99 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Dog Kibbles (Discussion), Which brand do you feed your furkid?

Digitral
post Oct 24 2007, 09:27 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(sinv @ Oct 24 2007, 09:24 PM)
ic...i'm now feeding my dog nutro dog food + eukanuba treat..poo still smelly i think bcos of the eukanuba treats...wait the treats finish i observe some time to see whether nutro is good enough for my dog..anyway nutro is recommended by a guy from petshop when i told him i dunwan smelly poo  tongue.gif  then he recommend nutro rather than blackwood.
Hmmm...my two furkids eat blackwood 3000..poo2 no smell at all . how about Amos ?
but poo2 got smell or not not tat important,important is the dog food suitable for them or not de nod.gif
nod.gif

sinv
post Oct 24 2007, 09:31 PM

I am Poodle Addict
2,810 posts

QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ Oct 24 2007, 09:22 PM)
I've been feeding my furkids with Science Plan for almost 2 years but the last time I bought Science Plan, which was almost 6 mths ago, my Abby started losing a LOT of weight.

Both the furkids and my brother's furkids won't touch the Science Plan kibble at all, even after starving themselves for days already. Abby was already skin and bones, so we fed them with home cooked meals (boiled chicken).

After checking with the vet (everything's fine), after the first few days seeing Abby losing so much weight, we called in to our pet food supplier and told them about it. The owner said two ppl, (including us will be 3), have already complain bout their dogs not taking the Science Plan kibbles from the same batch.

At that time, there was that scare regarding contaminated kibbles and stuff, so we called up to Hills (at the Animal Medical Center - where money sucking, unfeeling vets charge worried owners an arm and a leg) and told them about our problem.

Then immediately, this Indian guy drove to our house and had a look at Abby and immediately offer to have free medical checkup for my furkid as well as new Science Plan kibble.

Suffice to say, after everything's done, we rejected their offer to replace a new 15kg bag for us.

We dump the almost full bag of Science Plan (not even going to give it to SPCA coz something is OBVIOUSLY wrong with it). After that, I've been feeding my furkids with California Natural. Their fur is getting better than before.

Is Science Plan good? I don't know but personally, I'm not going to feed my furkids with their kibbles again. Ever.
oh gosh..i'm going to throw the sample...i don't want my precious to even try it.. Thanks for spending time to reply me... Thanks a millions!!!!

Added on October 24, 2007, 9:40 pm
QUOTE(Digitral @ Oct 24 2007, 09:27 PM)
Hmmm...my two furkids eat blackwood 3000..poo2 no smell at all . how about Amos ?
but poo2 got smell or not not tat important,important is the dog food suitable for them or not de  nod.gif
nod.gif
Amos's poo poo got smell..after i bought him he eat euro premium(following what the breeder give him)..then i dunwan smelly poo and i go buy blackwood....when asking the petshop guy he recommend nutro..so i take nutro...but still amos eating eukanuba treats....as i read from many forum eukanuba food cause smelly poo..so the smell of his poo msut be from the treats lo i guess...

This post has been edited by sinv: Oct 24 2007, 09:40 PM
TSPennywise
post Oct 24 2007, 11:22 PM

5,796 posts

What do you think about all life-stages dog food ah? I am against it but recently, I bought a bag of D|ck Van Patten's Natural Balance. Newly brought in by the SS2 Seapark Pet Supplies.

Seems pretty ok for Casper but I never feed Moonie with it. Madmoz posted some puppy and adult dog food differences. While others think it's fine. I'd like to know majority opinion on all life stages dog food, is it ok? Or it's not?
madmoz
post Oct 24 2007, 11:34 PM

4,250 posts

err... actually i don't mind all life stages food sweat.gif
static
post Oct 25 2007, 04:47 AM

782 posts

science diet and alpo.

old already lah the fella, 10 yrs old. Whatever also he will hentam wink.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 25 2007, 06:14 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

How to choose good dogfood is by reading the ingredients.... then put yourself in this position, would you think eating a whole load of corn and artificial flavourings or chicken fat be healthy or eating real meat, meat meals and fillers like rice or potato seems better?

Poo for sure will smell.... coz it is poo. Even our own poo also smell mah hahahah..... but dogfood loaded with fillers are sometimes smellier.... high protein dogfood would make the poo look black too....
White Palace
post Oct 25 2007, 07:20 PM

Angel - Top Maltese 2006 @ Best Malaysian Bred In Show
2,309 posts

Yes, must see ingredients. I have seen many dogs that being fed with commercial brands have shiny coat & seems very healthy, but in long run, when the dogs get older, they might get digestive problems or turns weaker faster, since they had been feeding with low nutritious food with bad ingredients inside for so long. At that time, it is too late to change dog food anymore, then the owners will have to folk out much more extra out of a sudden to pay vet bills, which lots of owners do not, and allow the dog to die "of old age".
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 25 2007, 07:53 PM

12,047 posts

Last time people say dog's average age is 10 years only.... but dogs can live past 13 years... some can go to 20 years... why? Healthier living, healthier food.... commercial foods can give be good and bad.... good maybe coz cheap, and you see your dog fatter coz mostly fat from the filler.... but bad is because quite artificial, once Pedigree was taken off shelves coz some dogs died after eating Pedigree. Died from liver failure I think... or was it Kidney? Can't remember... but it was due to some chemical inside their food....

I would stick to human grade food coz they do monitor what goes inside, still, read the ingredients. When I go to petshops, they always ask me "what dogfood do you want? Why not try this and that?" But I will say "Let me read the ingredients first" And will read loh... if bag too heavy, I ask them to help me turn it so I can read. Yah, alot look at me in a weird way but I said I wanna know if it is good for my dogs or not.

So don't be shy, read the ingredients.... think about what goes in.
^MochI^
post Oct 25 2007, 08:19 PM

An Angel Living A Devil's Life
4,565 posts

So the ingredients shld not be fillers, by- products, meal..

Added on October 25, 2007, 8:20 pmHun, or u can list down wad shldnt be inside a good dog food?

This post has been edited by ^MochI^: Oct 25 2007, 08:20 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 25 2007, 08:37 PM

12,047 posts

Meat meal is ok, bone meal is ok too.... but what should not be inside... there is a list but I look out for artificial coloring and flavouring, unnatural preservatives like Ethoxyquin... example of dogfood with this is ProBest.... I would choose dogfood without corn. Look out for the 1st few ingredients, never have a filler as the 1st ingredient....
^MochI^
post Oct 25 2007, 10:01 PM

An Angel Living A Devil's Life
4,565 posts

No filler No corns No preservatives like Ethoxyquin, How would i know if there's artificial colouring or flavouring? Wad specfic names would be written there?
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 26 2007, 12:04 AM

12,047 posts

Artificial flavourings and colourings, some would mention, some would be in weird codes.... If you go Pet Shack again, ask Joan to show you ProBest dogfood, you read the ingredients then you would know heheheh.
jaunty_niel
post Oct 26 2007, 08:28 AM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

hmm..
i tot most of the dog food contains preservatives.
dats y i prefer to prepare their own meal.
btw, can dogs eat potatoes?

last nite i boiled i big pot of chicken soup with meat n bones, den gave them only the soup without adding any salt or sugar. isit ok for them?
joanalooidog
post Oct 26 2007, 10:00 AM

2,823 posts

if not mistaken the preservative is vitamin E, which is better than the artificial one rite???
blessedfin
post Oct 26 2007, 10:58 AM

308 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 26 2007, 12:04 AM)
Artificial flavourings and colourings, some would mention, some would be in weird codes.... If you go Pet Shack again, ask Joan to show you ProBest dogfood, you read the ingredients then you would know heheheh.
i Thought every commercial dogfood has artificial flavouring and colourings??
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 26 2007, 09:44 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Oct 26 2007, 08:28 AM)
hmm..
i tot most of the dog food contains preservatives.
dats y i prefer to prepare their own meal.
btw, can dogs eat potatoes?

last nite i boiled i big pot of chicken soup with meat n bones, den gave them only the soup without adding any salt or sugar. isit ok for them?
All pet food got, but got natural preservatives and artificial.... natural is like what Looi said, Vitamin E.

Only cooked potatoes, raw is dangerous.

Unseasoned soup and no cooked bones is safe lah.

QUOTE(blessedfin @ Oct 26 2007, 10:58 AM)
i Thought every commercial dogfood has artificial flavouring and colourings??
If you buy cheap dog food, it uses unsafe flavourings and colourings.... that can cause liver damage and cancer. When we say commercial, we mean super market or cheap brands like Pedigree, ProBest, Trusty.... all these are commercial or brands that are super cheap. Imagine, 20kg you only pay RM80... but example Orijen, 7kg is RM100.... read this thread, then you would know the difference.
TSPennywise
post Oct 27 2007, 01:41 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Oct 26 2007, 10:00 AM)
if not mistaken the preservative is vitamin E, which is better than the artificial one rite???
I think you are talking about the preservative for chicken fats in most dog food. It's written there all the time but now I forgot the scientific name.
jaunty_niel
post Oct 27 2007, 03:50 PM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

i gave them potato chicken soup.
unseasoned, no salt no sugar no ajinomoto.
soak their kibbles, they seem to lurve it alot.

thanks hun, no raw potatoes!
can i giv them my evening primrose oil?
TSPennywise
post Oct 28 2007, 02:05 AM

5,796 posts

Yea, you can give them EPO but then not too much. I dont know why but I was told not too much. As always, moderation is key.
jaunty_niel
post Oct 28 2007, 10:00 AM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

cut open da oil sac?

99 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0535sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:58 AM