7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

24" LCD Monitor, need some help

ruztynail
post Sep 1 2007, 01:06 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

i am merely posting a question now.. i need answers.. but i guess nvm.. i already got the lcd. no point complaining right? cry.gif

but i guess u thought otherwise. thanks for yr quick review.

This post has been edited by ruztynail: Sep 1 2007, 01:08 PM
redbull_y2k
post Sep 1 2007, 01:10 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

Now.. now... we're all here to share info. No point proving who's right or wrong as long as you're happy with what u get. nod.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
theGOne
post Sep 1 2007, 01:12 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 1 2007, 12:54 PM)
I believe you are using the latest revision? IIRC it is A04 that they started introducing AR fix on the 2407. They just launched A04 when the benq's AR units were out. The market was still flooded with crippled A03 2407 back then.
I'm using 2407-HC model. Did consider Samsung 22" before. But after testing on my friend's Samsung 20", felt the image was "stretched/scaled", therefore decided on 2407-HC with the scaling options. Cheers smile.gif
TSgmannji
post Sep 1 2007, 01:13 PM

30 posts

[quote=ruztynail,Sep 1 2007, 12:09 PM]

u cant run 1080p on 22".. the max u can go is 720p. u'd get a blank screen for setting it to 1080p.
AlamakLor
post Sep 1 2007, 01:16 PM

9,856 posts

in post #11, you said that your screen is CERTAINLY not stretched despite NOT having black bars, you are implying that your screen is doing 16:9 without black bars on a 16:10 screen, and this is simply impossible. I'm not the only one who's been saying that w/o 1:1 AR setting, the screen is stretched if you don't see black bars when feeding it with a 16:9 signal. If you need pictures of the 16:9 stretched to 16:10, a little google would help.

QUOTE(theGOne @ Sep 1 2007, 02:12 AM)
I'm using 2407-HC model. Did consider Samsung 22" before. But after testing on my friend's Samsung 20", felt the image was "stretched/scaled", therefore decided on 2407-HC with the scaling options. Cheers  smile.gif
you made the right choice smile.gif only 24" monitor, and some 27" can fully utilize 1080p biggrin.gif 22" are getting dirt cheap nowadays. Ah well, just like 720p/1080i TVs vs 1080p ones. The damn 1080p viera cost about 2.5X more than a 720p plasma sweat.gif

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Sep 1 2007, 01:21 PM
ruztynail
post Sep 1 2007, 01:22 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

nvm nvm. dah la saya tanya kenapa ni. even whn i am certain. in the similar post.. wouldnt tat still sound to u like a question??

i did google. pics still not convincing . everyone is jus claiming. pics tat i saw. looks freaking similar..

any diff?? tats why i am asking u people for techy details.

but nvm. wat u gave me in answer is wat lies everywhere. thought i can get more details. but dahla. tak apa.

This post has been edited by ruztynail: Sep 1 2007, 01:23 PM
AlamakLor
post Sep 1 2007, 01:29 PM

9,856 posts

It's not a question when you affirm something.

yup, the bottom one is stretched. If you cannot see the difference, use a ruler and measure some objects tongue.gif Like i said, it may be very subtle to some people. If it doesn't bother you, then good for you. But that doesn't mean you can live in ignorance and claim that because you can't see the difference, therefore it is not stretched. That's just similar to katak di bawah tempurung (wow damn, my malay still works! ahahaha)

Anyway, nothing personal, just want to make myself clear. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Sep 1 2007, 01:31 PM
acougan
post Sep 1 2007, 01:33 PM

590 posts

http://tigerdave.com/test_patterns.htm

here's some files i use to test the overscan/underscan/stretching of my screen. don't worry for most PC monitors, you can adjust the menu/settings so that a 16:9 image remains correct aspect and not stretched tall and thin. or you can open photoshop and create a 1280*720 jpeg files with geometry shapes like circle, oval, square or rectangular and use the jpeg to adjust the aspect.

actually whether you can differentiate 720p/1080p on a small screen is very subjective and differs for individuals. like me, i have bad eyesight and wear glasses so i doubt i have the "proper equipment" to discern any difference tongue.gif

1 thing to note though, RR7 demo has some slight jaggies problem. the jaggies are more apparent in 720p vs 1080p. but 720p is really the "sweet spot" for videogames right now thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by acougan: Sep 1 2007, 01:37 PM
ruztynail
post Sep 1 2007, 01:37 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 1 2007, 01:29 PM)

yup, the bottom one is stretched. If you cannot see the difference, use a ruler and measure some objects tongue.gif Like i said, it may be very subtle to some people. If it doesn't bother you, then good for you. But that doesn't mean you can live in ignorance and claim that because you can't see the difference, therefore it is not stretched. That's just similar to katak di bawah tempurung (wow damn, my malay still works! ahahaha)

nar its all clear. my bad. my affirmation and questions somtimes mix... blush.gif

u noticed the diff?!?! i couldnt. u really got great eyesight.. thumbup.gif

i was asking around if the 22" on 16:10 would stretch. no one could give me a correct answer a month ago. sigh doh.gif
ataris
post Sep 1 2007, 01:40 PM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

buy samsung 1 la.
TSgmannji
post Sep 1 2007, 01:42 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 1 2007, 01:29 PM)

haha i measuered some of the objects n the bottom one is stretched. but not really noticeable eh? at least not to me. hehe. hey have a look at this. is it true? 1080p on 22" ?
AlamakLor
post Sep 1 2007, 01:45 PM

9,856 posts

RR7, race so fast....no time to look at whether it is jaggy or not sweat.gif btw, I think the perceived jagginess has something to do with how the game is upscaled...does the ps3 do upscaling? my ps3 is still at 1.32..for you know what tongue.gif haven't been playing it for a while

Problem with dell lcd is that all the earlier models can't do AR/1:1 scale. Which is why I bought the benq at that time. I was gonna grab the 2407 but like i said, they only had A03 back then, and there were lots of problems with that lcd, from banding to not functioning component input.

Btw, it's just scaling that we were talking about, I made a thread on why lcd tv sucks, which summarizes all the problems related to LCD TV, vertical/horizontal banding - most notorious on sharp aquos, mura effect (sony bravia x), back light bleeding, and etc. In short, I can't live with LCD TV, the banding is too much of an eyesore to me. sweat.gif but some people don't see them, especially the more subtle ones haha. Thank god benq and dell still makes some very good panels that's free from banding!

@gmannji
If you can upscale, i dont see why you cant downscale it. Might even realize a better picture too! But the samsung is displaying full screen, it is not doing it at 16:9 (doesn't seem like a problem to you anyway tongue.gif). Btw, one piece of advice, dont buy samsung, back light bleeding is horrible. Samsung is no longer THE quality brand, benq and dell are the leaders now. Some time ago, when I hear the name Benq and dell stuff...I'd automatically look to samsung/sony, but times are different now. Just like how I detest ipod nano's shoddy build quality.

ok, gonna watch simpsons now, see you guys another time...RESEARCH RESEARCH RESEARCH! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Sep 1 2007, 01:55 PM
TSgmannji
post Sep 1 2007, 02:08 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 1 2007, 12:30 PM)

What will it look like? it will look like 1080p @ 16:9 with black bars on top and bottom. The benq 241 is the best monitor, u wont go wrong with it. No dead pixels, no banding, awesome colors. I sold my 42" 1080p lcd to replace it with this benq simply because I have never seen an lcd TV that doesnt have banding issues. I was waiting for 1080p plasma to be out. Panasonic now has 1080p plasma, and I'm so getting the 50" 1080p viera when I settle down thumbup.gif

one thing i should mention is that, oddly, when my wii is set to widescreen @ 420p, the bars are at the side...I suspect the wii is not really 16:9 @ wide screen. lol

I bought my benq as soon as the AR firmware fix was out, that was around RM2800, the monitor can now be bought for <rm2500 here in Canada.
so to clarify, if a game runs at 720p, the monitor will only have black bars on top and bottom but no side bars, right?
n the picture is as clear/sharp as 1080p but it is actually 720p??
u know, when we change the res on our computer for example ur native res is 1280 x 1024 but then u changed it to 1024 x 768 of course the image will be a bit blurry right? so what im trying to say is whether this happens or not on ps3 using 24" @ 720p. whether the picture is blurry or sharp as its native res.
AlamakLor
post Sep 1 2007, 03:08 PM

9,856 posts

Don't worry, they will not be blurry, ps3's upscaling is good. And yes, there will be bars on top and bottom, no side bar. If you set the screen to 1:1 Pixel mapping, it will display it at its original resolution, and you will see a black box surrounding it.

Yes, I am aware of the native resolution on pc, they will still look sharp with 720p games on 1080p screen. If it sucks like using different than native resolution on PC, then everybody will be buying few sets of TVs, one for 720p and another 1080p for full HD laugh.gif

Like I said, you wont go wrong with the monitor, in fact, you'd scream in joy shortly after you got it thumbup.gif
TSgmannji
post Sep 1 2007, 07:28 PM

30 posts

owh so thats what it means by upscaling? haha thanks alot. i think u already convinced me buying benq 24" thumbup.gif
derred
post Sep 2 2007, 10:40 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

after reading this post. Now I got quite confuse. I thot someone mention u can't see any diff between 1080p and 720p if the screen is below 40 inch. I was wondering then why one would build 1080p Full HD 24" monitor then ? Like BenQ's or ViewSonic's ? don't they do the research ? damn now I am again undecided.

I had my own post for this question, so sorry if this question is out of topic. If it's rude to hijack this thread, just post some suggestions on my own thread here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/507454/+60

and about the right or wrong, it doesn't matter. I have been reading and all of u guys have been so helpful.
g5sim
post Sep 2 2007, 02:16 PM

5,756 posts

check one of my post on the three BenQ 24 model that comes with HDMI connector - all priced less than RM2199. One is prices at RM1899. And they come with a free dvd player that you can give to your gf's parent tongue.gif

Added on September 2, 2007, 2:19 pmfound it : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/507454/+40

This post has been edited by g5sim: Sep 2 2007, 02:19 PM
prazole
post Sep 2 2007, 05:42 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Sep 2 2007, 10:40 AM)
after reading this post. Now I got quite confuse. I thot someone mention u can't see any diff between 1080p and 720p if the screen is below 40 inch. I was wondering then why one would build 1080p Full HD 24" monitor then ? Like BenQ's or ViewSonic's ? don't they do the research ? damn now I am again undecided.

I had my own post for this question, so sorry if this question is out of topic. If it's rude to hijack this thread, just post some suggestions on my own thread here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/507454/+60

and about the right or wrong, it doesn't matter. I have been reading and all of u guys have been so helpful.
the different is noticeable on 40" and above..
its true cause for LCD TV ur watching from quite a distant away..
in LCD monitor case ur watching close up so its more obvious la..
but anyway im using dell24" on xbox360 i dont notice much different in graphic if i change 720p to 1080p except the text are slightly clearer..
its probably due to the fact that most games on xbox360 are meant for 720p rather than 1080p
not so much of different la.. it juz feel good that ur using 1080p
maybe ps3 different story? i dun have hmm.gif

but for LCD user u have to set the reference level.. that one has much more noticeable improvement la for the visuals
derred
post Sep 3 2007, 11:45 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 2 2007, 01:16 AM)
check one of my post on the three BenQ 24 model that comes with HDMI connector - all priced less than RM2199. One is prices at RM1899. And they come with a free dvd player that you can give to your gf's parent tongue.gif

Added on September 2, 2007, 2:19 pmfound it : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/507454/+40
haha that's actually my thread, I've read that. Hmm I can't confirm because there are too many facts or opinions.
g5sim
post Sep 3 2007, 12:32 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Sep 3 2007, 11:45 AM)
haha that's actually my thread, I've read that. Hmm I can't confirm because there are too many facts or opinions.
omg - sorry .. my bad biggrin.gif blush.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0255sec    1.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:25 PM