5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Dog Kibbles (Discussion), Which brand do you feed your furkid?

joanalooidog
post Sep 10 2007, 08:57 AM

2,823 posts

I'm using blackwood, so far so good. But lately she seems losing interest on them, so last nite just bought Acana.........haven try though.
joanalooidog
post Sep 10 2007, 09:15 AM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Sep 10 2007, 09:12 AM)
for the feeding portion of a puppy,we base on weight to cup ratio..so which cup should we use yeah?
Normally they measure using an 8oz cup......u can go get one of those cups from the vet. I just use chinese soup spoon. 1 big scoop is around 10g, so u agak2 lah........

This post has been edited by joanalooidog: Sep 10 2007, 09:15 AM
joanalooidog
post Sep 11 2007, 08:45 AM

2,823 posts

royal canin is expensive, especially if u wanna buy those breed specific kibbles, like specific for shih tzu, poodles.........
THe kibbles size is small, and reall smells good, looks oily than others and more moisture. I once got a sample pack, and use it as treats for FIFI, and she really loves it, even i love the smell also, haha.........
I've smell BW, nutriedge, acana, nutro, eaglepack, royal canin, and i can say royal smell's nice, and i think the taste is better. So i really do think that, once our dog tried it, v can hardly change to other kibbles.......And the ingredients doesn't look impressive for that price. But anyway, up to u to decide lah. If its good for your dog, then ok lah........

This post has been edited by joanalooidog: Sep 11 2007, 08:46 AM
joanalooidog
post Sep 11 2007, 12:08 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(angelgurl_nee @ Sep 11 2007, 11:22 AM)
lilcatty tried innova(if not mistaken) and she says that copper's shit smell very bad...

i think im gonna grab a sample pack of royal canin too and see if mikey loves it...he don seem to like acana as well although he prefers is more than BW..nowadays i have to mix his kibbles with something sweet like orange juice like that to make him eat... sweat.gif
are u sure dogs can take orange juice or lemon juice???
Better just add some water enuf. If u wan, can add some glucose.

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Sep 11 2007, 12:05 PM)
how come seapark pet supplies so popular oh?their stuff cheaper ah?
issit located near the mcD or the hawker center there near ss2 morning market
their stuff not cheap also. They r popular coz they sell a variety of kibbles and accessories mah.
joanalooidog
post Sep 14 2007, 12:12 PM

2,823 posts

woah, let dogs eat strawberry and kiwi also ah, then i can go buy strawberry and kiwi youghurt for FIFI ade. I makan 80% of it, left 20% for FIFI, brows.gif
joanalooidog
post Sep 14 2007, 02:49 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Sep 14 2007, 12:19 PM)
joana, dats wat i do always..
wakkakaka..
no wonder xx and jj so wai sik lah, like the owner........
joanalooidog
post Sep 17 2007, 09:14 AM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Sep 17 2007, 08:08 AM)
Hahaha... yeap yeap, good thing got place to discuss with you guys or else I sure headache liao. My Acana havent open as I still have some Innova left. I'll write in after he starts eating Acana.
i haven open my Acana puppy for FIFI also. Mayb after u let casper try it, give some review here. See Casper like it or not. The poo poo also oh...........
joanalooidog
post Sep 17 2007, 03:46 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(HugoBoss @ Sep 17 2007, 02:32 PM)
Can giv oranges wan meh? hun say citrus cannot de wor.
Mochi detected.............. laugh.gif

wat kibbles have u bought??
joanalooidog
post Sep 19 2007, 09:23 AM

2,823 posts

i think just dun bother about the review, if afford feed better food(Orijen, CN,Innova...). If not, feed average food loh(BW, Eukanoba, BilJac,....).If ur pup is ok with it, then ok loh, if not change loh..........
Not everytime expensive means good mah.........

This post has been edited by joanalooidog: Sep 19 2007, 09:24 AM
joanalooidog
post Sep 19 2007, 04:10 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Sep 19 2007, 03:30 PM)
I think I'll try Orijen first.  biggrin.gif

after u got a puppy then talk lah, haha...........
and i can 99% sure the 1st pack u buy is not orijen. Coz the 1st pack u need to buy is the kibbles which the puppy is taking before u can change to Orijen slowly. And i can assure that most of them(not all) are not feeding Orijen. flex.gif
joanalooidog
post Sep 24 2007, 11:57 AM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(t3ngt3ng @ Sep 24 2007, 10:46 AM)
my bobo is a shih tzu..super duper hyper crazy fella  tongue.gif
now her hair very long d...can tie 2 'horns'  laugh.gif
bobo getting very fat when i feed her wit Innova evo..den her skins got some problems. duno whether izit coz of the dog food..so i make a switch lo. so far Canidae is quite good..i feed her the lamb n rice flava n she likes it compare to Innova evo  thumbup.gif
oh, BOBO taking Canidae ah?? How long is she taking it?? just wanna estimate how long can FIFI take Canidae.

And how much u feed her per day?? roughly?
joanalooidog
post Oct 16 2007, 09:46 AM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Oct 15 2007, 09:51 PM)
i heard that nutro choice is not a very good brand, is it true ?? Any comment on this ??  What about the taste??  My dog is on BW mixed with Eagle Pack and he doens't like it ... basically i think it's bcoz of da taste - kinda blant sweat.gif
one of my groomers recommend Nutro lamb&rice wor.....Her MS also makan this one, the fur nice and poo not smelly.

I've tried Nutro Chicken, Nutro Lamb, Acana Small Breed puppy, Acana salmon, Acana Lamb, BW Lamb, BW Puppy, Eagle Pack Holistic, Canidae ALL Life Stage......... (of course all sample pack lah)
Since FIFI is 7 months old, she started to lost interest on her kibbles. Last time when she's young, she'll just sapu all the kibbles and ask for more. Now ah, smell smell, then walk away.........Especially breakfast time, like no appetite. Dinner time is better, if morning eat little, dinner will finish her kibbles automatically.

If i add water to her kibbles, she'll eat them. But i seldom do so as her fur will be dirty.
I think when FIFI reaches 10 month old, I'll feed her only once a day lah, dinner only, then only she'll makan all her kibbles, easy job for me.

Syrian, i think disregard of the kibbles' brand, try add water to Hepy's kibbles, i think he'll makan one.

This post has been edited by joanalooidog: Oct 16 2007, 09:47 AM
joanalooidog
post Oct 16 2007, 11:58 AM

2,823 posts

I think nutriedge has nicer smell than others, and the taste is better i think. But as u know lah, nicer and stronger smell = smelly poop lah, haha..........
I too already had tried so many kibbles liao, besides orijen and nutriedge(the 1st kibbles being fed to FIFI), but yet result still the same.........problem can be solved by adding water into it doh.gif
Now dun bother lah, just give her Acana Puppy Small breed. Plan to feed once a day, confirm makan one, hungry lah.
joanalooidog
post Oct 16 2007, 12:09 PM

2,823 posts

nutriedge no sample lah..........i get nutro choice, acana, EP, Canidae sample pack from a small grooming shop at Kuchai lama.
The acana small breed puppy looks nice, kibbles size is the smallest i think. But for FIFI, still the same lah..........
If not mistaken Mikey's mommy still got Acana Puppy, u can get from her as she wanna switch back to BW.
joanalooidog
post Oct 16 2007, 02:01 PM

2,823 posts

actually i think so-so means good lah. so-so = not allergic, no diarhea, no rashes, no skin problem, then ok loh.........
The main concern is how deep is our wallet lah, haha........
One comment on BW from me, so-so also (means ok lah), but poop alot, haha...........
Actually i've found one way lah. Get a so-so brand kibbles, not too expensive, maybe +/- Rm40 per 3kg, then plus with some supplement, would be better.
Now i'm having Vitaplus fish-oil capsule. I get the 300 capsule big bottle from watson during promotion, price forgot. Anyway its cheaper than fish oil for dogs lah.
The fishoil capsule i also got makan daily, good for heart. Then I'll give FIFI 3 tablets per week. just poke a hole, then squeeze on the kibbles. I prefer squeeze directly into her mouth, coz she will dirty her face easily, and the fishy smell will stay on her fur for the whole week.

joanalooidog
post Oct 17 2007, 08:52 AM

2,823 posts

Orijen's main protein source is chicken rite?? same like acana puppy?

I also notice got a bit 3 pimples on FIFI's tummy and neck, sei loh..........dunno wat problem lah, been swtiching food from chicken to lamb and back to chicken, but still the same. Bring to vet last time, then no more rash, but she still continue the scratching.
Now give a try on acana puppy, if got obvious rashes again, then need to see vet again lah, hai.......
joanalooidog
post Oct 19 2007, 04:25 PM

2,823 posts

bought a packet of Canidae lamb last nite, feed FIFI with it.
Normally for other kibbles, she will go sniff sniff then go away. WHen i ask her to eat again, sayang her, at least she will makan abit, then only walk away.
When i try canidae, sniff sniff, go away, langsung dun wanna eat.... doh.gif
Then i pick one piece and feed her, she spit out, sniff sniff then walk away doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Now i really know that Canidae really does not taste good, aroma also not strong.
Now need to starve her for 1 or 2 days, see she wanna eat back her kibbles or not. If not, whole bag wasted............
SHIH TZU R NO.1 PICKY EATERS.................
joanalooidog
post Oct 22 2007, 10:21 AM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(junnie87 @ Oct 22 2007, 02:10 AM)
i only feed innova evo.. no time to cook for them..
hey, bubu and chacha not picky to kibbles ah?? u experience b4??
Just wanna say, Canidae is a good brand. But if u wanna feed ur dog with Canidae, better start when it is still young like 3-4 months old. Or else, very very susah oh.............
FIFI now everyday only eat a little bit, sometimes whole day dun wanna eat. I know she's hungry, but just dun wanna eat her kibbles. If got other human food like boiled potatoes, carrots, or fruits like apples, pears, she'll wallop all!!! Now no more human food or treats for her, but shih tzu really stuborn lah.................
Will try for another week. If really dun wanna eat, have to change kibbles lah, susah oh..............
joanalooidog
post Oct 26 2007, 10:00 AM

2,823 posts

if not mistaken the preservative is vitamin E, which is better than the artificial one rite???
joanalooidog
post Oct 29 2007, 08:56 AM

2,823 posts

last week just bought a 1kg pack Nutriedge Lamb and Rice, then try to feed FIFI with it. She straight away wallop the whole bowl. doh.gif
Now mixing Canidae with it to encourage her eat, must finish the remaing Canidae Lamb.
Nutriedge really smells better, and the ingredients looks good too, no corn no soy. But for that price, quite alot of filler (rice).
Anyone else feeding Nutriedge to ur furkid????

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0680sec    0.12    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:36 PM