intel thread, 2021 budget superpowah

babylon52281
post Jan 15 2023, 10:59 PM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 15 2023, 04:47 PM)
Yeah, I might do that. Disabling 4 out of 8 ecores didn't help. Wanted to keep some ecores to do background tasks.

Finally managed to troubleshoot one of my unsettling problem. The rig sounded like a jet taking off when the cpu was at load. A high-pitch sound that I was not happy with. After investigating, it turned out that the fan behind the air-cooler was the culprit. Apparently, the back cpu fan emitted a high-pitch sound when attached to the cooler but the sound disappears as soon as I move the fan a bit out. Switching front fan to back also didn't help. No idea why there is this high-pitched sound for fans at the back of this SE-225 XT cooler.

ID Cooling stuff is after all, a budget cooler, so its understandable it will lack quality & silent fans. Since ur ady at the HSF thermal threshold, expect the fans to ramp up until near maximum RPM limit and by that expect a noise level in excess of 50 DBA.

https://www.techpowerup.com/review/id-cooli...xt-black/8.html

For comparison, that is more louder than stock Intel cooler fan running at full speed @3100RPM https://www.club386.com/intel-laminar-rm1-s...-cooler-review/
So if you cannot stand the Intel fan, you'll go nuts with the ID fans noise.

But if you insist to keep that cooler, you can replace the standard fans with something from Arctic, or Be Quiet or Scythe. They aren't cheap tho and you'll still have that underspec 220W cooler HSF.

So I'd still recommend to replace that cooler with something that can cope with the CPU PL2 and usually these (260W TDP) are not cheapo ones like ID Cooling (expect to pay upward RM 2xx) but they will often comes with better & silent running fans. No point to have such an expensive system just to cripple it with an underspec cooler.

As for whether 140mm HSF can fit or not, some actually do can as certain brands have lower profile variants of their standard lineup but it'll depend on ur case height limitations.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jan 15 2023, 11:10 PM
babylon52281
post Jan 16 2023, 11:32 PM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 16 2023, 08:10 AM)
Yup. Was literally going nuts with the high-pitch "jet-engine" noise. Luckily managed to get rid of that. However, the rig is below my custom-built desk in its own compartment so not too bad fan noise. It was the high-pitch noise that i couldn't stand.

My custom-built desk, which is built-in, is the main reason for the casing restriction where I can't go for bigger casing. I prefer my computer to be under my desk in it's slot rather than on top even though I have lots of "real estate" on top.

Coming from an ancient intel 4790k, I never knew aftermarket air-coolers cannot tame new gen CPUs doing normal gaming!!! I had though 220w tdp was more than enough. Now that I know, next time can better plan for better cooling solutions. Like you said, need bigger casing or better coolers/fans.

My only concern is whether gaming at 70-80'c is good or not. Most games are well-below that so.... Will monitor and see.... again, can always switch to power saving mode if it doesn't affect fps.

And I just realized that power saving mode will restrict p-cores to 2.5Ghz instead of 5.4Ghz. Lol. No wonder can get much lower temps.
That 13700K with its 253W TDP is gonna be difficult to cool by air especially here in hot & humid Msia. I personally would not recommend it but for last resort, you might want to consider going AIO if you want to fully utilise that CPU capabilities.
babylon52281
post Jan 17 2023, 11:22 PM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 17 2023, 11:19 AM)
My main issue is the boosted frequency and voltages. I think my mobo is setting too high a voltage at 43x - 54x. I am getting a clearer understand of VF curves on YouTube and if my mobo readings are correct, my VF curves is definitely not correct. Now my only headache is to find some norm VF ranges for 13700k so that i can try to set mine. Most vf ranges on the Internet is mostly 13900k or alder lake.

After work will try out some VF offset and see how it goes.
I not 100% sure if this is anything related but I notice you using Z690 Phantom Gaming mobo. That thing has only 9 VRM phases so perhaps it might be a tad too underwhelming for ur 13700k. It might be throwing in lotsa voltages just to keep that CPU within its performance settings. This could also be one of the reason ur getting loads more heat coming out.

EDIT: After searching in Asrock site, that mobo is like possibly the worst Asrock Z690 you could buy as even their maligned Pro RS mobo has 13 VRM phases. I beginning to suspect its ur mobo thats the weakest link.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jan 17 2023, 11:27 PM
babylon52281
post Jan 20 2023, 11:06 AM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 19 2023, 07:38 PM)
Ok, after tweaking whatever I can, I managed to get the temps down.

Looks like my cheapo mobo was just feeding the 13700k with too much voltage. It even had a "Core voltage boost" that cannot be disabled. I just had to set it to the lowest setting.

Vcore offset -100mv sometimes work sometimes doesn't. I think I solved it by setting the offset in 2 different bios menus.

Loadline calibration had to set to the weakest level so that there was more vdroop.

All-in-all, managed to drop vcore voltages about 0.1v during assassin creed origins. Temperature dropped to around 65-70'c instead of 75-85'c. This is with the fans tuned down more than before, no need to be in power saving mode, and all turbo boost turned on. PL2 set back to 253w. Other games also showing better temps.

The only sad thing is I cannot set the V/F curve as that would have helped a lot. Vcore offset sets all the ratios but VF curve can set higher ratios to lower voltages. Bios settings just doesn't work and Intel XTU doesn't show the VF curve tab at all.  ranting.gif Not sure why. Cheap mobo maybe....  icon_question.gif

Anyway, quite happy with the results. If I am ambitious, I might try to drop the vcore offset a bit more but I read it is difficult to get -150mv unless you are lucky. Idle vcore is already like 0.648v. VF curve is the way to go.
AFAIK some (or most) Z mobo will behave differently when drop in a K sku CPU and will default to different setup, ie PL1 & PL2 becomes unlimited. Problem is ur Asrock mobo VRM is underspec and is dumping loads of voltages & heat out just to run that CPU unlimited. Compounding with a insufficient cooler, ur system is more efficient as a spaceheater than running at its full potential. I'm afraid to say but I reckon its better to change that mobo to something better, MSI Z690 Pro-A is probably the cheapest decent one but mostly are DDR4.

Another you could consider if you can stump more money (and selling that Asrock mobo) is this Asus Strix Z690 https://shopee.com.my/-ASUS-ROG-STRIX-Z690-...4e-1a87517e6390
it is a MATX tho

Giga Aorus Z690 looks quite good as well
https://shopee.com.my/-GIGABYTE-Z690-AORUS-...e7-100126deb8bd
https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gigabyte-z690-aorus-pro

If ur a bit more adventurous you could also put in Thermalright's anti bend frame.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jan 20 2023, 11:09 AM
babylon52281
post Jan 20 2023, 05:05 PM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 20 2023, 03:08 PM)
should avoid MSI motherboards atm until the secureboot issue tides over. now asus also kena dragged in kek
LOL its an easy fix if you know how to enter bios [Even though Secure Boot can be made effective again by just changing the Image Execution Policy options to "Deny Execute,"]
https://www.techspot.com/news/97285-firmwar...ndreds-msi.html

Only truly noob ones or those locked prebuilds using MSI mobo will be in some trouble, even then some hacker will have to specifically target that system.

MSI will soon sort this out as they have a reputation to maintain.
babylon52281
post Jan 20 2023, 07:03 PM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 20 2023, 03:04 PM)
I had already set PL1 to 125w and PL2 to a lowered 200w initially. However, with the more acceptable temperatures, I can set PL2 to 253w again.

And after more googling today, realized that for raptor lake, PL1 = PL2 = 253w! Going to set my PL1 to 200w so that it is lower than my cooler tdp of 220w.

But yeah, the gigabyte aorus looks tempting. And price difference not that much from mine. The asus mobo, wow the price! But my cheapo mobo not cheap to begin with. Will just stick to this mobo for now. Quite happy with the temps for now so won't consider the contact frame either. 2 reasons - quite tricky installing the frame (screw tightness important) and the design is more for alderlake although it supposedly can be used for raptorlake.

And yes, my cheapo mobo.... after learning about AC DC loadline, I cannot even set it because it is not in the bios! Lol! So I am losing out another 2 things for this cheapo mobo that could have made the temps even better. Cannot set VF curve. Cannot set AC DC loadline.

Anyway, scatterbench has some new info on setting the buggy VF curves. Will try it one of these days. I also asked intel support on the reason why the vf curve settings are not showing up on Intel XTU.
Its not RPL per se but related to K sku CPUs, this PL1 = PL2 = max TDP is seen in ADL K skus too. This almost always happens by default on Z mobo and on some B660 mobos too ie for Asus it will automatically turn on APE where PL1=PL2 state.

I am guessing a lot of those tuning functions you can't find is plainly becoz of how cheapo that mobo is specced. Have you tried contacting Asrock technical support? Maybe they know where are those setting hidden or something?
babylon52281
post Jan 21 2023, 12:47 AM

2,652 posts

Z chipset seems to be agnostic of other mobo components ie VRMs capacity. It probably doesn't care if its shitty 9 phases or Asus level 20 phases, as long as it detects K sku it will ramp up the same.

Another possibility could be this;
News from Reddit seems to indicate that Intel is locking ADL & RPL undervolting capability with newer bios updates
https://www.reddit.com/r/intel/comments/10d...nd_raptor_lake/
babylon52281
post Jan 24 2023, 05:27 PM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(cnpats @ Jan 24 2023, 01:33 PM)
Off topic but so means all intel 13 gen can set higher pl1 and PL2 to increase performance at the cost of higher voltage into CPU and higher temperature?
Actually this also applies to Alderlakes, but only certain brand of mobo ie Asus, that can set unlimited PL1 & PL2, or else like MSI B660 can set up to 200W, but I think there will be a temp/power/GHZ limit that a CPU can boost up to.
babylon52281
post Jan 25 2023, 09:54 AM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(cnpats @ Jan 24 2023, 07:14 PM)
Thanks, was thinking of buying 13400f/ 13500 and compatible mobo to set higher PL1 PL2.
13400F has a max turbo of 4.6GHZ at 154W
https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ark...o-4-60-ghz.html

13500 has a max turbo of 4.8GHZ at 154W
https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/pro...ifications.html

The performance difference once you lifted PL1 limits can be up to 30%. Basically free overclocking provided you have sufficient cooling
https://www.techspot.com/review/2426-intel-...0-motherboards/
babylon52281
post Jan 25 2023, 09:56 AM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jan 24 2023, 09:12 PM)
humbly requesting for a link?
and may I know where do we check for the components prices nowadays? I usually go to shp/lzd

Many moons ago, lyn gain popularity coz they have a collection of price list from the vendors in lyp.
Now many have individual shopping sites, ie AllIT, TMT, viewnet, etc, but many of them seems like rarely got updated some of their prices have not changed in years
babylon52281
post Jan 27 2023, 02:06 AM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(cnpats @ Jan 25 2023, 12:56 PM)
Price difference is around RM 200.
13500 slightly more L2 and L3 cache, more E core and slightly higher clocks. Worth the extra RM 200?
Ask urself then, is the Ecores going to be useful to you? If purely gaming then No. So go for 13400

But if you do have productivity use for the PC, then it would help so go for 13500

If you can add RM 200 more then get 13600kf

If you can add RM 200 more then get 13700/F

So where is ur limit to add more then?

If you afford the addon to addon, then I would say a 13700F or any 8 pcore CPU as games now requires 8cores as the playable recommended specs
https://www.guru3d.com/news-story/returnal-...s-revealed.html
babylon52281
post Jan 27 2023, 12:01 PM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(cnpats @ Jan 27 2023, 10:15 AM)
My use case is for gaming only. I wouldn't mind getting 8 core cpu but both AMD and intel pricing for local market too high for me. Even if I keep for 3+ years.
I think 1.1k would be the most I would want to spend on CPU
Don't look on the price of CPU alone, look at how much you want to spend on the overall system and build from it.

IMHO you ady got a decent system in ur sig, so I would reckon you could just upgrade the CPU to 5800x3d and it will last you a good few more years when Intel brings their chiplets tech into maturity. During that time you could upgrade the GPU which you can then carry over to a new build. Can try target a full system rebuild by 2025/26 since 8Pcores CPU from Intel/AMD will last you a few years more until Intel decides to move away from the status quo past Arrow Lake, but til then 8pcores will be the norm for midrange.
babylon52281
post Jan 27 2023, 12:06 PM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 27 2023, 10:45 AM)
currently the problem is more on motherboard pricing for budget buyers
13400f and 13500 need beefier motherboard power deliveries, but 12400f before can run fine on cheapest b660 or even on a good h610 board
Both maxed PL2 to 154W, so even the much maligned cheapass Asrock B660 Pro RS can run them set at its max power limit of 160W however that needs a decent tower cooler ie 224XTS (new version).
babylon52281
post Jan 27 2023, 03:11 PM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 27 2023, 12:15 PM)
meanwhile 12400f runs fine with rm300+ boards
Tbh that is a lower end CPU so even crappy B660 or some decent H610 can run it at unlocked PL2. RPL bumped up their CPUs one tier above so power & cooling will follow the next tier level. 12400/12500 doesn't have Ecore tho so productivity will kind of suck.

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 27 2023, 01:08 PM)
some full atx boards macam even have 4 m.2 slots wow

sien most rm700-1000 intel boards in my place is all ddr4. want order shopee also sked reach kemek habis. you guys in west malaysia mmg lucky ler
Ur gonna have to check out East Msia kakis which seller ships with sufficient packaging, baring that buying from China won't make much difference but will be cheaper so worth the risk?
babylon52281
post Jan 27 2023, 03:16 PM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(cnpats @ Jan 27 2023, 12:22 PM)
The main reason i want to upgrade is im running out of storage space and i refuse to add more HDD / 2.5 sata because i cannot tahan trying to cable manage dy  bangwall.gif

So buy new mobo with 3 nvme slots. Thus looking at new CPU as well  tongue.gif
If you want to upgrade system just to get bigger storage, why not get a NAS instead? Will outlast multiple builds bro.

Or get a NVME to PCIE slot addin card.

Or can be like me, have external drives connected to the rear USB. I maxed out all the USB ports behind icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jan 27 2023, 03:30 PM
babylon52281
post Jan 27 2023, 03:18 PM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Jan 27 2023, 02:30 PM)
Tried out a new budget build during Cny. Using an asrock B760m sonic pg mobo. Not bad for this mobo. Has 3 nvme slots but has to give up the 2nd pcie 16 slot for the 3rd slot. Clean looks and vibrant bios (better than giga). + It supports bclk oc & comes with dual 8 pin CPU connector.
The only downside for some, it's ddr5. No issue for me since I have a spare ddr5 kit lying around.
(The nearest competitor will be the strix b660m-g, but it's more expensive for the Asus)
If you had gotten a nonK RPL and hope to do the BCLK OC trick, boy do I have some bad news
https://www.tomshardware.com/news/rip-overc...-hardly-knew-ye
babylon52281
post Jan 27 2023, 11:39 PM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Jan 27 2023, 04:30 PM)
Go for the sonic instead. No issues with Trident Z 5 heights. Cos I m re-using spare aio with this one.  Also I have a spare set of thermaltake sleeved cables (black/blue), a nice match for this mobo.
If cnpats going to reuse that AK620 it isn't that straight forward as any installation with front fans will surely overhang the RAMs.
https://www.techpowerup.com/review/deepcool...u-cooler/5.html

For that its pretty much limited to nonRGB type with less extreme heatsinks something like Corsair Vengeance or Kingston Fury Beast or Teamgroup Vulcan a

Or else could also relocate the front fan to the rear.
babylon52281
post Jan 29 2023, 11:26 PM

2,652 posts

Guys, if I can get an unopened but old stock scythe Fuma 2 rev A (did not have LGA1700 mount only up to LGA1200) for RM 200, is it worth it? I would still have to spend a bit more for the 1700 mounting kit tho...
babylon52281
post Jan 29 2023, 11:29 PM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(cnpats @ Jan 28 2023, 10:23 AM)
I think other than aesthetics no difference since the pg sonic is based on the steel legend.
Ya probably go for Kingston fury beast 32gb 5600mt ram. Or i buy something like Asus prime z790m plus d4 and dont spend money for ram that will provide little benefit for gaming.
Memory is where you will feel the least difference in actual applications unless ur adding more capacity, unless ur a benchfreak.
babylon52281
post Jan 30 2023, 12:14 PM

2,652 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 30 2023, 08:34 AM)
iinm fuma 2 is comparable to ak620 but fuma's fans are slower and way quieter, so even at max fan speed it is silent but cooling performance did suffer vs ak620. good price at rm200 i guess but can guarantee get the 1700 bracket?
https://shopee.com.my/-SCYTHE-LGA1700-Mount...60-009b3430bb3e

Im looking at its perfect compatibility when 4 RAMs are installed without having to shift the front fan up.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0969sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:51 PM