BOTAK_WAI
post May 5 2021, 03:10 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,148 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 5 2021, 02:55 PM)
Nice. Did you try with better paste?

How did you order it?
nope. i just use the pre-applied 1.

the fan speed like won't gain even for both stock and premium cooler, don't know where to adjust the fan curve.

online order from dell directly lo. buy dell already paid for the customer service support mah, must make use of it, haha.

parts number for heatsink fan VWD01 (ASSY,HTSNK,MNSTRM,95W,MT,7071)
parts number for vrm heatsink 612F7 (ASSY,HTSNK,VR-MS,MT,7080/8940)

well, the heatsink fan is 95w rated and that's why still not sufficient.
keenie
post May 5 2021, 06:12 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ May 5 2021, 02:45 PM)
just change from dell stock cooler to so called dell premium cooler....can't tame i7 but much better than stock 1.

well, it's not expensive though. RM113.30 for the heatsink fan and RM32.88 for the VRM heatsink.
some more dell no charge any shipping feeĀ  tongue.gif

Bro, what dell model rig are you using? So weird, the vrm heatsink of mine is silver colour but yours is black in colour. And the tower cooler can fit in r12 meh?

You can adjust the fan curve in awcc.

This post has been edited by keenie: May 5 2021, 06:13 PM
Bonchi
post May 5 2021, 06:19 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(keenie @ May 5 2021, 06:12 PM)
Bro, what dell model rig are you using? So weird, the vrm heatsink of mine is silver colour but yours is black in colour. And the tower cooler can fit in r12 meh?

You can adjust the fan curve in awcc.
his one is the basic dell XPS, not alienware.

rated to 95w really cannot ler even ryzen 3600 will melt. but taming the i7 to 90C assuming PL is capped on it is pretty good. If me, I would try to find a way to fit in a 120mm AIO.

wonder where yall find those high end, high binned ram sticks? from Amazon?

This post has been edited by Bonchi: May 5 2021, 06:31 PM
Bonchi
post May 5 2021, 08:13 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

Nothing better to do while quarantine. Further tightening sub timings. SA/IO/DIMM 1.35/1.3/1.48v PPD=1
TristanX
post May 7 2021, 11:35 AM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

Intel 2nm coming?
https://www.tomshardware.com/news/ibm-unvei...sung-to-benefit

They will dominate again if it comes true.
cstkl1
post May 7 2021, 01:11 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ May 5 2021, 06:19 PM)
his one is the basic dell XPS, not alienware.

rated to 95w really cannot ler even ryzen 3600 will melt. but taming the i7 to 90C assuming PL is capped on it is pretty good. If me, I would try to find a way to fit in a 120mm AIO.
wonder where yall find those high end, high binned ram sticks? from Amazon?
u mean me??

zhen^wei

This post has been edited by cstkl1: May 7 2021, 01:11 PM
Bonchi
post May 7 2021, 01:44 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 7 2021, 01:11 PM)
u mean me??

zhen^wei
Idealtech huh? Thanks. Would be interested to try out a binned bdie one day. Just dont see them anywhere browsing shopee and lowyat.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: May 7 2021, 01:52 PM
cstkl1
post May 7 2021, 01:53 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ May 7 2021, 01:44 PM)
Idealtech huh? Thanks. Would be interested to try out a binned bdie one day. Just dont see them anywhere browsing shopee and lowyat.
cause they are not cheap and its per order base

Bonchi
post May 7 2021, 04:02 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 7 2021, 01:53 PM)
cause they are not cheap and its per order base
Ah... wouldve gotten them if I knew that it can be obtained via such arrangements. was afraid of the die lottery that's why I went for the klevv bolts.

Looks like idealtech ships to SG too as Im already back in SG lol. Thanks for the info.
yaphong
post May 8 2021, 12:17 PM

659 posts

Hello, coming from Nvidia thread. I am currently using Alienware R12 which is heavily bottlenecked by the motherboard.

I am thinking to move the CPU, GPU, and RAM over to a new board.

The CPU is i7 11700F, I know the CPU is not overclockable but I kind of a fancy a motherboard with rich features.
Would either TUF Gaming Z590 Plus WIFI or Prime Z590-A be a good choice?

XMP disabled

My memory read is almost 40k compared to XMP enabled.

TristanX
post May 8 2021, 12:21 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(yaphong @ May 8 2021, 12:17 PM)
Hello, coming from Nvidia thread. I am currently using Alienware R12 which is heavily bottlenecked by the motherboard.

The CPU is i7 11700F, I know the CPU is not overclockable but I kind of a fancy a motherboard with rich features.
MSI is better for low end to mid range boards.
yaphong
post May 8 2021, 12:31 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 8 2021, 12:21 PM)
Any particular model would you recommend?
TristanX
post May 8 2021, 12:41 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(yaphong @ May 8 2021, 12:31 PM)
Any particular model would you recommend?
Only Z590-A Pro available right now. If you wanna go mid range, go Asus TUF.

This post has been edited by TristanX: May 8 2021, 12:41 PM
yimingwuzere
post May 8 2021, 12:44 PM

990 posts

What features are you looking for? Given that B560 allows for memory overclocks, I would think getting that board will suffice instead, and is cheaper to boot.
TSSkylinestar
post May 8 2021, 12:54 PM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

TUF. But why not a B560 board? Or do you think you may fit in a K in the future?

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 8 2021, 12:21 PM)
still support msi despite their scummy moves? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: May 8 2021, 12:56 PM
yimingwuzere
post May 8 2021, 01:00 PM

990 posts

Couple random questions re: Dell prebuilts:

1) Does the XPS desktop use a short 3060Ti card, or is the GPU heatsink kinda full length like the pics of 3070/3080 cards used in their desktops I've seen online?

2) Does the Alienware have video outputs on the mobo and works with a non-F CPU? IIRC, they only ship with F or KF models here.
yaphong
post May 8 2021, 01:20 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ May 8 2021, 12:44 PM)
What features are you looking for? Given that B560 allows for memory overclocks, I would think getting that board will suffice instead, and is cheaper to boot.
More than 1 NVME ports, I would love to have 2. Alienware only provide one. More USB ports and I generally find high end chipset has better motherboard design.

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 8 2021, 12:54 PM)
TUF. But why not a B560 board? Or do you think you may fit in a K in the future?
still support msi despite their scummy moves? tongue.gif
I always have this impression that mid-range chipset cut short on ports and features. I don't think I will fit a K, unless Dell offers me a cheap upgrade to 11900K (which I think doesn't really improve performance that much?).

But I have question, will B560 allow me to adjust the TDP of 11700F? 11700F without adjustment constantly throttles down to 65W TDP, leaving my Cinebench result to a lowly 10k (lifting the TDP to 175W pushes the result to 13.5k). I see 5600X can do 15k easily.

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ May 8 2021, 01:00 PM)
Couple random questions re: Dell prebuilts:

1) Does the XPS desktop use a short 3060Ti card, or is the GPU heatsink kinda full length like the pics of 3070/3080 cards used in their desktops I've seen online?

2) Does the Alienware have video outputs on the mobo and works with a non-F CPU? IIRC, they only ship with F or KF models here.
2. The Alienware R12 that I have, don't have video output. They have a type C output though I am not sure if you can use a type C monitor for this purpose though.
TSSkylinestar
post May 8 2021, 02:32 PM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

QUOTE(yaphong @ May 8 2021, 01:20 PM)
But I have question, will B560 allow me to adjust the TDP of 11700F? 11700F without adjustment constantly throttles down to 65W TDP, leaving my Cinebench result to a lowly 10k (lifting the TDP to 175W pushes the result to 13.5k). I see 5600X can do 15k easily.
most B460 and B560 boards allow power limit adjustment icon_idea.gif
yaphong
post May 8 2021, 02:44 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 8 2021, 02:32 PM)
most B460 and B560 boards allow power limit adjustment  icon_idea.gif
So which B560 board would you recommend? I go see see
TSSkylinestar
post May 8 2021, 02:49 PM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

QUOTE(yaphong @ May 8 2021, 02:44 PM)
So which B560 board would you recommend? I go see see
check first post icon_idea.gif

149 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top