Mar 24 2021, 12:34 AM
1,943 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(zack.gap @ Mar 23 2021, 10:06 PM) I have indeed. Was using the old haswell/broadwell chips and it offloaded soo much heat during cpu intensive task that I swore never again to go for the power hungry chips. But that’s just my personal experience lah, take it with a grain of salt nah those aren't even really power hungry, it just has bad heat transfer from the die to the IHS. alfiejr liked this post
Mar 24 2021, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 23 2021, 10:59 PM) It's already such a huge leap already.. back then 5ghz is like god level need LN2 and Stuff... now cincai cincai up multiplier can get 5ghz liao... 10900k can even do it through software Lolol. is it really intel has more energy consumed in the die and less released as heat or intel has more efficient die to IHS heat transfer resulting in lower temp?Anyways power hungry is one thing but heat output is another. Actually putting the 5900x and 10900k side by side, the heat output is roughly the same when the intel is OCed to 5.3ghz and AMD PBO enabaled despite intel is drawing 100w more (measure with thermometer). This just goes to show how much intel has squeezed out from the 14nm die where so little energy is wasted as heat. But of course the vrm and psu will work harder on intel. I still remember 9900k to still be delided even though it was soldered to the IHS. starting from intel 10 series the IHS is thinner iinm |
Mar 24 2021, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Mar 24 2021, 01:08 AM) Prime95 tests I've done with some chips I have on Noctua NH-C14S: hmm actually with my 8700k non-delid, it can run at 170W with dual tower cooler at 1100rpm single fan speed around 97C with ambient temp around 28C. If you have aircond at 18-20C then the temp will be below 90C on 170W. My case is an old cooler master case without those nice airflow too. My old non-delid 6600k at around 90W with Corsair H60 120mm AIO, max around 82C with 28C ambient temp. Both are infamous for having the inefficient tim.Ryzen 5800X - 135-141W hits 90C (depending on ambient temps) Intel 3770K before delid - ~88W hits 90C, IIRC Ivy Bridge until the 8700K all really demanded for delids to actually hit their true potential, since Intel ditched the solder they used for paste. They only added back solder with the 9900K and Comet Lake chips using the 10-core die. QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Mar 24 2021, 07:37 AM) Hey folks. Just asking. New owner of a "refurb" / "DFO" Dell, running an intel 10700 + 2070 Super. Probably no need to do anything, because Dell would configure the BIOS of the motherboard to control the boost of the i7. IINM Linus bought one of those dell desktops and the intel chips ran at lower power most of the time.I know the mobo and cpu is essentially non over-clockable (which is fine by me because I am looking for stability and reliability). This one comes with 500w psu, but there's these talks about i7 10th gens suck up a lot of power, so is there anything I can do about it? Or just don't do anything? Context: I own a laptop since 2007, and another since 2014, so I have zero idea about desktop these days. This post has been edited by terradrive: Mar 24 2021, 08:44 AM |
Mar 25 2021, 12:24 AM
Mar 26 2021, 03:59 PM
though the 11700 limited to max 4.4Ghz all cores, gaming may not be affected that much since the cores can go up to 4.8-4.9Ghz when all cores aren't stressed.
This post has been edited by terradrive: Mar 26 2021, 04:00 PM |
Mar 27 2021, 05:05 PM
Mar 29 2021, 02:31 PM
Mar 30 2021, 12:15 PM
Mar 30 2021, 06:12 PM
what time is the NDA lift?
Mar 30 2021, 10:03 PM
11400f is really nice, as fast as 10600k but way way cheaper
Mar 31 2021, 07:03 AM
Mar 31 2021, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(Fjive @ Mar 31 2021, 01:59 PM) Need advise from Sifu here. I cant find 11700 review to compare the performance difference with 10700k. Both are fine, just depends on which price is more worth itWhich of the below combo is a better buy overall? Dell G5 with i7-10700KF + RTX 3070 Dell XPS with i7-11700 + RTX 3060 Ti |
Mar 31 2021, 04:47 PM
Mar 31 2021, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Mar 31 2021, 04:50 PM) not 0.1% faster, usually 10-14%.by the way, a processor that is faster is useless if it's literally missing in the shops LOL meanwhile rocket lakes are stocked well even in Sabah PC shops now, from i3 10105f comet lake, i5 to i9 rocket lakes. can't brain many buyers still brainwashed by the "underdog" camp to buy zen 2 CPUs even now https://www.techpowerup.com/review/intel-co...5-11600k/7.html ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() you can search the rest yourself. This post has been edited by terradrive: Mar 31 2021, 04:59 PM |
Mar 31 2021, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 31 2021, 05:03 PM) so good that we better keep it to ourselves or it's gonna go oos 11400F is the real MVP right now, 40% of 5600X's price but not that much slower. So with the price of 5600X, you can get 11400F, a nice B560 board, nice RAM, and some lower end tower cooler. Sells easily too when you are going to go for alder lake later in the year.![]() https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Exv2pxSWUAAyGew...=jpg&name=large b..b..but... cawan liked this post
Mar 31 2021, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Mar 31 2021, 05:09 PM) You're missing my point and going off topic with AMD and stock availability... I'm ONLY talking about RKL vs CML here lol. Don't be so trigger happy with the AMD-hate wagon please. The one going offtopic is you, I posted so many benchmarks to show it isn't your sarcastic reply of 0.1%, and the IPC improvement is actually substantial, but you conveniently ignored that, can you tell me why?Intel bragged about how they're reaching up to 19% IPC improvement for less cores over CML. Yes their key word there is "up to" and sure, EVEN if it's only 0.1% faster it is STILL faster. They're using semantics to market their IPC improvement. This post has been edited by terradrive: Mar 31 2021, 05:12 PM |
Mar 31 2021, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Mar 31 2021, 05:20 PM) Gahd damn. It's kind of stupid to say that rocket doesn't need to exist. Generally it is a better processor than 10th gen, why shouldn't it exist when it is better for the consumers, it's so weird for me that you aren't even able to rationally think about this. Rocket lake doesn't even need a new socket too. Literally you just buy it and use.OF COURSE it's not 0.1%. I'm saying EVEN if it is. I've repeated using the word "EVEN" 3 times now. Faham tak what the definition of "EVEN" means? My bad for not making it clear, probably should have said in the beginning - that I felt that Rocket Lake is as pointless of a release as Coffee Lake Refresh was. What is wrong with Comet Lake that this Rocket Lake need to exist? I didn't ignore your graphs because I've already seen it long before you posted it. You think I'm some troll walking in here making shit up out of thin air? Come on man. BTW I wasn't the one bringing up AMD and stock availability, how did I go off topic? But noooo. Can't resist the temptation to bash AMD at every single turn right? Not to forget the B560 is a response for people's complaint on locked memory speeds, but you say it shouldn't exist? I always feel how stupid people are that says Intel shoudn't release rocket lake. I mean what? It is manufactured by intel themselves and they are literally sold like hot cakes with AMD's supply constraints (WHICH you claimed to not be related, LOL). Do you seriously think the whole computer processor market is dominated by high end CPUs? Just look at the total market share, Intel is dominating in supplying the processors, they are a business afterall. Oh rocket also gives AVX512 for free and slightly better integrated graphics, PCI-E 4.0 supports x 20, not to mentioned the big stability improvements over both AMD and Intel's past CPUs. I guess people doesn't want to have better things About the argument on 8 core rocket lake vs 10 core comet lake, it is not really and issue in the first place. If you get even the i7 11700k and overclock to 4.8 to 5Ghz, it does cover the 2 cores deficit by the IPC improvement alone. This post has been edited by terradrive: Mar 31 2021, 05:36 PM |
Mar 31 2021, 06:14 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Mar 31 2021, 05:53 PM) Yiddi yadda yaddo. Lol what an ass you are, I already provided it yet you are acting blind and ignoring it Everything you listed there will be on Alder Lake, which they want to paper launch in what? 6-8 months time? Oh boo hoo because DDR5 is gonna be expensive AF no one's going to buy it. But hey now they've also backported DDR4 to work on Z690... so what's the next excuse then? Alder Lake is a whole new platform, afraid it won't be stable again? Is RKL better than CML? Yea sure, sort of - barely. In fact if I want to be very anal about the whole "up to 19% IPC improvement" claim, I'd ask for exactly where that 19% is. The term up to usually denotes a best case cherry picked scenario for a said product to show that improvement. Don't be petty dude. |
| Change to: | 0.1019sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:20 PM |