intel thread, 2021 budget superpowah
terradrive
Apr 10 2021, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Apr 10 2021, 08:08 PM) He did mention idle, and that's not normal for core to load 4.6ghz at idle. I thought low clock/volt on idle is one of the advantage over AMD? B560 motherboard is really important launch, more so than RKL. maybe the powerplan in windows set to high performance, so the CPU won't clock down.
terradrive
Apr 12 2021, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Apr 12 2021, 08:58 AM) my power plan in windows is ultimate performance  ultimate performance should run the CPU at max speed even when idling, I used it when I hated to see my cpu drops down in ghz lol
terradrive
Apr 13 2021, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(piscesguy @ Apr 13 2021, 09:15 AM) 11400 UHD 730 still lost to AMD 2200g APU in 3DMark Night raid. AMD 2200g Graphics = 12552, CPU = 5217, Total score = 10365 UHD 730 Graphics = 8161, CPU = 12003, Total score = 8572 AMD beat Intel in every corner now, considering 2200g launched in early 2018. AMD 2018 APU still wins Intel 2021 iGPU, it's ashamed to Intel.  yeah is the APU available for 5600x, 5800x, 5900x, 5950x?
terradrive
Apr 13 2021, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 13 2021, 11:42 AM) Year 2021. APU is still crap for 1080p ultra settings. the strongest APU right now is actually the tigerlake with 96EU, it can be as fast as MX330.
terradrive
Apr 13 2021, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 13 2021, 11:45 AM) Still not enough to drive at least Medium 1080p for today's games. https://www.tomshardware.com/features/intel...10nm-benchmarksstill pretty amazing that the performance is like previous discreet nvidia gt950m ~ gt960m
terradrive
Apr 14 2021, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 14 2021, 11:50 AM)  my IMC seems to unable to handle. pushing more will need alot of VDIMM as well. I guess this is the best compromise for 400% memtest stable. vccio 1.18, vccsa 1.2, vdimm 1.48. I'm curious why not VCCIO and VCCSA at 1.25v?
terradrive
Apr 14 2021, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(piscesguy @ Apr 14 2021, 04:41 PM) 11400 vs 3300x in F1 2018, I m not impressed. Maybe need to use powerful GPU to see more FPS in 11400? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « RX470 lol, I suggest you to use Pentium G4560 to see any difference
terradrive
Apr 18 2021, 07:53 AM
any news on intel's next gen HEDT processor? 10980xe is 1 year and half old now
terradrive
Apr 21 2021, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(piscesguy @ Apr 21 2021, 03:50 PM) I have replaced the Intel stock cooler, now completed CB R20 at 71c, max 115w Idle temp is around 34c. is that the highest after power unlock? iinm it can go like 130-150watts right, or 115w is what it uses. cinebench is using avx load too right?
terradrive
Apr 21 2021, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(piscesguy @ Apr 21 2021, 03:57 PM) I set the power limit to 125w, but in the case of running CB R20, it never exceed 115w. All cores at 4.2GHz all the time. I think the score is as expected..  wow 115w is very easy to cool even with cheap aftermarket coolers. oh i just remembered my cinebench r15 uses 15% less power compared when i'm running blender render with 64x64 tile size This post has been edited by terradrive: Apr 21 2021, 04:04 PM
terradrive
Apr 22 2021, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 22 2021, 09:53 AM)  It's this one... or is it disabled unless it's a z board :hmmm: my 10400F is capped at x40. increasing it will help bandwidth and latency on aida and gaming by a very significant amount. now thinking to upgrade to 10600 or 10700K  why 10600? 11400 series better right haha
terradrive
Apr 24 2021, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 24 2021, 05:41 PM)  Mmmmmmmmm haha careful high voltage might overload your AIO
terradrive
Apr 24 2021, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 24 2021, 07:39 PM) With 10400F, it's running too cold anyways haha. Since such a cheap upgrade, might as well. i will wait for a better bios on z490 first before going for 11th gen 11700K. haha because my 8700k at 4.7ghz 1.2v can use up to 175watts with avx2 load. if 5.1ghz ... hehe
terradrive
Apr 25 2021, 07:32 AM
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 24 2021, 09:26 PM) At stock, unlimited powaaaa is 87C hahaha not too bad. Around 5c hotter than 3600 with the same case and 120aio. Guess i'll be focusing on the ram instead. shall wait for 240 aio only consider ocing the multiplier.  Now still very unstable cuz i just simply loaded the same ram setting from my previous 10400F. But looks like i just dapao gamernexus's 5950x@4.7 benchmark in F1  iinm at stock 10600k runs at 4.8Ghz all core with unlimited power right? you can tune the voltage more so it'll run cooler too. the default voltage requested bu the cpu is always so high haha
terradrive
Apr 25 2021, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 25 2021, 10:29 AM) Nah, i rather increase the clock speed. But if i run prime95 small fft avx it thermal throttle with 200w draw. But that's worse case scenario. Loop cinebench r20 is 82C. Maybe i got a unit with weak imc. Needs 1.35/1.3 sa/io to run at 4133c18 memtest stable, high sa io also cause the chip to run slightly hotter. 1.35/1.3 seems high for daily use eh
terradrive
May 17 2021, 05:01 PM
For those in sabah, someone is selling bundle i7 11700 and Asus Strix Z590-A both for RM2.4k brand new
terradrive
May 25 2021, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(ZzZzCcCc @ May 23 2021, 12:00 PM) Nex gen shd be new board wiv ddr5 liao izit , thn ddr5 RAM cost another bomb too  Alder Lake supports both DDR4 and DDR5. Some cheaper boards uses DDR4 and higher tier boards uses DDR5, just like when Skylake was introduced, I was using a cheap DDR3 Z170 board before because the board was super cheap lol and I reused my DDR3 RAM.
terradrive
May 30 2021, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(targon @ May 27 2021, 02:48 PM) Gosh, random checking on other forum sites 5950x random Bsod at idle still happening (albeit at slower pace). The best solution is to RMA the Cpu and get back a new working Cpu (hopefully). This is end of may 2021 already. I m glad with Intel. NIL BSOD with RKL so far. Haha same like those supercars such as Mclaren, my friend loved it in games but I said not to my liking, because in reality those car breaks down more than lambo and ferrari. Can't just look at performance but daily usage experience is very important too. By the way, any news on the new 10nm willow cove core Rocket Lakes such as 11900KB? Seems so interesting This post has been edited by terradrive: May 30 2021, 12:52 PM
terradrive
May 30 2021, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ May 30 2021, 04:16 PM) ya…saw damn lot pc build with tons of kedai tom yam rgb case fans…but using stock cpu cooler…don't know what those ppl think. facepalm.gif or using locked core i3 with 240mm AIO
terradrive
May 31 2021, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(targon @ May 31 2021, 01:39 PM) Another review on waste of sand. Its in Russian. 11700kf vs 5800x, 10700k & 10900k Pay close attention to the 1% and 0.1% results. This where it matters most. https://i2hard.ru/publications/27482/Hahhah I saw that when the first batch of reviews out last time, probably because of better ringbus than skylake.