19 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LG LG KS20, supports both HSDPA and HSUPA

DrWho
post Aug 11 2008, 11:25 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

LG KS20 is a versatile smartphone. The original theme and programs are however quite limited. With many free programs and theme, my KS20 is now a truly stylus-less smartphone. Attached is the thumbnail of my theme.
DrWho
post Aug 11 2008, 11:42 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(cath1029 @ Jul 28 2008, 11:02 PM)

Added on July 29, 2008, 11:42 pmdo you all know if LG KS20 know support 8G micro SD?
LG KS20 will support 8G micro SD if you install a hack program to enable it to support it. It does limit the support to only 8G, its any SD size. The program is 777.cab and available at XDA forum.Attached Image

Added on August 11, 2008, 12:22 pm
QUOTE(sychong @ Aug 11 2008, 11:33 AM)
wow, look what you did no the KS20. just wondering where you find or download all these theme from?
can you list out all the software you install on your KS20. Thanks
This is a good place to start: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1891858
and http://www.wm6software.net/
Be more specific with what you want to install and I will assist.

This post has been edited by DrWho: Aug 11 2008, 12:22 PM
DrWho
post Aug 12 2008, 01:31 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(sychong @ Aug 12 2008, 11:59 AM)
thks for the web link.
can i know what software you install for the digital clock screen?
thks

Added on August 12, 2008, 12:40 pmDoes anybody know when LG KS20 will have the upgrade to the latest WM6.1 ?
The digital clock is from Greatbal v1.2 theme available from XDA, http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=2326534. The Greatbal theme is only a plugin which require you to have Spb Mobile Shell program which is a non freeware. Here is a freeware of a Digital Clock plugin: http://www.freewarepocketpc.net/ppc-downlo...lugin-v1-0.html

DrWho
post Aug 12 2008, 04:08 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(sychong @ Aug 12 2008, 03:51 PM)
ai, i try this already, not working as it go back to the default keyboard.

anyway, thks
Did you soft reset?
DrWho
post Aug 12 2008, 07:23 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(sychong @ Aug 12 2008, 04:10 PM)
i soft reset liao. no luck !

very funny

thks

Added on August 12, 2008, 4:15 pm

it's the latest version i download from www.pocketcm.com
If all else fails, try this IM Selector program. It works for me and is only 23k.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  ImSelector.zip ( 23.44k ) Number of downloads: 32
DrWho
post Aug 25 2008, 01:13 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(sychong @ Aug 23 2008, 09:58 AM)
after i download the ImSelect.zip and the winzip indicate there are no file inside the ImSelect.zip
this happen to SDHC_v071227.zip.

can anyone help or where else i can download the above 2 zip files?

My Winzip is able to detect the three files in the ImSelector.zip file. Try again or alternatively PM me your email address and I will send the unzip files folder to you.

For SDHC hack get it from post #272: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=344338&page=28
and read post #319.

This post has been edited by DrWho: Aug 25 2008, 02:58 PM
DrWho
post Sep 8 2008, 01:45 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(cath1029 @ Sep 8 2008, 12:37 AM)
heh, you have very nice theme.  where did you get it from?  i like to have the same thing too....

Read my post on previous page. It tells you where to get it from.

Added on September 8, 2008, 12:41 am
yes, i got the same problem too.....
this phone make me so difficult to reply sms especially when i am driving, tot PCM keyboard will help.
anyway, besides PCM keyboard, is there any bigger size keyboard that can be install to KS20?

Wah! You are very brave to SMS while driving!!  Google "P1 Tater HTC Diamond QWERTY" The program has three selectable keyboards. Best so far.

Added on September 8, 2008, 12:48 ami also bought a micro sd 4G but it doesn't seems to work after i replace my current micro sd, why ah?
WM 6.0 can only support micro SD up to 2G. You need to hack to get the phone to read micro SDHC. I am using a 8G Sandisk in my phone. See post #520 for the hack.

DRIVE CAREFULLY!!!!

This post has been edited by DrWho: Sep 8 2008, 01:46 PM
DrWho
post Sep 9 2008, 10:58 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Sep 9 2008, 09:30 PM)
I've been a KS20 user since 3 weeks ago and I am loving it very much. The more I use it, the more I like it. (tho it hanged a few times) Anyhow, I have installed the following programs:

1) Opera Mobile (Beta copy, free ma...)
2) Yahoo Go!
3) PocketCM Keyboard

Any cool software that I can install? Anything I can install to make the user interface to be more like TOUCH screen, ie. iPhone alone? Hehehe...
PocketCM Contacts 0.23 and FTouchFlo v1.4 and v1.4.1 would be a good start. Both are stylus-less applications.
DrWho
post Sep 10 2008, 11:38 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Sep 10 2008, 08:47 AM)
Thanks DrWho. I've seen yr KS20 desktop and it doesn't look like WM6. Can I know what you've installed? It looks so cool.

Added on September 10, 2008, 9:11 amHi DrWho,

In installed FTouchFlo in my PDA but after running it, I lost the PDA - Click sound and on all the options, nothing changed. It still remains as the original WM6 desktop. ANy configureation needed?

Thanks in advance.
Did you soft reset?
FTouchFlo is a finger scrolling program making it unnecessary to use stylus on the scroll bar. Quite similar to iphone. You need to run program or put it at Startup Menu. You can configure it to execute instructions, eg openning progams, with various finger strocks.
You should get back the "click" from Start>Settings>Personal>Sounds&Notifications or from the left edge hard button.
My previous posts indicate the programs I am using for my Today Screen.

This post has been edited by DrWho: Sep 10 2008, 11:39 AM
DrWho
post Sep 10 2008, 07:44 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Sep 10 2008, 11:59 AM)
Thanks for yr reply, DrWho.

Well, I did soft-reset as well as tried the hardkeys on the left and ticking and un-ticking the TAP sound on the Notification setting. The tap sound is still not there and my PDA desktop is still like the stock one. :S Is it the WM6 professional issue?

By the way, have you tried iPhone Theme for WM6? Does it really work? I'm worry it'll hang my phone and I need to HARD RESET it. And also worry I can't uninstall it.
When executed FTouchflo runs in the background. Your screen will remain unchanged. Open one of your Word file and try to scroll with your finger. It should work if you installed and configured the program correctly.

No, I have not tried iphone theme. Your KS20 should not hang that easily. When it hangs it is most probably caused by too many programs running at the same time. When you close a program, WM6.0 does not close it, it only minimize it and is still active. There are several freeware programs available to actually close the program. To actually stop programs, at KS20 default, Start>Settings>Memory>Running Programs>Stop All.

I don't have click problem with my unit.
DrWho
post Sep 10 2008, 11:03 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Sep 10 2008, 08:35 PM)
Hi DrWho,

Ahh.. okay, I get it now. When I run FTouchFlo, nothing will change, eh? I was expecting a desktop change. smile.gif Wanted the iPhone user interface. Anyhow, I managed to download iPhone user interface and I think it's cool.  Pictures will tell everything.

Slide to Unlock...
iPhone Theme on KS20

Quite a lot of time spent on setting up the menu to my preference, looking for the appropriate program to run and linking to the icon but the end result is satisfying.

Added on September 10, 2008, 8:37 pmYr right DrWho, when I clear my phone memory before launching a big pgm like Opera Mobile or Yahoo GO!, it won't hang at all. Thanks... good to know a WM & KS20 sifu like you.

The more I play with this phone, the more I love it.
Your theme looks nice. Definitely better than the Default Theme. WM6.0 theme sucks!
My theme is so versatile. I change it regularly. It now:- Attached Image
DrWho
post Sep 13 2008, 10:38 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(uan @ Sep 13 2008, 12:34 AM)
play with sktools and suddenly my ks20 HARD RESET by itself. aaarghh.

beware with sktools.
Thanks for the tip. How did it happened? SKTools has only a Soft Reset button not Hard Reset. Programs dealing with System or Registry should be handled with a "velvet glove"

There is a understanding going around in the smartphone forums; The more Hard Reset you have, the more learned you are. brows.gif I have already done a hard Reset on my KS20 and am not looking forward to having to do it again! rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by DrWho: Sep 13 2008, 10:40 AM
DrWho
post Sep 13 2008, 04:44 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Sep 13 2008, 03:55 PM)
I hope I'll never hard-reset my KS20. When it's done, anything inside yr phone which you add on will completely be gone, eh?

Hey, anyone know which program I should call to 'rotate' the screen? I am trying to link an iPhone Theme icon to the rotation program but I can't seems to identify it.

Added on September 13, 2008, 4:00 pmAnother question, since you know, Windows is very famous of adding but not removing program installed details in it's registry, even after you remove the program. Is it the same for WM too?

I do not wanna make my WM unstable after 'testing' some softwares...
SKTools is your answer. It can identify Bad short cuts. bad registry etc. Dare to install? rolleyes.gif

It is not giving me any problem. It can even free up your RAM, usually about 2M each FreeUP
DrWho
post Sep 15 2008, 06:08 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(amir_iskandar @ Sep 15 2008, 01:30 PM)
Dr Who, your office is near Jln 222, right?
"Senior" member would know that Dr Who's office is in a red British Telecom phone booth biggrin.gif Location: Anywhere in the Universe!!

Added on September 15, 2008, 6:15 pm
QUOTE(stutzedward @ Sep 15 2008, 02:53 PM)
Battery life is short.  Gotta recharged every 2 days.
2 days is a good battery life. Those unfortunate owners of HTC Diamond sometime have to charge their phone twice a day. Advanced Configuration is good program which enables you to tweak your registry to enable faster response, better battery life and etc etc

This post has been edited by DrWho: Sep 15 2008, 06:15 PM
DrWho
post Sep 19 2008, 11:13 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Sep 18 2008, 02:45 PM)
A short video showing iPhone user interface on my LG KS20. Quality is low to keep the file small. Will show a clearer version later.

iPhone user interface on LG KS20...
Looks good rclxms.gif . Noticed you keep changing programs yet there is no serious lag. Are the programs closed or just minimized?
DrWho
post Sep 20 2008, 10:50 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

Thanks for sharing
DrWho
post Sep 22 2008, 09:21 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(sophistic @ Sep 22 2008, 08:40 PM)
how to read pdf files except using pdf reader? the program is very big
Try PocketXpdf. It is a small program and a freeware.

http://pocketxpdf.sourceforge.net/
DrWho
post Sep 23 2008, 09:14 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

Try the UI Tweaker. I am using it. A very flexible tool.

http://freewareppc.com/utilities/uitweaker.shtml
DrWho
post Sep 23 2008, 11:29 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

You just need to play around with the program. I have not changed the LG toolbar colour so I can't guide you.

Have you considered removing the toolbar from the Today Screen and making a shortcut for it and launching it from one of your iphone buttons.

For shortcut goto to the Windows directory and copy LGMenu.exe and paste it at Windows/Start Menu directory.This would enable LGMenu to be recognized as a progam thus shortcut can launch it.

Best of luck

DrWho
post Sep 23 2008, 11:08 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(sophistic @ Sep 23 2008, 09:59 PM)
thanks..

so far i have installed these programs
a) PocketCM Contacts 0.25c
b) S2U2 1.05
c) S2V
d) S2P
e) Opera 9.5 beta
f) HTC X Button 1.5
g) SRS WOW HD
h) PocketCM Keyboard 0.14
i)  Think Again CN Yahei (Chinese font)

But, my set occasionally hangs and I have to do a soft reset.
I believe the culprit is S2U2 ( Slide 2 Unlock 2 )
What do u think?
It has been reported that Opera 9.5 Beta is known to crash. I am using Opera Mini 2 and it does not give me any problem. Opera 9.5 is a huge program whereas Mini 2 is a small one.

Read my post#537 where I explained why WM6.0 hangs easily if you run too many programs at one time and how to overcome it.

I don't have experience with S2U2 and don't understand why KS20 users are using this program. brows.gif KS20 automatically locks the device after a set duration and you can always lock and unlock it manually.

19 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:30 AM