24" LCD Monitor, need some help
Sep 3 2007, 12:32 PM
Hard to tell difference. I have been playing my PS3 using 720p for sometime now even my screen support 1080p!
To me is like 720p screen, you see a dot thats actually a dot only on the screen while 1080p screen, you see a dot on the screen but actually it is multiple dot on it, just the screen too small and your eyes cant tell the different!
Is my explain good enough? Dun flame ok! just my opinion.
redbull_y2k
Sep 3 2007, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(300078 @ Sep 3 2007, 12:32 PM) Hard to tell difference. I have been playing my PS3 using 720p for sometime now even my screen support 1080p! To me is like 720p screen, you see a dot thats actually a dot only on the screen while 1080p screen, you see a dot on the screen but actually it is multiple dot on it, just the screen too small and your eyes cant tell the different! Is my explain good enough? Dun flame ok! just my opinion. Your explanation is good enough.  Btw, to see the difference, of coz you'd need to have a 1080p source then compare. If one would compare a game rendered on 720p on a 1080p monitor vs a 720p lcdtv, then the lcdtv would look better n sharper. Because the image on lcd would look better if they are fed with input matching its native panel resolution.
michael9413
Sep 3 2007, 05:30 PM
haha... well my experience... I have a 24" Dell in my office... I set it to native resolution it is sharper.. as the result the text is smaller too... when i set to non native the text will become a bit blur.... coz i sit near mah... BTW dell 24" is at 1900 X 1200...
no need to flame anything to me la... I support buying LCD TV... 720i also can already... coz wat... enjoy all the entertainment there... coz wat i experience when i watch DVD movie on my office computer... it is a pixelized... coz i sit near...
Hence... you are sitting further from the screen get LCD TV... this is jus my 2 sens
carpathia
Sep 6 2007, 11:47 AM
you use a 24W in OFFICE? what do you work as? programmer or graphic designer?
michael9413
Sep 6 2007, 12:03 PM
nope... mechanical designer...
Revamperz
Sep 6 2007, 01:21 PM
since we're all talking about 24"
what u guys use or recommend? for HD gaming, of course
someone interested in my LG 19" n im thinking to sale n go for 24 inchers
ipaqfreak
Sep 6 2007, 05:33 PM

good news !! hp launch the w2408h HDMI monitor.... heard from my fren that this monitor will be @ 1400 Retail.... http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/au/en/ho/WF...3-80644001.htmlcan't wait for the HDMI on the PS3 !! Added on September 6, 2007, 5:33 pmgood news !! hp launch the w2408h HDMI monitor.... heard from my fren that this monitor will be @ 1400 Retail.... http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/au/en/ho/WF...3-80644001.htmlcan't wait for the HDMI on the PS3 !! This post has been edited by ipaqfreak: Sep 6 2007, 05:33 PM
redbull_y2k
Sep 6 2007, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(Revamperz @ Sep 6 2007, 01:21 PM) since we're all talking about 24" what u guys use or recommend? for HD gaming, of course someone interested in my LG 19" n im thinking to sale n go for 24 inchers The BenQ FP241WZ would be the best currently, it has hdmi input and selling for about RM1899. QUOTE(ipaqfreak @ Sep 6 2007, 05:33 PM) good news !! hp launch the w2408h HDMI monitor.... heard from my fren that this monitor will be @ 1400 Retail.... http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/au/en/ho/WF...3-80644001.htmlcan't wait for the HDMI on the PS3 !! Added on September 6, 2007, 5:33 pmgood news !! hp launch the w2408h HDMI monitor.... heard from my fren that this monitor will be @ 1400 Retail.... http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/au/en/ho/WF...3-80644001.htmlcan't wait for the HDMI on the PS3 !! OMG! That's really cheap, but it's a TN panel though. Seeing that the HP 22" is selling for RM1.3k currently, i have a feeling the 24" won't be that cheap. More likely would be around RM1.6k or so.
michael9413
Sep 7 2007, 10:30 AM
wah... can think about that then... hmm... er... it is a 16:10 ratio... not 16:9 then only VGA input... This post has been edited by michael9413: Sep 7 2007, 10:31 AM
g5sim
Sep 7 2007, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Sep 6 2007, 06:44 PM) The BenQ FP241WZ would be the best currently, it has hdmi input and selling for about RM1899. OMG! That's really cheap, but it's a TN panel though. Seeing that the HP 22" is selling for RM1.3k currently, i have a feeling the 24" won't be that cheap. More likely would be around RM1.6k or so. hmm i think the HDMI HP at $1400 - USD lah
redbull_y2k
Sep 7 2007, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 7 2007, 10:32 AM) hmm i think the HDMI HP at $1400 - USD lah  LOL, no one would buy a 24" TN-panel lcd for that price.
g5sim
Sep 10 2007, 05:46 AM
QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Sep 7 2007, 08:53 PM) LOL, no one would buy a 24" TN-panel lcd for that price.  or maybe aussie price
Revamperz
Sep 10 2007, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Sep 6 2007, 06:44 PM) The BenQ FP241WZ would be the best currently, it has hdmi input and selling for about RM1899. thanks. anyway, i dunno if it even can be compared (LCD monitor vs. LCD TV ) but how bout that with LG 26LCR LCD TV? which one better?  almost the same price at rm1999
redbull_y2k
Sep 10 2007, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(Revamperz @ Sep 10 2007, 01:37 PM) thanks. anyway, i dunno if it even can be compared (LCD monitor vs. LCD TV ) but how bout that with LG 26LCR LCD TV? which one better?  almost the same price at rm1999 For me, i'd rather pick the BenQ 24" monitor. What other stuffs are u planning to use with your future lcd?
tot31
Sep 10 2007, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Sep 10 2007, 02:52 PM) For me, i'd rather pick the BenQ 24" monitor. What other stuffs are u planning to use with your future lcd?  I second that.
michael9413
Sep 10 2007, 05:15 PM
y tot??? LCD TV you can play DVD movies all things direct but LCD Monitor you don have all those input...
redbull_y2k
Sep 10 2007, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Sep 10 2007, 05:15 PM) y tot??? LCD TV you can play DVD movies all things direct but LCD Monitor you don have all those input... Coz the BenQ 24" has all the necessary inputs, only thing missing is the speakers.  Actually it also depends on what u're gonna use it with. If you're gonna use it more for dvd player, watching tv and playing console games and not gonna use it with a PC. I'd say picking an lcdtv is also a good choice.
refnulf
Sep 10 2007, 06:05 PM
Yep, if it's for me a person always in front of his computer then it's a good bet to go with the LCD monitor. If it's a person that prefers to watch tv, dvds, and play consoles alone then the LCD tv might be a better idea.
g5sim
Sep 11 2007, 07:32 AM
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Sep 10 2007, 05:15 PM) y tot??? LCD TV you can play DVD movies all things direct but LCD Monitor you don have all those input... the Benq 24in is supposed to be a crossover between tv and a computer monitor. It has Benq's propertriary software image inhancement that is employed on Benq's LCD TVs. It also has video connections that is basically unneccesary for computer monitors such as Component, HDMI and composit video inputs
AlamakLor
Sep 11 2007, 08:17 AM
like others have said, the fp241 has everything except - atsc tuner, speaker, remote.
another thing why the fp241 is better than many screen is because of the quality of the panel. It doesnt have any sort of banding, and this is extremely rare. I wont buy an LCD TV unless it is dirt cheap or it is free from banding, which I haven't seen any, yet.