, 08:55 AM
guy3288
post Oct 7 2025, 10:07 AM

5,853 posts

the dreams of having endless free time till no idea what to do with it? smile.gif

the art of proving you had enough money cool2.gif cool2.gif

when work to them is all about making money only.....how boring
Wedchar2912
post Oct 7 2025, 01:43 PM

3,593 posts

I actually planned my FIRE long before I even knew the term existed... back in school days, thanks to a few of my profs. Long story short, it’s really just the trinity of [energy, time, and wealth], tied neatly to the life cycle hypothesis of savings vs consumption. The “FIRE” label only gotten popular in 2010s thereabout thanks to bloggers.

As for the extra hours... pretty much anything I want, within the usual family boundaries (you know what I mean laugh.gif ). It’s like having a bigger fridge now... the essentials are always there, but there is space to fill it however I like (within reason, of course). And like every fridge, it will end up full anyway. nod.gif

The one thing I can truly stick to now is exercising... maybe this is what it means to convert energy + time → wealth… and in this case, health is the real wealth.

RamJade bro, yeah, maybe can add health into the mix and call it a Quaternity icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Oct 7 2025, 08:54 AM)
Do you FIRE because you wanted to or because of some circumstances? If without those circumstances will you still FIRE or continue to work?

Was wondering as well. Sometimes I try to clear AL I also not sure what to do with the extra hours away from work
TSfrostfrench
post Oct 7 2025, 02:56 PM

465 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Oct 7 2021, 11:31 AM)
There was a similar discussed topic before, but the topic is closed now.

Starting here for me and others to share their experiences and their ideas about FIRE.

I am a single mum, and my only child schooling. I am in my late 40s, My plan now is going to FIRE.

I am not working already since last year because of the pandemic. And I don't plan to go back to work and will be doing my leisure things and charity works.

At the moment, my banking assets is around RM5million ( half in FD, rest in UT, KLSE). I got burn in KLSE this year because of gloves, and lesson learnt. I don't have any bank loans.

What i dunno what to do in my financials, should i look for a financial planner to help me plan?

What do ppl living in FIRE do with their money? tongue.gif

THanks
I first started this thread exactly 4 years ago. I am 50 already. i spend most of my times with my child and doing volunteering work.

I am actually quite happy my financials (this I have to thanks everyone here for contributing ideas and suggestions) notworthy.gif

My financials is more than RM6 million now, I have no loan or mortgage. What I have been doing for the past 4 years is :
- minus amount of my FD, 30% of my portfolio
- only hold dividend paying and blue chips in KLSE (Maybank, Tenaga, RHB, IGBreit, PavReit)
- bought 3 SG banks and 3 reits in SGX
- bought gold (physical and etf), today is 10% of my portfolio

Again, Thank you everyone here wub.gif

This post has been edited by frostfrench: Oct 7 2025, 02:57 PM
MGM
post Oct 7 2025, 03:04 PM

18,402 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Oct 7 2025, 02:56 PM)
I first started this thread exactly 4 years ago. I am 50 already. i spend most of my times  with my child and doing volunteering work.

I am actually quite happy my financials (this I have to thanks everyone here for contributing ideas and suggestions)  notworthy.gif

My financials  is  more than RM6 million now, I have no loan or mortgage. What I have been doing for the past 4 years is :
- only hold dividend paying and blue chips in KLSE (Maybank, Tenaga, RHB, IGBreit, PavReit)

Why FD n not ASMx & EPF? 2% diff of 2mil is a lot.
TSfrostfrench
post Oct 7 2025, 03:11 PM

465 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 7 2025, 03:04 PM)
Why FD n not ASMx & EPF? 2% diff of 2mil is a lot.
I just did my max self contribute to EPF for the past years, for the ASMs, I did have few, as you know, is quite hard to get now biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by frostfrench: Oct 7 2025, 03:14 PM
jasontoh
post Oct 7 2025, 03:39 PM

8,425 posts

I first started this thread exactly 4 years ago. I am 50 already. i spend most of my times  with my child and doing volunteering work.

I am actually quite happy my financials (this I have to thanks everyone here for contributing ideas and suggestions)  notworthy.gif

My financials  is  more than RM6 million now, I have no loan or mortgage. What I have been doing for the past 4 years is :

So within 4 years get additional 1M even though FIRE? hmm.gif
Wedchar2912
post Oct 7 2025, 03:54 PM

3,593 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Oct 7 2025, 03:39 PM)
So within 4 years get additional 1M even though FIRE?  hmm.gif
This is the result of a Fire plan well executed. 20% growth in aum despite no active income.

MGM
post Oct 7 2025, 04:27 PM

18,402 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Oct 7 2025, 03:39 PM)
So within 4 years get additional 1M even though FIRE?  hmm.gif
Why not , esp TS invested in gold n SGbanks.
Once u reach >5mil, not difficult to add 1 mil every few years even on FIRE, esp if expense is only a couple of %.
Ramjade
post Oct 7 2025, 05:45 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Oct 7 2025, 01:43 PM)
I actually planned my FIRE long before I even knew the term existed... back in school days, thanks to a few of my profs. Long story short, it’s really just the trinity of [energy, time, and wealth], tied neatly to the life cycle hypothesis of savings vs consumption. The “FIRE” label only gotten popular in 2010s thereabout thanks to bloggers.

As for the extra hours... pretty much anything I want, within the usual family boundaries (you know what I mean  laugh.gif ). It’s like having a bigger fridge now... the essentials are always there, but there is space to fill it however I like (within reason, of course). And like every fridge, it will end up full anyway.  nod.gif

The one thing I can truly stick to now is exercising... maybe this is what it means to convert energy + time → wealth… and in this case, health is the real wealth.

RamJade bro, yeah, maybe can add health into the mix and call it a Quaternity  icon_idea.gif
I heard about it because I was reading up on dividend investing. Came across Mr tako escape and Jason fieber. I didn't come across Mr money moustache. Or else my style would be very different today.

Wow TS. Congrats. Happy FIRE. Enjoyed the time you have earned. Wish me all the best.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 7 2025, 05:53 PM
HolyCooler
post Oct 8 2025, 03:08 AM

431 posts

Many saying they don't know what to do after FIRED or after stop working.

When i first heard about this i was so shocked. Nothing to do? How can that be? Whole life only concentrate on working, without any hobby?

As a person growing up playing video game since 4-5 years old, like to watch comics / anime, interested on Virtual Reality / Mixed Reality, soon will be testing 3d printing and scanning, like to yum char with friends, like to collecting lots of high quality items (example this is one of the collectible's type i like : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2fFGFi7H9d0), occasionally coding (now coding is easier, tell AI what you want, you can create some APP easily, exploring AI (this is freaking interesting. People say AI will replace your Job, NO, you will only be replaced if you refuse to learn AI to assist your job), etc.

Now i am not shocked anymore as i know lots of people really no hobby. But people also needs to understand that many people have hobbies and these people will not let their brains stop working after fired/retired. Retired = die faster not applied to these people with hobbies.

Ramjade
post Oct 8 2025, 07:34 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Oct 8 2025, 03:08 AM)

When i first heard about this i was so shocked. Nothing to do? How can that be? Whole life only concentrate on working, without any hobby?

As a person growing up playing video game since 4-5 years old, like to watch comics / anime, interested on Virtual Reality / Mixed Reality, soon will be testing 3d printing and scanning, like to yum char with friends, like to collecting lots of high quality items (example this is one of the collectible's type i like : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2fFGFi7H9d0), occasionally coding (now coding is easier, tell AI what you want, you can create some APP easily, exploring AI (this is freaking interesting. People say AI will replace your Job, NO, you will only be replaced if you refuse to learn AI to assist your job), etc.

Now i am not shocked anymore as i know lots of people really no hobby. But people also needs to understand that many people have hobbies and these people will not let their brains stop working after fired/retired. Retired = die faster not applied to these people with hobbies.
Yes that's correct. As long as you are not ideal, you will be fine.

Yes that's is right. Their sole purpose is to work only. They don't know what to do other then work.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 8 2025, 09:08 AM
MUM
post Oct 8 2025, 07:38 AM

14,857 posts

My in laws has a hobby of collecting stamps, sea shells and cooking.
At 80 yrs old, he still likes to cook and invites his grand children over for food.
I felt abit sad for him as no children and grand children of his would want to take over his stamps and sea shells collection. For the past few years during CNY gatherings, he would reminiscing about those stamps and sea shells and the places where he got them.
Too bad for him, no one in attendance shows interest in it.
I once told him to sell them of in the net, but was told that "emotional and sentimentals attachments" are worth more than money....especially when he had enough.

This applied to businesses too. I had 3 timsum kaki each operating small businesses that had provided food for their families. Motor mechanic, electrician and small coffeeshop.
None of their childrens or grand childrens wanted to take over their trades.

Just remembered, .... yesterday while sourcing for mattress, I overheard the shop owner talking with his friend/relative.
He said, his son who is a recently qualified Doctor had resigned due to low pay, stresses and bad treatments received during housemanship and is about to take over his business.
His friend/relative said, "wow, the amount of money spend on becoming a Doctor all wasted". He replied, "when the child has the capability to study, we as parents that has the financial means would definitely support their education to the very end. Too bad, he did not gain positive sentiments or experience while on way to become a Doctor. But the silver lining is now I know my hard lifetime build business now will have a Doctor to take over."

(Disclaimer: the above overheard are "not exact 100% word for word, but the narratives are exact)

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 8 2025, 08:09 AM
guy3288
post Oct 8 2025, 09:01 AM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 8 2025, 07:38 AM)
My in laws has a hobby of collecting stamps, sea shells and  cooking.
At 80 yrs old, he still likes to cook and invites his grand children over for food.
I felt abit sad for him as no children and grand children of his would want to take over his stamps and sea shells collection. For the past few years during CNY gatherings, he would reminiscing about those stamps and sea shells and the places where he got them.
I once told him to sell them of in the net, but was told that "emotional and sentimentals attachments" are worth more than money....especially when he had enough.

This applied to businesses too. I had 3 timsum kaki each operating small businesses that had provided food for their families. Motor mechanic, electrician and small coffeeshop.
None of their childrens or grand childrens wanted to take over their trades.

Just remembered, .... yesterday while sourcing for mattress, I overheard the shop owner talking with his friend/relative.
He said, his son who is a recently qualified Doctor had resigned due to low pay, stresses and bad treatments received during housemanship and is about to take over his business.
His friend/relative said,  "wow, the amount of money spend on becoming a Doctor all wasted". He replied, "when the child has the capability to study, we as parents that has the financial means would definitely support their education to the very end. Too bad, he did not gain positive sentiments or experience while on way to become a Doctor. But the silver lining is now I know my hard lifetime build business now will have a Doctor to take over."

(Disclaimer: the above overheard are "not exact 100% word for word, but the narratives are exact)
Malaysia is still very short of doctors
and doctors dont want to be doctors
forced to be car mechanic?
something is seriously wrong there

1.person ?
2. society?
3. health system?

society and system we cant change much...

the person should bear the brunt.

another wrong person
in the wrong job.........suffering suffering ranting.gif
both for his parents and himself...also for the society doh.gif

HolyCooler
post Oct 8 2025, 12:56 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 8 2025, 07:38 AM)

No need to feel sad for him. As a collector myself, i feel satisfied admiring / looking at the collections / arts, what other think about my collections are not important. I also don't care about what my houses and collection would become after i leave this world. I told my wife she can sell them, throw them, or contact my friends who are also collecting and gift my collection to them.

If he the kind of want to get satisfaction / attraction by showing off his collection, he should collect luxury items, even if people don't like the items, they would be interested / amazed by the prices brows.gif

"emotional and sentimentals attachments" are worth more than money <--- Yes.
jasontoh
post Oct 8 2025, 02:12 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Oct 8 2025, 03:08 AM)

I think this only apply to those work so hard until there is no time to do something that they like. Like I like to play video games, I'm also doing (console/phone) that after work - and I don't go like hours playing games, so a day maybe login to my PoGo to do some task, take down gym to earn some coins, play MLBB, turn on my Switch for a match FIFA etc. If I have time before sleep, I watch some series on Netflix/Prime/TvbAnywhere. Sometimes I work on some coding (now lesser due to not doing much of a freelance). I've been doing this even though I'm working. Yum cha also depends whether others are free, although I have no issue cafe hop myself. Of course I can still pick up some new skills should I FIRE, but occasionally I do question myself what I'm going to do with those free time.

I've been wanting to FIRE since young I was young thinking if put 1M to FD already get 100K, and at that time even 1K seems a lot. This is the reason why my initial investment strategy was more towards high DY counters. I have yet to reach my FIRE goal though since I'm looking to draw from EPF dividend only when I retire.

HolyCooler
post Oct 8 2025, 02:51 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Oct 8 2025, 02:12 PM)
I think this only apply to those work so hard until there is no time to do something that they like. Like I like to play video games, I'm also doing (console/phone) that after work - and I don't go like hours playing games, so a day maybe login to my PoGo to do some task, take down gym to earn some coins, play MLBB, turn on my Switch for a match FIFA etc. If I have time before sleep, I watch some series on Netflix/Prime/TvbAnywhere. Sometimes I work on some coding (now lesser due to not doing much of a freelance). I've been doing this even though I'm working. Yum cha also depends whether others are free, although I have no issue cafe hop myself. Of course I can still pick up some new skills should I FIRE, but occasionally I do question myself what I'm going to do with those free time.

I've been wanting to FIRE since young I was young thinking if put 1M to FD already get 100K, and at that time even 1K seems a lot. This is the reason why my initial investment strategy was more towards high DY counters. I have yet to reach my FIRE goal though since I'm looking to draw from EPF dividend only when I retire.
Personally i do not have problem occupying my free time. Altho already mid of 40, i am still gaming 2-8 hours per day. When there is new game out, if it is my cup of team, i could even play 6-16 hours a day. In certain situation i apply leave and sit in-front of the PC play from morning until night, and i ask my wife to bungkus for me, i can be damn extreme when i am doing something i love. When i was doing coding, i could sit in-front of my PC for 12-16 hours too, now no more though.

For gaming, besides i really love it, another reason is i could keep forcing my brain to think / analyse / remember things.

My wife is a gamer too, she got a Switch and PS5 (mine is a PS5 Pro), she finished many games such as Zelda, Dragon Quest Build 1-2, etc. She has a kara-ok room and she has retired for more than 3 years now.

Same as you, i wanted to FIRE when i was young, and that time i also fully relied on EPF. Things changed a lot in recent years and i had the chance to save the money i can never imagine i could have, thus i am speeding up the FIRE faster than planned.

guy3288
post Oct 8 2025, 05:45 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Oct 8 2025, 02:51 PM)
Personally i do not have problem occupying my free time. Altho already mid of 40, i am still gaming 2-8 hours per day. When there is new game out, if it is my cup of team, i could even play 6-16 hours a day. In certain situation i apply leave and sit in-front of the PC play from morning until night, and i ask my wife to bungkus for me, i can be damn extreme when i am doing something i love. When i was doing coding, i could sit in-front of my PC for 12-16 hours too, now no more though.

For gaming, besides i really love it, another reason is i could keep forcing my brain to think / analyse / remember things.

My wife is a gamer too, she got a Switch and PS5 (mine is a PS5 Pro), she finished many games such as Zelda, Dragon Quest Build 1-2, etc. She has a kara-ok room and she has retired for more than 3 years now.

Same as you, i wanted to FIRE when i was young, and that time i also fully relied on EPF. Things changed a lot in recent years and i had the chance to save the money i can never imagine i could have, thus i am speeding up the FIRE faster than planned.
wow playing game for hours and hours......no time for meals also... shocking.gif

i used to tell my kids dont, better stop dont get addicted...
not knowing you guys are also like that.

eight hours of gaming isnt a hobby i think..
or may be yes
when hobby is becoming a job. laugh.gif
HolyCooler
post Oct 8 2025, 06:32 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 8 2025, 05:45 PM)

eight hours of gaming isnt a hobby i think..
or may be yes
when hobby is becoming a  job. laugh.gif
Hobby = something you enjoy doing it.

That 10+ hours gaming = my happy time.

That 10+ hours coding = my happy time.

That 10+ hours learning AI = my happy time.

When you are doing something you don't like, 5mins feel like very long. When you do something you like, time fly so fast.

163 Pages « < 150 151 152 153 154 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:32 PM