Chinchilla- Totoro, All are welcome!

TSChinchillas
post Jul 31 2008, 11:35 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(shingin @ Jul 31 2008, 12:54 AM)
Normally my chin dun bite me and let me hold him. Only today I was too panic and kept on taking him out and checking his body. Too many shits sticked on his fur due to the diarrhea and I kept on helping him pull out the shit and his fur oso together pulleed out. I know it hurts but I really can't think of any other way. I think my chin oso cannot tahan then bite me loh.

Just now I used different way already. Used wet cloth to remove the shit and oso clean the legs, then put him in the sand bath. At least he looked happier and  didn't bite me already. Wow, this afternoon if I didn't scream,  I think my chin will continue biting and won't let go.

At least I learnt my lesson... should think b4 do.
Actually you can just wait till your chin diarrhea clear of before attend to clean him up, take in and out many time it will definately stress your chin. Let's him recover, then give him a nice dust bath. Using wet cloth is a no, chin fur should not be wet and cannot be wet, cannot clean him like you cleaning rabbit, he need EVERYTHING IN DRY FORM. Rememeber. biggrin.gif
shingin
post Jul 31 2008, 08:53 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(stardust @ Jul 31 2008, 07:40 AM)
shingin , u use sand bath or dust bath ? i think dust bath is better for chin .
oppsss... not sand bath, is dust bath.

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jul 31 2008, 11:35 AM)
Actually you can just wait till your chin diarrhea clear of before attend to clean him up, take in and out many time it will definately stress your chin. Let's him recover, then give him a nice dust bath. Using wet cloth is a no, chin fur should not be wet and cannot be wet, cannot clean him like you cleaning rabbit, he need EVERYTHING IN DRY FORM. Rememeber. biggrin.gif
Although my chin still having diarrhea, but his appetite is getting better than earlier. I fed him timothy and he has eaten it (Thank god).

I have read though some websites saying that if chin's fur is wet or damp, it may cause fungus. That's why I bathe them with dust bath after using wet cloth. Better safe than sorry, I will not use anything wet items to clean my chin anymore.

This post has been edited by shingin: Jul 31 2008, 08:54 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jul 31 2008, 10:57 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Ya it will get fungus, that's why chin fur cannot get wet. biggrin.gif
heng84
post Aug 1 2008, 07:54 AM

307 posts

u need to monitor his weight, make sure it doesnt lose too much, diarrhea definitely gonna lose some but not too much and if im not mistaken adult weight should not be lower than 400g or else it will fail to survive ,i read from some website, correct me if im wrong
shingin
post Aug 1 2008, 06:32 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Aug 1 2008, 07:54 AM)
u need to monitor his weight, make sure it doesnt lose too much, diarrhea definitely gonna lose some but not too much and if im not mistaken  adult weight should not be lower than 400g or else it will fail to survive  ,i read from some website, correct me if im wrong
My chin is only 5 months old, not yet adult right? ermmm... I oso not so sure, however, I will find my way to measure his weight. Need to get a digital weighing scale 1st...

Heng, is ur chin active when he/she having diarrhea? my chin seems like ok... I would say normal and appetite oso ok... but diarrhea still quite bad. Now I have to everyday clean the tile for him.

This post has been edited by shingin: Aug 1 2008, 07:10 PM

stardust
post Aug 1 2008, 08:03 PM

454 posts

shigin , my chin also use tat pattern to sleep .
tat piece is marble ??
TSChinchillas
post Aug 1 2008, 08:13 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(shingin @ Aug 1 2008, 06:32 PM)
My chin is only 5 months old, not yet adult right? ermmm... I oso not so sure, however, I will find my way to measure his weight. Need to get a digital weighing scale 1st...

Heng, is ur chin active when he/she having diarrhea? my chin seems like ok... I would say normal and appetite oso ok... but diarrhea still quite bad. Now I have to everyday clean the tile for him.
Don't worry, your chin hv showing sign of active and appetite that is good sign. 5 months old still a baby chin. You can have any other chin younger or same age with him with no problem in introducing.

Digital weighing scale is a good investment, go walk around some kitchen department to find one that show in GRAM.

Added on August 1, 2008, 8:15 pm
QUOTE(heng84 @ Aug 1 2008, 07:54 AM)
u need to monitor his weight, make sure it doesnt lose too much, diarrhea definitely gonna lose some but not too much and if im not mistaken  adult weight should not be lower than 400g or else it will fail to survive  ,i read from some website, correct me if im wrong
Ya, sometime will lose abit of weight if pellet begin pull out. If feeding just hay, will show even obvious, but that is for a while, after thing clear, chin can pump up very fast. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Aug 1 2008, 08:15 PM
shingin
post Aug 1 2008, 10:23 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(stardust @ Aug 1 2008, 08:03 PM)
shigin , my chin also use tat pattern to sleep .
tat piece is marble ??
haha, really? my another chin dun sleep like that. Btw, your chin is a male or female? the one that I posted is a male.

not marble... is tiles, for cooling purposes. They like to stand or sleep on it...
TSChinchillas
post Aug 2 2008, 12:20 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(shingin @ Aug 1 2008, 10:23 PM)
haha, really? my another chin dun sleep like that. Btw, your chin is a male or female? the one that I posted is a male.

not marble... is tiles, for cooling purposes. They like to stand or sleep on it...
If you can get Marble it will be even better,Marble keep cold very well, of cos it keep hot also very well...
stardust
post Aug 2 2008, 06:33 AM

454 posts

mine is male.
ya , its better to use marble. u can get 1 square foot of marble less than rm 30.00.
Carinmanfong
post Aug 2 2008, 01:36 PM

174 posts

the way ur chin sleeps is very cute!! wub.gif
heng84
post Aug 2 2008, 01:42 PM

307 posts

hmm mine is active , eating well, but he is losing more than gaining due to the diarrhea, as i said, i oso dunno for whta reason, 3hours ago hopping here and there actively, next few hours lying on the side already. but might be losing too much weight ler (still, my chin look fatter than the one that mr chinchilla posted when he was in singapore trying rescue the chinchillabut the owner gave to another ppl).
hope urs will be fine soon, the weight on ur chinchilla seems to be ok physicalling la, but i think the best is use weighing scale, use those for baking cake oso can mah cheap and easy,
shingin
post Aug 4 2008, 01:19 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Aug 2 2008, 12:20 AM)
If you can get Marble it will be even better,Marble keep cold very well, of cos it keep hot also very well...
oh really? I will go find one then... will get some for my rabbits too =)

QUOTE(stardust @ Aug 2 2008, 06:33 AM)
mine is male.
ya , its better to use marble. u can get 1 square foot of marble less than rm 30.00.
ooohhh, I think only the male will do that.
I will go find the marble soon... as for the weather is getting worse and worse, I better do something for my pets.

QUOTE(Carinmanfong @ Aug 2 2008, 01:36 PM)
the way ur chin sleeps is very cute!!  wub.gif
haha... thank you, I will tell Rocky (my chin) later.

QUOTE(heng84 @ Aug 2 2008, 01:42 PM)
hmm mine is active , eating well, but he is losing more than gaining due to the diarrhea, as i said, i oso dunno for whta reason, 3hours ago hopping here and there actively, next few hours lying on the side already. but might be losing too much weight ler (still, my chin look fatter than the one that mr chinchilla posted when he was in singapore trying rescue the chinchillabut the owner gave to another ppl).
hope urs will be fine soon, the weight on ur chinchilla seems to be ok physicalling la, but i think the best is use weighing scale, use those for baking cake oso can mah cheap and easy,
Digital weighing scale is quite expensive though. At the moment I thought of replacing the hay house to pine wood house, which I have ordered from Chinchilla. Eventually I will still get one [ so I got excuse to learn how to bake cakes =) ]

Rocky is recovering now, less moist poo poo and more dry poo poo as I have observed. I have completely stop feeding alfafa. Only giving small amount of pellets and a lot of timothy. I a bit surprise that he choose to eat the hay then only the pellets. A bit weird though... suddenly change appetite. But the amount he can eat is back to normal, in fact I think the in take of hay has increase from previous.

Ermm, I am just guessing... is there any possibility that your chin got poisoned or may be accidentally ate some plastic items? I hope you can find out the cause of your chin's death and cont. keep chin when you are ready.

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif Thanks a lot to chinchilla and stardust as your advise works and my chin is recovering now.

This post has been edited by shingin: Aug 4 2008, 01:26 PM
stardust
post Aug 4 2008, 05:16 AM

454 posts

no problem at all.glad to hear tat ur chin is doing fine now.
i'm also newbie ,still learning from chinchilla shifu.
getting my 2nd chin this thursday lor. now very excited.

shingin
post Aug 4 2008, 07:11 PM

145 posts

wow... cool!!! you are having new chin. Bought it from chinchilla?
TSChinchillas
post Aug 4 2008, 11:07 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Glad to heard your chin is recovery shingin, I believe soon he can back to his normal diet in full strenght.

The case for Heng's chinchilla can be have many unknown reason. I seen and encounter many difference cases of diarrhea in chinchilla and sometime you can't even know what when wrong WITH NO SIGN OF SICKNESS AT ALL. Some bacteria and virus which maybe no harm to us at all, but to chinchilla it may be killing.

Chinchilla/Rodent family been know to hv very delicate stomach, that's why chinchilla is used as an animal model include study of Chagas disease, Gastrointestinal diseases, Pneumonia, Listeriosis, as well as of Yersinia and Pseudomonas infections.

I am also learning everyday and do research often as to keep my self equit to face anything that may happen for my chinchilla. biggrin.gif

Stardust will get his Tan chinchilla this coming few day, he have even BIGGER EVENT take place on 8-8-08, you guys can guess what even is it!
shingin
post Aug 5 2008, 12:31 AM

145 posts

ohhh... stardust, are you getting marry? Congratulation!!! (if you are)

stardust
post Aug 5 2008, 12:54 AM

454 posts

ha.. ya ya . i'm going to kahwin this friday .

TSChinchillas
post Aug 5 2008, 04:22 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Congratulation to STARTDUST become a STAR this Friday! icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif rclxms.gif
shingin
post Aug 5 2008, 06:06 PM

145 posts

Wow... Happy to hear that =)

CONGRATULATION AGAIN!!!!!

122 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:05 AM