Chinchilla- Totoro, All are welcome!

shingin
post Jul 30 2008, 06:09 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(stardust @ Jul 30 2008, 01:28 PM)
maybe u can stop giving alfafa hay for a while.
Thank you so much for your advise... I will stop feeding alfafa for awhile.

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jul 30 2008, 04:00 PM)

Added on July 30, 2008, 4:02 pm
Don't worry, diarrhea is very common happen. Yes, as stardust said, you need to stop feeding alfalfa hay right now, just give him pellet and lots of timothy hay. It should be be return normal soon. You can cut down the pellet now, like cutting 50% away, this will force him to eat more hay. By now you should know how much pellet he eat a day, cut half, he is ok. You can add orchard grass to encourage eating.
May be this is the 1st time happen to my chin, so I feel a bit nervous. I was so scared + worried and keep on catch him out and check from the top to the bottom (may be I am too rough and I got bitten and bleed), I think that might be another reason why he has reduce his appetite (not happy with me). I will try not to hold him for awhile and hopefully everything will be back to normal. Thanks a lot, I will follow your advise...
shingin
post Jul 31 2008, 12:54 AM

145 posts

Normally my chin dun bite me and let me hold him. Only today I was too panic and kept on taking him out and checking his body. Too many shits sticked on his fur due to the diarrhea and I kept on helping him pull out the shit and his fur oso together pulleed out. I know it hurts but I really can't think of any other way. I think my chin oso cannot tahan then bite me loh.

Just now I used different way already. Used wet cloth to remove the shit and oso clean the legs, then put him in the sand bath. At least he looked happier and didn't bite me already. Wow, this afternoon if I didn't scream, I think my chin will continue biting and won't let go.

At least I learnt my lesson... should think b4 do.
shingin
post Jul 31 2008, 08:53 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(stardust @ Jul 31 2008, 07:40 AM)
shingin , u use sand bath or dust bath ? i think dust bath is better for chin .
oppsss... not sand bath, is dust bath.

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jul 31 2008, 11:35 AM)
Actually you can just wait till your chin diarrhea clear of before attend to clean him up, take in and out many time it will definately stress your chin. Let's him recover, then give him a nice dust bath. Using wet cloth is a no, chin fur should not be wet and cannot be wet, cannot clean him like you cleaning rabbit, he need EVERYTHING IN DRY FORM. Rememeber. biggrin.gif
Although my chin still having diarrhea, but his appetite is getting better than earlier. I fed him timothy and he has eaten it (Thank god).

I have read though some websites saying that if chin's fur is wet or damp, it may cause fungus. That's why I bathe them with dust bath after using wet cloth. Better safe than sorry, I will not use anything wet items to clean my chin anymore.

This post has been edited by shingin: Jul 31 2008, 08:54 PM
shingin
post Aug 1 2008, 06:32 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Aug 1 2008, 07:54 AM)
u need to monitor his weight, make sure it doesnt lose too much, diarrhea definitely gonna lose some but not too much and if im not mistaken  adult weight should not be lower than 400g or else it will fail to survive  ,i read from some website, correct me if im wrong
My chin is only 5 months old, not yet adult right? ermmm... I oso not so sure, however, I will find my way to measure his weight. Need to get a digital weighing scale 1st...

Heng, is ur chin active when he/she having diarrhea? my chin seems like ok... I would say normal and appetite oso ok... but diarrhea still quite bad. Now I have to everyday clean the tile for him.

This post has been edited by shingin: Aug 1 2008, 07:10 PM

shingin
post Aug 1 2008, 10:23 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(stardust @ Aug 1 2008, 08:03 PM)
shigin , my chin also use tat pattern to sleep .
tat piece is marble ??
haha, really? my another chin dun sleep like that. Btw, your chin is a male or female? the one that I posted is a male.

not marble... is tiles, for cooling purposes. They like to stand or sleep on it...
shingin
post Aug 4 2008, 01:19 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Aug 2 2008, 12:20 AM)
If you can get Marble it will be even better,Marble keep cold very well, of cos it keep hot also very well...
oh really? I will go find one then... will get some for my rabbits too =)

QUOTE(stardust @ Aug 2 2008, 06:33 AM)
mine is male.
ya , its better to use marble. u can get 1 square foot of marble less than rm 30.00.
ooohhh, I think only the male will do that.
I will go find the marble soon... as for the weather is getting worse and worse, I better do something for my pets.

QUOTE(Carinmanfong @ Aug 2 2008, 01:36 PM)
the way ur chin sleeps is very cute!!  wub.gif
haha... thank you, I will tell Rocky (my chin) later.

QUOTE(heng84 @ Aug 2 2008, 01:42 PM)
hmm mine is active , eating well, but he is losing more than gaining due to the diarrhea, as i said, i oso dunno for whta reason, 3hours ago hopping here and there actively, next few hours lying on the side already. but might be losing too much weight ler (still, my chin look fatter than the one that mr chinchilla posted when he was in singapore trying rescue the chinchillabut the owner gave to another ppl).
hope urs will be fine soon, the weight on ur chinchilla seems to be ok physicalling la, but i think the best is use weighing scale, use those for baking cake oso can mah cheap and easy,
Digital weighing scale is quite expensive though. At the moment I thought of replacing the hay house to pine wood house, which I have ordered from Chinchilla. Eventually I will still get one [ so I got excuse to learn how to bake cakes =) ]

Rocky is recovering now, less moist poo poo and more dry poo poo as I have observed. I have completely stop feeding alfafa. Only giving small amount of pellets and a lot of timothy. I a bit surprise that he choose to eat the hay then only the pellets. A bit weird though... suddenly change appetite. But the amount he can eat is back to normal, in fact I think the in take of hay has increase from previous.

Ermm, I am just guessing... is there any possibility that your chin got poisoned or may be accidentally ate some plastic items? I hope you can find out the cause of your chin's death and cont. keep chin when you are ready.

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif Thanks a lot to chinchilla and stardust as your advise works and my chin is recovering now.

This post has been edited by shingin: Aug 4 2008, 01:26 PM
shingin
post Aug 4 2008, 07:11 PM

145 posts

wow... cool!!! you are having new chin. Bought it from chinchilla?
shingin
post Aug 5 2008, 12:31 AM

145 posts

ohhh... stardust, are you getting marry? Congratulation!!! (if you are)

shingin
post Aug 5 2008, 06:06 PM

145 posts

Wow... Happy to hear that =)

CONGRATULATION AGAIN!!!!!
shingin
post Aug 6 2008, 11:42 PM

145 posts

I will be going outstation in December for a week. But I am starting to worry where to put my chins. Anyone got experience putting their chin at the pet hotel? I found a few on the net but they only good in handling cats and dogs. My mum did offer to put in her house, but her house is a bit warm and I worry the chins will bully my mum as well (my chin like to jump out from the cage). She is already 60++ and I dowan her to chase the chin.

** Chinchilla, I hope you can consider to open a chinchilla hotel, I am sure a lot of ppl will give you business =)

Added on August 6, 2008, 11:47 pm
QUOTE(11Jan @ Aug 6 2008, 09:31 PM)
Haha, true! I'm always happy to see my bunnies destroy things - keeps their teeth in good condition. And happy to see them poop cos that means their digestive tract is healthy! only animal lovers will understand biggrin.gif
sob sob =( I am very upset to see my bunnies destroy/eat my plants... pandan, chilli (just started to grow), bamboo... etc. Currently only the lemon grass is still surviving.

This post has been edited by shingin: Aug 6 2008, 11:47 PM
shingin
post Aug 7 2008, 07:16 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(stardust @ Aug 6 2008, 11:50 PM)
good idea , whoever want to tumpang , can put at my house. starting next week.
but . i'm in muar , johor. ha...
Are you serious? I can really send my chins and cage to your place? I really dun mind travel from PJ down to johor, as long as my chin can have a good "nanny". Haha, nolah, my holidays is throughout christmas and new year... that's y I am looking for pet's hotel instead of troubling my friends. Erm... if you really can let my chins tumpang at your place, Let me know ya =)

Added on August 7, 2008, 7:19 pm
QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Aug 7 2008, 12:08 AM)
hahaha, stardust, good business for you tho! biggrin.gif You should be preparing your wedding! And give your chin a specially set up to celebrate with you for you wedding ceremorny, they will love it!

Shingin, I will love to have a pet hotel SPECIALLY just for chinchilla, but at this moment, I can't open to provide this service. Don't worry about looking for someone who can help you take care, look for someone who is near your area/ or a friend who know some small animal basic. In the absent of you, you just need to make sure they is someone come to feed them once a day, nothing else chinchilla need beside clean water, pellet and hay. As for the person you thinking to ask for, you may also pick up few more to help up.
I frens are mostly from outstation, I really cannot think of anyone else... I am very sure they will be travelling back to their hometown during christmas and new year. If you really can open a chinchilla hotel by December must let me know ya... I help you advertise =)

Come to the worst case scenario I will put at my parents place. My mum is a pet lover but my dad hates pet. Everytime he look at my rabbits and chins... macam wan to eat them like that >< scared scared ler.

Added on August 7, 2008, 7:23 pm
QUOTE(heng84 @ Aug 7 2008, 01:12 PM)
put in nearest friends house with small animal basic, i think shigin wont enjoy his outstation trip, will be worrying all the time, if chinchilla can help him he can go outstation without any worries man! hehe
I started to worry oledi loh, enjoy the trip or not >< can only let you know when I am back... but still got 3 more months to go, I think I still got chance to find a good hotel for my chins. Hey, you wan to be my fren? I stays in SS2, near your place ar? haha

Added on August 7, 2008, 7:26 pm
QUOTE(11Jan @ Aug 7 2008, 02:03 PM)
very hard to find good pet hotels, i've been to some while looking for a place for my rabbits.. terrible! they put small animals in the same room as dogs, or next to the dogs' room.. can you imagine how stressful it will be when the dogs are all barking. in the end i just 'tapau' both my rabbits back to penang with me biggrin.gif
Aiyoo... next time you can tumpang your rabbits at my house if you trust me.

This post has been edited by shingin: Aug 7 2008, 07:26 PM
shingin
post Aug 9 2008, 01:36 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(11Jan @ Aug 8 2008, 09:06 AM)
hehe actually ppl tumpang their rabbits at my place..i was offering bunny-sitting services for a while tongue.gif

hey you stay in ss2? if u trust me to go to ur house & feed ur chins, maybe we can work something out.. i can't tumpang the chins at my place cos no space at the moment.. i just got a 3rd bunny hehe but i'm not sure of my xmas and new year plans yet..

All pet lovers are good guys... so I dun think you will move my house away. Thank you so much for your offer... will PM you when I need your help thumbup.gif

Added on August 9, 2008, 1:41 am
QUOTE(stardust @ Aug 8 2008, 01:58 PM)
shingin ,
if u want , u can tumpang at my place. i got a room just for my chins.

Wow... I feel so touch that got 2 very nice ppl can help me jaga my chins notworthy.gif notworthy.gif Thank you so much and I feel so relief now.

Chinchilla: congratulation on your online shop... when you told me that you are going to open an online shop and I never thought it would be so canggih. I am really very impressed thumbup.gif thumbup.gif Wishing you all the best and money fast fast come

This post has been edited by shingin: Aug 9 2008, 01:46 AM
shingin
post Aug 11 2008, 11:14 PM

145 posts

Stardust... I really feel very upset for your lost, I am sure your wife is very upset too, send my regards for her ya. May Chocalten rest in peace.
shingin
post Aug 13 2008, 09:39 PM

145 posts

Finally I have bought the digital weighing scale =)

Female chin (approx. 5 months old) = 0.367kg
Male chin (approx. 5 months old oso) = 0.384kg

Chinchilla, is my chin under weight? I didn't control the pellets intake oledi and it appears that they have grown quickly. I wish my chin can grow as big as yours... but at the moment I can only dream.
shingin
post Aug 13 2008, 11:28 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(dien @ Aug 13 2008, 09:54 PM)
shingin, where did you buy the digital weighing scale??
and how much??
Bought it from Mid valley Jusco, the brand is "Camry" and cost me RM90.

Added on August 13, 2008, 11:30 pm
QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Aug 13 2008, 10:27 PM)
Good investment on the digital scale.

Ya, your chins is under weight, continue to feed pellet, timothy hay + Alfalfa hay.
Yeap yeap... will cont. to feed more.

This post has been edited by shingin: Aug 13 2008, 11:30 PM
shingin
post Aug 14 2008, 09:59 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(11Jan @ Aug 14 2008, 08:57 AM)
is it a kitchen scale? which section in jusco can i find it? been looking for one to weigh my rabbits too.. does it have a 'bowl' on top or it has a flat top?
at the kitchen section, look for the "baking" section. My weighing scale max upto 5kg, 1g graduation. I tested at jusco and it is very accurate and finally I have decided to get it. Flat top but it is not wide enuf for rabbit woh. May b u can put a card board on top b4 u use it. Go check it out, but cannot test coz all are wrapped nicely.

This post has been edited by shingin: Aug 14 2008, 10:01 PM
shingin
post Aug 20 2008, 11:24 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(valjean @ Aug 20 2008, 10:17 AM)
My future chin. Hehe.
drool.gif wow... so fat and super cute. I wish my chin can grow as fat as your future chin. hmm.gif it must cost you a lot ya

Added on August 20, 2008, 11:27 pm
QUOTE(dien @ Aug 20 2008, 02:00 PM)
i saw this color of chin in the pet shop at petaling street..
I have been to petaling street pet shop long time back (more than 5 years), if I have not mistaken there are 2 pet shops there... quite bad though (very pack and hot). I'm quite worry about the chin if it is still in the shop.

This post has been edited by shingin: Aug 20 2008, 11:29 PM
shingin
post Aug 24 2008, 02:04 PM

145 posts

bebee, is helena 1509 your housemate?
shingin
post Aug 24 2008, 07:42 PM

145 posts

ohhh... is that helena's chin?

when she bought her chin that time I was just behind her. She got a light beige colour chin and I got the "last" beige chin and an ebony chin.

This post has been edited by shingin: Aug 24 2008, 07:42 PM
shingin
post Aug 25 2008, 07:57 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(bebee @ Aug 24 2008, 07:49 PM)
i think her bf pay for that chin so its her bf chin or their chin tongue.gif
called blossom

wow u can recognized the chin by looking at it thumbup.gif
Actually I am just making a guess. I remembered u did mentioned that u know helena.

Added on August 25, 2008, 7:59 pm
QUOTE(bebee @ Aug 24 2008, 11:44 PM)
some ppl dun like their pets being touched tongue.gif
haha... which mean u curi curi touch/play with the chin loh brows.gif

This post has been edited by shingin: Aug 25 2008, 07:59 PM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:58 AM