125 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Bottom

Sugar Glider V4, Pocket Marsupials

emino
post Jan 21 2008, 03:03 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Jan 21 2008, 02:48 PM)
Wahh, sounds like you gonna get married with all the "soon-to-be's" tongue.gif

Teddy Remus Lupin - A comic/book character right???

Teddy for short is nice rclxms.gif

Ignatius Sorvo Corromandel is a book character too wink.gif

Iggy for short wink.gif

KP
QUOTE(spel'it @ Jan 21 2008, 02:56 PM)
of course!!! its in the harry potter's 7th book maa...son of lupin.. huhu...
Yeah, its Remus Lupin's son from the last book of Harry Potter. Haha.
Yalor... Soon to be... Since I'll be getting him early February. Hehe.

Really cannot wait lor... His house/cage has been ready since last month and fully decorated with suggiestuf last week already. biggrin.gif
krynzpeaches
post Jan 21 2008, 03:08 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

Ahh, Harry Potter fan!

I love magics but for Harry Potter, since they have the movie, I'd go for the movie than the book tongue.gif

But I'm an avid fan of a book that is known to be Harry Potter's close rival!

"Septimus Heap"

Opsss, out of topic tongue.gif

-----

Anyway, I just wanna share something Reanne said in another thread.

This explains what a good breeder should/would do once they realize or recognize that the pet they are breeding has genetic/disease problems that could be pass to their young...

That is why a good breeder should be able to tell/examine every inch of the pet they are selling and know if they should or should not continue breeding it.

Although it may not be fatal, but it is for the greater good of the generation to come.

I am sharing this in reference to a glider case that I got to know of.

notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Reanne @ Jan 20 2008, 10:32 PM)
Loretta is also rare, she is a het silver grey, and you can't find that size easily. Loretta is about 6 and a half inches from nose to tail and Sinclair is bigger, they also have cobby bodies and dish like faces. They are the result of selective breeding. But I discontinued Loretta's line because her mother carried a disease that seemed to pass to certain individuals in the litter, its not fatal or anything serious, but it's not good to continue the line if you know or suspect it may pass to the future generations and Loretta showed signs of it.

KP
zoejehuty
post Jan 21 2008, 03:17 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

ooo, so get a pair la..
if like u said, i get one to bond with me 1st then get ther other one,
i scared later the 1st one wont bond with the 2nd one...
krynzpeaches
post Jan 21 2008, 03:21 PM

2,047 posts

There's a method of introducing 2 gliders, just like gerbils too, but not using a split cage lah...

Search on how to introduce 2 gliders, then you'll understand smile.gif

Generally, introducing 2 gliders is slightly easier than introducing 2 gerbils wink.gif

But it will still take some time lor tongue.gif

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Jan 21 2008, 03:23 PM
zoejehuty
post Jan 21 2008, 03:23 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

icic... thanks for your info.
heidityj
post Jan 21 2008, 04:04 PM

520 posts

just to add to what KP has said... when introducing two gliders, it's best when they are not that far apart in age. I intro-ed my girl to my boy when they were still very young and they are about 1 month apart in age. My boy Joey almost immediately fell in love with my girl DeeDee.

I did the whole smaller cage in a bigger cage thing, swapping their cloth, a few times a day of letting them meet face to face briefly with me holding my boy and my mom holding my girl. But I had no problems introducing them at all.

However when my cousin's gf bought a new glider, a baby girl, my almost adult boy would get defensive and try to attack the baby girl. I've never seen him behave like this before. So I didn't continue to introduce the new girl since my cousin's gf lives far away. tongue.gif
krynzpeaches
post Jan 21 2008, 04:45 PM

2,047 posts

Yes, age gap needs to be considered also...

Not too far apart.

It's okay if you wanna intro adult with adult, joey with joey... But adult with joey have to be careful...

If the adult female, joey is male or female is fine... But if the adult is male, joey is female, might get rape case or if joey is male, might be defensive lor...

KP
Reanne
post Jan 21 2008, 04:46 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

The method stated for introducing gliders here is very general and can be used on gliders of all ages, but it really does depend on the gliders themselves. Adults generally you have to be more careful when introducing to new gliders, especially joeys. Young joeys are much easier as they are not that matured and dominant yet. My Billie lives in a separate cage right next to Miko and Dakota's cage but she's one anti-social glider. She attacks anything else on sight through her cage bars, she even tried to attack a hamster once when she was playing in the car and the hamster was in a paper bag. She kept trying to go into the bag to kacau the hamster.

Dakota, on the other hand, went smoothly with Miko and their age different was about a year and a half apart. But Billie has been living next to them for more than 6 months already, but she still refuses to get along. So as a result, I have to spend a lot more time with Billie because she's alone.

This post has been edited by Reanne: Jan 21 2008, 04:48 PM
zoejehuty
post Jan 21 2008, 05:33 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

hmm... quite a tough thing to choose from as well, either one or pair...

emino
post Jan 21 2008, 06:57 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Jan 21 2008, 05:33 PM)
hmm... quite a tough thing to choose from as well, either one or pair...
Well, from what I understand, most people dont have enough budget to get 2 at once.

Plus, if you get 2 at once, the glider will more likely to bond with each other than with you first.
Reanne
post Jan 21 2008, 06:59 PM

2,903 posts

Hey Emino, I've seen your glider. Small but very cute, take good care of him ya, he's very cute when he eats. biggrin.gif
emino
post Jan 21 2008, 07:43 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Jan 21 2008, 06:59 PM)
Hey Emino, I've seen your glider. Small but very cute, take good care of him ya, he's very cute when he eats. biggrin.gif
Hehehe... I demand MOAR PICTAR! lol~
I hope hes not too small though. If he is I'm gonna be affraid of introducing him to a spouse later on.
Reanne
post Jan 22 2008, 01:17 AM

2,903 posts

I don't think it's a good idea to give him a spouse tho. For good reasons. Better another male in the future.
i_love_japan
post Jan 22 2008, 01:26 AM

753 posts

hi guys, i'm new here and i'm interested in owning a sugar glider.

just wondering what do u guys think about these 2 joeys? both of them are 3 months old (1 month old 2 month nurse by their mom)? any comments?

i'm not so good in choosing a sugar glider. hope u guys can give some advice. thanks. notworthy.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=616162&hl=

Reanne
post Jan 22 2008, 01:31 AM

2,903 posts

They look a bit scrawny but they don't look too young. Please ask the seller what he or she has been feeding them, how they house them, whether he or she bred them or are they bought from petshop/miller and he or she is reselling them. Very important to search on the background.

The apple in multiple pictures is not a good sign as apple should not consist of more than just a few cubes only once or twice a week. Other fruits higher in calcium ratio should be given instead as their diet and needs are varied, specially the calcium to phosphorus ratios.

This post has been edited by Reanne: Jan 22 2008, 01:34 AM
i_love_japan
post Jan 22 2008, 01:37 AM

753 posts

About the meal, they are feed on apples, not too much pears (can cause diarrhea if given too much), high quality cat food, and occasionally mealworms and yogurt but not too much mealworms coz he believe that given them too much will cause sight problem (buta!) when they become adults. that's what he told me about the food.

Reanne
post Jan 22 2008, 01:45 AM

2,903 posts

Typical advise given from a glider mill. Gliders need fruits such as papaya, mango, melon like sun melon etc, honeydew, persimmon, water chestnuts, black berries, cranberries, jambu air, guava etc. They also do need crickets , mealworms and cereals in their daily diet, no they will not go blind. Apples and pears only not enough, they also need some veggies in their diets like some lettuce, carrots, celery etc.

High quality cat food? What brand is this high quality cat food? Cat food should only be given as treats, not as the staple. The only thing I see good in this diet is the yoghurt, cannot give too much also. The only brand that is alright and safe to give gliders is Orijen. Giving the dog/puppy version of this brand is better as cat food usually have taurine and much higher levels of protein whilst the dog food is more towards the omnivour side, which is better.

Is this guy chinese and researches from chinese forums? A LYN meber once told me his friend didn't feed them live food like crickets and mealworms because he read from a chinese forum that it will cause them to turn aggressive. This is incorrect info, these live foods should be a part of their daily diet, if not it can be substituted with cooked protein like boiled chicken.

This post has been edited by Reanne: Jan 22 2008, 01:51 AM
i_love_japan
post Jan 22 2008, 01:50 AM

753 posts

hmm....that's alot of information you got there. thanks. biggrin.gif anyway i still need him to answer the question about the housing. then, i'll only consider about it.

for overall what do you think about the both joeys?

but through the video, the sugar is quite active and naughty as well. tongue.gif

Reanne
post Jan 22 2008, 01:56 AM

2,903 posts

Pet Safari feeds them almost the same thing like apples and 'high quality' cat food because the miller they buy from advises them to do so. They are also active and naughty, but I've heard quite a few glider deaths from there. What they take in when they are young is important as it's the most vulnerable time when their bodies are building up. They are exotic animals, therefore needing a much more rounded nutritive diet, not like dogs or cats that you can just buy from the pet store, cut open the bag and ready for feeding right away.

If you ask me, find your joeys elsewhere and read the first page on their needs.
iory
post Jan 22 2008, 03:43 AM

QUOTE(Reanne @ Jan 22 2008, 01:56 AM)
Pet Safari feeds them almost the same thing like apples and 'high quality' cat food because the miller they buy from advises them to do so. They are also active and naughty, but I've heard quite a few glider deaths from there. What they take in when they are young is important as it's the most vulnerable time when their bodies are building up. They are exotic animals, therefore needing a much more rounded nutritive diet, not like dogs or cats that you can just buy from the pet store, cut open the bag and ready for feeding right away.

If you ask me, find your joeys elsewhere and read the first page on their needs.
Reanne why is it that u say catfood is not good for sugar gliders ? U also mentioned that orijen should be the best for them ? Do u know that orijen is having very much higher protein than catfood ? Normal good catfood is only about 32 to 36% protein...but orijen is a minimum of 40 to 45%protein which is too high for a sugar glider n might cause skin problems to them too...The rest that u mentioned about the vege n fruits is ok but not orijen for suggies...I still prefer catfood cos the protein is just nice for our malaysian weather which is hot n humid..Sometimes i don understand why u ppl must mention the word miller .... firstly do u know the breeder ? have u been to his or her house to see how they r kept or bred ? i think its not neccessary that ppl must follow what u feed ur suggies... e.g. some ppl like spicy food n some don like it.....some love western food n others might not like it tooo so i think the best thing for all of us to do is feed ur suggies with nutritous food according to ur budget as long as the suggies r well looked after n have proper care . Plz dont think so lowly of other breeders n i think there is no one who dares to claim that he or she is the best breeder...so lets be fair to everyone n i hope that u all give the breeders a chance n don simply accuse them as milllers which is not fair at all.....unless u have the evidence n can prove them to be one...I don mean bad to anybody but just cant take it cos lots of ppl are accused as milllers which is not true....Lets be considerate enough n fair to everyone...... thank you......

125 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:30 AM