intel thread, 2021 budget superpowah

edmund_yung
post Mar 28 2021, 07:00 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(cawan @ Mar 28 2021, 01:36 AM)
wahhhh Asrock having power management issue there.. and Msi board much excel.

this open my eye on Msi board.. yes sir.
Asrock seems to be also making mITX boards with less robust VRM cooling. Those smaller heat sink will let me fit my CPU cooler. rolleyes.gif
cstkl1
post Mar 28 2021, 09:51 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 28 2021, 02:01 AM)
Generally,

MSI mid range components with decent bios through out their lineup. Good all rounder. Recently been doing very hard on markerting through adding OC features.

Gigabyte over engineered on secondary features through out their lineup making it very costly for minimal gains. They usually target the upper midrange market, slightly below the rog but thanks to MSI, gigabyte have to be more competitive in pricing.

Asus only their top of the line rog excels. Mid range down all crap because they nerf the bios and components to make their high ends rog stand out.

Asrock has always been the cheap bottom scrap that just works for those who dont have enough budget. However recently they kinda started pushing some pretty high end boards for AMDs but their intel still lacking.
recently only asus been pretty good on
Strix-E and Strix ITX

but the rest..
hmm TUF aint what it was

MSI i just look at the Unify ITX

GIGA master good stuff and what i am really hoping from them is a B560 matx/itx PRO-AX like the H470 variant

CPU oc.. i recommend trying just stock stuff or manipulation of stock ( maintain fully featured cpu)
RAM oc.. 4266 all of them should hit it easy.. recommend plug in DJR DR and do 4600-4800C19..

and we have a really stable setup

if we wanna have hope oon OC for cpu features that shouldnt work on b560 etc.. AS rock might be the only board.. They never follow intel/amd cpu limitations...

yimingwuzere
post Mar 29 2021, 11:41 AM

990 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Mar 28 2021, 07:00 AM)
Asrock seems to be also making mITX boards with less robust VRM cooling. Those smaller heat sink will let me fit my CPU cooler.  rolleyes.gif
I think Asrock had the best Z390 ITX board. Their Z490 lineup was pretty trashy though.
mazda
post Mar 29 2021, 01:18 PM

225 posts

all sifu, can help me relook into z490 gaming x
overall ok isnt it....?

This post has been edited by mazda: Mar 29 2021, 01:20 PM
edmund_yung
post Mar 29 2021, 01:25 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Mar 29 2021, 11:41 AM)
I think Asrock had the best Z390 ITX board. Their Z490 lineup was pretty trashy though.
Too bad the price of i7-10700K made the 9900K looks bad.
TSSkylinestar
post Mar 29 2021, 01:27 PM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Mar 29 2021, 01:25 PM)
intel i7 being intel i7. the market price of any i7 is always maintained (just like an iphone), although it is slower than an i3/i5.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Mar 29 2021, 01:27 PM
Bonchi
post Mar 29 2021, 02:07 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Mar 29 2021, 01:25 PM)
Price of 10900k made price of 9900k looks bad lolol. But then again, it is expected for obsolete hardware.. shops as well as used sellers trying to scalp on the rarity.
Bonchi
post Mar 29 2021, 02:18 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(mazda @ Mar 29 2021, 01:18 PM)
overall ok isnt it....?

Z490 or z490M. What's your budget and what cpu you plan to put in.
terradrive
post Mar 29 2021, 02:31 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(mazda @ Mar 29 2021, 01:18 PM)
overall ok isnt it....?

that's pretty good temp right? at 5ghz and 1.35v it should be over 200 watts on blender stress
Bonchi
post Mar 29 2021, 02:34 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Mar 29 2021, 02:31 PM)
that's pretty good temp right? at 5ghz and 1.35v it should be over 200 watts on blender stress
Anything below 70 is good. Gotta remember to add 10C to those temp for adjustments to our bolehland ambient temp laugh.gif.
yimingwuzere
post Mar 29 2021, 03:03 PM

990 posts

B560 RAM speeds look good so far

https://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/B560M-ITXac...x.asp#MemoryCML
TSSkylinestar
post Mar 29 2021, 03:50 PM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

From [H] flex.gif

Can 11900K beats a LTX gold sample 10900K? Let's find out!
https://hardforum.com/threads/can-11900k-be...nd-out.2009114/

So conclusion. I have very mixed feelings about Rocket lake processor now. Yes, 11700 non K version, and the 11500 we are currently reviewing, are a competitive choice at their respective price point. But for 11900K, I’m not too sure. In Intel’s defense, it is able to achieve roughly same all core performance, with 2 less physical cores on the same manufacturer node, which is the biggest breakthrough for Intel in the past few years. However, being at the same price point, even an overclocked 11900K can’t see the taillight of the 5900X. Trying to be competitive at mid range, and completely give up on high end market. Does that sound familiar to you? Yes this was the position AMD has been in for almost a decade before Ryzen. So great job Intel, on Rocket lake, and on the other hand, you really need to do better than this.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Mar 29 2021, 03:51 PM
Bonchi
post Mar 29 2021, 03:58 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 29 2021, 03:50 PM)
From  [H]  flex.gif

Yeah intel has definitely abandoned the high end especially with the price point, making the 5900x have totally no competition especially on the core counts.
yimingwuzere
post Mar 29 2021, 10:00 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 29 2021, 03:50 PM)
From  [H]  flex.gif

Not a surprise.

RKL is only competitive at 11400 and 11700 vs Ryzens. I'd think anyone buying a new Intel rig can hold a bit longer and wait and see how well B560 fares, and go for more midrange offerings this time.
Bonchi
post Mar 29 2021, 10:10 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Mar 29 2021, 10:00 PM)
Not a surprise.

RKL is only competitive at 11400 and 11700 vs Ryzens. I'd think anyone buying a new Intel rig can hold a bit longer and wait and see how well B560 fares, and go for more midrange offerings this time.
Altho i think the 3dmark hall of fame will be dominated with those 11900k on power steroids.
cstkl1
post Mar 30 2021, 02:52 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 29 2021, 10:10 PM)
Altho i think the 3dmark hall of fame will be dominated with those 11900k on power steroids.
no. that be hard 10900k better in 3dmark TS

Bonchi
post Mar 30 2021, 11:31 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 30 2021, 02:52 AM)
no. that be hard 10900k better in 3dmark TS
That's cuz if cpu score right? How about port royal? The 11900k should be better in this i think.
cstkl1
post Mar 30 2021, 11:34 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 30 2021, 11:31 AM)
That's cuz if cpu score right? How about port royal? The 11900k should be better in this i think.
gpu score for TS

port royal all about GPU.. but gen 4 has no advantage against Gen 3
so wont be any diff we run a 4790k vs 11900k or zen 3, etc...
just need good stable ram when running port royal.

Bonchi
post Mar 30 2021, 11:58 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 30 2021, 11:34 AM)
gpu score for TS

port royal all about GPU.. but gen 4 has no advantage against Gen 3
so wont be any diff we run a 4790k vs 11900k or zen 3, etc...
just need good stable ram when running port royal.
With 11th gen stable IMC, i guess we can expect it to do very well then. Especially now it has pcie gen4 as well compared to 10th.
cstkl1
post Mar 30 2021, 12:02 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 30 2021, 11:58 AM)
With 11th gen stable IMC, i guess we can expect it to do very well then. Especially now it has pcie gen4 as well compared to 10th.
its good bro..
the stability part.. i mean this i seriously cannot explain this until u have it.

all the frustration of intel/amd of the past.. all gone...

149 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:38 PM