122 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Chinchilla- Totoro, All are welcome!

TSChinchillas
post Jul 27 2008, 02:36 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(vincent_cbl @ Jul 27 2008, 12:48 AM)
hello...."chinchillas"....
the shaving wood bedding can i change it to the hay bedding?
hehehe....
and do you have any aood vet's phone number around kuala lumpur
in case my chin got promblem i could bring them too the good vet....
Hay is not adviceable to use as bedding, it will get spoil, chin will eat it and get sick.
saramic
post Jul 27 2008, 07:45 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jul 20 2008, 11:26 AM)
Hi saramic,
There is many 'level' of condition of not create a artificial cooling enviroment for chinchilla. I have know many many chins owner, not providing AC. The only thing need to know is is the house temperature is too high. Some houses tent to be very hot even tho is double story, down stay still will feel like an oven, some apartment is hot, some apartment is ok, some single story house also have some spot is in ok level.
A chinchilla live in temperature above 25C will not hv good fur, will eat less, and need dust bath very often to maintain they fur and is not in safe zone of not begin overheat. Because they have about 60-80 hairs sprouting from each hair follicle, human begin have 1-3 hairs sprouting from each hair follicle ONLY. Chinchilla or any pet doesnt not tolerate at all smoking, smoker is definately can't own any animal basically, but the world now is you hv money you can buy the animal. sad.gif Here you can do a simple test to see how warm it would be for your chinchilla in a particular place- Dress 3 t-shirt + 1 sweeter in a corner/place that you going to place your chin, stand there for 15mins.
I see the time you reply, is 4:22AM! I think you are very suitable with animal that is nocturnal(awake at night), provided you not a smoker.
Create an artificial enviroment of their kind will definately be a yes to chinchilla.
Thanks for the quick tip on testing the temperature.
Will try it out once I've moved into my apartment.
Yes I'm nocturnal & that's why I decided to get sugar gliders & because of that too I've quit smoking together with my bf.
Having pets is just like having children & I only want whats good for them hence the reading & understanding the needs of the pet.
icon_rolleyes.gif

heng84
I'm so sorry for your lost...

This post has been edited by saramic: Jul 27 2008, 07:45 PM
heng84
post Jul 27 2008, 08:55 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(saramic @ Jul 27 2008, 07:45 PM)
Yes I'm nocturnal & that's why I decided to get sugar gliders & because of that too I've quit smoking together with my bf.
Having pets is just like having children & I only want whats good for them hence the reading & understanding the needs of the pet.
icon_rolleyes.gif

heng84
thanks for caring, im still missing something every morning i wake up. haha i always go down and change newspaper every morning and massage him before work, now i have nothing to do cry.gif hmmm good luck in hunting chinchilla, but i advised u to get ur chinchilla from a reputable breeder le (hehe you know who), you wouldnt be worried about their background history. you will definitely love it till the max. but make sure you did good research, so that you wont end up like me

Added on July 27, 2008, 9:42 pmthis type of cage can get in malaysia?. and mr chinchilla where did u buy those woods in the picture. is pine wood?

http://cgi.ebay.com.my/SIMBA-DEGU-CHINCHIL...1QQcmdZViewItem

This post has been edited by heng84: Jul 27 2008, 09:42 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jul 27 2008, 10:50 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(saramic @ Jul 27 2008, 07:45 PM)
icon_rolleyes.gif

heng84
Good to hear you choose to quit smoking, that is not only for your pet, the most important thing is for yourself. Female smoking will result, age faster, die faster, stink like a pig farm, highest chances get breast cancer, skin look like a sand paper. Always think of how many ppl out there fighting to live(cancer patient) we still want to choose killing our self by smoking? blush.gif

Any time you ready can PM me if you wish to get chinchilla from me. laugh.gif

Added on July 27, 2008, 10:55 pm
QUOTE(heng84 @ Jul 27 2008, 08:55 PM)
thanks for caring, im still missing something every morning i wake up. haha i always go down and change newspaper every morning and massage him before work, now i have nothing to do  cry.gif  hmmm good luck in hunting chinchilla, but i advised u to get ur chinchilla from a reputable breeder le (hehe you know who), you wouldnt be worried about their background history. you will definitely love it till the max. but make sure you did good research, so that you wont end up like me

Added on July 27, 2008, 9:42 pmthis type of cage can get in malaysia?. and mr chinchilla where did u buy those woods in the picture. is pine wood?

http://cgi.ebay.com.my/SIMBA-DEGU-CHINCHIL...1QQcmdZViewItem
Those cage is not available in our country, if you really planning, seriously want to get a chin coming future, then invest a good cage in the near future, I suggest you order directly from U.S " Martin Cage" , very good quality and is very tahan lama. laugh.gif http://www.martinscages.com/products/cages/chinchilla/

About the untreated pine wooden house, I special order, you can only get it from me, no other place in Malaysia at this moment you can get. blush.gif

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jul 27 2008, 10:55 PM
heng84
post Jul 28 2008, 12:35 AM

307 posts

these cages can ship back to msia , have to pay tax n duty? wood get from other country?
shingin
post Jul 28 2008, 12:53 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jul 27 2008, 10:50 PM)

About the untreated pine wooden house, I special order, you can only get it from me, no other place in Malaysia at this moment you can get. blush.gif
Do you sell the untreated pine wooden house now? If yes, can you show me the picture of it, dimensions and of coz the price. My chin's hay house dying soon... sad.gif
TSChinchillas
post Jul 28 2008, 10:50 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Jul 28 2008, 12:35 AM)
these cages can ship back to msia , have to pay tax n duty? wood get from other country?
Yes can ship in, but you will get tax a bit, how much tax I am not sure. Wooden house get from me.

Added on July 28, 2008, 10:55 am
QUOTE(shingin @ Jul 28 2008, 12:53 AM)
Do you sell the untreated pine wooden house now? If yes, can you show me the picture of it, dimensions and of coz the price. My chin's hay house dying soon...  sad.gif
Will be getting new stock within this few days, once I get it, will PM you the detail. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jul 28 2008, 10:55 AM
heng84
post Jul 28 2008, 06:20 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jul 28 2008, 10:50 AM)
Yes can ship in, but you will get tax a bit, how much tax I am not sure. Wooden house get from me.

Added on July 28, 2008, 10:55 am
Will be getting new stock within this few days, once I get it, will PM you the detail. biggrin.gif
ic ic, hMmM... can afford the cage but the shipping fee is a bomb!!!!!!!!!. hMmm, ok how about those wooden floor where ur chin can stand on it u have it too ?
TSChinchillas
post Jul 28 2008, 08:14 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Jul 28 2008, 06:20 PM)
ic ic, hMmM... can afford the cage but the shipping fee is a bomb!!!!!!!!!. hMmm, ok how about those wooden floor where ur chin can stand on it u have it too ?
I don't have that.
heng84
post Jul 28 2008, 11:41 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jul 28 2008, 08:14 PM)
I don't have that.
eh, then how come ur pictures theres chinchilla standing on the wood, where u get them from? come with the cage?
TSChinchillas
post Jul 29 2008, 12:22 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

The wood is the wooden house.
Fynaivory
post Jul 30 2008, 11:14 AM

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jul 23 2008, 10:17 AM)
We all learn together, when ever you put 1 male and 1 female in the same cage, you ARE A BREEDER.

1 of my Hetero Beige chin.

Added on July 23, 2008, 12:42 pmWithout Flash
With Flash
Babies time.... Very hard to take Black chinchilla photos... smile.gif

Oh my, the babies are soooooooooo cute biggrin.gif i like i likeee, i want to get chin one soon! brows.gif

and to heng, im really sorry for you lost.
shingin
post Jul 30 2008, 01:02 PM

145 posts

How I know whether my chin is having diarrhea?

Since yesterday, one of my chin's poo poo is very moist. the shape of the poo still look the same but a bit fatter and some come out like a sausage (connected in a string) some of the poo poo might accidentally stick on the hair. If my chin step on it it will become flat and messy of coz. otherwise the poo poo will dry up and will look like normal poo poo.

I am very worried after knowing Heng 84's incident. Currently my chin's appetite has reduce 20-30%. He will eat the hay instead of pellet (which really worried me, as pellets are usually his favourite). Thank god that he is still active and still drink water.

I read through some website... which recommend to feed the chin with wheat. Thought of going to get some organic wheat tonight.

Just for additional info: I don't give my chins any treats after advise by you, only given timothy hay, alfafa and kaytee pellets. Water is clean too. Sand bath every 2-3 days once. The only thing that I am suspecious of is the hay house (but I have checked, no mould woh). And the other chin is alright (both chin is staying separately)...

Chinchilla... I really very worry. Pls advise me something. If you need to look at the poo poo I can take pic to show you. Thank you

This post has been edited by shingin: Jul 30 2008, 01:05 PM
stardust
post Jul 30 2008, 01:28 PM

454 posts

maybe u can stop giving alfafa hay for a while.
TSChinchillas
post Jul 30 2008, 04:00 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(Fynaivory @ Jul 30 2008, 11:14 AM)
Oh my, the babies are soooooooooo cute biggrin.gif i like i likeee, i want to get chin one soon!  brows.gif
and to heng, im really sorry for you lost.
O great! Come and join us!!!!!! flex.gif flex.gif

Added on July 30, 2008, 4:02 pm
QUOTE(shingin @ Jul 30 2008, 01:02 PM)
How I know whether my chin is having diarrhea?

Since yesterday, one of my chin's poo poo is very moist. the shape of the poo still look the same but a bit fatter and some come out like a sausage (connected in a string) some of the poo poo might accidentally stick on the hair. If my chin step on it it will become flat and messy of coz. otherwise the poo poo will dry up and will look like normal poo poo.

I am very worried after knowing Heng 84's incident. Currently my chin's appetite has reduce 20-30%. He will eat the hay instead of pellet (which really worried me, as pellets are usually his favourite). Thank god that he is still active and still drink water.

I read through some website... which recommend to feed the chin with wheat. Thought of going to get some organic wheat tonight.

Just for additional info: I don't give my chins any treats after advise by you, only given timothy hay, alfafa and kaytee pellets. Water is clean too. Sand bath every 2-3 days once. The only thing that I am suspecious of is the hay house (but I have checked, no mould woh). And the other chin is alright (both chin is staying separately)...

Chinchilla... I really very worry. Pls advise me something. If you need to look at the poo poo I can take pic to show you. Thank you
Don't worry, diarrhea is very common happen. Yes, as stardust said, you need to stop feeding alfalfa hay right now, just give him pellet and lots of timothy hay. It should be be return normal soon. You can cut down the pellet now, like cutting 50% away, this will force him to eat more hay. By now you should know how much pellet he eat a day, cut half, he is ok. You can add orchard grass to encourage eating.

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jul 30 2008, 04:05 PM
shingin
post Jul 30 2008, 06:09 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(stardust @ Jul 30 2008, 01:28 PM)
maybe u can stop giving alfafa hay for a while.
Thank you so much for your advise... I will stop feeding alfafa for awhile.

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jul 30 2008, 04:00 PM)

Added on July 30, 2008, 4:02 pm
Don't worry, diarrhea is very common happen. Yes, as stardust said, you need to stop feeding alfalfa hay right now, just give him pellet and lots of timothy hay. It should be be return normal soon. You can cut down the pellet now, like cutting 50% away, this will force him to eat more hay. By now you should know how much pellet he eat a day, cut half, he is ok. You can add orchard grass to encourage eating.
May be this is the 1st time happen to my chin, so I feel a bit nervous. I was so scared + worried and keep on catch him out and check from the top to the bottom (may be I am too rough and I got bitten and bleed), I think that might be another reason why he has reduce his appetite (not happy with me). I will try not to hold him for awhile and hopefully everything will be back to normal. Thanks a lot, I will follow your advise...
stardust
post Jul 30 2008, 09:49 PM

454 posts

my chin finally let me hold him after 3 weeks. although he still bite me sometimes. keeping a chin is harder than i thought. i have to spend time with him , hand feed him everyday to make him familiar with me .
now i have no problem holding him .
TSChinchillas
post Jul 30 2008, 11:31 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(shingin @ Jul 30 2008, 06:09 PM)
Thank you so much for your advise... I will stop feeding alfafa for awhile.
May be this is the 1st time happen to my chin, so I feel a bit nervous. I was so scared + worried and keep on catch him out and check from the top to the bottom (may be I am too rough and I got bitten and bleed), I think that might be another reason why he has reduce his appetite (not happy with me). I will try not to hold him for awhile and hopefully everything will be back to normal. Thanks a lot, I will follow your advise...
If your chin bite you till bleed mean :

1. Your holding position is wrong.

2. He is very stressful begin hold by you, don't disturb him for FEW WEEKS, that will help him recover faster. Stress will also make him have diarrhea.

When you want to hold a chin, make sure is SCOOP UP, not CATCH from top or anyway, UNLESS emergency needed to do that. I will suggest you leave him alone, let him have much of privacy as possible including sleep. Don't go check him untill he awake or feel nervous, everything THINK of his wild life. Think like how he want if he in the wild, like darkness, quite, cold, dry, lots of hay.... smile.gif

My chin will nip me if he feel hot begin hold and want to go back to cage or let lose.
shingin
post Jul 31 2008, 12:54 AM

145 posts

Normally my chin dun bite me and let me hold him. Only today I was too panic and kept on taking him out and checking his body. Too many shits sticked on his fur due to the diarrhea and I kept on helping him pull out the shit and his fur oso together pulleed out. I know it hurts but I really can't think of any other way. I think my chin oso cannot tahan then bite me loh.

Just now I used different way already. Used wet cloth to remove the shit and oso clean the legs, then put him in the sand bath. At least he looked happier and didn't bite me already. Wow, this afternoon if I didn't scream, I think my chin will continue biting and won't let go.

At least I learnt my lesson... should think b4 do.
stardust
post Jul 31 2008, 07:40 AM

454 posts

shingin , u use sand bath or dust bath ? i think dust bath is better for chin .

122 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:54 AM