113 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.34, Need To Buy Laptop..? Please Come In

Mikeshashimi
post Aug 10 2021, 01:26 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Aug 10 2021, 12:54 PM)
how long can wait? or need it urgently?
Kinda urgent but can wait also if its worth it biggrin.gif
ZM Fong
post Aug 10 2021, 02:47 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Aug 10 2021, 01:26 PM)
Kinda urgent but can wait also if its worth it  biggrin.gif
zizheng
post Aug 10 2021, 03:15 PM

87 posts

hello hello, kindly recommend laptop for the below
budget: 4-5k
usage: gaming
waiting period: anytime
installment if available

Mikeshashimi
post Aug 10 2021, 03:44 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Aug 10 2021, 02:47 PM)

thanks sifu~! notworthy.gif
ZM Fong
post Aug 10 2021, 04:08 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(zizheng @ Aug 10 2021, 03:15 PM)
hello hello, kindly recommend laptop for the below
budget: 4-5k
usage: gaming
waiting period: anytime
installment if available

no good options under RM5k for now, mind waiting a bit?
zizheng
post Aug 10 2021, 05:00 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Aug 10 2021, 04:08 PM)
no good options under RM5k for now, mind waiting a bit?
yea, how long is the wait and what expected laptops are there? thanks sifu
ZM Fong
post Aug 10 2021, 05:26 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(zizheng @ Aug 10 2021, 05:00 PM)
how long is the wait
i have no idea unfortunately
zizheng
post Aug 10 2021, 08:55 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Aug 10 2021, 05:26 PM)
i have no idea unfortunately
oh ok, gotcha. no good deals for the lenovo L5 with vouchers at the moment?
ZM Fong
post Aug 10 2021, 09:08 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(zizheng @ Aug 10 2021, 08:55 PM)
oh ok, gotcha. no good deals for the lenovo L5 with vouchers at the moment?
good deals are gone, still got discount if u want to buy but not as much as previous
Nidz
post Aug 10 2021, 11:34 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

Hi, I'm looking for a laptop for my wife.

1. Budget : around rm3k (but willing to consider upwards to rm4k)

2. Usage : office use, internet surfing, and some basic graphic works such as designing infographics (using adobe illustrator)

3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) : want a lightweight (important), screen size preferably 13 inch (if 14" but still lightweight also can), standard battery is sufficient, willing to wait 1-2 months.

ZM Fong
post Aug 11 2021, 12:23 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Aug 10 2021, 03:44 PM)
thanks sifu~!  notworthy.gif
note that those are prices with coupons

if u want to know how to apply, PM
QUOTE(Nidz @ Aug 10 2021, 11:34 PM)
Hi, I'm looking for a laptop for my wife.

1. Budget : around rm3k (but willing to consider upwards to rm4k)

2. Usage   : office use, internet surfing, and some basic graphic works such as designing infographics (using adobe illustrator)

3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) : want a lightweight (important), screen size preferably 13 inch (if 14" but still lightweight also can), standard battery is sufficient, willing to wait 1-2 months.
This ok?

if you fine with 8GB soldered RAM:

8GB soldered+low sRGB, but Thinkpad:

note that prices are with coupon

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Aug 11 2021, 12:23 AM
Traveler
post Aug 11 2021, 01:38 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

Hi all,

Am planning to get the Alienware X15 soon, to take over from my current Alienware 13 R3. Have some questions on this config if anyone here can comment on:

1. Am looking to DIY upgrade the original SSD to a 2TB Samsung 980 Pro (PCIe Gen 4)
2. Am looking to add a 2nd SSD: 4TB Sabrent Rocket (PCIe Gen 4).

- question: Does the X15 support 4TB SSDs? I know it supports 2x 2TB, but I don't know if it supports 2 + 4.
- question 2: I've read some discussion that only SSD Slot 1 support Gen 4 while SSD Slot 2 supports up to Gen 3 only. However, others have said that both slots are Gen 4. Anyone know the definitive answer?

3. CPU - i7 (seems that the i9 version is not available in Malaysia)
4. GPU - RTX3080

Any comments or thoughts that I should keep in mind before I pull the trigger?
lovingforyou
post Aug 11 2021, 07:59 AM

373 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by lovingforyou: Aug 11 2021, 08:01 AM
lovingforyou
post Aug 11 2021, 12:16 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Aug 11 2021, 01:38 AM)
Hi all,

Am planning to get the Alienware X15 soon, to take over from my current Alienware 13 R3. Have some questions on this config if anyone here can comment on:

1. Am looking to DIY upgrade the original SSD to a 2TB Samsung 980 Pro (PCIe Gen 4)
2. Am looking to add a 2nd SSD: 4TB Sabrent Rocket (PCIe Gen 4).

- question: Does the X15 support 4TB SSDs? I know it supports 2x 2TB, but I don't know if it supports 2 + 4.
- question 2: I've read some discussion that only SSD Slot 1 support Gen 4 while SSD Slot 2 supports up to Gen 3 only. However, others have said that both slots are Gen 4. Anyone know the definitive answer?

3. CPU - i7 (seems that the i9 version is not available in Malaysia)
4. GPU - RTX3080

Any comments or thoughts that I should keep in mind before I pull the trigger?
While waiting for other expert sifu providing answer
For 3. CPU - i7
You can select i9 CPU after select RTX3080 and 32GB ram, the i9 option will pop up
Traveler
post Aug 12 2021, 12:38 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(lovingforyou @ Aug 11 2021, 12:16 PM)
While waiting for other expert sifu providing answer
For 3. CPU - i7
You can select i9 CPU after select RTX3080 and 32GB ram, the i9 option will pop up
I checked with Dell, and they said the SSD slots support up to max 2TB per slot. Max of 4TB total.

Just FYI, current delivery time is 30-35 business days.

Thanks for your info on how to choose the i9 option. Pulling the trigger and breaking my wallet today.

presario9
post Aug 12 2021, 02:34 PM

210 posts

hello guys,

Can you suggest me a good gaming/work laptop please. My preferences are 14-15 inch, very very good cooling and less noise, AMD ryzen, good enough GPU (no need very high end here), 16gb ram at least, 500gb ssd.

Don't have any preference on weight or battery hour. but will be added bonus if light and long battery hours.

max budget RM7k
need it urgently

This post has been edited by presario9: Aug 12 2021, 02:36 PM
ZM Fong
post Aug 12 2021, 03:22 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(presario9 @ Aug 12 2021, 02:34 PM)
hello guys,

Can you suggest me a good gaming/work laptop please. My preferences are 14-15 inch, very very good cooling and less noise, AMD ryzen, good enough GPU (no need very high end here), 16gb ram at least, 500gb ssd.

Don't have any preference on weight or battery hour. but will be added bonus if light and long battery hours.

max budget RM7k
need it urgently

you can't expect silent noise from gaming/performance laptop

if u want very very good cooling, laptops might not be the choice - or perhaps something with 17 inch chassis, VC cooling, thick and heavy, loud fans

anyway, you can consider Lenovo Legion 5 82JU004RMJ
presario9
post Aug 12 2021, 04:59 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Aug 12 2021, 03:22 PM)
you can't expect silent noise from gaming/performance laptop

if u want very very good cooling, laptops might not be the choice - or perhaps something with 17 inch chassis, VC cooling, thick and heavy, loud fans

anyway, you can consider Lenovo Legion 5 82JU004RMJ
yup make sense.

anyway, apart from legion 5, any other model you can recommend for to compare?
ZM Fong
post Aug 12 2021, 07:15 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(presario9 @ Aug 12 2021, 04:59 PM)
yup make sense.

anyway, apart from legion 5, any other model you can recommend for to compare?
refer to here
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4771329
redclarity
post Aug 12 2021, 07:37 PM

318 posts

Hi sifus, I have a lot of questions to ask.

Been using windows and hp loyally for a decade, but I think its time for me to migrate. I got my eye on the dell xps13 and macbook air m1. I'm leaning towards the mac, but I've never used one in my life. How hard is it migrating to mac os? I have a wd external drive, do I need to format it for the mac to read it? Or just plug and go? What about transferring files from my android phone to the mac, as breezy and easy as windows or any hurdle to jump through first?

Apple or dell? My main preference is light and good typing experience. I've tried the huawei matebook, levono yoga slim, not so keen on them. Supposedly microsoft surface can be challenging for repair, is that true?

Also, is mac expensive for repairs once the warranty runs out? Oh one more thing, macbook air has no fan and seller told me it didnt matter because m1 is that efficient. How true is that? My room is not airconditioned and gets pretty hot sometimes, and there are times when i work for a day straight. Can macbook air with no fan tahan that?

Any advise is much appreciated, thanks.

113 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:34 PM