126 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V4<<, The Journey Continues Here!

fylon
post Sep 28 2007, 11:08 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@cusx

Kabu is asking about ur processor. Are u using P4 2.4B wih ur prcos fsb is 533. doh.gif

Using the stock HSF and chiong 2.4G til 3.0G? Thats abit risky.. Provided ur casing airflow is good else really will heat up. Wanna check ur procs temp? U can give a try with SpeedFan. A software use to detect ur proc temp.

Added on September 28, 2007, 11:14 am
QUOTE(sang_karim @ Sep 28 2007, 11:05 AM)
hehe .. don't wan't la ... using 5:4 divider have to lower my FSB and ram speed below 200MHz ... so better get both proc and ram run faster than stock ... gonna save sum fund for high performance ram  laugh.gif
Haha.. But can push to high speed ma. Anyways, if u wanna push higher speed then u gota sacrifice something lo. Like u can hit 3.75Gh then gota lower down ur ram speed. To make yer rigs less relay on ram. laugh.gif Saving up now? brows.gif Wanna get albert patriot ar? tongue.gif But then performance ram usually very costful.. Some their price are higher DDR2 performance ram thou. Unless ur planning to make ur new rigs with DDR ram (such like S939 run with DDR & PCI-E) otherwise if not not so good to get performance DDR ram lo. Well.. This my own opinion about invest on old school. 2Cent thou.. Dont flame me! laugh.gif Peace.. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by fylon: Sep 28 2007, 11:17 AM
kabukiawie
post Sep 28 2007, 11:20 AM

2,039 posts

@sang_karim
better run at 5:4 since you manage to push that high. smile.gif running at 210 1:1 is no different in real performance. get 250fsb at 5:4 will be sweet. your ram will still running at its stock speed. wink.gif

there is no harm if your cpu can work faster. like mine last time, the 2.4A 533fsb running 1:1 with my ddr400@333. i oced till 3.2GHz still not fully utilized till my ram stock speed(something like 192mhz only). haiz......if got better mobo i think i can push it higher till 3.6GHz.. hahaha.. and that time i can score the faster superPI 1m than my 2.8C@3.3GHz.

@fylon
wao, can get dealer price from ya?? laugh.gif too bad my pocket dry dry liao.

@cusx
pentium 4 having different revision

P4a = 100mhz 400fsb (1st version of p4) non HT
P4b = 133mhz 533fsb non HT (except 3.06GHz)
P4C = 200mhz 800fsb with HT
P4A = 133mhz 533fsb non HT
P4E = 200mhz 800fsb with HT

hope this help. about L2 cache i not so sure about older version

P4A & P4E(prescott) = 1mb L2
P4C = 512kb L2
for a & b i think mostly is 256kb L2. correct me if i am wrong. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kabukiawie: Sep 28 2007, 11:27 AM
edministrator
post Sep 28 2007, 11:21 AM

1,940 posts

@kabukiawie, mouse still same old mouse, just added a keyboard lah.

@fylon, fast fast pump up your rig, my popcorn second packet waiting.

@sang_karim, my advise is just run the rig the way u feel most comfortable and stable, oc speed is just a bonus for us, haha.

@cusx, monitor your temp level. I believe you can go higher.

to all s478 owners, our rigs are still kicking in 2007, and this thread is still lively too.
fylon
post Sep 28 2007, 11:34 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@kabu
Yup.. dealer price. brows.gif Well... If not how can i keep pump my rigs? tongue.gif Anyways, kindly drop me a pm if u need anything. But provided i can find it for u.

@edmin
Wah.. Dont put hope on me!! doh.gif I just plan to hit 250mhz and run on 1:1 ratio that all. biggrin.gif Dont plan wanna push more. No $$ for casing dun have good airflow thou. Hard to get higher speed with air cooling.
cusx
post Sep 28 2007, 12:00 PM

585 posts

[attachmentid=302657]

sad.gif sad.gif
cant pass Orthos, after i study habis, i saw my computer restart liaw..

should i add vcore or lower FSB .. ?

hmm what temp means overheated ? hmm.gif
sang_karim
post Sep 28 2007, 12:01 PM

:: sάής ЌάЯΐм ::
1,557 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 28 2007, 11:20 AM)
@sang_karim
better run at 5:4 since you manage to push that high. smile.gif running at 210 1:1 is no different in real performance. get 250fsb at 5:4 will be sweet. your ram will still running at its stock speed. wink.gif

there is no harm if your cpu can work faster. like mine last time, the 2.4A 533fsb running 1:1 with my ddr400@333. i oced till 3.2GHz still not fully utilized till my ram stock speed(something like 192mhz only). haiz......if got better mobo i think i can push it higher till 3.6GHz.. hahaha.. and that time i can score the faster superPI 1m than my 2.8C@3.3GHz. 
hehe .. sweat.gif running with 250FSB and run 1 prime95 oredi freeze the window ... so it's not stable rite .. sweat.gif .. i think i'll go for new rig when i'm able to make new computer loan ... by then have to stick with this current pc ... cannot save up for new rig rite now coz when u have family ... family comes first .. biggrin.gif .. only can upgrade pc by selling some old stuffs ... laugh.gif
shinjite
post Sep 28 2007, 12:03 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 28 2007, 11:20 AM)
@sang_karim

@fylon
wao, can get dealer price from ya?? laugh.gif too bad my pocket dry dry liao.

@cusx
pentium 4 having different revision

P4a = 100mhz 400fsb (1st version of p4) non HT
P4b = 133mhz 533fsb non HT (except 3.06GHz)
P4C = 200mhz 800fsb with HT
P4A = 133mhz 533fsb non HT
P4E = 200mhz 800fsb with HT

hope this help. about L2 cache i not so sure about older version

P4A & P4E(prescott) = 1mb L2
P4C = 512kb L2
for a & b i think mostly is 256kb L2. correct me if i am wrong. tongue.gif
A bit wrong, earlier willys with 100Mhz FSB (400) only runs at 256KB of L2 cache. The Northwood are the 1s that started the 512KB of l2 cache

cusx: You need better cooling, for your reference, my 2.4B@3.24Ghz (178Mhz FSB) can stable at 1.57V on load

This post has been edited by shinjite: Sep 28 2007, 12:11 PM
kabukiawie
post Sep 28 2007, 12:19 PM

2,039 posts

@Ed
haha.....i thought is mouse. blush.gif paisey paisey. you having lots of unused mouse like the gmx series mouse, microsoft bluetooth mouse etc. haha..

@fylon
hoho...nice liao. kekeke....next time got things wanna buy, just pm you enough. wahaha....thx bro. rclxm9.gif

@cusx
better dont let the temp over 55C, pump up a bit the vcore can help make it stable. but better watch out the cpu temp. it seems like 51c already when load. adding vcore can increase the temp as well.

@shinjite
my bad. wahaha...giving wrong information. tongue.gif
just remembered, like you said, northwood having the 512kb L2. Before than all using 256kb L2Thanks for the information. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by kabukiawie: Sep 28 2007, 12:23 PM
cusx
post Sep 28 2007, 12:39 PM

585 posts

is it worth it to change my heatsink and OC more above 3GHz

coz im going to buy a new computer soon, bt this computer will still be used .. XD

This post has been edited by cusx: Sep 28 2007, 12:41 PM
shinjite
post Sep 28 2007, 12:48 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

if u can increase its potential...why not?
cusx
post Sep 28 2007, 01:12 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Sep 28 2007, 12:48 PM)
if u can increase its potential...why not?
ok tongue.gif tongue.gif
kabukiawie
post Sep 28 2007, 01:58 PM

2,039 posts

but if you have more cash, better get a new pc. XD
TSraymond5105
post Sep 28 2007, 03:08 PM

5,341 posts

S478 is still strong to be survive in year 2008. Hehe,@shinjite,your previous proc 2.4B can o/c till 3.24GHz that was not bad at all. How was the performance compare to your current proc?Significant or not ?
kabukiawie
post Sep 28 2007, 03:44 PM

2,039 posts

the P4b have quite alot of potential. just lack of HT and 800fsb. but due to that, its quite ocable as most of us using ddr400, which is easily set to 1:1 push till the last drop. is p4b the vcore higher or same as those p4c?? unsure.gif
sang_karim
post Sep 28 2007, 04:12 PM

:: sάής ЌάЯΐм ::
1,557 posts

where is that busta_dude .. want to know if his sata problem oredi solve or not? hmm.gif
fylon
post Sep 28 2007, 04:35 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Lol.. S478 still @ss kicking actually. Guys dont give up on this old sch! brows.gif

@kabu
Ur 73GT is galaxy brand? Hehe.. I might wanna change 73GT also.. Due there some some forumer offer me for my 98XT.. Plan to change it.. How much u bought it?

This post has been edited by fylon: Sep 28 2007, 04:36 PM
kabukiawie
post Sep 28 2007, 07:49 PM

2,039 posts

not cheap, but less than 400. hows your budget?? just get a 76gs ddr3 thumbup.gif i know its quite a rare item in kch, maybe you have luck. arent you can get dealer price?? i think you can easily get cheaper than i did. smile.gif
fylon
post Sep 28 2007, 07:58 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Hm.. Urs is Galaxy right? Can show me ur GC box? laugh.gif Wanna compare urs with mine. Cos from the price list i saw, it was state that the 73GT was run on 1.4ns chip, DDR3 but with core speed 300mhz only... Confusing me. doh.gif When u bought urs? Wanna know the dealer price for this GC now? Only RM290.. brows.gif

Oh.. Its rare to get that la. Even got dealer price also cannot guarantee can have the stock. Here i just can get Galaxy for AGP version. Haha.. Edmin 76GS is Galaxy also?
edministrator
post Sep 28 2007, 08:30 PM

1,940 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 28 2007, 07:58 PM)
Hm.. Urs is Galaxy right? Can show me ur GC box? laugh.gif Wanna compare urs with mine. Cos from the price list i saw, it was state that the 73GT was run on 1.4ns chip, DDR3 but with core speed 300mhz only... Confusing me. doh.gif When u bought urs? Wanna know the dealer price for this GC now? Only RM290.. brows.gif

Oh.. Its rare to get that la. Even got dealer price also cannot guarantee can have the stock. Here i just can get Galaxy for AGP version. Haha.. Edmin 76GS is Galaxy also?
no need show box. box will show the same stuff, but the content different only, we have experienced that before. kabu's 73Gt bought sometime early this year. u would have to test it out to know the spec i think. mine is galaxy brand also.

This post has been edited by edministrator: Sep 28 2007, 08:31 PM
shinjite
post Sep 28 2007, 09:45 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Sep 28 2007, 03:08 PM)
S478 is still strong to be survive in year 2008. Hehe,@shinjite,your previous proc 2.4B can o/c till 3.24GHz that was not bad at all. How was the performance compare to your current proc?Significant or not ?
Without HT and with HT got difference.....HT procs are still faster
However, I did manage to go higher than 3.24Ghz with my P4B

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 28 2007, 03:44 PM)
the P4b have quite alot of potential. just lack of HT and 800fsb. but due to that, its quite ocable as most of us using ddr400, which is easily set to 1:1 push till the last drop. is p4b the vcore higher or same as those p4c?? unsure.gif
P4C procs have better OCability (most of it) due to new revision, D1 compared to C1
vcore wise, 2.4B needs more Vcore to stabilise

Don't count M0 stepping ler

This post has been edited by shinjite: Sep 28 2007, 09:46 PM

126 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:45 AM