Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V3

kmarc
post Sep 6 2007, 02:18 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Sep 6 2007, 01:35 PM)
lets start off with a news

G92 is said to be 8700GTS, 65nm, 256bit bus, 8 layer pcb and 512MB GDDR3 1ns ram

good spec to fill gap between 8600 series and 8800 series

http://www.vr-zone.com/articles/Nvidia_G92...0_GTS/5236.html
That's bad news. Was hoping for a next gen card that is able to beat the 8800GTX/ultra...... sad.gif

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Sep 6 2007, 02:04 PM)
as from previous post in V2...

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=13125769

the ar5211.sys crashed bsod solved by removing the wifi nic but the gpu still can't work in its factory oced speed (550/900), it still freeze up during atitool 'show 3d' and 'artifact scan'... lowering it too stock 8800gts speed (500/800), problem solved... while running atitool in 550/900 speed, it does show some bsod before it restarts, but it just to quick to even be notice... anyway i can know wat's the problem???

i want the card to work in it's factory oced speed... the core i can set till 600mhz trouble free, it juz the stooooopid vram...

should i juz send it back for RMA??? or maybe vmod (pencil) the vdimm can help solve my problem??? i can't find many factory pre oced 8800gts with 900mhz ram speed... funnily, i can run all 3dmark05 n 3dmark06 trouble free... but gaming is a no no... i'm trying to avoid the RMA route as much as possible, coz it might takes me weeks for it to come back...
The fact of the matter is that the card can't run at it's predetermined OC speed. And as such, should be considered defective. Don't forget that there could be some other problems with the card which is not yet noticeable.....

Have you thought of flashing the BIOS? hmm.gif
kmarc
post Sep 6 2007, 02:44 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Games For Windows @ Sep 6 2007, 02:36 PM)
I am using a Dell Dimension 1520 laptop. Where can I get the latest Nvidia 8600M GT graphics drivers? I can't play the new Bioshock PC demo because it requires the latest 163.44 Forceware drivers. I searched high and low but can't find it anyway... why should this ever happen? It's an Nvidia product and hence, shouldn't there be support for it?
ps: has the price of ANY 8800 GTS dropped yet...??
How about nvidia website?

No, the prices hasn't dropped yet.

Anyway, for those deciding on whether to get the 8800GTS 320mb or 640mb, here's another reason why the 640mb might be better : http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/biosho...mance/page7.asp

In any case, today's latest graphics cards are more than capable of handling BioShock with a little AA. GeForce 8800 GTS 320MB users may want to turn down the graphics settings, and/or keep the resolution at 1600x1200 (or lower) to avoid the choppiness we encountered. Fortunately NVIDIA is aware of the problem and working on a solution that can hopefully be fixed with a newer driver. If you're cross-shopping the GeForce 8800 GTS 320MB and 640MB, you may want to spend the extra $80 or so and get the GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB. If you recall, we found the 320MB card didn't have enough memory to run World in Conflict well with AA either.
kmarc
post Sep 6 2007, 02:47 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Sep 6 2007, 02:43 PM)
Behold the "Octopus Waterblock"
Looks cool. However, my first thought was that the potential for leaking is much much higher!!! sweat.gif

kmarc
post Sep 6 2007, 07:19 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Sep 6 2007, 07:00 PM)
bro..this card is not for beating 8800 series laa..is jus fill in the gap between 86 and 88 series like previous 79gs..same time ATi aso gona release 2900pro..hot fight  sweat.gif
Yeah, that's why I said it is bad news......

Anyway, I just got a reply from ASUS regarding downclocking the card. They said can use 3rd party software to downclock (which I already knew!!! doh.gif ). Had to ask them again whether it is safe to downclock the card in 2D mode (as the voltages are still the same).....
kmarc
post Sep 7 2007, 03:21 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Games For Windows @ Sep 7 2007, 03:17 PM)
Aa ha.... well then I will use 640x480 or 800x600... with AA
I enjoy playing games even at 640x480 or 800x600 WITH AA, the graphics on screen look a bit blurrish, further taking away 'jagged' looks, fine example is DiRT which I just can't stop playing.

First, I thought of getting an 8600 GT... I was told not to... get the 8800 GTS 320Mb
Then, I finally decided its the 8800 GTS 320Mb I should get after various reviews and feedbacks
Now, even the 8800 GTS 320Mb isn't good enough? Nothing will ever be good enough except two 8800 Ultra in SLi mode

I ain't rich... and 'affordability' is one the buying points here, the 320Mb 8800 GTS almost fits my budget, almost, not quite just yet... anything more expensive and I would just say sayonara and grab an 8600 GT/GTS...
Have you considered 2nd hand 8800GTS 320mb? Selling for <1k in garage sales. What's your budget anyway?
kmarc
post Sep 9 2007, 09:31 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Games For Windows @ Sep 8 2007, 10:57 PM)
Less than (or close to) RM1,000. That's it.

current 7800GTX - Plays BioShock like a charm in DX9, although 1280x1024 struggles a bit
8600 GT - I could get one right now and turn on DX10 in BioShock, however performance would be lower
8600 GTS - err.. a little faster than the above card
8800 GTS - a hot babe indeed... and DX10 BioShock would be damn gorgeous, however AFFORDABILITY is an issue (still is..)
8800 GTX - yeah right, like that's ever gonna happen TO ME after 7800GTX burnt a big hole in my wallet, no way, no way...

Not just saving to play BioShock better, but Crysis and 2008's Alan Wake
Plus... Vista Ultimate cost me $$$  sweat.gif

"...gaming is not cheap on the PC, but rarely has anyone doubted the PC's full potential, ever..."
quoted by me
Errr.... 7800GTX is more than enough for current games. nod.gif

If you read reviews on Bioshock and DX10, the only difference between DX10 and DX9 in that game is the soft edges. Other than that, there are no other noticeable differences.

My advice is to wait for newer DX10 games that take advantage of DX10 features e.g. crysis.... smile.gif

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Sep 9 2007, 02:19 AM)
is it nvdia planing to launch their g92 and g98 tis nov? as if they are mid and low end card?i was planing to get ultra or gtx...but with this news i am not sure will it effect...as g90 is not yet release...might be at Q1 08....confuese  rclxub.gif
News is saying that they will launch the G92 first, to fill the gap between the 8600 and 8800 cards. As such, they are supposed to be slower than the 8800 series GC....
kmarc
post Sep 9 2007, 05:47 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Games For Windows @ Sep 9 2007, 05:07 PM)
7800 GTX's performance is awesome, but DX10 games (that I have thus far)...
Company of Heroes
BioShock
Flight Sim X DX10 patch

I just don't understand... why these guys release DX10 GPUs when there are so little games to take advantage of...
I read http://www.gamespot.com/features/6177688/p-5.html
and found that THE ONLY noticable difference between DX9 and DX10 in BioShock are that the water effects are slightly different...
Yeah, that's the reason why I think you can still wait. I'm sure crysis would show better utilization of DX10 features.... nod.gif
kmarc
post Sep 11 2007, 01:58 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(likito @ Sep 11 2007, 12:42 PM)
new price for 8700gts
512mb $249
256mb $199
In what currency? hmm.gif
kmarc
post Sep 11 2007, 02:35 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(likito @ Sep 11 2007, 02:13 PM)
is US dollar .
haha , if ringgit malaysia ,  drool.gif
IC. I was hoping maybe Singaporean dollars..... laugh.gif
kmarc
post Sep 14 2007, 07:29 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(slash @ Sep 14 2007, 05:53 PM)
The wierd thing abt atitool artifact test is even though the words there say no errors, the logfile balloons and is filled with "artifact detected" logs.
Remember that each time artifacts are detected, you need to lower your OC and ALSO reset the artifact scanning (that means restarting the artifact scanning). If not, that's what will happen..... smile.gif

An easier and faster way to see whether any artifacts has occured is too look at the time the artifact scanner has been running (shown at the top of the 3D box) vs. the time no error has been detected. If the time no error has been detected is shorter, that means artifacts was detected prior to that....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Sep 14 2007, 07:34 PM
kmarc
post Sep 15 2007, 07:38 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(stanley85 @ Sep 15 2007, 03:05 PM)
wow...did you replace with another fan for ur card? or you using water cooling? hmm..i only manage to set up to 640+/940+, but with stock fan + an additional cheap fan (cost me RM8, anyway it help to oc abt 20/20 for the gpu/ram and lower the temp by 2-5c) on top of the 3d card..lol

not dare to change the fan myself, scare if i make some mistake the whole vga card spoil.. :/
I think they were talking about the 8600GT ultra..... smile.gif For my 8800 GTS 640mb, the max I could go was 648/972mhz... sad.gif

QUOTE(jinaun @ Sep 15 2007, 07:18 PM)
guys... 8800gtx now retails for rm1699
Really? Where? What brand? hmm.gif
kmarc
post Sep 16 2007, 07:40 PM

14,576 posts

I don't think the major brands have dropped their prices yet. Why should they? Anybody has any info on this? hmm.gif
kmarc
post Sep 18 2007, 07:50 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(stanley85 @ Sep 18 2007, 06:36 PM)
hmm...with stock cooler? if yes..much better than mine leh.. lol
Yeah, stock cooler. Not much better that yours ma.... Just a few mhz higher only.... smile.gif
kmarc
post Sep 21 2007, 10:01 PM

14,576 posts

Wei, 2x 8800GTS SLI not enough ka? sweat.gif sweat.gif

I'm sure your rig will fly through every game at max setting? smile.gif
kmarc
post Sep 21 2007, 10:21 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Sep 21 2007, 10:08 PM)
Coz everyday I char his GTS say not good enuf. So now he itchy to get GTX lar. LOLZ.
LOL. Don't poison people's mind la. Even one 8800 GTS is already enough ma.... smile.gif

That's why for me, I sticking to my 19' inch LCD at 1280x1024..... if I get widescreen, then I have to think of GTX/Ultra/SLI sweat.gif

Added on September 21, 2007, 10:24 pm
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 21 2007, 10:21 PM)
laugh.gif enough la...for now...but kinda worried about UT3 man... tongue.gif

that and also what ianho said lor... somemore the feller oso always trying to poison me into a 30" LCD doh.gif (which i will NOT be buying in the near future tongue.gif)

nvm...will wait when UT3 come out.. if cannot ....then my LCD TV fund will turn into my Ultra SLI fund laugh.gif
Yeah, like I said above, don't get poison!! 30" LCD???!!?? sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Sep 21 2007, 10:24 PM
kmarc
post Sep 23 2007, 11:11 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(sting79 @ Sep 23 2007, 10:57 PM)
eh if can wait another 2 months for crysis release and NV 8900/9800, then even better...
for me, waited >6mths for 8series price to drop, but since i bought a 24" LCD about 1month+ back, to hell with the waiting game  biggrin.gif
got an ULTRA and then shifted my gaming time to play 100% 3D PC titles (used to rotate 50/50 between PS2 & PC)...
if want to get 8800 now, try get a 2nd hand 8series card lor nod.gif
I'm surprised. Prices for 8800 series card has already dropped. Check out bulk prices, especially the 8800 GTS 320mb..... http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/521998
kmarc
post Sep 24 2007, 11:57 PM

14,576 posts

Waiseh..... so cool!!! Have you tried comparing the overclocking potential between stock heatsink and the HR03 heatsink?

Man, real jealous la..... smile.gif
kmarc
post Sep 27 2007, 01:05 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Sep 27 2007, 04:03 AM)
for my overclocking test bench I use all Thermalright coolers like in this pic. The CPU cooler is the latest Thermalright cooler now. It's called IFX14.

The 8800GTX is using Thermalright HR03 Plus. They r retailing it for rm199 IIRC.
Uncle! That's going to be your primary rig aaa? Now, I'm not only jealous, I'm MAHA jealous!!!

Just one question, if you consider the cost of all the nice TR heatsinks, would the money spent be better spent on a water-cooling rig?
kmarc
post Sep 27 2007, 02:13 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Sep 27 2007, 01:53 PM)
Is it that cheap? Its nice even for 320MB. Great buy. thumbup.gif
Yeah, it is apparently that cheap. Unbelievable huh? Check it out in bulk!
kmarc
post Sep 27 2007, 06:36 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(CityLife @ Sep 27 2007, 05:06 PM)
Anybody got the latest price for the 8800 series?
Bulk prices go here : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=521998&hl=nvidia

One of the cheapest so far.... smile.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0393sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:51 AM