123 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Military Thread V28

darth5zaft
post May 27 2021, 11:04 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(Lampuajaib @ May 27 2021, 09:19 PM)
To be fair, we should check on GDP and annual budget.
Every nation has their own priorities. MY and ID still many things to develop especially on rural areas while SG is not. So, SG can put bigger percentage on defence sector.

What if MY already finished in developing the rural areas? it will be a different story'.
More like their citizens doesn't expect low taxation & high social services which allows them to spend more on defense.

But they already spend 3% on defense. Doubt their rakyat can accept any more hike in defense spending particularly if MY & ID behave & not be a dick

azriel
post May 28 2021, 07:51 AM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ May 27 2021, 11:04 PM)
More like their citizens doesn't expect low taxation & high social services which allows them to spend more on defense.

But they already spend 3% on defense. Doubt their rakyat can accept any more  hike in defense spending particularly if MY & ID behave & not be a dick
Indonesia priority is not in defense right now but in infrastructure. The defense budget is not even reaching 1% of GDP. Even with less than 1% budget the defense budget is now at USD 9.5 billion as Indonesia GDP is over USD 1 Trillion. There is plan to increase the defense budget to 1.5% of GDP (around USD 15 billion).

A recent survey by Kompas shows 92.8% of Indonesians wants the military to be strengthen.

This post has been edited by azriel: May 28 2021, 10:05 AM
Lampuajaib
post May 28 2021, 04:33 PM

Air Force Could Ditch Oldest F-35 Jets as Part of Fighter Downsizing, General Says

The U.S. Air Force could retire some of its older-model F-35 Joint Strike Fighters, which are used for training, over the next decade in favor of acquiring the most advanced variants of the jet, according to a top general.

Older versions of the premier stealth jet may be retired instead of receiving expensive upgrades to keep them viable for a future conflict, said Lt. Gen. S. Clinton Hinote, the Air Force's deputy chief of staff for strategy, integration and requirements.

"It's not in our plans right now, but that would be something that we would have to take into consideration," he said in an interview Tuesday. "Because the big question is, 'Are we going to go back and retrofit [them]?'

"Retrofit cost is a key consideration for, 'Do we want to take training jets that are older [software] blocks and upgrade them to new blocks?'" Hinote said. "Are we maybe overinvested in training tails? There are some indications that maybe we are."

Hinote was referring to the ratio of training jets to combat-coded jets -- those ready for a wartime mission at any given time -- across the service's seven fighter fleets as it prepares for a near-peer conflict. The Air Force counts the A-10 Thunderbolt II close-air support aircraft as part of its fighter fleet, along with the F-35, F-22 Raptor, F-15C/D Eagle, F-15E Strike Eagle, F-16 Fighting Falcon, and the new F-15EX Eagle II.

For example, one-third of the fifth-generation F-22 fighter fleet is not combat-coded, with most of those jets reserved for training pilots.

"It's true with a lot of our aircraft that we have some they're dedicated solely to training," Hinote said. "We're questioning, in a new era [of great power competition], where training is going to look different. Perhaps we have overinvested in training aircraft, and the ratio of training to fighter aircraft could be improved on the fighter side, i.e. more tails available for combat."

Although the F-35 is one of the Pentagon's newest aircraft, some of the oldest Lightning II fighters in the fleet are used for training purposes. They are part of manufacturer Lockheed Martin's earliest low-rate initial production batches.

As the service considers what kind of fighter mix it wants, it must decide whether it can afford the luxury of having aircraft designated only for training. Several of its fleets, including the F-35 and F-22, include training aircraft that are older and not configured for combat, Hinote explained.

Upgrading them would be expensive and, in some cases, impossible.

In a time of limited resources, the Air Force is reconsidering keeping dedicated trainer aircraft and investigating how much training it can move to high-quality simulations.

"We've been experimenting with pilot training at all levels, and what we are learning has the potential to shift our whole approach," Hinote said. "There may be some that are not upgradeable to the full combat capability and, if that is true, that probably means we need to think about [whether] they are worth flying."

The Raptor vs. NGAD
The Air Force must make key decisions about which aircraft, and how many, it wants to sustain longer term, Hinote said.

During a panel last week, Air Force Gen. Charles "CQ" Brown explained his plan to reduce the service's fighter fleets from seven to four.

Brown calls the initiative "four plus one." The "four" are the F-35; F-16; the F-15EX, which entered the service's inventory last month; and the Next Generation Air Dominance, or NGAD, program, which defies the traditional categorization of a single platform, featuring a network potentially including an advanced fighter aircraft alongside sensors, weapons or drones. The venerable A-10 remains as the "plus one."

Noticeably absent from his list were the F-22 and F-15E.

Over the next five years, the service will establish whether fledgling airframes like the F-15EX can fill the roles of its legacy fighters.

Service leaders have hinted that, while the fourth-generation F-15EX is meant to replace the legacy F-15C/D models, it also could succeed the E Strike Eagle model in the future, given its weapons load. Hinote said the legacy Strike Eagle could stick around longer if the fleet receives needed upgrades; if the upgrades are not cost effective for the service, the EX will take its place.

Hinote said the service will still ask Congress to fund crucial upgrades to the F-22 fleet as part of its fiscal 2022 budget request, including modifications to the fighter's sensor suite capabilities.

But the F-22 "has some limitations to it that you just can't modernize your way out of," he added.

When the F-22 retires will be decided by how quickly NGAD can be fielded, Hinote said.

If the Air Force can secure enough funding for the NGAD in the fiscal 2022 and future budgets, and subsequently prove the technology prior to 2030, F-22s will start heading to the aircraft boneyard, he said.

"All those things are interrelated," he explained.

The F-35 Is a 'Special Case'
Air Force Magazine reported last week that the service is considering a 10% cut in F-35 buys as part of its Future Years Defense Plan, citing a growing need to transition to the most up-to-date jets as they become available.

CNN reported that some Air Force officials have expressed a desire to cap the total number of F-35s in inventory, reducing a projected procurement of 1,763 of the conventional takeoff and landing A-variant to 800 maximum to make room for NGAD.

But Hinote said no decisions have been made.

"The internal talk about the total buy is something we've got to do, but we have not made a decision on that because we don't know all the variables yet," Hinote said, calling the F-35 a "special case" in the jet inventory.

"If we can get to the full buy, that would be the future we'd prefer," he said.

The Air Force now has more F-35s than F-15s and A-10s. At 283 jets, the F-35 fleet is second in size only to the Fighting Falcon; the Air Force has 934 F-16 C and D models.

But "the block that is coming off the line right now is not a block that I feel good about going up against China and Russia," Hinote said, referring to the current Block 3F software and hardware configuration.

Upgrades to Block 4, the latest modernization update for the F-35's avionics and weapons systems, began in 2018. It is meant to expand the type of weapons the aircraft can carry, including Raytheon's Stormbreaker small-diameter bomb, which has the ability to attack moving targets in bad weather.

The Pentagon originally estimated Block 4 modernization could be incorporated by 2024, but the project timeline has been delayed until at least 2027, according to an assessment from the Government Availability Office.

Some F-35s already have elements of Block 4, such as the Automatic Ground Collision Avoidance System, which helps prevent aircraft from flying into the ground.

Unlocking the rest of Block 4's upgrades will require what is known as "Technology Refresh 3," or TR-3, which will provide the aircraft with prompt processing capability and increased memory, among other capabilities.

While much of TR-3 will be incorporated in the latest batch of aircraft in 2023, its development is still "tracking 7 months later than originally planned," the GAO said.

Both updates will be critical in a conflict against China in the Pacific, Hinote said.

In 2019, the service flew only Block 4 F-35s in a war game because using Block 3F jets "wouldn't be worth it" in a toe-to-toe scenario with China, he told Defense News.

There are other problems with the F-35, including a growing shortage of F135 engines, manufactured by Pratt & Whitney, a subsidiary of Raytheon Corp. There is also more work to be done to its comprehensive logistics system, which is used for support operations, mission planning, supply chain management, maintenance, and other processes.

As sustainment and upgrade costs continue to rise, Hinote said capability, availability and affordability all play into the F-35's future with the service.

"We're going to have to make that call one day … but we don't have to make that decision in FY22 and, frankly, we don't have to make it in FY23," he said. "We are flying seven fighter fleets right now. No Air Force around the world can handle that much different demand on its logistics. We need to get down to a smaller number of fighter fleets, simply for the logistical concerns."

https://www.military.com/daily-news/2021/05...neral-says.html

Hmmmmm........

This post has been edited by Lampuajaib: May 28 2021, 04:34 PM
azriel
post May 29 2021, 07:50 AM

The Indonesian Air Force will start receiving deliveries of 5 units C-130J-30 Super Hercules in the year 2022 - 2023 time frame. The 5 units C-130J-30 Super Hercules were ordered through DCS. Photo credit to Lockheed Martin.

azriel
post May 29 2021, 02:02 PM

28 MAY 2021

Seoul, Manila continue talks on meeting Philippine Navy's future submarine requirements

by Gabriel Dominguez

South Korea and the Philippines have continued co-operation talks aimed at meeting the Philippine Navy's (PN's) future submarine requirements.

South Korea's Daewoo Shipbuilding and Marine Engineering (DSME) announced on 27 May that the Assistant Secretary for Logistics and Acquisition at the Philippines' Department of National Defense (DND), Jesus Rey R Avilla, visited the Republic of Korea Navy's (RoKN's) Submarine Force Command on 12 May to discuss “various areas of co-operation” to enhance the PN's future submarine capabilities.

Among the issues discussed were the transfer of RoKN know-how on operating submarines, the resumption of the RoKN-hosted International Submarine Education and Training Program (ISETP) – which has been put on hold because of the Covid-19 pandemic – and regular navy-to-navy talks on submarines.

Avilla also visited the RoKN's submarine workshops and training sites, as well as DSME facilities. Moreover, he held meetings with representatives of South Korea's Defense Acquisition Program Administration (DAPA) and Export-Import Bank of Korea (KEXIM) to discuss the level of support by the South Korean government and a soft loan.

The shipbuilder told Janes that it has been offering Manila a “total solution package” since 2011 that includes DSME 1400PN diesel-electric submarines – an upgraded and modified version of the Nagapasa (DSME 1400)-class boats currently in service with the Indonesian Navy – along with crew training and a soft-loan to meet the PN's submarine acquisition project.

The latest development comes after Philippine Undersecretary for Finance and Material Raymundo DV Elefante and PN chief Vice Admiral Giovanni Carlo Barcodo visited DSME and the RoKN's Submarine Force Command in November 2020 to discuss the ‘total solution package'.

https://www.janes.com/defence-news/news-det...ne-requirements

azriel
post May 29 2021, 02:22 PM

Mai189
post May 29 2021, 04:51 PM

Fresh from Darwin, RSAF sends another aerial task force to Guam to train with US forces and likely F35s.

And spotted over by a pinoy:

This post has been edited by Mai189: May 29 2021, 04:53 PM
Mai189
post May 29 2021, 05:04 PM

But they already spend 3% on defense. Doubt their rakyat can accept any more  hike in defense spending particularly if MY & ID behave & not be a dick
Actually, their citizens "do' want more defence spending because they know they can spend more and have the monies to back it up. They dont borrow to spend and yet thier wealth keeps increasing. The only thing that is holding them back is that the PAP government is financially prudent. Sgs constitution caps spending at 6% of GDP.

At 3% they are already spending abt usd $12billion. You want Sg to double that to $24billion USD? Im sure no one in the region wants that. Not Indo and not Msia when you have a neighbour with a defence budget bigger than israels'.

P.S:
I do expect Sgs spending to hit abt USD $14 to USD $15 billion and taper off until 2030ish or when they reach the golden number for right amt of money for expenses vis a vis cost savings e.g. low overheads - small size, high productivity/efficiency etc.

This post has been edited by Mai189: May 29 2021, 05:23 PM
Mai189
post May 29 2021, 05:13 PM

QUOTE(Lampuajaib @ May 28 2021, 04:33 PM)
Lol. The US alone will operate >1000 F35s. Only logical they get rid of the earlier non upgradeable versions.

RSAF f35s due 2025-26 are block 4 onwards. F35s from other countries will be upgraded to blk 4 versions.

People dont understand that bar the small no. Of usaf f35s trg versions, the rest of the f35s in service ard the world merely need software upgrades now and in future when there r further developments. Thats why the f35 is called the worlds 1st truly digital combat jet.
Lampuajaib
post May 29 2021, 05:30 PM

Detterent factor must be considered in building defence sector. As I said before SG can only get their detterent factor by aquiring advanced military equipments which MY doesnt have to but It is nice to have them.

SG defence will be depend on how much money they must spend. Like it or not.
But this money game sooner or later will push SG to their limit.
SG will be Taiwan, MY will be SK/Japan, ID will be china.
The good thing is we are more relatively peace than taiwan/Japan/china

This post has been edited by Lampuajaib: May 29 2021, 05:48 PM
azriel
post May 29 2021, 05:37 PM

Mai189
post May 29 2021, 05:49 PM

QUOTE(Lampuajaib @ May 29 2021, 05:30 PM)
Detterent factor must be considered in building defence sector. As I said before SG can only get their detterent factor by aquiring advanced military equipments which MY doesnt have to but It is nice to have them.

SG defence will be depend on how much money they must spend. Like it or not.
But this money game sooner or later will push SG to their limit.
The good thing is we are more relatively peace then taiwan/Japan/china
So how much is thier limit hmm? Is their limit the same with the limit of other countries? It is all relative.

https://www.reuters.com/article/singapore-d...E7N82R320111208

^ no need $23billion for now. The regions shitty but not that shitty..
Mai189
post May 29 2021, 05:54 PM

Hahaha. I can show you why it wont happen based on emprical evidence now. But ill let you enjoy the feel of it.
Lampuajaib
post May 29 2021, 05:57 PM

QUOTE(Mai189 @ May 29 2021, 05:49 PM)
So how much is thier limit hmm? Is their limit the same with the limit of other countries? It is all relative.

https://www.reuters.com/article/singapore-d...E7N82R320111208

^ no need $23billion for now. The regions shitty but not that shitty..
Why you quote me? I already stopped quote you.
You don't like my post...lol.
Mai189
post May 29 2021, 06:32 PM

QUOTE(Lampuajaib @ May 29 2021, 05:57 PM)
Why you quote me? I already stopped quote you.
You don't like my post...lol.
Hai!
Mai189
post May 29 2021, 06:59 PM

Beautiful pic of RAFs F35bs:

https://www.navalnews.com/naval-news/2021/0...lantic-trident/

This post has been edited by Mai189: May 29 2021, 07:00 PM
azriel
post May 29 2021, 07:00 PM

Report of the Indonesian MoD had submitted a proposal budget of USD 142 billion in its defense procurement plan up to 2044 which have got support from the Indonesian legislators. This huge budget is awaiting a presidential decree.

This post has been edited by azriel: May 29 2021, 07:03 PM
Lampuajaib
post May 29 2021, 07:04 PM

QUOTE(azriel @ May 29 2021, 07:00 PM)
Report of the Indonesian MoD had submitted a proposal of USD 142 billion defense procurement plan up to 2044 which have got support from the Indonesian legislators. This huge budget is awaiting a presidential decree.
Really?
For defence procurement only?

Well, if it is true one kiasu sinkie here will die of heart attack...lol.
He will recommend to SG government to spend $500 bn until 2044...lol

This post has been edited by Lampuajaib: May 29 2021, 07:07 PM
Mai189
post May 29 2021, 07:09 PM

QUOTE(Lampuajaib @ May 29 2021, 07:04 PM)
Really?

He Will set up a rally SG government to spend $500 bn until 2044...lol
I didnt want to say this. But you love being idiotic. Asal bangang sangat ni? Assume a base figure of say USD$12 billion x 22 years till 2044= USD $264 billlion. And add the incremental yearly increases 2 that base figure and add one-off large procurements (single or batches). Sg will be spending at least USD $264 billion to USD $350 billion ($USD $350 billion at $15+ billion per year defence budget) on defence less one-off large procurements.

As always on indo matters, ill believe it when it happens.

/facepalm

This post has been edited by Mai189: May 29 2021, 10:08 PM
azriel
post May 29 2021, 07:13 PM

QUOTE(Lampuajaib @ May 29 2021, 07:04 PM)
Really?

He will recommend to SG government to spend $500 bn until 2044...lol
Yes it is. The Indonesian MoD even wants the budget allocated in 2024 at the latest. This is very huge so it need a presidential decree. Unconfirmed report the Indonesian National Budgetary Agency (BAPPENAS) so far have approved USD 20 billion for defense budget. The year up to 2044 is for financial payment scheme.

The Ministry of Defense to Spend Rp. 1,760 T, Connie: There are funds not yet clear for what

Reporter: Egi Adyatama
Editor: Amirullah

Saturday, 29 May 2021 13:04 WIB

Defense Minister Prabowo Subianto conveyed the plan to procure 36 Multi Role Combat Aircraft Dassault Rafale fighter jets during a briefing during the TNI Meeting at TNI Headquarters in Cilangkap on February 16, 2021. The Dassault Rafale fighter aircraft designed by Dassault Aviation has many advantages, one of which is equipped with several advanced radars . Wikipedia ANTARA / doc. PENTAK LANUD SIM

TEMPO.CO, Jakarta - Military observer Connie Rahakundini Bakrie said that the Ministry of Defense (Kemenhan) is preparing a Presidential Regulation (Perpres), which covers the need for defense and security equipment (alpalhankam) to reach Rp 1,760 trillion or the equivalent of USD 142 billion. Connie said she was surprised because the figure seemed too big but without clarity.

"What the Minister of Bappenas has cleared and explained to me is a fund of USD 20 billion. The difference of 104 billion must be explained by the Ministry of Defense," Connie said when contacted by Tempo, Saturday, May 29, 2021.

This post has been edited by azriel: May 29 2021, 07:40 PM

123 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:02 PM