8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Chinchilla- Totoro, All are welcome!

shingin
post Aug 29 2008, 12:11 AM

145 posts

Guahaha... it is my turn to show off my chins blush.gif but my camera not that good and end up the colour of my chins a bit off and the fur oso not so clear, pai seh pai seh.

Pebble: yum yum yum

Rocky: y r u staring at me?

This post has been edited by shingin: Aug 29 2008, 10:25 PM
shingin
post Sep 6 2008, 12:17 AM

145 posts

>< how come only a few of us post our chin's pic?

Other chin's owner pls post/share your chin's pic with us la ><
shingin
post Sep 8 2008, 09:54 PM

145 posts

Some more pics ^^

This post has been edited by shingin: Sep 8 2008, 09:56 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
shingin
post Sep 8 2008, 11:07 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Sep 8 2008, 10:23 PM)
yeah! Finally you post more photos! They look lovel, cute! Your chin is getting bigger too.... good la, keep it up!

Make me also want to shoot some photos and post! flex.gif
Yeah yeah... faster shoot more pics and share with us...

drool.gif I can't wait to see your chin... hehe
shingin
post Sep 9 2008, 08:36 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(valjean @ Sep 9 2008, 10:21 AM)
Nice tan you have there. Care to post more photos of your tan chin. hehe.
thank you tongue.gif

actually it is quite hard to take chin's pic... coz they dun like flash. But I will try my best

Added on September 9, 2008, 8:42 pm
QUOTE(11Jan @ Sep 9 2008, 12:11 PM)
WOW all the chin pictures really make me cannot 'tahan' hahaha MUST GET CHIN FAST!!

Shingin, you also have a huskie?? That is another pet that i want badly, but too bad.. staying in apartment  sad.gif
oooooooohhh... not good not good. Imagine you r taking care a giant chinchilla (but husky fur are rough and hard), eat more shit more, drink more pee more, fur oso drop a lot rclxub.gif

Added on September 9, 2008, 8:44 pmchinchilla... I like the second pic... wow, got white belly

This post has been edited by shingin: Sep 9 2008, 08:44 PM
shingin
post Sep 9 2008, 11:12 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 8 2008, 11:57 PM)
My gawd... such cute chins!

OK, here are some new pics. My chin still has a hump... but he is not shy anymore, eats alot of hay.

I like you chin's ears. A lot bigger than my chin's ears. Jealous la ><

Added on September 9, 2008, 11:13 pm
QUOTE(shayne @ Sep 9 2008, 09:46 PM)
Let me introduce our rescued chinchilla @ FLUFF

wub.gif chinchin wub.gif

[attachmentid=586882] [attachmentid=586884]
sorry for the low quality photos, we dun hav high-tech camera tongue.gif
Wow... from where you rescued this chin?
The photo looks ok to me... share more pics ya. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by shingin: Sep 9 2008, 11:16 PM
shingin
post Sep 9 2008, 11:18 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(dien @ Sep 9 2008, 11:15 PM)
i like this picture..
nice color too..  wub.gif
yeah yeah... looks like tan and oso looks like light grey. The best part is he/she got a very white belly thumbup.gif
shingin
post Sep 21 2008, 01:43 PM

145 posts

Happy belated "BIRD-DAY"!!! Hopefully I am not too late ><
I was away earlier on and now feel so out dated.
blush.gif I will be away for another 1 weeks... sad la.

QUOTE(11Jan @ Sep 14 2008, 05:01 PM)
I want APD and the flying saucer wheel.. still waiting for someone to bring those in tongue.gif
yea yea... I wan to buy tat too. But too ex la, browse through some website, Wah... the price very scary lah.
Chin, have u ever thought of make flying saucer and sell ar? drool.gif

Added on September 21, 2008, 1:49 pm
QUOTE(stardust @ Sep 18 2008, 03:13 PM)
my new light ebony chin . pic taken using camera phone.
Wow... you got another new chin ^^ so jealous. How many chins do u have now?
I finally manage to get someone (my siblings) to help me take care of my chin. Feed them once in two days. Read a lot recently and noted that chin dun like to move house/move to new places. I try not to create any stress for my chins. But the problem is my siblings donno how to change their bedding. Ermmm I dun think that is a big issue la. As long as someone willingly come to my hosue and feed my chins can liao. Thanks for your earlier offer.

Jan11: Thanks for your offer too. Hehe, if you need my to help you take care your rabbits I can do that for you ya ^^

This post has been edited by shingin: Sep 21 2008, 01:54 PM
shingin
post Sep 22 2008, 09:13 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(stardust @ Sep 22 2008, 12:07 AM)
shingin ,
i got 2 chin currently .
i think feeding once every 2 days is not enough .
everytime i pass the cage, i can see those hungry eyes staring at me.
i feed them when i see they hay almost finish .
Normally I feed twice a day. I only plan to feed them 2 days once when I am not around for a week. I am not sure whether I have feed them too much or wat coz they very selfom finish the hay and pellets in the bowl.

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Sep 22 2008, 12:43 AM)
She meant when she is not around, so I believe she put A LOT of pellet the bowl for them till can last for 2 days. It will work as long as the chin doesnt pee on the bowl.... sad.gif

You chin good appetite ah, good la, soon you see a chubby chin! biggrin.gif
Grey... Which pet family you saw CM?
hoho... thank god they nvr pee in the bowl before but alwaz poopoo inside. rclxub.gif

Btw, I saw 2 chins in Ikano on last weekend and got no price tag. The colour a bit weird, macam ada highlight. One tan with white and and one grey with white. Ermmm, they look wet or oily blush.gif

This post has been edited by shingin: Sep 22 2008, 09:18 PM
shingin
post Sep 23 2008, 09:30 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Sep 22 2008, 10:13 PM)
Dont worry, chinchilla won't over eat, they eat when ever they feel hungry, but always hv extra is the best. biggrin.gif

Really? Hm... I hv visit there recently. Now you know how to discern what is wet and oily biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif Tan with white? I think is beige. Grey with white? i think is mosaic. sweat.gif
The hair is tan/dark brown with some white hair between (u know highlight colour) not mosaic, more like standard grey with white hair in between grey.
shingin
post Sep 28 2008, 05:44 PM

145 posts

I was away for a week and I just came back yesterday (saturday) and noticed one of my chin "Pebble" was not responding well (not active, eat less and looks tired). Later I found out that the one who help me jaga my chins vmad.gif (my hubby) didn't close the cage properly on thursday nite and end up Pebble jumped out and ran around at the living room. He only found out in the next day morning (friday) and Pebble was sitting next to the cage, looks exhausted and lembut. Thank god she didn't run out and become longkang rat.

My hubby faster scooped her up and her eyes cannot really open big and body was very hot too. He straight away on the aircorn and blow directly at her for hours. He even curi curi came back home during office hr to see whether Pebble ok or not.

I was so mad and worried after knowing that. Sitting at the cage feeding her by hand (Donno why she just refuse to eat by her own). Luckily she will eat if I feed her but not a lot oso. This morning I noticed the shit oso lesser than normal. At least I can see she is more active compare to last nite. I feel very stress coz I completely have no confident to leave my chins to others anymore. My year end holiday going to "boil soup" oledi sad.gif

Chinchilla: Do u think it is a good idea to put my chins at Fluff while I am away. The owner do provide pet boarding if I am no mistaken.

shingin
post Sep 30 2008, 10:24 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(11Jan @ Sep 28 2008, 09:54 PM)
Hi Shingin, how's Pebble now? Hope she's better..
hehe... my Pebble is back to normal. Thank god tongue.gif

Added on September 30, 2008, 10:27 pm
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 28 2008, 10:07 PM)
Oh, Fluff don't provide boarding. There is one girl, Shayne, can contact her. She put her contact there and her ad about boarding there. Her boarding is home boarding but I do not know if she is free now or not.

I have browse through her thread earlier on, ermmm... at kepong or selayang if I have no mistaken. Will try to contact her and see how. Thanks ya smile.gif

Added on September 30, 2008, 10:29 pm
QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Sep 28 2008, 10:34 PM)

Added on September 28, 2008, 10:35 pmI believe Shingin's Pebble should be ok now. biggrin.gif
Yeap, she is ok now but I am not cry.gif Having fever now. I am only allow to online for awhile, time to take med and sleep soon.

Haha, you are rite... if my chin died oledi, I will kill my hubby to pray my chin hmm.gif

Added on September 30, 2008, 10:30 pm
QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Sep 28 2008, 10:36 PM)
A picture to cheer. blush.gif

Wow chin wrestling, best pic ever. I like to see chin's ear dropping down... very cute.

This post has been edited by shingin: Sep 30 2008, 10:33 PM
shingin
post Oct 2 2008, 08:12 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(meento @ Oct 1 2008, 08:50 PM)
hurmmmm wonder if they is anybody like 2 sell it under RM 300 ekekeke... tongue.gif

I pray to u God, do make some chinchilla owner sell her@his for chep2 price...  notworthy.gif
Wow, RM300 is definitely too cheap la. If you so lucky to find out where can get... let me know ar drool.gif I pay you "minum teh" money.

To buy a good quality chin will cost you a lot... to maintain the quality of the chin or taking good care of a chin, may cost you even more. You may need to consider that cost too. Taking care of a chin oso require a lot of patient and time. I hope you can be a chin owner and join us... Happy hunting smile.gif

This post has been edited by shingin: Oct 2 2008, 08:19 PM
shingin
post Oct 4 2008, 08:05 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(stardust @ Oct 4 2008, 04:43 AM)
additional -
chin will be very song to stay in a/c room .
i also recommend to use big cage to keep ur chin .
u can see them jump here , jump there. chase here , chase there.
very song to watch .
haha... then you will be very song to be grandpa coz you will having be baby chin later. brows.gif

Added on October 4, 2008, 8:22 pm
QUOTE(meento @ Oct 2 2008, 08:35 PM)
Haha thatnks Shingin...i will try...u have 2 totoro right?
How bout give me one, i take good care hehe.. brows.gif

Been reading a bit bout chinchilla...I tink patient and time are things that i could give...
Maintaining them with good quality nutrition and provide suitable house is also not the problem...
The thing is, to keep good care of ma own totoro, i need to place it in a 24/7 air-con environment...
Now that's going to be a bit of a prob..Ma house do have a/c, but i don't tink ma parents will let me on it all day long...
Any chinchilla owner here share the same prob like me...any solution dude... hmm.gif
I din provide a/c for my chin. What I normally do is, put my chin at the downstairs living room (coolest place in the house), then open the door during raining day and morning about 7am, to let some cold air blow in. Other than that I dun open window and door coz the outside temp is a lot higher than the indoor room temp ( especially during day time).

Dust bath them every 2 days once. Ermm at the moment I gave them tiles, will buy them marble soon. And I give them a fan as well, as least the hot air won't trap in between the fur... I noticed they like the wind blowing at them (ventilation purposes). Thermometer is a must to check the room temperature. Normally my room temp ranges from 29-30. During raining season is about 26.5-28. If I feel warm, I will definitely on the a/c for a few hrs.

Reason cannot on the a/c: Wow, my electricity bill is about RM300++ a month for 2 person only after I change to digital meter. I only on my upstairs a/c and 2 PC for 8-10 hrs a day. Complaint to TNB oledi but they said digital meter is more accurate (belt meter is not accurate) and soon all the residences will change to that as well. If I provide a/c for my chin it will be a heavy burden for me. blush.gif I few very bad for my 2 loved one.

This post has been edited by shingin: Oct 4 2008, 08:27 PM
shingin
post Oct 7 2008, 08:55 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(copyket @ Oct 7 2008, 01:05 PM)
11Jan, thx... actaully, after i posted the msg then only i realize there have been a lot of you talking abt this topic already... i still feel tempted to get one chinchilla, but i am too afraid too have kill them due to the hot weather... main reason is i don wish to become a killer, secondly is, the chinchilla i saw last wk cost RM690, n i havent add in all the cost for getting a nice cage plus some accessories.... it is a big investment to me, n another main thing i need to consider is i have to find a cool n chilling place for the chinchilla... unfortunately i am staying at the top floor of my house which is the room which trap lots of heat during the day n i cant place the cage downstairs coz there is 3 kids in the house and i guess my sis doesnt like the chinchilla fur to fly everywhere in the house... i don wanna to put the chinchilla in a sauna room... so... i guess i am just gonna wait till i get a better place to stay in the future...  =(  oh my god.... i once touched a chinchilla n their fur is sooooooooo comfortable.... how i wish i can own one very very soooooon....  =(
Ermm... you really sound very not ready to have a chin yet. Actually the fur is not the main prob, the main prob is the dust (after dust bathing)... your floor will become very dusty. Another prob is the flying shit. Kids might pick it up and...

In my opinion, kids (less than 12 yr old) and chin cannot come along. Chin is too fragile to be handle by kids.

Added on October 7, 2008, 9:00 pm
QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Oct 6 2008, 05:32 PM)
What is the meaning of "chinchi"????
hehe... I asked one of my jap fren brows.gif

11Jan... you naughty ar!!

Chinchin = bird bird

This post has been edited by shingin: Oct 7 2008, 09:02 PM
shingin
post Oct 8 2008, 08:34 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(stardust @ Oct 8 2008, 05:06 AM)
chin chin = bird bird
chin = bird

die lor , bet u have  alot of friend telling :
1.ur 'chin' is so cute so nice to hold .
2. i love ur 'chin'
3. ur 'chin' is so naughty
4. show me ur 'chin' , i wanna see ur 'chin'
5. take some pic of ur 'chin'
6 ........................

so guys, quickly buy a 'chin ' and show it to ur gal- friends.
Aiyooo... luckily I am a female not male sweat.gif

Added on October 8, 2008, 8:37 pm
QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Oct 8 2008, 01:08 PM)

Added on October 8, 2008, 1:09 pm
Hahha.... naughty stardust, he got SO MUCH of ideal to let people HOLD HIS CHIN! laugh.gif  icon_idea.gif  cheers.gif

I dun think stardust's wife will allow ppl hold his "chin" lor brows.gif he wan to be naughty oso susah

This post has been edited by shingin: Oct 8 2008, 08:37 PM
shingin
post Oct 11 2008, 01:09 AM

145 posts

cry.gif u alwaz make me jealous

I want your chin... sob sob
shingin
post Oct 11 2008, 01:27 PM

145 posts

Ermmm this is for human baby... anyone know where I can get a chinchilla version of gripe water? icon_question.gif

I wan my chin as big and as fat flex.gif as chinchilla's chin.

** hehe kidding only ar, if got oso I dun dare to feed sweat.gif

shingin
post Oct 12 2008, 02:23 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(11Jan @ Oct 11 2008, 06:56 PM)
Hey.. I've also been looking for baby gas drops for my bunnies. Not that they need it now, but it's very helpful when they have GI stasis as a result of gas. So far I have not found any.

The active ingredient to look out for is Simethicone. Although I can't find baby gas drops with Simethicone, there are adult gas meds which contain Simethicone, such as Maalox and Alucid. I have a bottle of liquid Alucid at home, in case of emergencies tongue.gif touch wood, have not needed to use it so far!

From what I've read, Simethicone is very safe for rabbits, don't need to worry about giving a higher dosage than required cos there won't be any side effects on the rabbit.. I understand that it's safe for chinchillas too. Am I right, Chinchillas/other chin owners?
I have read on some website, it is recomended to massage or press (softly) at the rabbit's stomach to prevent or reduce stomach gas. I alwaz do that for my rabbits since I have my rabbits. Ermm, not sure it works or not but at least better than nothing. But of coz the diet is very important as well.

Added on October 12, 2008, 2:41 am
QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Oct 11 2008, 10:09 PM)
Yes, Simethicone is one of the ingredient to treat chinchilla when there have bloat. Bloat is something chin owner should not/ don't want to see at all, cause chinchilla's guts once get affect BADLY moving, will very fast deteriorate/ mal-function, once it happen, chin will will in pain, then stop eating, dehydrate, and die...

So if chin owner keep on feeding fresh vege, corn, junk diet, or food which not suppose to eat by them, this bloat problem can occur over night, if serious affected, the chin will die in pain no matter what treatment you give.
sad.gif OMG, I donno chin will having the same prob as rabbit. Ermm, I dun think I can massage my chin's stomach ler... Dang!!! How ar?? anything (other than diet) that I can do to prevent this happen? I think GI Stasis is very rare for chin rite?

Added on October 12, 2008, 2:44 am
QUOTE(meento @ Oct 12 2008, 12:03 AM)
Haha i have been able to save RM200 diz month..
Hope few more month more i could get enough green 2 be a chin owner... drool.gif

By the way guys, 4 a future beginner like me what type of Chin should i begin with..
I mean, should i start with a grown chin? or dose chin has tame breed 4 beginners..

In the end, Chinchillas black chin is so so cute...hansom also... wub.gif
brows.gif hehe, soon and later u will become chinchilla freak like us. Welcome to join our chinmania clan.

This post has been edited by shingin: Oct 12 2008, 02:46 AM
shingin
post Oct 13 2008, 12:56 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Oct 12 2008, 03:40 PM)

Added on October 12, 2008, 3:47 pm
Yes, chinchilla will get GI static when something go wrong on their digestive system. Chinchilla is 1 of the most species have sensitive stomach. That's why hay is very very important for chinchilla, we can't be stingy on feeding fresh hay each day, be generous hay feeder, their will life healthy for loooooong time.
To prevent chinchilla have this problem, as I always said, dont feed junk, feed more hay, pellet n clean water. Sometime some owner will love to give some treat, i don't against it, but I am very straight on my chin diet.

You can get some organic ROLLED OAT to feed your chin 1-2 times a week, a small pinch will do, that will to pump him up abit. So far i personally notice, alfalfa hay do the good job too when you know how to use it properly. I always paid attention on the hay quality when i feed my chins, I give them 1-2 handful a day of hay each day, they just so happy to eat it for you.... flex.gif  biggrin.gif Not just chinchilla need to be generous on feeding hay, all rodent family MUST feed hay, good, clean, green hay. I will also add in 1 more type of hay on my 'collection' soon. smile.gif That is a complete hay feast  for them!
One of my chin can't take alfafa, not even a bit. He will strainght away get diarrhea after taking alfafa. Ermm, I will try to get the oat soon and of coz I will wait for your new hay to come.

This post has been edited by shingin: Oct 13 2008, 12:57 AM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:14 PM