Sugar Glider V4, Pocket Marsupials

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 18 2007, 10:30 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(mypetisabunny @ Nov 18 2007, 09:01 PM)
i agree with u
when i was there,i saw the tokey jz gave 'em to eat apples,cat food,pears & 'sengkuang'.
besides dat they lived in uncomfy condition
everyone tried to hide from the light by 'berhimpit2' into da bekas makanan
so poor hmm.gif

i'm scared of being bitten or hurt cry.gif
Yah, really kesian them. They need some place to hide also cannot, so they hide under each other. I fear they may have poor health, diet also so cacat already. I frequent that shop to get other stuff, so i do see them almost once in 2 weeks. People buy them for breeding.... so their only comfort in life is each other and breed.... no human love and affection.... kinda depressing.
krynzpeaches
post Nov 19 2007, 03:40 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

Haven't been around for the past few days, so many things has happened...

Regarding those poor gliders sold at Petaling Street, it is just plain cruel and a sad-sad case... cry.gif Keeping them all like that and selling them for the purpose of breeding sad.gif Breaks my heart to pieces upon seeing the pix...

Yes, those are definitely adult gliders and definitely not less than 1 year. They are all NOT tame. Will definitely bite and be agressive. Even the health of it is not assured. That is why the selling price is so low.

I wish if there is only a way to put a stop for this kind of selling... But what can I do alone when our whole gov/organization is not doing anything?

Trust me, by next year or a few more years to come, glider's fate will become like what has become of hamsters today...

cry.gif

QUOTE(broken_string @ Nov 14 2007, 10:05 PM)
when u say wild glider does it mean they caught it from the jungle ?
or its locally breed juz that not tame?

I'd think that it is most probably caught from the jungle.

Definitely not in our jungle, but in Indonesia.

I don't think there is any locally breed adults as much as that.

QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Nov 15 2007, 03:38 PM)
here is the update..

went to Dr Yeoh's vet yesterday...

it was a quick check..

he told me that Abu got an infection sampai he jilat all his bulu off..

then he gave me antibiotic for abu..ask me to feed abu till the antibiotic

Added on November 15, 2007, 3:40 pmThanx hun n Kp for introducing me to that vet..

hehe..btw kp..saw ur card there..

and i told Dr Yeoh...you guys recommend me there..

Glad you took him to see Dr. Yeoh.

I wish him speedy recovery smile.gif

Do keep us updated on his recovery progress.

QUOTE(alexchin @ Nov 16 2007, 09:20 PM)
May i know how to help SG bath?

Gliders cannot be bathe without the proper knowledge to do so. Their fur is highly absorbent, will absorb water very fast and can cause cold or sickness if not dried up properly.

Best to just wipe them clean with baby wipes.

QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Nov 18 2007, 02:20 AM)
2 months old glider can give pinkie ar ?

Why do you wanna give him pinkie?

I think mealworms and crickets and boiled chicken meat should be suffice.

Giving a pet glider pinkie can be messy and gruesome as they will tear off the limbs bit by bit to eat it... So unlike snakes that will just swallow it whole.

QUOTE(mypetisabunny @ Nov 18 2007, 06:35 PM)
really?
so..is it really wild & untame?

No sane pet shop or person or breeder will sell a tame glider for that price. Go figure.

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 18 2007, 10:30 PM)
Yah, really kesian them. They need some place to hide also cannot, so they hide under each other. I fear they may have poor health, diet also so cacat already. I frequent that shop to get other stuff, so i do see them almost once in 2 weeks. People buy them for breeding.... so their only comfort in life is each other and breed.... no human love and affection.... kinda depressing.

I don't think I can stomach seeing them like that as often as you do cry.gif

If the intended breeder here are like those in the US, who really will care for them, give them proper housing and food, I don't really mind... But almost all intended glider breeders here, just wanna breed them for money and not taking care of anything else sad.gif Atleast proper housing and food would be almost great already... But...

Pity those gliders, from one bad place to another...

If only I have the money, space and time...

Sigh...

KP
SAMPERTH
post Nov 19 2007, 04:05 PM

517 posts

This goes to show how porous our borders are ( so many smuggled animals coming in on a regular basis - custom , marine on security ) and how regulated our pet industry are ( where are the wildlife department or haiwan people ) !!!! And I thought only happened in Sabah with so many Indonesian wildlife coming in thru there !!! SIGH

And who knows what else the smugglers brought with them ( drugs , weapons , dieases ...etc )
buttercup07
post Nov 20 2007, 04:37 AM

119 posts

i bought a vitamin from dr.yeoh clinic...

its called LC-VIT Forte Syrup...

its a supplement...multivitamins + lysine for dogs, cats, poultry, rabbits,

hamsters and chinchilla...

Formulation : each 5ml contains :

Vitamin A - 2,000.00 IU
D3 - 100.00 IU
B1 - 2.50 MG
B2 - 1.20 MG
B3 - 10.00 MG
B6 - 1.20 MG
B12 - 1.00 MG
C - 75.00 MG
Lysine HCI - 12.50 MG
carrier q.s. ad - 5 ml

issit safe to give ???

krynzpeaches
post Nov 20 2007, 09:49 AM

2,047 posts

Did you check with Dr. Yeoh whether the vitamin is okay for sugar gliders or not, and what is the feeding dosage?

If he said okay, then should be okay lor tongue.gif

I'm not so good at looking at those content. Have to cross check with the vitamin supp I have.

Mebbe Hun can help smile.gif

KP
buttercup07
post Nov 21 2007, 03:56 AM

119 posts

its not dr yeoh who suggested the vitamin..

is d another doc...muda2 abit..dr goh if im not mistaken..

he said i should give 0.2ml or but in their drinks or food...

but i bagi straight

Added on November 21, 2007, 5:10 ameh..where to get all white, creamy albino, white tip, white face, red-brown or platinum gliders ar ???

This post has been edited by buttercup07: Nov 21 2007, 05:10 AM
krynzpeaches
post Nov 21 2007, 09:49 AM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Nov 21 2007, 03:56 AM)
its not dr yeoh who suggested the vitamin..

is d another doc...muda2 abit..dr goh if im not mistaken..

he said i should give 0.2ml or but in their drinks or food...

but i bagi straight

Added on November 21, 2007, 5:10 ameh..where to get all white, creamy albino, white tip, white face, red-brown or platinum gliders ar ???

It's better to give it with the food, not just like that.

I usually either add the the vitamin & calcium in their mix or I feed to the mealworms.

Haha, if can get those color variants here, I'd be the first to get 'em.

We don't have any color variants, we only have standard grey.

And I've also checked to import one, but it will cost a bomb and very risky due to the long flight.

KP

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 21 2007, 01:12 PM

12,047 posts

Yups.. to import from US or UK or whichever country that has them is too risky. That is why hobbyist breeders would never ship out of country, only in their own country and also certain states.

I would say we are lucky to have sugar gliders already, so we should not be picky with colour heheheh..... These days rare coloured pets have become "collector's item" as can be seen with a few reptiles.... hahahah... like me a bit when it comes to leopard geckos but reptiles are not so bad to ship if they are legal.

We got a few variants of grey.... there is the black beauty, which is the dark grey..... There is champagne, a light greyish yellow. We got some brown greys.... and brown hahhah.... I have no idea what the names of those colours are but we can find it here and there. All grey variant joeys would come out grey but as they mature, their colour changes...

krynzpeaches
post Nov 21 2007, 02:14 PM

2,047 posts

Actually, there are so many color names that they use to refer glider colors, and most of the names just popped up along the way, like black beauty, red brown, champagne and so on. From my understanding these are all actually standard grey that has slight deeper or lighter grey coloration.

Some breeders are known to give the color name just to attract people.

Unlike white-face, albino, leucistic, white-tip, ring-tail and a few more I think are actual different coloration that can easily be differentiate between.

Yeah, we should be happy that we even have gliders in Malaysia, but no doubt, I still wish to own a leucistic or ring-tail or white-tip if possible tongue.gif

KP
nugget
post Nov 21 2007, 03:00 PM

1,001 posts

hi KP ..

wonder if the wodent wheel are avail ?
would like to order 1 when nug come to kl in near future..

many thanks

nugz
sense_less143
post Nov 21 2007, 04:39 PM

428 posts

I would love to own an albino sg, so cute!
Reanne
post Nov 21 2007, 05:43 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

Some cute pictures. biggrin.gif

SAMPERTH
post Nov 21 2007, 06:25 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Nov 21 2007, 10:49 AM)
It's better to give it with the food, not just like that.

I usually either add the the vitamin & calcium in their mix or I feed to the mealworms.

Haha, if can get those color variants here, I'd be the first to get 'em.

We don't have any color variants, we only have standard grey.

And I've also checked to import one, but it will cost a bomb and very risky due to the long flight.

KP
Just curious about how much that "bomb" will cost for say an albino with red eye or a leucistic ?? And from where will they be imported from THANKS in advance

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Nov 21 2007, 06:54 PM
krynzpeaches
post Nov 21 2007, 07:53 PM

2,047 posts

A 100% Leucistic is priced at USD2,000 and above. Very rare to get and mostly kept by the breeders themselves.

Shipping would cost from USD500-USD700. But it is still not encouraged/advisable as the journey is tooooo long.

That alone is the price form the breeders side, I have not checked the cost on our Malaysia side, cuz converting that alone, it's not affordable at all!

Imported from the USA.

I tried checking with a friend who is coming back from the US, but since her flight is connecting flight, it's so out of the question...

But I still wish... Haha laugh.gif

KP
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 21 2007, 08:09 PM

12,047 posts

I think the scary part is the journey, shipment and quarantine.... My friend's dad took close to 4 months arranging, getting export permit and also permission from Indonesia to ship his gliders from here to Indo.... finally, next week they will be flying over but it is still riskly and long. I wonder how much is the whole process too.
SAMPERTH
post Nov 21 2007, 08:20 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Nov 21 2007, 08:53 PM)
A 100% Leucistic is priced at USD2,000 and above. Very rare to get and mostly kept by the breeders themselves.

Shipping would cost from USD500-USD700. But it is still not encouraged/advisable as the journey is tooooo long.

That alone is the price form the breeders side, I have not checked the cost on our Malaysia side, cuz converting that alone, it's not affordable at all!

Imported from the USA.

I tried checking with a friend who is coming back from the US, but since her flight is connecting flight, it's so out of the question...

But I still wish... Haha laugh.gif

KP
Thanks for the detailed information
Just checking As was offered before some " albino " glider ( not sure red eye or black eye Leucistic ) as from glider ranch in Indonesia thus a lower price of just USD 800 - 1000 depending on number of animals bought / wholesaled !!!

What I know is that not all sugar gilder are WC from jungle , some are ranched from WC parents !!!
buttercup07
post Nov 22 2007, 07:45 AM

119 posts

like the white face, albino or those mentioned above...

those kind of glider is not from the normal glider that we are keeping issit ?

i mean, like they mate, then their joey like become abit so called cacat lah..

like jadi albino like that...or those kind of gliders memang from tua to

muda, from datuk to cucu memang like that wan???

Added on November 22, 2007, 7:49 amanother thing...today...i went out, then suddenly my gf's housemate like sms

us, stating that, my ABU n the female are actually mating...coz she said that

there were noise from inside the cage, then she saw that ABU was actually

chasing the female and he was like kinda on top...are they actually mating?

coz ABU is like 3 months old and the female is like 2 months old..at first she

though that they were fighting..but then again..she say like they are

mating rather then fighting

This post has been edited by buttercup07: Nov 22 2007, 07:49 AM
Reanne
post Nov 22 2007, 07:54 AM

2,903 posts

I don't know if they're mating, but females sexually mature anywhere after 5 months while males after 3 months.

Why are you putting them together at such a young age in the first place? You should not introduce them into the same enclosure until the female is around 10 months old.
krynzpeaches
post Nov 22 2007, 09:45 AM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Nov 21 2007, 08:20 PM)
Thanks for the detailed information
Just checking As was offered before some " albino " glider ( not sure red eye or black eye Leucistic ) as from glider ranch in Indonesia  thus a lower price of just USD 800 - 1000 depending on number of animals bought / wholesaled  !!!

What I know is that not all sugar gilder are WC from jungle , some are ranched from WC parents !!!

I would think it's albino glider(with red eye). Leucistic are mainly seen or available in the US only as they do/explore on color breeding.

Red eyes are scary to me, so I prefer leucistic than albino tongue.gif Haha, but I'd take any other color considering our situation smile.gif

White face are more common so the pricing is not that steep around USD350 and above... Haha, with you guys going into colors and all, make me wanna negotiate with them again tongue.gif

Yeah, they definitely have a ranch of breeding WC gliders there in Indo, or else how could they be exporting so many gliders out?

But I wouldn't wanna visit the ranch for it will definitely not be a pretty sight sad.gif

QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Nov 22 2007, 07:45 AM)
like the white face, albino or those mentioned above...

those kind of glider is not from the normal glider that we are keeping issit ?

i mean, like they mate, then their joey like become abit so called cacat lah..

like jadi albino like that...or those kind of gliders memang from tua to

muda, from datuk to cucu memang like that wan???

Added on November 22, 2007, 7:49 amanother thing...today...i went out, then suddenly my gf's housemate like sms

us, stating that, my ABU n the female are actually mating...coz she said that

there were noise from inside the cage, then she saw that ABU was actually

chasing the female and he was like kinda on top...are they actually mating?

coz ABU is like 3 months old and the female is like 2 months old..at first she

though that they were fighting..but then again..she say like they are

mating rather then fighting

No, those colored gliders are no different than the ones we keep, the only difference is their coat color.

And a big NO that those colored gliders are "cacat" or anything.

Those color breeders study their genetics and do color breeding for a few generations past to see how it works and that is how they get all the colors...

Albino's are not "cacat", they only don't have color pigmentation, thus all fur and coat remain white. We have albino people what, they're not "cacat" in any way at all.

Regarding your Abu and his new mate, did you do proper introduction before putting them together?

Proper introduction will need atleast a week or two in separate cages and interaction or playtime with close supervision.

Gliders sexually matured at age 6-7 months above, some even later than that.

There is no sexual activity here, but most likely fights or playtime.

There is no problem putting a 3 months old glider with a 2 months old as they are still very young, but still proper introduction is needed!

For now, they should not be left together without any supervision.

Read up on proper introduction, playtime and fights, you should have read and studied more about gliders before even getting another one.

KP

Reanne
post Nov 22 2007, 09:50 AM

2,903 posts

sweat.gif Haaa.... Well, personally I would advise not to put them so young together, if the female sexually matures earlier, then she will get pregnant too young. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Reanne: Nov 22 2007, 09:51 AM

125 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:07 AM