kmarc
post Oct 6 2007, 05:52 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Oct 6 2007, 04:31 PM)
Nvidia decided to raise the specs by another 16 scalar shader units, so the 8800GTS will now feature 112 scalar shaders, 16 less than 8800GTX/Ultra. Clockspeeds remain the same, as do thermal and other specs.

But there are a lot of miffed Nvidia partners, crying foul over the situation. Imagine the surprise of AIBs that have thousands of printed retail boxes with old specs.
But then the performance will be near that of the 8800GTX.... hmm.gif

I think they can overcome that problem by putting stickers with new info on those retail boxes.... nod.gif
kmarc
post Oct 8 2007, 11:03 PM

14,576 posts

Hopefully, their overclockability are better than current 8800 GTS. Like my GTS, at 600mhz core speed, the shader core is already at 1.4Ghz.

More SPs but then only 256-bit memory interface. If they can't OC that much, then their performance might not be far off from current GTS. Like mine, can OC to core/shader/ram - 648/1620/972mhz...... some people's GC can go even higher that that!!!
kmarc
post Oct 9 2007, 08:15 PM

14,576 posts

Nice comparison between Nvidia and ATI in DX10 games : http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/10/09/dir...tout/index.html

Looks like the 8800 GTS (vs 2900XT) still wins most of the test except for some benchmarks.

Also showing the advantages of 640mb vs 320mb although the advantage may not be that great.... smile.gif

P.S. Beware of one benchmark where the 8600GTS is faster than the 8800GTS!!!! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
kmarc
post Oct 13 2007, 09:03 AM

14,576 posts

I don't think anybody knows yet. Needs real world games benchmark before anybody can say for sure.

For me, I would place my bet on the 8800GT......
kmarc
post Oct 14 2007, 01:36 PM

14,576 posts

Now, these benchmarks looks much more logical as compared to the previous one.

As expected, the GT with more SP fares better as compared to the older GTS. Looks like smaller memory bandwidth doesn't really cripple the GT...... hmm.gif
kmarc
post Oct 14 2007, 03:36 PM

14,576 posts

Even though the level of OC is impressive (690/2080mhz), it is not much as compared to it's pre-factory OC (650/2000mhz). I guess that's the limits of the 8800 series cards. Even my plain vanilla 8800 GTS 640mb can go 648/1944mhz, which in terms of fps, the difference would be minimal.....

For a price premium of USD 412 (around rm 1.4k), that would be expensive as compared to current 320mb versions that can be bought for rm900!!! Of course, for those avid gamers and those with $$$, that shouldn't be a problem..... smile.gif

Eh? The 2900XT's GPU is cooler that the 8800GTS? hmm.gif

And look at the advantage of 640mb of rams, page 8. Even at 1280x1024, the 640mb version pwns the 320mb version!!! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Oct 14 2007, 03:43 PM
kmarc
post Oct 14 2007, 03:47 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 14 2007, 03:44 PM)
For rm1400 it'd be quite silly to buy it. Better jsut get the GTX fpr a couple hundred bux more.
Yeah, I agree. However, there are people out there with $$$$$$$.$$$$$ shocking.gif blink.gif sweat.gif So, I guess this card is everything to them.... laugh.gif Performance lose to GTX yes, but mainly for the OC and the 'fatal1ty' I guess.....
kmarc
post Oct 15 2007, 11:24 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Oct 15 2007, 11:05 PM)
wow my speculation for the 8800gt spec is true

damn look at the shader clocks!!!

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/516165/+620

no wonder the fella can get those high scores 2250!!!!
Errr... the link is to this page.... sweat.gif
kmarc
post Oct 16 2007, 05:05 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Oct 16 2007, 10:06 AM)
Just plain vanilla XFX 8800GTS 320mb. Actually, its benchable @ 700/1750/1150 but its unstable, game would hang within 5-10 mins. 650/1625/110 is the most stable setting as for now, proven by looping an overnighter 3dm06.
To me, 3Dmarks or any 3D games/apps would not be able to detect small artifacts. It is best to use ATItool "artifact scanning" for that. However, some people don't believe in this tool either...... sweat.gif
kmarc
post Oct 17 2007, 08:56 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(likito @ Oct 17 2007, 08:10 PM)
hi , i have a question to ask , how many 8800gts 320/640 watt usage ! ?
Recommended at least a 400w PSU with at least 26A on the +12v rail.

However, it is advisable to have a higher wattage PSU, preferably one with true power....
kmarc
post Oct 19 2007, 09:59 PM

14,576 posts

Interesting benchmarks on the 8800GT. However, I think the GTX will still be faster in shader-intensive games. Guess we have to wait for more benchmarks.

In addition, if the price of the 8800GT is around RM 1K, guess how much 2nd-hand GTX/Ultra is going to be.... hmm.gif
kmarc
post Oct 25 2007, 08:54 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Oct 25 2007, 07:35 PM)
wahhh 2560x1600 res u using??????
other than this factor... 8600GTS shud work well...

Added on October 25, 2007, 7:45 pm
ya....
1. GT win GTS with Stream Processor(SP) by 16.......BUT!!
2. GT(16) lose GTS(24) in texture Unit by 8
3. GT(16) lose GTS(20) in Rastor operation by 4
4. GT(256bit) lose GTS(320bit) in bandwidth by 64bit...

hence GT it has lower pixel fill rate, texture fill rate & memory bandwidth compared to GTS...... but again..
it win GTS in shader operation quite alot...

and the the important factor is its cheaper than GTS(old) even in its new release....

so how was the new GTS going?????? 19th november?? not much news about it
Wow! You're now an expert in the GT and GTS huh? thumbup.gif

When are you going to get yours? The GT has reach our shores! Go grab one quick quick!!! laugh.gif
kmarc
post Oct 27 2007, 06:37 PM

14,576 posts

Some more benchmarks especially on DX10 games: http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/dis...dx10-part2.html

Nice to see that more GC rams do make an impact in certain games. Check out the benchmarks, especially the 640mb vs 320mb 8800GTS....

Too bad no 8800GT.....
kmarc
post Oct 27 2007, 09:55 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 27 2007, 09:46 PM)
Any1 tortured their 8 series cards with Crysis yet? I'm 3 hours estimated time to download complete. Can't wait.
Already. Downloaded in 2 hours.... whistling.gif (In London now, 256kb/s on average..... whistling.gif )

I tortured my lappy's Nvidia 8400M G onboard graphic.... doh.gif Was running on everything at low setting, about 0.5 fps..... rclxub.gif

Can't wait to get back home to try on my 8800GTS.... drool.gif
kmarc
post Oct 27 2007, 09:58 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(stanley85 @ Oct 27 2007, 09:56 PM)
with 8800gts 320mb, i only can play with medium setting. high and very high will make my pc vrey lag. sad.
Really? Ouch! Anybody tried with their 640mb? hmm.gif

kmarc
post Oct 28 2007, 12:07 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Oct 28 2007, 12:04 AM)
will quad cores really help a lot? or a dual core already enouff? I think GC will influence much more than processor... hmm.gif
Dual core should be enough but the more cores the better, and make it 64-bit too! See here : http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/98121-...-runs-quad-core

See crysis requirements and multi-core performance below (see bolded words):

Source here : http://www.incrysis.com/wiki/index.php/Cry...em_Requirements

Although you should note the part on this "in a recent PC Gamer UK magazine preview Cevat Yerli said an Intel Core 2 Duo E6600, 2GB RAM, and an NVIDIA GeForce 8800 card could run the game at "ultra detail" settings." rclxub.gif rclxub.gif Maybe at 320x200 setting....... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Oct 28 2007, 12:16 AM
kmarc
post Oct 28 2007, 02:04 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Oct 28 2007, 01:42 AM)
more than tat... card already 5k.. with quad 6k.... LOL.. CRAZZZZ.. u need another PSU.....1k?... and super monitor.. at least 22".... 1k?.... super ram 4gb? 2k?.....raptor?...... OMG total up 10k already..... GILA!

Added on October 28, 2007, 1:50 am

from tat BOLD explanation...
let take single core have 100score
DUALcore is 200-300% faster single core... means 200-300score.... make it 250score as average
QUADcore is 300-400% faster than single core... means 300-400score... make it 350score as average

so DUALcore vs QUADcore..... 250 vs 350... which QUAD about 40% faster than qualcore..

ofcoz tat is general... we need to include the L2cache, proc speed, bus all that into count..... tongue.gif... so izzit wise to get quadcore??? some ppl said the game doesnt use up all 4 cores........
Of course la cannot believe them that much. That's why the last statement was also a bit unbelievable, seeing that some of our forumers are getting poor frame rates even only on high settings.

The facts haven't changed. If you have to choose, then GPU power better than CPU power. Of course, with a quad, it is an added bonus..... smile.gif
kmarc
post Oct 28 2007, 08:29 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 28 2007, 08:22 PM)
rm5k buy gfx cards oso habis d lor. laugh.gif
I just loaded the new 169 driver n Crysis demo. Will try it n tell u guys how it performs with Quad cores, GTX SLI at 2560x1600, max gfx options. Hopefully got 2560 option. laugh.gif
You can also manually set the configuration in the game.cfg file. This file is in documents/my games/Crysis SP demo.... smile.gif

Note : It is not in the crysis folder.

Anyway, on my lappy, I set it to 640x480 with every low, haha my notebook was really in a crisis.... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Oct 28 2007, 08:31 PM
kmarc
post Oct 29 2007, 03:23 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 29 2007, 12:56 PM)
Wokeh. I just tried Crysis n it made my rig kneel down n beg for mercy. laugh.gif  True to what Cevat Yerli said in 1 of the interviews, though the game was developed using the 8800GTX, the game is made to torture top end rigs for the next 3 years. In the interview I read, he said a current top spec rig with 8800Ultra/GTX SLI, Quad core CPU, can only play Crysis at Max gfx settings n 1280x1024. 
Here's the settings I tried:-
2560x1600, Very High gfx options-  5FPS! laugh.gif
2560x1600, High gfx options- 10-15FPS
2560x1600, Med gfx options- 30-40FPS  This is the setting I play at. Acceptable framerates n still enuf eye candy. A lil bit of lag.
2560x1600, Low gfx options- 50-60FPS  Very, very good framerates n super smooth with no lag at all. This is the best setting for gameplay actually but the gfx looks terrible. The grass even looks like cardboard. I rather suffer a lil bit of lag n haf eyecandy than this horrible setting.

1680x1050, Very High gfx settings- about 20FPS. Still unplayable at this setting.

1280x1024, Very High gfx settings- average 30FPS. Playable. I played for 10 minutes at this setting. The gfx is just mind blowing at Very High.
Oh I forgot to state the test set up.  As per my sig. Q6600 at 3ghz, 8800GTX SLI at stock speeds. Later I will OC the gfx cards to a nice daily use OC of 630/1500/1000 n c if my framerates improve at 2560x1600, Med settings. Will also try teh Q6600 at 3.6ghz to see if more CPU mhz helps at all.
LOLZ. Edit again.  I just found out the Crysis demo is not running on SLI. Only the actual release will run on SLI. That is great news. That means I can probably play at 2560x1600, High gfx settings when the game is released with SLI support.
Incredible. Even a GTX is in crysis when playing crisis..... whistling.gif

What I'm interested is in the 1280x1024 settings as my LCD can only go that high. Looks like at very high settings my GTS 640mb will probably get 20fps on average..... sad.gif

You sure SLI is not supported? I mean, in the demo, they use SLI cards right? hmm.gif

QUOTE(Ezonizs @ Oct 29 2007, 02:32 PM)
LOLZ i hope this TRIPLE SLIED 8800 Ultras can do at all MAX settings without any problem  sweat.gif

1 X ultra = RM2.2k . 3 X = RM6.6K  rclxub.gif someone gonna be crazy if he got a TRIPLE SLIED rig  doh.gif
This Triple SLIEd 8800GTX
Doesn't need to be ultras. Can be Tri-SLI GTXs.....

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 29 2007, 02:40 PM)
After realising that it doesnt support SLI yet, I'm not gonna bother with it for now. Later when the official game launches with SLI then I will test everything again. Now single card wasting time oni. laugh.gif
Well, I'll be 1 of those gilas running 8800GTX Tri SLI for sure when it's enabled.  brows.gif
Hmmmm...... will it be possible to fit 3 GTX with HR03 .... drool.gif
kmarc
post Oct 29 2007, 07:56 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 29 2007, 07:07 PM)
no thanks....aint ditching my GTS for the GT.... kinda pointless to me. if i ditch itll be for 9 series (if it ever comes out la tongue.gif)

anyway....so far all the demo tests on single card. SLI not supported yet....so no point saying now oso anyway.

which is also the reason i aint bothered to try it out...lazy wanna do the whole driver thingy etc etc.
Yeah, I don't understand why people are selling their 8800GTS so fast. Afterall, if you do sell it now, you'll lose money anyway. I'm hoping to keep this card for at least 1-2 years more.... smile.gif

QUOTE(wodenus @ Oct 29 2007, 07:51 PM)
Crysis is a weird game w/lots of bugs still... maybe it's a bug, but... why can't  you use your own gun in the vehicle ? why can't you use binoculars in the driver's seat ? why isn't there a crouch toggle ? and worst of all. why can't you use a weapon when you're in water ? I mean, you don't need your hands to tread water smile.gif  and even if you did, how come you can use your binocs in water but you can't use your weapons ? smile.gif  8600GT/E2140/2GB RAM runs fairly well in 1280x1024 (optimal resolution for this monitor).
All games got bugs. Just need to kill each one when they come out.... laugh.gif

Errr...... in real life, normal weapons can't be used underwater, let alone get submerged underwater in the first place!!! Cool! Use binocs underwater to see fishes or some mermaids.... thumbup.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.9873sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:43 AM