LG LG KS20, supports both HSDPA and HSUPA

DrWho
post Oct 17 2008, 09:45 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(uan @ Oct 17 2008, 01:38 AM)
hard reset for second time. urghh. reason: install SRS WOW HD and import WaveDev.reg file. Reboot & hang at LG logo.

Frens, never import WaveDev.reg file into ur KS20 device.
Sorry to hear. Installing reg file is always a dicey thing. Adding registry manually via registry editor maybe a safer way to install a reg file.
Thanks for the caution!
maan
post Oct 17 2008, 10:12 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Oct 16 2008, 11:43 AM)
Mikey, DrWho gave Opera Mini. The Opera Mobile v9.5 beta is about 4mb in size for the .CAB. I've been using Mobile but it's very slow.
is the Opera Mini able to surf the net through the wifi connection?

stutzedward
post Oct 17 2008, 11:04 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(maan @ Oct 17 2008, 10:12 AM)
is the Opera Mini able to surf the net through the wifi connection?
Yeah, no problem surfing using WiFi. It works like Opera Mobile, just that it's way faster smile.gif
maan
post Oct 17 2008, 12:09 PM

163 posts

thanks , will try it later

For S2U2, do you know how to apply the Lock and Unlock Sound? I just can't find the set up in the SETTINGS. Is there somethign i didn't install? by the way, i download the 1.3 version from
http://www.ac-s2.com/

Added on October 17, 2008, 12:25 pm
QUOTE(stutzedward @ Oct 17 2008, 11:04 AM)
Yeah, no problem surfing using WiFi. It works like Opera Mobile, just that it's way faster smile.gif
I don't have luck, it is not working on my phone..... sad.gif
I got the following message while it try to connect

"dialed:net
Cannot connect for an unknown reason. to check your connection settings and change....................
"

however, it is working fine while using IE.

This post has been edited by maan: Oct 17 2008, 12:25 PM
stutzedward
post Oct 17 2008, 01:17 PM

700 posts

maan, do u hv prb with S2U2 1.3? Mine not really good. Read my previous 2 posts. No idea how to insert the sound as I dun intend to but go to their xda-developer webpage, they mentioned that.

DrWho
post Oct 17 2008, 01:51 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Oct 17 2008, 07:29 AM)
DrWho,

Yes, I got the latest S2U2 v1.30. Got it installed for about 12 hours, -10 hours of sleep and driving to work, the remaining 2 hours, it hanged my KS20 10 times!!! I have had enuff of it, thus I've reverted back to v1.22 which is much more stable but a tad lesser function. This is what I encoutered:
Installing and uninstalling programs is all part of the fun. During the last few days I have installed and uninstalled four prgrams:
Core Player - keeps hanging
Pocket Hack Master, you can increase the speed of the processor - unfortunately not meant for KS20 processor
MagiCall - Not bad but not my taste
Phone Alarm - Not bad but not my taste

Sucessful intallation:
Fake Call - Can program for any contact to call you at a prescribed time with the contact photo and phone no appearing when the phone rings. Of course it is a fake call. As my wife commented: "Meant for con man" brows.gif
stutzedward
post Oct 17 2008, 02:06 PM

700 posts

yeah, the more I fiddle with the fone, the more I learn and yr rite, installing and uninstalling is the part of the fun. anyhow, you should have a huge variety of applications in yr ks20, eh?
maan
post Oct 17 2008, 02:29 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Oct 17 2008, 01:17 PM)
maan, do u hv prb with S2U2 1.3? Mine not really good. Read my previous 2 posts. No idea how to insert the sound as I dun intend to but go to their xda-developer webpage, they mentioned that.
Sorry, what is "prb"?

haha... installing and uninstall is fun. .... that's why we bought the PDA... biggrin.gif

stutzedward
post Oct 17 2008, 02:58 PM

700 posts

My previous post about S2U2:

Yes, I got the latest S2U2 v1.30. Got it installed for about 12 hours, -10 hours of sleep and driving to work, the remaining 2 hours, it hanged my KS20 10 times!!! I have had enuff of it, thus I've reverted back to v1.22 which is much more stable but a tad lesser function. This is what I encoutered:

1) When in iFonz menu and phone goes to sleep, when I wake it, the Windows processing cursor swrills but for a few seconds only, then it stopped. All the buttons were useless. I need to remove the battery to reboot my fone.

2) When charging, tho the actual power in terms of % increases, the animated battery still stays as I initially plugged in.

3) Even if I kick off S2U2 manually, when a call comes in, 50% of the time, it will hang my KS20. I need to sleep it and wake it to get everything moving again but when I do so, I cut off the call.

I have tried the setting of Display Mode, all 3 options. Raw Buffer, Direct Draw and GDI. Reckon in the manual says GDI but all 3 are giving me the same result. Hence, I removed it.

Added on October 17, 2008, 2:59 pmopps... so u were asking wht is the meaning of "prb", sorry, it's "problem". hehehehe..

This post has been edited by stutzedward: Oct 17 2008, 02:59 PM
maan
post Oct 17 2008, 03:22 PM

163 posts

ahhaha.... so far.... some minor issues...

backlight off, but it didn't activated (sometime working sometime not)
only GDI is better choice but slow responce
stutzedward
post Oct 17 2008, 03:38 PM

700 posts

I used to hv that with v1.22 too but after I set OFF all the S2U2 activation during idle (battery) or charging, it's fine. Do set activate S2U2 when sleep and awake, it will work wonderfully. By the way, switch on "Safe Mode" and "Don't Suspend Power"
DrWho
post Oct 17 2008, 09:18 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

One click of a button to goto NEW SMS

To write a new SMS message we currently have to goto Start>Messaging>Text Messages>Menu>New. It is a pain in the b*** to get there. How nice if at a click of a button we can get there. rclxms.gif
Here is how to do it.

Attached is a short cut to go directly to a New SMS.
1. Download the file and rename it from New SMS.lnk.txt to New SMS.lnk
2. Copy this file, New SMS.lnk, to your device to /Windows/Start Menu and paste it there
3. Goto Start>Settings>Personal>Buttons. Select a hard button which you wish to assign to launch the New SMS. Unless you have installed a program which will provide multiple keys usage, you need to sacrifice either your Camera or Internet launch key for this New SMS. You can still access Camera or Internet from Program
4. Select the button to be sacrificed.
5. Assign a program, scroll and select New SMS.
6.Tap OK

You are now all set to launch your New SMS by just pressing the assigned button.

For those of you who is unable to rename the file at your PC, do this. At your PC goto File Explorer>Tools>Folder Options>View>Files and Folders - uncheck Hide extensions for know file types.

You should now be able to rename.

Enjoy rclxm9.gif For those who have successfully install this, please post a note. At least I will know that my effort is well worth it.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  New_SMS.lnk.txt ( 56bytes ) Number of downloads: 44
mikehwy
post Oct 17 2008, 10:26 PM

17,100 posts

QUOTE(DrWho @ Oct 17 2008, 09:18 PM)
One click of a button to goto NEW SMS

To write a new SMS message we currently have to goto Start>Messaging>Text Messages>Menu>New. It is a pain in the b*** to get there. How nice if at a click of a button we can get there. rclxms.gif 
Here is how to do it.

Attached is a short cut to go directly to a New SMS.
1. Download the file and rename it from New SMS.lnk.txt to New SMS.lnk
2. Copy this file, New SMS.lnk, to your device to /Windows/Start Menu and paste it there
3. Goto Start>Settings>Personal>Buttons. Select a hard button which you wish to assign to launch the New SMS. Unless you have installed a program which will provide multiple keys usage, you need to sacrifice either your Camera or Internet launch key for this New SMS. You can still access Camera or Internet from Program
4. Select the button to be sacrificed.
5. Assign a program, scroll and select New SMS.
6.Tap OK

You are now all set to launch your New SMS by just pressing the assigned button.
For those of you who is unable to rename the file at your PC, do this. At your PC goto File Explorer>Tools>Folder Options>View>Files and Folders - uncheck Hide extensions for know file types.

You should now be able to rename.

Enjoy rclxm9.gif For those who have successfully install this, please post a note. At least I will know that my effort is well worth it.
Novice me here. just downloaded it, and will get it right tonight.

THANK YOU to DrWho's tireless effort to make KS20 walk.

cheers pal.

Added on October 18, 2008, 11:41 amHi DrWho and Ed,

i just isntalled iPhonz slider and 0.9.7, both are working fine.

except,

1. slider is only the 'front cover' to enalbe me to unlock the KS20 menu, thats all.

2. iPhonz icons are beautiful, but it crawls!!!! too slow and not too responsive. might not be using this one. but i read the Ed is doing fine with this one?

any comments or other menu software that runs smoother or faster?

thanks gentlemen.

This post has been edited by mikehwy: Oct 18 2008, 11:41 AM
stutzedward
post Oct 19 2008, 04:08 PM

700 posts

Mikey,

THere's nothing wrong with yr iPhone Slider. It works tht way, it's just a program that shows a screen to unlock it. Nothing fancy.

As for the iFonz, get version 1.1.2. It's the fastest of all the available versions but previously, I used 0.9.7 and 1.0.4, I DID NOT encounter what you say by "crawaling". It's okay for me.
mikehwy
post Oct 19 2008, 04:57 PM

17,100 posts

Dear Ed,

1. i am trying out iFonz 0.9.7. i can change the icon name, but cannot get to the most important function 'CONTACT' cos i cannot find the command linking the icon to the contact in the KS20. can you assist please?

2. can you recommend an audio player? the default WM player does not work to my expectation as it is too plain for classical songs.

many thanks.

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by mikehwy: Oct 19 2008, 09:00 PM
stutzedward
post Oct 20 2008, 08:16 AM

700 posts

Mikey, the CONTACT icon should link to a file "addrbook.lnk".

I am using S2P (Slide to Play). It's built by the same group of ppl (A_C) who builts S2U2 and S2V (Slide to View). S2P is essentially iTouch/iPhone player UI player.
mikehwy
post Oct 20 2008, 08:48 AM

17,100 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Oct 20 2008, 08:16 AM)
Mikey, the CONTACT icon should link to a file "addrbook.lnk".

I am using S2P (Slide to Play). It's built by the same group of ppl (A_C) who builts S2U2 and S2V (Slide to View). S2P is essentially iTouch/iPhone player UI player.
HI Ed,

morning!

thank and i will try to search for the said file. thanks.

whats that S2P:? does it work like the iFonz with sliding menu icons? care to elaborate with the link please? thank you.

Added on October 20, 2008, 8:58 amDear Ed,

i dont seem to be able to saerch for the said file 'addrbook.lnk'. i used the file explorer but cant find the file. do you know where ca i search for it?

many thanks.

This post has been edited by mikehwy: Oct 20 2008, 08:58 AM
kcool
post Oct 20 2008, 10:54 AM

26 posts

i just flash my KS20 rom to WM6.1 KisS20.4 Rom from /forum.xda-developers.com, after flash the auto profile show only french operator, can someone send me the network profile for asia to me? (the profiles are on xml format place on windows>networkprofiles)..my email is william_kcool@hotmail.com....thx
stutzedward
post Oct 20 2008, 01:32 PM

700 posts

Mikey,

The file is in WINDOWS directory. It's a hidden file, hence to see it, u need to check "Show All Files" inside File Explorer.
mikehwy
post Oct 20 2008, 02:16 PM

17,100 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Oct 20 2008, 01:32 PM)
Mikey,

The file is in WINDOWS directory. It's a hidden file, hence to see it, u need to check "Show All Files" inside File Explorer.
ROGER that.

trying soon.

cheers mate

155 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0168sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:30 PM