New Perodua Ativa, online viewing here

tHe^CuLpRit
post Mar 7 2021, 04:46 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Mar 7 2021, 04:37 PM)
steering wheel controls illuminate or not?

I believe it does, in amber
langatian
post Mar 7 2021, 04:47 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(feralee @ Mar 6 2021, 02:26 PM)
Yup

today.
No outside temperature display?
Yapmy
post Mar 7 2021, 04:59 PM

Don't count your lucky stars.
1,334 posts

Considering the low fuel consumption, maintenance cost, technology and price, I'm sold. I seriously cant find any car at this price point so fully loaded with features and safety. Will be officially placing my booking for AV Red/Black roof tomorrow. This will be my 3rd car and to be used as my main car for City drive.

Just to add on, the car rides very well for what it is. Felt very stable and comfortable even over bumpy roads during my test drive. Only complain is the 3 cylinder engine sound and slight vibration at idle.

This post has been edited by Yapmy: Mar 7 2021, 05:09 PM
ktek
post Mar 7 2021, 06:13 PM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

QUOTE(tHe^CuLpRit @ Mar 7 2021, 04:46 PM)
I believe it does, in amber
white kut
ktek
post Mar 7 2021, 06:14 PM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

QUOTE(Yapmy @ Mar 7 2021, 04:59 PM)
Considering the low fuel consumption, maintenance cost, technology and price, I'm sold. I seriously cant find any car at this price point so fully loaded with features and safety. Will be officially placing my booking for AV Red/Black roof tomorrow. This will be my 3rd car and to be used as my main car for City drive.

Just to add on, the car rides very well for what it is. Felt very stable and comfortable even over bumpy roads during my test drive. Only complain is the 3 cylinder engine sound and slight vibration at idle.
idle rpm berapa
Yapmy
post Mar 7 2021, 06:40 PM

Don't count your lucky stars.
1,334 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 7 2021, 06:14 PM)
idle rpm berapa
Tak berapa ingat tapi agak agak 800 rpm
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 7 2021, 07:35 PM

2,429 posts

idle rpm berapa
IF based on Axia /Bezza 1KRve engine it's around 650Rpm with aircond off and in Neutral gear.
so I expect this 1KRVET engine to be similar.

Wanna save petrol is it? it's already a 3 cylinder.
zero5177
post Mar 7 2021, 08:31 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

idle rpm berapa
Bonnet sticker states 800rpm
ktek
post Mar 7 2021, 08:40 PM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Mar 7 2021, 07:35 PM)
IF based on Axia /Bezza 1KRve engine it's around 650Rpm with aircond off and in Neutral gear.
so I expect this 1KRVET engine to be similar.

Wanna save petrol is it? it's already a 3 cylinder.
high rpm susah drive in stop-go
Ikan_Sardine
post Mar 7 2021, 10:07 PM

QUOTE(Yapmy @ Mar 7 2021, 04:59 PM)

Nice. I've booked mine. Not the two tone though.. Now hoping they could deliver it in 2 months.
tokdukun
post Mar 8 2021, 11:53 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Mar 6 2021, 09:16 PM)
Went to Glenmarie's outlet today. The SA that attended to me either he/she (I'm not going to specify which gender) is lazy or it's a directive from the boss, when I asked for a test drive, he/she said that they only allow test drives for "people that have already booked or VVIP only". I'm baffled. If I'm a potential customer, why are you not letting me take it for a spin? If I were to buy it but you turn me down like this, there's where you lose your commission.

And I wonder, who is this "VVIP"? VVIP won't be buying Ativa.

Anyone facing similar "problem" at the same showroom or any other showroom?
Was it crowded when you go?

I went to Mentari Sunway outlet, i just walk in, no appointment or whatsoever, it was quite early morning, probably 5, 6 people were around, i got to test drive it after the car came back from other people test driving it.

The NVH was impressive to me, it does feel quieter than any P2 so far, the 3 cyl vibration barely noticable at idle. Once you're on the move, it's imperceptible to me.

The power was ok, drive it in a relaxed manner, it's very smooth and satisfying. The SA was banging on about it being Kelisa size engine, but got turbo, try mash it, which i did, but I don't feel good about it. The power is there, the torque is felt, but i don't think this car should be driven that way, i dunno, it felt clumsy and erratic.

In the end, it's still a very small engine boosted, i think if the engine is bigger, N/A or turbo, it would cope better, smoother under pressure. Or it could be P2 isn't so good at programming how it responds when you change your style of throttling the car, similar feel as Axia to me.

So for me, i wouldn't bother rushing when driving the car, just follow its pace, it'll be a much more pleasant drive. It's not slow anyway, i guess its light kerb weight help to feel it's ok to drive like this. Turbo is just to give it good low end torque for normal driving, it's just not a performance car.

Else, what can i say, it's very good value and well equipped. I thought i saw on fb, the SST exemption is worth RM 4k, so the AV spec could cost RM 76k+ after 30 Jun, so if you want one, now to 30 Jun is as good timing at it gets to buy one. A popular car like this would be hard to get discount i think, so i think after SST kicks in, it's hard to get at current price.

This post has been edited by tokdukun: Mar 8 2021, 11:56 AM
woodentiger86
post Mar 8 2021, 11:56 AM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 8 2021, 11:53 AM)

I went to Mentari Sunway outlet, i just walk in, no appointment or whatsoever, it was quite early morning, probably 5, 6 people were around, i got to test drive it after the car came back from other people test driving it.

The NVH was impressive to me, it does feel quieter than any P2 so far, the 3 cyl vibration barely noticable at idle. Once you're on the move, it's imperceptible to me.

The power was ok, drive it in a relaxed manner, it's very smooth and satisfying. The SA was banging on about it being Kelisa size engine, but got turbo, try mash it, which i did, but I don't feel good about it. The power is there, the torque is felt, but i don't think this car should be driven that way, i dunno, it felt clumsy and erratic.

In the end, it's still a very small engine boosted, i think if the engine is bigger, N/A or turbo, it would cope better, smoother under pressure. Or it could be P2 isn't so good at programming how it responds when you change your style of throttling the car, similar feel as Axia to me.

So for me, i wouldn't bother rushing when driving the car, just follow its pace, it'll be a much more pleasant drive. It's not slow anyway, i guess its light kerb weight help to feel it's ok to drive like this. Turbo is just to give it good low end torque for normal driving, it's just not a performance car.

Else, what can i say, it's very good value and well equipped. I thought i saw on fb, the SST exemption is worth RM 4k, so the AV spec could cost RM 76k+ after 30 Jun, so if you want one, now to 30 Jun is as good timing at it gets to buy one. A popular car like this would be hard to get discount i think, so i doubt after SST kicks in, it's hard to get at current price.
Nice write up. Might want to get a test drive when I drop my car for service this weekend. Hopefully not many people but hard to say. sweat.gif

Anyhow, the outlet near my workplace don't have test drive unit it seems but might just ask later.

Any noticeable lag vs let's say the Myvi G3 when you tekan the gas pedal? After some time, I've sorta gotten used to the power delivery of my current car.
tokdukun
post Mar 8 2021, 12:12 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Mar 8 2021, 11:56 AM)
Nice write up. Might want to get a test drive when I drop my car for service this weekend. Hopefully not many people but hard to say. sweat.gif

Anyhow, the outlet near my workplace don't have test drive unit it seems but might just ask later.

Any noticeable lag vs let's say the Myvi G3 when you tekan the gas pedal? After some time, I've sorta gotten used to the power delivery of my current car.
Yea, some outlets don't allow test drive until the car is registered, so it differs outlet to outlet.

The lag is there, quite similar to Axia, i don't think the lag is felt when you're driving it in a chill manner, but as you dig deeper into the throttle, i guess this partly contributes why I'm not ok driving it hard, it becomes noticable and annoying.

Also i begin to understand why many hate Idle Start Stop, it kicks in even when I'm waiting at junction for traffic to clear, then when i wanna move, it wasn't fully ready yet by the time my right foot transition from brake to throttle pedal, so it becomes an engine restart lag! If i turned it off, i could've respond just a teeny bit faster to get out of the junction. Or if i insist leaving ISS on, i know now i need to anticipate earlier.

I think if you've already known and familiar with this behaviour, it should be very similar as your Myvi G3.
PoisonSoul
post Mar 8 2021, 01:26 PM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 8 2021, 11:53 AM)

Nope. More than enough SAs to attend to everyone there.
woodentiger86
post Mar 8 2021, 01:39 PM

2,414 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 8 2021, 12:12 PM)
Yea, some outlets don't allow test drive until the car is registered, so it differs outlet to outlet.

The lag is there, quite similar to Axia, i don't think the lag is felt when you're driving it in a chill manner, but as you dig deeper into the throttle, i guess this partly contributes why I'm not ok driving it hard, it becomes noticable and annoying.

Also i begin to understand why many hate Idle Start Stop, it kicks in even when I'm waiting at junction for traffic to clear, then when i wanna move, it wasn't fully ready yet by the time my right foot transition from brake to throttle pedal, so it becomes an engine restart lag! If i turned it off, i could've respond just a teeny bit faster to get out of the junction. Or if i insist leaving ISS on, i know now i need to anticipate earlier.

I think if you've already known and familiar with this behaviour, it should be very similar as your Myvi G3.
I see. Nice feedback and sharing bro. I saw the Ativa outside that outlet when I walked past during lunch but it was without the usual garish test drive stickers adorning it. Probably Thurs onwards cos I checked UFirst app and test drives for that store starts from 11th onwards. *tempted*

I see. I'm quite aggressive with the gas pedal on my ride and 9/10 times it's quite fast, especially when coming out from corners or from traffic lights. Yea, not a good habit though. sweat.gif

As for the Eco Idle, I switch it off every time I start the car. Only sometimes I leave it on to see if it still works. Granted it ain't as smooth as a Mazda iStop etc but well, who can complain having such tech in a car of that price range?
tokdukun
post Mar 8 2021, 02:16 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Mar 8 2021, 01:26 PM)
Nope. More than enough SAs to attend to everyone there.
That's a shame, iianm the Glenmarie outlet is P2's branch, it's a shame they treated you poorly. My sister always service her car there, i notice it is always crowded.

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Mar 8 2021, 01:39 PM)
I see. Nice feedback and sharing bro. I saw the Ativa outside that outlet when I walked past during lunch but it was without the usual garish test drive stickers adorning it. Probably Thurs onwards cos I checked UFirst app and test drives for that store starts from 11th onwards. *tempted*

I see. I'm quite aggressive with the gas pedal on my ride and 9/10 times it's quite fast, especially when coming out from corners or from traffic lights. Yea, not a good habit though. sweat.gif

As for the Eco Idle, I switch it off every time I start the car. Only sometimes I leave it on to see if it still works. Granted it ain't as smooth as a Mazda iStop etc but well, who can complain having such tech in a car of that price range?
I see, yea give it a go, ymmv.

Haha, well i did 2 trips with it, 1 with power off, the 2nd round with power on, personally i think the difference not that significant, if i get it, I'll just enjoy it unker style, just light throttle up to 2 - 2.5k rpm or so in city roads, then smoothly speed up on highway.

I'm quite a fast driver actually too with my Gen2 CPS manual, it's easy to drive so, rev happy all the way up to 5 - 6k rpm lol. But i do drive around a few cars, including Axias, Alzas, and Myvi G2 lagi best, all auto. They're different cars certainly, hence i feel best and comfy with P2s to just pace down and drive normally in them, and unsurprisingly get better fc lol.

I see, never tried Mazda's iStop, but I've tried VW Passat manual diesel in Ireland, i think Auto Start Stop is ideal with manual, cuz they only trigger when in N, so less annoying. It restarts as you press clutch, so by the time you're prepped in 1st gear and balancing clutch/throttle, there's no issue of unsmooth restart.

Yea, hard to complaint with Ativa, there's just no contest. For the asking price, they're generous with spec, turning off ISS yourself is not much to ask.
4WD_er
post Mar 8 2021, 02:28 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 8 2021, 02:16 PM)
That's a shame, iianm the Glenmarie outlet is P2's branch, it's a shame they treated you poorly. My sister always service her car there, i notice it is always crowded.

Haha, well i did 2 trips with it, 1 with power off, the 2nd round with power on, personally i think the difference not that significant, if i get it, I'll just enjoy it unker style, just light throttle up to 2 - 2.5k rpm or so in city roads, then smoothly speed up on highway.

I'm quite a fast driver actually too with my Gen2 CPS manual, it's easy to drive so, rev happy all the way up to 5 - 6k rpm lol. But i do drive around a few cars, including Axias, Alzas, and Myvi G2 lagi best, all auto. They're different cars certainly, hence i feel best and comfy with P2s to just pace down and drive normally in them, and unsurprisingly get better fc lol.

I see, never tried Mazda's iStop, but I've tried VW Passat manual diesel in Ireland, i think Auto Start Stop is ideal with manual, cuz they only trigger when in N, so less annoying. It restarts as you press clutch, so by the time you're prepped in 1st gear and balancing clutch/throttle, there's no issue of unsmooth restart.

Yea, hard to complaint with Ativa, there's just no contest. For the asking price, they're generous with spec, turning off ISS yourself is not much to ask.
It's all about perspective and what you are based on.

As you are so use to manual, which has very direct feel when it comes to throttle response, you won't get adapted to CVT so easily (both PWR on or off). Say, if you are a Axia driver, you probably notice much more.

Auto car should be driven differently. CVT even more so.
woodentiger86
post Mar 8 2021, 02:29 PM

2,414 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Mar 6 2021, 09:16 PM)
Went to Glenmarie's outlet today. The SA that attended to me either he/she (I'm not going to specify which gender) is lazy or it's a directive from the boss, when I asked for a test drive, he/she said that they only allow test drives for "people that have already booked or VVIP only". I'm baffled. If I'm a potential customer, why are you not letting me take it for a spin? If I were to buy it but you turn me down like this, there's where you lose your commission.

And I wonder, who is this "VVIP"? VVIP won't be buying Ativa.

Anyone facing similar "problem" at the same showroom or any other showroom?
Hmm this is really snobbish attitude. Should complain or flag immediately.

I bought my Myvi from Glenmarie too.
keith_hjinhoh
post Mar 8 2021, 02:30 PM

Need My Service?
2,656 posts

i don't understand why they don't push for 1.5

otherwise, it would be a piece of cake to sell
woodentiger86
post Mar 8 2021, 02:48 PM

2,414 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 8 2021, 02:16 PM)

Interesting. So this power on is like overdrive or a 'Sport mode' of sorts?

Don't recall any of the Toyota Raize/Rocky reviews I've watched [SG/HK etc] mention anything about this mode. Haha.

Wow, Gen 2 CPS. Rare bro! Anyhow, I kinda like how stock Gen2 exhaust has a nice growl to it. Reminds me of BMW E46's bassy exhaust somehow. brows.gif

Speaking of Myvi Lagi Best, that was one of the few cars I couldn't catch up with during my morning blasts along LDP. That car is seriously quick!

70 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0175sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:30 AM